Proton cars sold via Certified Pre-Owned programme now get Allianz-backed one-year extended warranty

Proton vehicles sold through the Proton Certified Pre-Owned (PCPO) programme will now come with a one-year extended warranty underwritten by Allianz General Insurance effective immediately, the carmaker announced.

The extended warranty period covers parts of the engine and transmission that are found to be defective under normal use for first 25,000 km or 12 months from the date or purchase – repairs and replacements are conducted by the warranty provider.

“Proton would like to welcome Allianz as our insurance partner in our effort to provide added assurance to our customers. With the extended warranty, owners of PCPO vehicles are protected from unexpected costs due to mechanical failure for engine and transmission parts,” said Roslan Abdullah, deputy CEO of Proton.

“With Proton’s sales volume increasing over the past few years, we have seen a similar increase of trade-in or trade-up transactions. Therefore, with customer satisfaction in mind, we want to give assurances to our consumers to ensure ownership of a PCPO vehicle is a satisfactory experience on par with other brands,” he added.

The PCPO programme is managed by Proton’s Used Car Management (UCM) division and there are currently 36 participating Proton outlets that retail PCPO vehicles in Malaysia. Vehicles sold through the programme are required to undergo a thorough 201-point inspection to ensure they are free of any flood or major accident damage. In addition to the one-year extended warranty, customers are also entitled to a one-time free basic service that is redeemable up to six months.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• dong gor on Oct 20, 2022 at 2:45 pm

new car go back to service centers also always cannot find out the root cause and solve them. so expect this kinda extended warranty by a third party to do any good? all just marketing la…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
    • discouraging people won’t benefit you in any way. If i find something worth it there, i will still buy it. Why should i listen to you anyway.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
    • very true ! somemore stated there as reliable as new! haha. expect this proton guy to give you peace of mind??? Tak tambah masalah , dah boleh berterima kasih dah.

• KBChan on Oct 21, 2022 at 12:47 pm

Depends on your luck to choose the reliable vehicle but is the price reasonable and worth it.

• Completely forgot about this

• Aaron on Oct 20, 2022 at 11:16 pm

No more proton for me.. First time bought & regrat buying cash!!!! My saga issues not solved even its 3 years ready

• Same ,No more low quality Proton for me ,even if it is cheaper.Have to repair a lot after buying.