Car tyre prices in Malaysia set to go up next month, making it the third increase this year – report

It isn’t just prices of car spare parts that have gone up in recent times. Tyres have also been subjected to price hikes this year, not just once, but up to three times, with the latest revision set to occur next month. The increase is said to be caused by the rising cost of transport and raw materials, in addition to the declining value of the ringgit, Kosmo reports.

The publication got wind of the impending increase from dealers. According to Maxipura Continental Tire & Services operations manager Amat Fauzan Amat Rohim, his company has received a notice from suppliers indicating a tyre price increase next month. This would make it the third time that prices have gone up this year.

“If you follow the pattern, the price of tyres has gone up about three times, starting from April, then in July and now, next month. Memos from suppliers have already been issued regarding this price increase. The current situation is beyond the control of dealers, and all types of tyres, whether imported or local, will be affected by this price increase,” he told the publication.

Fauzan said that the most affordable sedan tyres in his shop starts at RM120 a piece, but this is expected to rise to RM140 a piece next month. He added that affordable SUV and pick-up tyres would likely see a price increase of around RM30 a piece.

He said that the price increase since the start of the year has caused many customers to stop purchasing expensive high performance tires even though they use luxury vehicles. “It can be seen now that the M40 and T20 groups are also struggling with financial problems. Some use luxury vehicles, but come asking for cheap tyres because they don’t have enough of a budget,” he said.

“As a ratio, seven out of 10 tyre buyers in our store will buy new tyres, while the other three will go for used tyres,” he said. The price hikes are also reportedly causing many motorists to use their car tyres until these are well and truly bald.

In order to ease the burden on consumers, Fauzan has taken the initiative to offer local and foreign tyres that are cheap, but still of good quality to consumers.

Penang-based entrepreneur and vehicle tyre distributor Zakaria Yajid told the publication that the highest increase was between nine and 10%, which was in June. “The increase is said to be caused by the black colouring material or powder used for making tyres, which is imported from the largest manufacturer from Russia. Currently, this is being marketed at high prices,” he explained.

“Because of that, about 70% of my customers now prefer car tyres imported from China, because they are 20-30% cheaper than local tyre products. Although it is known that tyres from China are of poor quality and cannot be driven at high speeds compared to local tyres, and their lifespan depends on the distance or frequency of use, many people still choose them because of the price factor,” he said.

As a vehicle owner, have you replaced your car’s tyres this year, and have you opted for something that you weren’t really considering because it was cheaper, or are you still going with the tried and trusted, even though it costs more? Share your experience in the comments section.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Haiyaa on Sep 15, 2022 at 7:03 pm

Linlong Atlas, Viking, banyak…

“Some use luxury vehicles, but come asking for cheap tyres because they don’t have enough of a budget”
    “As a ratio, 3 out of 10 tyre buyers in our store will buy used tyres,”

Safety semua masuk longkang, bawa kete ingat macam bawa basikal.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 2
    • Mosie on Sep 15, 2022 at 8:07 pm

Tayar basikal road or mtb pon mahal… sebijik pon dlm rm100~200 …

• CarBuyer on Sep 24, 2022 at 3:25 pm

You can get world-class, quality tyres for a much less than the well-advertised brands if you do some research. For example (Viking mentioned above)is basically just rebranded previous-generation Continental tyres, made by Continental themselves. I don’t think Continental make and sell you something awful.

• EBold on Nov 12, 2022 at 10:42 pm

But Dayton by Bridgestone, quality is bad. Will be rugby not donut when do balancing.

• Campro on Sep 15, 2022 at 7:10 pm

Saga is using Atlas by Linglong?
    Exora using GT Radial Champiro?

Proton approved.

• Goes to show that OEM performance is irregardless of branding. No need to be a brand snob when China tires works just as well established brands.

• haha
    ok
    bye
    beside covid, price rising is a norm now

• donno on Sep 16, 2022 at 4:19 pm

harga getah jatuh. penoreh getah pon pening kepala sekarang

tapi harga tayar naik…

ajaib ajaib…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
      • Lets See on Sep 16, 2022 at 7:29 pm

Why not you be the first to take natural unprocessed rubber and stick to your wheels as tyres. Then you will not have price increase. Ajaib kannn!!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
      • this donno guy ah..
        it’s true tyre made from rubber but does it use rubber completely? . I suggest you to open youtube and search this ” Hasbullah Syarah – Tayar Anda Sebenarnya Bukan Getah Sebenar ” . perhaps it can help your ” ajaib ajaib ” thingy .

• Nenek Keramat on Sep 17, 2022 at 10:37 am

tayar mobil diperbuat daripada getah tiruan petrolium campuran tepung silica, pita logam dan lain lain,

• donno on Sep 17, 2022 at 11:13 am

i work in automotive industry and tyre factories in malaysia i know like the back of my hands.

also carbon black price did not increase significantly, and the largest producer of carbon black is not russia. Russia has minimal impact in producing tyres.

• Dong Gor on Sep 15, 2022 at 7:56 pm

If drive car drive until cannot afford tyres.. Why bother owing one as this doesn’t occur as frequent as other items like maintenance and insurance ?imo just Find other means of transportation. Gonna get bashed for this but it’s just the truth…and truth hurts

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 12
    • Afoordable tyre plz on Sep 18, 2022 at 1:38 pm

Sometimes i wonder why now car tyres size need to be so big?? for luxury car oklah, coz maybe they can afford, but for x70, x50, etc y need to go until 18″ or 19″?? many bought this cars are from m40 group.. monthly ngam ngam only..many dunno how much the tyre cost. ask them to fork out 500+ for a tyre? r they willing to chg on time? if no, also a hazard to themself and roaduser… i recently ask my relative to buy x70 std instead of premium bcoz of the tyre size.. 17 vs 19..but she insisted the premium more tech and safety.. yes it is better in terms of safety features but the tyre cost will make u cry! i hope the manufacturer can think tht msian not really wealthy.. just give some affordable equipment or bring down the tyre cost. tq

• ROTI CANAI on Sep 15, 2022 at 11:27 pm

noticed mercedes drivers are horrifyingly cheapskate when it comes to tyres

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
  • FudgeMeSideways on Sep 16, 2022 at 11:05 am

in the 90s, USD 1 : RM2.5, so renung2kan la. Lu org ingat ringgit jatuh barang remain murah ke?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
    • Bijan on Sep 16, 2022 at 3:01 pm

Tukar the kerajaan

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 57
      • Lets See on Sep 16, 2022 at 7:31 pm

Betul. Bawah Najib USD1 = RM2.60. Tukar ke PH terus USD1 = 3.80. Tukar the kjaan balik for the 60 years stability.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 51
        • Jgn Pusing!!! on Sep 17, 2022 at 1:36 am

U nak komen pun kena pakai otak! Nj jadi pm pada Apr 2009, masa tu lingkungan Usd 1=Rm3.5x. Sebelum tukar kerajaan, Apr 2018 Usd 1 =rm3.8x. Ada Google sekarang, jgn try pusing!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 60
          • Spin Too Much on Sep 17, 2022 at 12:01 pm

Hai. PH still spinning this lie.
            Just before Najib was kicked down our RM was on the upward trend. In May 2018 just b4 GE14 yes it was RM2.60 per USD. And Feb 2020 just b4 PH was kicked down, it was RM 3.80ish per USD. Use Google Currency History and all your lies are revealed. Stop the spin!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 33
          • Stop the Spin! on Sep 17, 2022 at 1:13 pm

@Spin Too Much, i dunno where u found ur data. From BNM website and googled result clearly shown tht the rate u typed is wrong & misleading!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 48
          • Western Star on Sep 19, 2022 at 10:32 am

Google has Historical Analytics on Currency. Go Google it. @Lets See & @Spin Too Much are correct here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 2
        • Hassan c on Sep 17, 2022 at 4:22 pm

Penipu tanpa fakta…

• hazri on Sep 20, 2022 at 6:19 pm

Dan..bawah PN terus jadi 1 usd = rm4.50. But seriously? celah masa bila 1 usd = rm2.60? Boleh bagi tarikh tepat bila tak? google2 tak dapatlah, tengok kat xe.com pun tak jumpa lagi masa bila rm2.60 tu, ke dalam mimpi je ni. Please please reveal the date please. Jangan buat rakyat tertanya2.

• ChinaCars on Sep 16, 2022 at 12:42 pm

“” Although it is known that tyres from China are of poor quality and cannot be driven at high speeds compared to local tyres, and their lifespan depends on the distance or frequency of use, many people still choose them because of the price factor, ” ………… Still the Colonial / Western mindset…. WEST is BEST !!!! Hope you have driven on our Local Sime tyres, Dunlop and Goodyear tyres which are on the “Cheap Budget ” . My Car skidded at 50km/hr using these “Local tyres” .

• Local Fan on Sep 17, 2022 at 9:21 pm

Clearly your fault. Your CCP mindset need to be democratised. Millions customers have been using local tyres with zero problem.

• Anti Cartel on Sep 16, 2022 at 5:13 pm

If is a group of cartel making the increase. I hope MACC will look into the practice. Mind you rubber tapers do not earn much. They are poorer despite the previous 2 times increase.

• Brian on Sep 18, 2022 at 1:49 pm

Buy now don’t wait then! You only need to change every 3-4 years, 5 if you used good tyres.

• Chong on Sep 17, 2022 at 11:20 am

Now the taukes are becoming more richer as this is the best oppurtunity to markup the price. The rich becoming richer.

• Is not only luxury vehicles la.. those people Gila upsize one.. 15 inch Naik 18-19inch.. surely tayar Mahal la.. rim besar besar, tayar pula pakai sampai jadi slick tayar

• Tiong sing Wong on Sep 19, 2022 at 8:09 am

One should not take tyre lightly as this is the only contact between the car and the road. I will still buy the right tyre for my car and not be bothered with the price. However I will switch brand if one is too pricy.

• Jothi Narayanan on Feb 25, 2023 at 9:23 am

Toyo tyre good or not?