Street racing and zig-zag overtaking can land you in jail for up to five years, up to RM15k in fines – PDRM

Street racing and “zig-zag” overtaking (weaving through traffic dangerously) can land you in big trouble, the Royal Malaysia Police (PDRM) is reminding motorists. In a recent Facebook post, PDRM said these acts violate Section 42(1) of Road Transport Act 1987 which involves driving dangerously and recklessly.

If convicted, the driver can be imprisoned for up to five years as well as be fined not less than RM5,000 and not more than RM15,000. In the case of a second or subsequent conviction, the punishment is even more severe, with a prison term not exceeding ten years and a fine of between RM10,000 and RM20,000.

Additionally, under Section 42(3), a person convicted shall be disqualified from holding or obtaining a driving licence for a period of not less than two years. This increases to 10 years with a second or subsequent conviction. Meanwhile, Section 42(4) states should the driver be holding a probationary driving licence (P), the court can revoke the licence.

#SembangTrafik

BERLUMBA DAN MEMOTONG SECARA "ZIG-ZAG" ANCAM NYAWA PENGGUNA JALAN RAYA

Keseronokan dan keterujaan…

Posted by Polis Diraja Malaysia ( Royal Malaysia Police ) on Wednesday, 21 September 2022

Such acts are nothing new in Malaysia and you can find several videos depicting them on social media. It goes without saying that street racing and “zig-zag” overtaking are not only dangerous to you, but also to other motorists on the road.

If you need to fulfill your “need for speed,” do it away from public roads. Instead, consider taking part in proper track days or time attack events where the entry fees are a lot less than the fines you will face if caught by the police.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Kapchai on Sep 23, 2022 at 10:11 am

My high resolution bike Cam recording is ready.

How about the Zig-Zag, Speeding Lane Splitting Bikers?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 4
    • sohai on Sep 23, 2022 at 12:28 pm

Kapcai is right, how about motobike jig-jag driving like snake, any actions? *** But before that , z-z mainly contributed by >80% users is not following the ground-rules, that the slow lanes become fast lane and fast lane become slow lane alternately. *** Most lorry/buses/vans/cars drive 50kmh at middle/fast lane, end-up the left-slow-lane become a fast lane, and right side fast labe become slow lane. <> Pls benchmark world no#1 automotive GERMANY driving syllabus and rules & regulations … sohai betoi, pls go back to the basic …

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 6
      • Katherine on Sep 23, 2022 at 1:44 pm

As of August 2022, the programme Lebenswerte Städte durch angemessene Geschwindigkeiten started to gain momentum, and it now includes 263 municipalities that demand the exclusive right to expand existing 30 km/h low-speed zones.

Yea yea, Germany is pushing for 30km/h slower city traffic.

• Please create a link for citizen to easily file in this kind of racing dashcam record.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
    • Why So Serious on Sep 23, 2022 at 12:17 pm

There is Facebook

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 19
      • Facebook is not a proper way to file complain. Have you seen any government body asked you to file documents thru facebook messenger ? Please be common sense

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
        • Aura89 on Sep 23, 2022 at 6:39 pm

My local police here in Phoenix Arizona welcomes report in social media platforms. Times have changed so must the mindset.

• sohai on Sep 23, 2022 at 12:36 pm

Sohai…pls file those lorry/buses/vans/cars driving 50kmh +- at fast lanes … this is the root cause if zig-zag… back to basic solve the root cause first.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 4
  • tricycle on Sep 23, 2022 at 10:21 am

First of all, illegal street racing is wrong. Overtaking zig zag also is wrong if done purposely.

But in Malaysia, PDRM also should take a look at those lane hoggers, they drive like they taking their sweet time and then keep on driving on the most right lane.

Not all people has luxury of time to waste on the highway. It is wrong to drive above speed limit. But those lane hoggers are very wrong that caused traffic jam to build up and accident due to their “inactivity”.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 75 Thumb down 5
    • Calvin on Sep 23, 2022 at 12:14 pm

Lane hogging too slow is bad but at max speed limit is not wrong. You’re not supposed to be going faster than that unless you drive an ambulance for a living. If you think your time is so important to be driving above speed limit you’re just being selfish and deserve to get a speeding ticket.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 74
      • Exactly.. if the limit is 90kph and you’re on the fast lane at 90kph, you should not be compelled to move to the middle lane and slow down just because some fool wants to speed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 54
        • What is a fast lane? on Sep 23, 2022 at 3:41 pm

I’m sorry. I’m not familiar with fast lanes. As far as I’m aware, we only have overtaking lanes. So even if you’re going at the speed limit, when you are done over taking, head right back to the left lane please.

I myself will always be on the far most left lane whenever possible to keep the overtaking lane clear. I mean, because there are lots notices around saying “IKUT KIRI Kecuali Memotong”. Keep left unless overtaking. Did it say keep right if you’re going to speed limit?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 81 Thumb down 3
        • Dont Hog the Right Lane on Sep 23, 2022 at 5:13 pm

Because of people like you, people have to overtake from the left lane instead of using the right lane to overtake.

Just because you are driving at the max permitted speed, it doesn’t give you the right to hog the right lane.

When you are done overtaking, move back to the left lane.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 5
          • Aura89 on Sep 23, 2022 at 6:45 pm

The law states people overtaking faster than maximum speed limit has broken the law while the hogger right on the limit has not. In the US, it is common for vehicles to drive on all 3/4 lanes provided those on the fast lane are not driving too slow. For that reason everyone follows the speed limit here. Giving excuses for them going above to overtake will not fly with the police here, sorry but if your not following the speed limit your not following the speed limit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 28
      • tortilla on Sep 23, 2022 at 2:52 pm

Follow “2seconds safe distance” Undang,
        it is not for you to zig zag masuk.

The 2-second rule is a technique used to estimate a safe following distance between your vehicle and the traffic ahead.

2 Seconds Safe Distance Guide:
        30km/h – 17m
        60km/h – 33m
        90km/h = 50m

Similar to how ACC setting the typical safe distance up to 50m, 3 setting.

• Fazenne on Sep 23, 2022 at 3:52 pm

Its wrong you idiot. Right lane is for overtaking, not for driving leisurely at permitted max speed. Go retake your driving license. People like you are the stupid roadhoggers causing jams due to your ignorance. Hopefully you will get bumped 1 day

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 19
    • Cancel Lane Hoggers on Sep 26, 2022 at 8:17 am

this i completely agree, some entitled retard thinking they at max speed and hyperventilating thinking they have the right to hog the lane causing others to zig zag!!! if i speed i will pay the fine but you shouldnt be scot-free for causing me having to zig zag!!!

• Rakyat Malaysia on Sep 23, 2022 at 10:31 am

The best way is to catch them in the act and send the evidence to abam polis. The problem is most people are using potato dashcam so their number plates cannot be seen clearly for abam polis to pay a visit. For better enforcement we need better dashcams above potato quality.
    #RakyatSupportsAbamPolis #KeluargaMalaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
  • Dayung Sampan on Sep 23, 2022 at 10:45 am

mot and police always closed one eye on crazy test car drivers speeding uphill downhill at genting highland road

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
  • Civic Turbo 2018 on Sep 23, 2022 at 10:57 am

CAN doesn’t means you CAN’T
    LAWS doesn’t means is ENFORCED
    Selective prosecution is Malusia STYLE

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 16
  • If only people don’t lane hog and follow “Ikut kiri kecuali memotong”, maybe there will be less zig zag overtaking.

Just saying.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 11
  • DonkeyKong on Sep 23, 2022 at 12:22 pm

The big problem in Malaysia is the ass-backwards enforcement of the law. For instance. You want to ensure people pay up their summons? Give them 50% discount if they pay within a month. If it’s not paid in 6 months, the rate goes to double. Instead, we’re incentivizing traffic offenders to not pay up and wait for year-end discounts. This is actually a symptom of low-IQ thought processes.

So, in this case, will it be the same as well? So-called hefty penalties etc. but the offenders can keep on endangering others while waiting for summons discounts and other penalty-lightening measures?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 3
    • Sohai on Sep 23, 2022 at 6:13 pm

This statement I fully agree. Only in Malaysia it is boleh because we have jokers on top.

• the driver on Sep 23, 2022 at 1:17 pm

Cakap tak serupa bikin. What’s clearly missing is Enforcement.
    Having driven for many years, those complaining about lane hoggers are wannabe road bullies – just lift the throttle, nothing to it. I don’t drive slowly, but tail gaters are in a hurry – to die.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
  • Loong on Sep 23, 2022 at 3:21 pm

How about Mat Rempit ?

• A A K on Sep 23, 2022 at 3:29 pm

The question is: how is the police going to catch those dangerous drivers?
    Is there any plan to control road-bullies?
    I get bullied almost every day, and there’s nothing I can do, cause I’m not a Malaysian!

• cakap2siakap on Sep 23, 2022 at 3:33 pm

cakap macam terror, enforcement mana? patut tangkap, tak tangkap, tak patut tangkap, byk2 kacau.

• Equal law on Sep 23, 2022 at 6:09 pm

I really wish our PDRM is taking stern action against motorist who break the traffic light rule, zig-zag on road and highway, overspeeding on road and highway.

• t333son on Sep 23, 2022 at 6:14 pm

I don’t think anyone is going to take it seriously. In fact so much evidence on YouTube for years, many famous Malaysian Motoring YouTubers drive up and down Genting at over 100km/h, potong kiri potong kanan.. all on webcam and very proud of it some more . Just like no dark tinted, no running red lights, no driving in emergency lane, fancy plates etc etc for reference only. Just open your eyes and you can spot them everywhere , yet somehow authorities not notice ? Until some major incident happens, will hangat hangat tahi ayam, then all forgotten . Sad for the ones who treasure their lives who are at the mercy of these cowboys.

• t333son on Sep 23, 2022 at 6:31 pm

just search YouTube Genting Hill Climb.. unbelievable

• Talk cock only

• Junkies otr on Sep 24, 2022 at 7:03 am

Middle lane is for text msging. Right lane for lorries, buses n commercial vehicles

• wakeup on Sep 24, 2022 at 10:53 am

how hard to catch ? just browse through youtube. alot superbiker/car racers upload their max speed in public road, where the police? hello

• Eddy Chin on Sep 24, 2022 at 11:33 am

No Road Hogging on Fast Lane 1 and No -50kph on Middle Lane 2, Zig-Zag with signal light indication and Tailgating NEED NOT APPLY. ALSO HAZARD LIGHTS DOUBLE SIGNAL IS NOT FOR DISPLAY DURING THUNDERSTORMS RAINING. THIS IS TO CONFUSE A HAZARD COMPLETELY STOPPING BEING RAM FROM BEHIND.

• Ok I won’t zig zag and challenging cars that has turbo/modified exhaust on them from now on

• How about 50kmph on highways fastlane blocking 2 lanes?

• Wayang2 on Sep 24, 2022 at 8:29 pm

Are you sure or not got prison term and heavy fine? Many mat rempits still out there freely

• Jeywork on Sep 25, 2022 at 7:54 am

Blh lepas dengan minum arak.

• komarad on Sep 29, 2022 at 9:50 am

that one only denda kerana mabuk… can’t remember zig zagging or racing before that..

• abcdefg on Dec 05, 2023 at 3:43 pm

A few big youtubers have been doing that for years, post those videos on Youtube as proof somemore, but nothing happens to them. YS KHONG, BOBBY ANG, ADEREN LIM