2022 Mercedes-Benz C-Class CKD in Malaysia, up to RM17k cheaper – C200 at RM288k, C300 at RM328k

2022 W206 Mercedes-Benz C300 AMG Line (left), C200 Avantgarde (right); CBU version

Mercedes-Benz Malaysia (MBM) has officially launched the locally-assembled (CKD) version of the W206 C-Class, which first arrived as a fully-imported (CBU) model in February this year.

As revealed by dealers earlier, the variant line-up remains the same as before, starting with the base C200 Avantgarde that retails at RM287,888, which is RM12,000 less than the SST-inclusive price of the CBU version. It’s the same story for the top-spec C300 AMG Line, as it’s now RM17,000 cheaper in CKD form at RM327,888. Included with each purchase is a four-year, unlimited mileage warranty.

“The C-Class has been our bestselling model to date. Since its introduction as the 190, over 10.5 million Mercedes-Benz C-Class has been delivered globally and we are confident this new localised C-Class will be well-accepted by our customers,” said Sagree Sardien, CEO and president of MBM.

“As part of our continuous commitment to the local market in the luxury automotive sector, the C-Class which debuted earlier this year, is now proudly assembled in our production facility in Pekan and will further cater to the individual requirements of our esteemed customers. We are excited and confident to continue the success story of our best-selling model in Malaysia,” she added.

2022 W206 Mercedes-Benz C200 Avantgarde (CKD) spec sheet; click to enlarge

As far as specifications go, the new CKD variants are nearly identical to their CBU counterparts. Both still come with turbocharged four-cylinder engines that are assisted by an integrated starter generator (ISG) that can provide a temporary boost of 20 PS (20 hp or 15 kW) and 200 Nm.

The C200 is powered by a M254 1.5 litre unit that delivers 204 PS (201 hp) from 5,800 to 6,100 rpm and 300 Nm of torque from 1,800 to 4,000 rpm. Meanwhile, the C300 gets the 2.0 litre version of the M254 with 258 PS (255 hp) at 5,800 rpm and 400 Nm from 2,000 to 3,200 rpm – both engines are paired a 9G-Tronic nine-speed automatic transmission that sends drive to the rear wheels.

On the equipment front, the CKD variants gain two new features over the CBUs, including the addition of hands-free access for the powered boot and Pre-Safe, the latter being Mercedes-Benz’s anticipatory occupant protection system.

Beyond these additions, the rest of the kit list is unchanged from before. The C200 comes with the Avantgarde styling package, 18-inch five-spoke alloy wheels, Agility control suspension with selective damping, Dynamic Select, LED High Performance headlamps, powered front seats with memory function, a wireless phone charger, Keyless-Go, Artico man-made leather, Thermatic automatic climate control and an ambient lighting system.

2022 W206 Mercedes-Benz C300 AMG Line (CKD) spec sheet; click to enlarge

Inside, you’ll find a 12.3-inch digital instrument cluster as well as an 11.9-inch infotainment touchscreen, both of which are powered by the Mercedes-Benz User Experience (MBUX) system that includes an LTE module for Mercedes me connect services as well as Android Auto and Apple CarPlay functionality.

As for safety and driver assistance systems, the C200 is equipped with Active Blind Spot Assist, the Lane Tracking package, Active Lane Keeping Assist, Active Brake Assist, passive cruise control, the Parking package with a reverse camera and Active Parking Assist with Parktronic.

The C300 builds upon the C200 by gaining the AMG styling package, 19-inch AMG multi-spoke alloys, sports seats (the C200 gets comfort seats), AMG floor mats, a Nappa leather steering wheel (the C200 gets normal leather) and a 360-degree camera.

GALLERY: 2022 W206 Mercedes-Benz C200 Avantgarde (CBU)

GALLERY: 2022 W206 Mercedes-Benz C300 AMG Line (CBU)

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Mr Fakta on Aug 23, 2022 at 11:45 am

Just wait for the BMW 3 series LCI with the gorgeous curve screen and a proper left foot rest

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 75 Thumb down 6
  • Mango on Aug 23, 2022 at 12:08 pm

Rather get 3 Series than this. Even, Lexus ES is also better choice

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 3
  • Now C class can compared to A class EQA.

No Distronic Plus/Adaptive Cruise Control for C200/C300?
    No 360 Camera for C200?
    missing Harman Kardan/Bose/Burmester?
    only auto high beam, not adaptive headlamp like EQA.

Feels the large plastic dashboard, console cockpit not as good as EQA too.
    AMG line but no AMG seats, dual tone cocooning child seat design.

Overall as entry level compact luxury, less legroom, unable to get all good spec combo yet.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 2
    • If come with the function as you mention. how 2 year later they come out face-lift version, Malaysia dealer style. lol

• Unsatisfactory C Class Owner on Apr 03, 2023 at 9:49 pm

Too many complaints now. Not worth to buy CKD C Class. Very dangerous to drive C Class after one month delivery

• C300 at RM328k is just plain arrogance at this point. I’d rather top up and get a G30 LCI. What is MBM thinking?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 0
    • seancorr on Aug 23, 2022 at 6:55 pm

Their HQ in Germany want to concentrate on core models and plans to move upscale so prices are all going up and no more cheap entry models but then leh….their W206 which is like their bread and butter model does not have good touch materials inside where owners spend most of their time in it. Welp too late to put in more soft touch materials now!

• If come with the function as you mention. how 2 year later they come out face-lift version, Malaysia dealer style. lol

• they not able to think coz brain already in water

• Unsatisfactory C Class Owner on Apr 03, 2023 at 9:49 pm

Too many complaints now. Not worth to buy CKD C Class. Very dangerous to drive C Class after one month delivery

• C200 CKD at rm288k really overprice even for this brand.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
  • mingKor on Aug 23, 2022 at 1:42 pm

The CKD price is fooling the customer. ~RM330k without the original spec like digital beam, Burmester, Hud and etc its totally not worth it. to me its like honda civic spec selling at honda Accord price.

better wait another few months and look for Recond FullSpec C class.

• Wow nice. Very cheap.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 11
  • 330k still no adaptive cruise with low speed follow like new Alza

• How poor are you comparing a Mercedes to an alza why don’t you go and compare all the Lamborghini and ferrari to an alza

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 13
  • tricycle on Aug 23, 2022 at 3:23 pm

MBM should consider putting convenience feature such as ACC to this car. Traffic jam/slow moving traffic everywhere and everyday. It helps.

• I’m not a huge Perodua or Honda fan but look at them making ACC accessible to the general public whereas premium car buyers are suffering due to Merc’s arrogance.

• Haters gonna hate on Aug 24, 2022 at 2:20 pm

That’s why u stay at Perodua and Honda range

• Look at your worshipping the big brands, everything they do must be correct, eh? Bugger off mate.

• seancorr on Aug 23, 2022 at 6:52 pm

Aiyo with that kind of price must well top up a bit and go for the A35. With that at least it will put a smile on your face when you full throttle it. This W206 too much hard plastics in the interior and they took out the much loved Burmester sound system and adaptive headlights and don’t get me started on the price hike.

• LOL! You guys are really hilarious. You can buy your BMW if you like it that much. Nobody is stopping you. Mercedes buyers don’t care. In fact, I discovered that most of the owners in this range owns multiple brands. C63 and an M3, A45 and a E46, C63s and an M5, CLA45 and Golf R, GTR and RS6, etc.

So yeah, enjoy your BMW. I’m more on the VAG camp and I’m definitely adding another AMG.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 16
    • Vag pls the virtual door is over there. This is twinBs area. Malaysia nobody care bout VAG. Well let see on the road. Currently G20 330i quite pppular flooded the road. Let see another year will the c300 catch up. Ops..normally C otr is C200 coz those entry level agent like C class200 or C180 due to money problem. I bet if there is C100 they will buy too. Lol

• hepi biforti on Aug 24, 2022 at 4:41 pm

Better buy the new civic. Got better specs, stable, less minyak, good resale value and can tapau conti cars on hiway. Why spend money for this kind of rip off car. Civic is value for money and can give peace of mind no need to go for expensive service/repair.

Civic is my dream upgrade car from my current Axia. Civic rules..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 23
    • But Civic specs is really poor, aftersales also fail, quality also fail, safety also poor. Lack of rcta and bsm, how to keep up with mercedes?

• hepi biforti on Aug 29, 2022 at 5:05 pm

If you dont own Civic dont give bad comments. Civic is in the class of its own. Not comparable to Merc. Civic owners are lucky people because they make good choice in life.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
        • Hondaik on Aug 30, 2022 at 3:01 pm

Are you kidding with me for saying Civic is the better class?
          – Safety is good? Simple but still unsafe since some of the safety features are missing including 360 degree camera and only honda come with useless function lanewatch
          – Reliable? No, too many problems like Honda Sensing, rattle noises and steering rack and so on..
          – Interior? No, not as premium as Mercedes
          – Got Dual Zone Aircond? Got Full digital meter? No,

Honda is worst driving ever which I owned City 2020. No matter, which honda I’m going to buy? The answer is out. Afraid that I will get into trap again if I buy another honda.

• Unsatisfactory C Class Owner on Apr 03, 2023 at 9:50 pm