MEX contraflow lane trial to KL starts today – 7am to 10am weekdays, KM11.5 to KM7.9, light vehicles only

With population growth and new townships sprouting, even quiet highways can become congested. The MEX is one such highway – have you seen the jam there heading towards KL in the mornings? To help ease the situation, there will now be a contraflow lane for the morning rush hour.

MEX has announced a contraflow lane for those heading towards Jalan Tun Razak dan KL city centre from the Salak Selatan toll plaza. The trial started this morning, and will be in place on weekdays, Monday to Friday, from 7am to 10am. The contraflow lane is for Class 1 light vehicles only.

The exact stretch of the contraflow is from KM 11.5 to KM 7.9, KL-bound. This 3.6 km stretch will be near the Kuchai Lama exit, but those who want to depart the MEX for Kuchai Lama are reminded to not use the contraflow and stick to the original lanes – there’s no way for you to cut through.

MEX users, how was the situation there this morning? As with everything new, it might have took some people by surprise and the flow should get smoother with time. Should the contraflow be longer?

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Ground europe passenger on Nov 16, 2022 at 12:17 pm

It makes the conditions worst, the entrance back to mex should be set further up not right before the kuchai lama exit. The banner should stated “KL sahaja”.

• Tin Kosong Tian Chua on Nov 16, 2022 at 9:39 pm

If we r adding 650,000 new vehicles plus another 100,000 recon from Japan..total 3/4 million vehicles annually..by 2027-2030..Mex highway,Jln Cheras contra lanes will become PERMANENT CARPARKS.
      The SUKE highway took away 10% of traffic from Cheras to Bkt Antarabangsa..but the rest r still stuck on the way to rush hour PJ/KL CBD traffic.
      If there is no serious carpooling to KL CBD,multiple DUKE or SUKE will not solve the jams.
      I m no expert,but time is running out if no concrete efforts r taken now.
      We leave it to Rafizi n Co to tackle this after Nov 19.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
      • Angry Voters on Nov 17, 2022 at 11:36 am

You can’t be too picky these days less you’re ok with bad road planning which is why we must change back to BN if we want to solve this problem.

• Make Malaysia Great Again on Nov 17, 2022 at 11:43 am

If you love traffic jams, vote PH
        If you hate traffic jams, vote BN

• macampondan on Nov 16, 2022 at 12:45 pm

the contra flow will not work… the bottleneck is the bukit jalil, kuchai lama and tun razak exit…

if that is not solved…what’s the point.

• This will at least help alleviate the bottleneck at kuchai lama exit. If this works, MEX could do another for bkt jalil exit too

• Ahjeff on Nov 16, 2022 at 1:48 pm

Creating another bottle neck. Traffic was horrible this morning at 630am, before the contra flow start.

• spawn3 on Nov 16, 2022 at 3:14 pm

Made the traffic worst.

• Only way to improve is to widen the sg besi highway ( kl-seremban highway) due to many entry and exits by one or two lanes heading towards KL, from pantai expressway ( kuchsi lama) to salak highway to taman desa. Probably 1 kilometre long.

• The traffic this morning from Sri Petaling was horrendous. Please fix this

• The traffic was even worst please stop this plab

• Stupid Mex Management on Nov 17, 2022 at 8:07 am

This has been done 2 years ago and it created massive trafic Jam. A person with common sense and with brain should know that by closing and merging a lane just to allow the contra flow vehicles to merge back in will create tradfic Jam. This was never happened before the contra flow. I think Mex is managed by no brainer.

• Inikalilah on Nov 17, 2022 at 8:58 am

It ease for those to KL from Putrajaya which is the original intention so good for me and those from putrajaya to KL. We paid 2 tolls so feel better now.

• KL workers on Nov 17, 2022 at 9:17 am

It’s funny when u c people work in KL complain KL jam.

U expect 0 jam is it ? Take helicopter

• oh ok lah on Nov 17, 2022 at 1:40 pm

it would not solved the problems. The problem is not about highway capacity. but bottlenect at out of highway junction. takde ke org bijak professor boleh bagitahu kerajaan. they build new highway like SUKE not gonna solved the problem, but only add more choke point along existing road stretch.

• The traffic become worst!!

• Traffic is 30 minute longer than usual at 7am from Sri petaling

• Always stuck in mex traffic on Nov 29, 2022 at 9:38 am

Traffic become worst. Standstill traffic before exit and entry to contra Lane. 3 lanes squeezing into 2 lanes, common sense it will increase traffic. Please remove contra flow.

• Mexzial on Nov 30, 2022 at 5:09 pm

Bukan tak pernah buat contra flow dlu.
    Dh tau didn’t work nk buat lagi
    menyusahkan orang betol
    kalau nk buat start kat 5km from Putrajaya & Salak South Tol lah
    Vavi

• NADIA on Dec 01, 2022 at 8:47 am

The congestion on MEX highway begins even before seri kembangan exit (KL bound) and it magically disappears as we ascend the uphill portion after that. So, by right, MEX should start somewhere near the R&R for a contraflow to work as additional lane towards KL. Ini tak, masih bukak contraflow at the original stretch. Memang no brainer lah…because somehow, that stretch has better flow nowadays compared to those BEFORE seri kembangan. And today, 1 Dec 2022, there is no more contraflow. Yet, the stretch is flowing nicely. So, ko rase kat mana yang patut buat contraflow as additional lane tuh? MEX, MEX..