JPJ eBid collection in 2022 now at RM286 mil from 124 number plate series – average of RM2.3 mil per series

The JPJ eBid online vehicle number plate bidding system continues to be one of the highest contributors in revenue for the road transport department (JPJ). The department has managed to collect RM286 million in the first 10 months of the year, well eclipsing the total collection for 2020, a year disrupted by Covid-19.

According to JPJ director-general Datuk Zailani Hashim, 124 vehicle number plate series have been introduced through the system so far this year, with an average of RM2.3 million profit per series.

He said that the eBid system, which replaced the manual bidding system used previously, had made it more convenient for interested parties to place their bids. “Since the department introduced the initiative, response from the public has been very encouraging, as everyone can bid no matter where they are,” he was quoted as saying in a Bernama report.

“This system makes it easy for consumers to bid for the numbers they want in a transparent and effective manner. Previously, people in Penang couldn’t bid for other states’ plates, but now they can bid for any state’s plate, including Sarawak, online,” he said.

The JPJ eBid system kicked off in April 2019 in pilot project form, and the first number plate series to go online was Putrajaya’s FC. After FC, JPJ eBid was used by the department for KL plates starting with the VDN series in June 2019. It’s now nationwide, and very popular amongst car buyers, as attested by the money spent on number plates.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• call me by your name on Oct 27, 2022 at 2:12 pm

no need to do enforcement, just sell number plate, just change it to jpj bhd and go for listing

• Lets See on Oct 27, 2022 at 6:35 pm

You can thank former Transport Minister Anthony Loke for turning a gig selling fancy plates into an enterprise, after all he is more known as Bapak Penjual No Plat #1.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 7
      • Nama Budaya on Oct 27, 2022 at 9:43 pm

Do you mean your former transport minister started this number plate business just recently? Prior to this the number plate is given free?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
        • Truckers on Oct 29, 2022 at 5:31 pm

Pretty much was free. Under the previous previous TM, fancy plates were auctioned for the benefit of education, charity, and other institutional bodies so it was more CSR from JPJ. Loke changed that by turning it into a money printing machine, with nearly all that revenue is profits, god knows what he did with all that money.

• Kerajawan Neraka on Oct 31, 2022 at 11:32 am

do be good citizen, should become first priority witness testify in court when required

• CHAI SEE HOI on Oct 27, 2022 at 6:36 pm

In Singapore, you can swap old car registration number with another old car then you pay a car registration number interchange fee of SGD 1,200. we should practice this in Malaysia also.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
    • WahabMandir on Oct 27, 2022 at 11:20 pm

Same in malaysia, I keep my old number and register to a new car ten years ago

• Ghani on Oct 28, 2022 at 12:10 am

You can do that too lah. And it doesn’t cost RM 1200. That’s just a ripoff, but then what isn’t in Singapore.

• They know how to make easy rich business than u all