NKVE road rage viral video ‘bully’ detained by police

Police have detained the driver of the white Honda City involved in a road rage incident on the NKVE that went viral earlier this week.

Shah Alam district police chief Mohd Iqbal Ibrahim said that checks by IPD Shah Alam’s CID found that the car is registered under the name of a woman residing in KL. They probed the woman and found that during the incident, the car was driven by her ex-boyfriend. The suspect, a 36-year old lorry driver, was detained at the compound of IPD Shah Alam yesterday evening, and will be remanded.

To recap, Twitter user @syats shared her dashcam footage online, which shows the ‘aggressor’, driving an old Honda City with the number plate WUG 285, “tailgated me for 3+ km and then stopped his car on the middle lane to block mine. He also continued to chase me thereafter, and threw things at my car”.

The video shows the City driver coming to a complete stop in the middle lane of the busy highway. He then alights from his car to confront the camcar driver, and an argument ensues – you can hear the back and forth in the video. Just to warn you that there’s foul language involved, so if you’re at work or have kids around, mind the speakers.

Later, the City’s passenger, a woman, comes down from the car. It’s here that the camcar takes off. The City gives chase and catches up with the camcar twice, and we can see angry hand gestures.

“He continued to curse and chase until just before the Bukit Raja toll exit. He had an elderly lady (I assumed was his mother) and a couple of kids in the car with him as he raged on. I hate to think of what goes on at home for the kids. Please be careful when you drive,” @syats added.

Remember to keep calm on the road. If someone wrongs you, let it slide.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Raja Kamarul on Aug 25, 2022 at 10:31 am

As far as cursing is concerned, both parties can be heard uttering profanities in the video. Oh well…. an eye for an eye…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 6
  • Plot twist: bully had his own camera and showed Ms Syats’s car was driving recklessly and almost crashed into his WUG 285!
    DENG DENG DENG!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 6
    • pyraxle on Aug 25, 2022 at 12:47 pm

The cam guy should show what happened way before the incident. What makes him act that way? No one can act that way if the cam guy didn’t do anything wrong to him first. I suspect maybe the cam guy were driving aggressively or did not give full attention on the road and they almost collided? He felt provoked and tried to teach the cam guy a lesson? Anyhow, he’s still in wrong and he could have done better knowing there’s an elderly woman & children in his car. Just my 2 cent.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 9
    • Top Gun Maverick Maimun on Aug 25, 2022 at 1:00 pm

Both parties should be facing full provisions of the law.
      It looks like the City bugger is more aggressive,after being provoked.
      So,the provoker should be penalised kaw kaw as well.
      PDRM,time not to give face to lunatics who drive like morons.

• Mahesan Selladurai on Aug 25, 2022 at 1:28 pm

Where can we watch it?

• IGP mom on Aug 25, 2022 at 2:22 pm

Assuming this plot twist is true, this means it started due to an unintentional reckless driving that almost caused a crash, and this triggered the victim to become aggressor, and started an intentional reckless driving that almost caused a crash. See the difference?

Moral of the story, people should learn not to fight something they hate by becoming even the worse version that they hated in the first place. Its terribly ironic, bad precedence, and bad culture.

• Windy on Aug 25, 2022 at 6:44 pm

First time to see a dog drive a car. Human would not stop in the middle of highway.
      Only stupid who ask : where is the camera before the incident?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 16
      • Haters gonna hate on Aug 26, 2022 at 8:20 am

Insulting others makes you so human.

Only stupid won’t understand we ask for video before road rage is just curious what happen before that, we are not here to judge.

Go back to your cave, the world is dangerous to u.

• Turbohead on Aug 25, 2022 at 12:51 pm

I don’t know who’s at fault first but the reaction of the lady kind of indicates she’s a Karen herself.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 7
  • Many stupid will say want to know what happen before the incident. Come on, no matter what other did, u could not act stupid! If a person smashed u, he would definitely be charged if u reported police but if you smashed him as well, what happened? Police would charge u fighting instead of being victim. If u kill a person, judge will only make decision based on evidence, will the judge say since you are provoked, u r not guilty? Wrong ia wrong, simple.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 55
    • Haters gonna hate on Aug 25, 2022 at 1:42 pm

Dummy Dumb Dumb, we want to know the whole story, no one stating the WUG285 driver is not at a fault duh, use your brain please. We want to know the whole story, is just a curiosity, not like your dumb dumb brain keep thinking we accused the camdriver fault.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 34
      • IGP mom on Aug 25, 2022 at 2:18 pm

And yet you know haters gonna hate … what irony.

Just scroll up, many asked about what happened before. So what if he was provoked? It didnt matter really what trigger the aggressor. Regardless of how he was provoked, it didn’t justify stopping and blocking in the middle of the highway. So once provoked, then law on your side?? It is this mentality and culture that cause so many to take the law into their own hands.

The law doesnt say if you are provoked, you can then block people car or beat up people.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 17
        • That’s what I meant. They just want to find excuse to forgive this stupid act!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
        • Emergency Vehicles on Aug 29, 2022 at 10:31 am

Well true enough, but doesn’t give everybody the license to become a jerk doesn’t it?

Meaning, can go around provoke other drivers, and drive off like nothing ever happened.

I always like the Japanese & Korean culture, always think about other’s first, they clean up the toilet cubicle for example just for the next user can use it clean like before, they let pedestrian walk first, even if there’s no stop light, the let other walked into the other train car first, before entering themselves, maybe Malaysian driver’s should practice this selfless act, and no one would be so uptight and self-centered on the road, letting other people merge lanes for example, waiting for other’s to back-up into a parking spot, waiting for the car in front to drop-off their spouse at an LRT station.

There’s little patient among Malaysian drivers, they get agitated easily, they felt the slower car in front of them is delaying their journey and when they overtook them, they both end up at a stoplight, which makes no difference at all. All those push and shove on the road just leads to now where, rising stress is unnecessary, people should just relax and take the chill pill.

Sometime things on the road is unintentional (duh nobody want’s to offend another person purposely, nor to cause an accident intentionally) people should see things with forgiveness for a change, not “ini jalan aku, jangan masuk depan aku”, ini parking aku sampai dulu, ini lane aku, aku rapat dengan kereta depan, jangan masuk”, and many more.

• IGP mom on Aug 31, 2022 at 10:23 pm

Well, firstly, think who’s the jerk in the first place. Trying to define who provoke whom is a tough work. Its always better to just brush it off instead.

When someone got honked, he think the dude who honked provoked him … but it could be that he firstly drive recklessly.

So who’s to define who is the first jerk? Also, the law still doesn’t say a jerk should be punished by anyone who cant stand the jerk.

If every assumed provocation invites an even worse reaction, when does it end? It will only keep escalating until accident happens.

• Panjang on Aug 25, 2022 at 3:02 pm

Brader….people just want to know lah. Same goes for the court, they wanted to know everything. Yes the City driver acted stupid but if the cam car was also acting stupid then both can be charged so its fair judgement.

Also…provocation can come in many2 ways.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 10
  • This is one of the examples of disgusting B40 behaviour. Not respecting the rule of law, being selfish and snobbish. “B40 Buat Perangai Apa Hari Ini” on the Facebook is gaining popularity.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 12
    • Casual reader on Aug 25, 2022 at 9:52 pm

Brother. Its the B40 thats propping up miscreants like u. Show the some respect.

• Both are stupid.

• Both are stupid. Period

• Nancy hon on Aug 26, 2022 at 11:05 am

The lady did not keep her cool. Dhe should never dhout vulgarities as that woukd escalate the situation. You should have reversed & drove off to nearest police station to f.show yr eebcam. Yr dignity as a person is not maintained when u use vulgarities.

• PariahHijau on Aug 27, 2022 at 8:37 pm

Eleh biasa la keling India, sampah masyarakat. Menyusahkan orang jer

• alldisc on Aug 28, 2022 at 8:37 pm

Wahh… lady owner so kind to the ex bf.. letting him use the car