What is that car with antennas at the PM’s office?

Speculation has been rife on Malaysian social media about a black Volvo XC90 seen driving into the Prime Minister’s office in Putrajaya after the recent orgy regarding the country’s new Prime Minister. The vehicle with blacked out windows carries a civilian registration number and is equipped with an antenna farm on the roof rack along with a roof box.

Numerous theories were put forward as to the function of this vehicle and we approached a source to get to the bottom of this. Speaking on condition of anonymity, our source firstly said, “that vehicle belongs to the police, more specifically the VIP security detail.”

“The vehicle serves two functions. One, it is a communications relay for the other vehicles in the convoy, carrying several high powered transmitters and usually operating in the UHF and VHF bands,” our source explained. “This allows`all the vehicles in the convoy to tie into the same comms net and communicate with other stations on the same net,” our source added.

What is that car with antennas at the PM’s office?

“Another primary function, aside from communications, is the vehicle functions as a signals jammer.” At this point our source pointed out the information he was telling us, while not exactly unavailable through open sources, is classified as “Secret” in Malaysia.

“The signals jamming is to prevent bad guys from using mobile phones or RF (radio frequency) signals to detonate bombs, or to prevent signals going out to execute an ambush,” he said. “This is common use for military operations, especially convoys. In this case, a civilian vehicle is used for operating in urban areas.”

Our source declined to give us the frequencies on which the device operates but some have noted the loss of mobile phone and other signals as the vehicle passed them by. So, there you have it, it is a mobile command post, of sorts, specifically designed for high value target vehicle convoys operating in a built up environment.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• Kariayam on Nov 25, 2022 at 5:51 pm

Interesting we have this sort of tech over here, i wonder if the system can be easily transferred over to another vehicle or if its custom built for that specific xc90.

• Shaun on Nov 25, 2022 at 6:35 pm

specifically built on xc90. fully interior modifications like an office with screens, you my have seen such setup in hollywood movies.

• It’s been here all the while. PDRM doesn’t take threats lightly while escorting VIPs. Don’t forget we are a country who went through insurgencies where communist insurgents assassinated a few high profile personnel in the past.

Besides, surrounding us we have terrorist groups operating in Thailand, Indonesia, and Phillipines where bomb attacks using such methods are common.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 2
      • sub_zero on Nov 30, 2022 at 6:19 pm

very spot on. especially some recently sudden spike of extremist from both spectrum, police had to double their effort

• No only exclusive to Volvo and only volvo, the rest of the car makers are under a coconut.

• Li Peng on Nov 26, 2022 at 3:22 pm

It’s a special option only available for the xc90. Everybody can see how perfect the antennas blend into the cars shape.

• Lari Bogel Mana? (Roti john) on Nov 25, 2022 at 5:57 pm

Rakyat Malaysia on Oct 31, 2022 at 3:03 pm
    Hidup BN! Only patriotic Malaysians will bersyukur and vote for our caring #BetterNation. All those oppo supporters can GTH and leave Malaysia!

Kalau PH menang, aku akan lari bogel kat KLCC! Mark my words. #PHenipu #BetterNation

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 85
    • Stop keep on bullying PH. PH-BN are now more friends. Please lah, Move on bro

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 6
      • Civic Turbo 2018 on Nov 28, 2022 at 9:51 am

Salute DSAI. Gives priority to Rakyat’s interest and Country’s economy. Screw those using racial and religious propagandas as political gain

• Ramdan on Nov 25, 2022 at 6:46 pm

Rakyat Malaysia and john are the SAME person. just 2 different persona only

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
      • Lari Bogel Mana? on Nov 26, 2022 at 8:42 am

I hope john/Rakyat Malaysia will fulfill his promise by this week. Everyone can’t wait to see him lari bogel at KLCC

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
        • Spin Too Much on Nov 27, 2022 at 4:06 pm

Rakyat Malaysia is more than just john, or are you not a rakyat Malaysia? Then which country you came from to subvert our nation?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
    • Invert on Nov 25, 2022 at 6:46 pm

This story doesn’t relates to your comment.

• call me by your name on Nov 25, 2022 at 7:06 pm

get an effing job

• This is a Malaysia Baru Era . Please stop bro. Enough is enough. Drop it bro.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
  • RF communication jammer

• abu jaabir on Nov 25, 2022 at 7:15 pm

RF communication jammer

• Apunene on Nov 25, 2022 at 9:12 pm

Just our PM want to listen all radio frequencies that reporting his win

• Goon Wui Yeang on Nov 25, 2022 at 9:21 pm

First para, sentence 1. “…….recent orgy…”. Is this a typo or something I didn’t know about????

• Bla blaz on Nov 25, 2022 at 10:13 pm

Aiya. From the look of it, it is use to hang flag. Lot of flags

• interesting that the live feed does not get jammed…

• So PAS need not to worry about communist.

• tribal warrior Marky Low on Nov 26, 2022 at 10:37 am

Janes said it’s countermeasures against bayraktar suicidal drone?

• Obama on Nov 26, 2022 at 10:56 am

Can prevent Drone flying near you

• Not to mentioned to prevent overheard intrusion I presumed.

• Dresscode on Nov 28, 2022 at 7:36 am

If he drives near my house can I get better wifi?

• albag on Nov 29, 2022 at 9:32 am

with so much signal activities on top of that roof, i wonder the driver and passengers inside that XC90 will suffer from any radiation onot

• Panjang on Nov 29, 2022 at 1:00 pm

Salute to PDRM and all armed forces branch is Malaysia. Kesetian tidak berbelah bagi walau siapa pun memerintah.

Anyway, can i control this car using my Shell Racing app?