Unlicensed, underage driving and riding kills two teenagers every single day in Malaysia – PDRM data

Data released by the Bukit Aman Traffic Investigation and Enforcement Department to The Star has revealed that between January and March of 2022, at least two teenagers are killed or seriously injured every single day from driving or riding without a license.

Out of 157 motorcycle accidents and 623 car crashes recorded in the three months involving the underaged, 30 riders under the age of 16 and nine drivers below 18 have died. On top of that, a further 46 riders and 59 drivers were seriously injured. Grim numbers indeed.

Going further back, PDRM recorded a total of 8,484 accidents involving underaged drivers and riders from 2018 until March 2022 – 2,617 of which resulted in serious injuries or fatal accidents.

In the first three months of 2022, 15,424 summons were issued to unlicensed motorcyclists under 16 years old and to owners of the motorcycles, while 8,601 summons were issued to drivers aged below 18. Earlier this year, the road transport department (JPJ) revealed that from January to May 2022, 55,000 vehicle owners had been hauled up for allowing individuals without a driver’s licence to use their vehicles.

Adding to this was Professor Dr Wong Shaw Woon, chairman of the Malaysian Institute of Road Safety Research (MIROS), who urged parents to play a bigger role in educating their kids against underage driving and riding. Wong stressed that one must not only be physically ready to ride or drive, but also be mentally fit to make proper judgments and react swiftly while behind the wheel.

On that note, it was pointed out by the Bukit Aman Sexual, Women and Child Investigations Division principal assistant director Asst Comm Siti Kamsiah Hassan that negligent parents that fail to do so should face some form of punishment. What do you think of this?

Pan Eu Jin

Pan Eu Jin is a firm believer that good things don’t come cheap, but cheap cars can be good. How a car makes you feel behind the wheel or as a passenger should be more important than the brand it represents.

• Muhd Rzl on Aug 23, 2022 at 4:15 pm

Natural selection

• First, the learners program needs to be revamped. Whatever that is thought during the learners’ classes is complete rubbish, its designed to only evaluate if you are following the protocols by JPJ to pass. Nothing about defensive riding/driving is thought as all. How do you expect people to ride/drive better?
    I had to learn how to ride my bike better by watching youtube videos, and when i signed up for the JPJ B Full licence, i was surprised on what was thought and how completely useless it would to apply out of the circuit.

• Logical Deduction on Aug 24, 2022 at 12:16 pm

Underage & unlicense basically meant they have not yet went thru learners driving course so how does revamping learners program help in this situation? Ideally make motors smarter, if it does not detect a valid embedded chip license nearby, it won’t start and run.

• Bolehsian on Aug 23, 2022 at 6:06 pm

Too little too slow

• seancorr on Aug 23, 2022 at 6:42 pm

…and what have the authorities done to solve issues like this? Nothing. Keep on moving people, nothing to see here.

• Sick & Tired on Aug 24, 2022 at 2:10 pm

What can authorities do? Catch them? Then what, they can only be charged as minors and get kiddie punishment. Better for authorities just let them die. Not like the parents can blame them for the kids death anyway

• Cheap lives on Aug 23, 2022 at 6:46 pm

Immediate solution: Police need to be more present on our roads and enforce the law equally.
    Currently there is no real sense of rule of law, which emboldens everybody (not just mat rempits).

Even in Putrajaya, admin capital, motocyclist are free to ride on footpaths and on opposite direction.

Those big bikes and cars, paid by taxpayer, are not for escorting VIPs.

• We unable to help. This is their choice, their parents choice. But pls do not push responsibilities to other road users.

• Why Bother on Aug 24, 2022 at 8:50 am

Ain’t the government going to make race tracks all over Malaysia which supposedly deters them from illegally racing on the public roads.

Now they can LEGALLY race without endangering others.

So why bother? We should encourage them to enjoy themselves.
    Ain’t that’s what our gomen is teaching us?

• Encourage them once they have the tracks, not before that. Dumb.

• Why Bother on Aug 25, 2022 at 8:37 am

I recall one of the minister mentioned to encourage them from young so we’ll have more professional racers or something like that.

Should encourage them more especially now when there’s no track yet….
        Good way to get rid of these unwanteds…
        Their parents also don’t care, why should we?