Almost 100k cars entered SUKE highway in first 24 hrs

Nearly 100,000 vehicles were recorded entering the Sungai Besi-Ulu Kelang Elevated Expressway (SUKE) in the first 24 hours after its opening to the public, which was at noon on September 16.

Concessionaire Prolintas said that motorists formed queues as early as 11.30 am at every SUKE entrance, eager to be among the first to sample the 16.6 km Phase 1 of the SUKE, which is from the Cheras-Kajang Interchange near Plaza Phoenix to Bukit Antarabangsa. There’s no toll for one month.

“Most of the early birds are locals from the neighbourhood who use the opportunity of public holiday in conjunction with Malaysia Day to experience the journey on the newest elevated expressway in the Klang Valley. Thank you to all users of SUKE Highway for your support and feedback,” said Prolintas group CEO Datuk Mohammad Azlan Abdullah.

The SUKE operator is aware of people stopping on the emergency lane to take in the sights, and is reminding user to refrain from doing so.

Prolintas will be building an R&R with F&B outlets overlooking the KL skyline

“We completely forbid users from stopping their vehicles at the roadside for no emergency reason because it is very dangerous to do so, not only to themselves but also to other highway users. Safety aspects have always been the priority of Prolintas. We are very pleased with the response from users. However, we hope that everyone can take highway safety seriously to avoid any unwanted incidents,” Mohd Azlan added.

The first accident involving SUKE tourists has already happened – here’s hoping that there won’t be more. By the way, Prolintas will not be “wasting” its commanding view and will be building an R&R facility near the Tasik Tambahan Interchange in the future. The hillside rest area will have F&B outlets to go along with the panoramic view of the KL city skyline.

The SUKE – which is projected to relieve traffic on the MRR2 by 30%, Jalan Ampang by 36% and Jalan Loke Yew by 12% during peak hours – isn’t just scenic; it’s also an impressive engineering feat – details and our experience here.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• sudin on Sep 20, 2022 at 10:51 am

Free boleh lah 100 ribu. Tengok 16 Oktober berapa ribu lalu.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
    • Dah Menang Semua on Sep 20, 2022 at 12:33 pm

Percuma Toll
      100K mobil 200K kapchai (16Sep cuti)

Dgn Tambang Toll
      10K mobil 150K kapchai (cuti biasa)
      20K mobil 100K kapchai (hari kerja)

• Darren on Sep 20, 2022 at 1:03 pm

Well of course.
      You go supermarket, they give u free sample to try b4 you buy.
      You watch Astro, they give u trial free channels to try b4 you subscribe.
      You go genting, they give u win a bit b4 you lose.
      Marketing 101. Nothing wrong here and if roadusers can feel the convenience they will want to switch regardless of the fare.

• Ajibkor on Sep 20, 2022 at 3:21 pm

Depends.if MRR 2 is free flowing,why pay toll,unless one is super loaded?The tolls won’t be cheap.it will be more than Duke highway.

• Johny Ampang on Sep 20, 2022 at 2:54 pm

If one using the old Ampamg Road below the highway he needs to clear 12 traffic lights junction for 6 kilomoter journey.something like one traffic light for every 500 meters.

• dayuummmm… come to hwy to see the sights! KL must be running out of recreational spots

• David on Sep 20, 2022 at 7:21 pm

Some of the exit is quite sharp and big turn. Very dangerous

• Jawabandar on Sep 21, 2022 at 8:28 am

I am pretty sure that after the opening of SUKE, AKLEH now facing congestion the moment you enter from Ampang to KL. Even go out early won’t save from facing it.

• Wong YN on Sep 21, 2022 at 8:40 pm

If enter from Cheras Hartamas only few hundred meters have to pay toll is not worth it. Hopefully the toll fare is not that high..

• Zainol on Sep 22, 2022 at 8:16 am

Betul ke 100k?? Nk membohong pun checklah fakta… kalau setiap minit satu kereta masuk melalui 10 lorong ke SUKE.. dlm 24 jam baru ada dlm 14,000 buah…. apa ni..???