Flash floods reported across Johor following rainfall

Reports of flash floods in Johor have emerged following rainfall in the southern state, with social media posts showing floods along Lebuhraya Pasir Gudang towards the Seri Alam exit, Kampung Kurnia, Kampung Ubi as well as along Jalan Masai Lama.

Video footage and still images posted to the Community Roda Johor Facebook page show these affected areas, and the affected stretch of Lebuhraya Pasir Gudang was reported to have been flooded from 1pm today, in both directions.

Floods have also been reported to have affected Jalan Kempas from Jalan Halimah, along the exit to Jalan Kobena towards JB that is from Jalan Perling, along with the aforementioned areas of Kampung Ubi, Kampung Kurnia and Jalan Masai Lama. Last week, flash floods also occurred in Perak and Kuala Lumpur, as well as in Melaka.

At any time when floods could be imminent, especially at this time of the year, check your surroundings, place your vehicle in a safer location, and delay your travels where possible to minimise the risk of getting caught in floods. As a further safeguard in the event that getting your vehicle stuck in a flood becomes inevitable, ensure that you have Special Perils insurance coverage for your vehicle, which is an optional add-on.

Opting in will cost a extra sum of money, however this is relatively minor compared to your vehicle’s insured value and may prove to be crucial in your financial protection should your vehicle sustain flood damage. If you do without, you may be left to foot a hefty repair bill.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Civic Turbo 2018 on Dec 05, 2022 at 3:41 pm

Wonder what our OPPOSITION is doing now
    “praying”(LIKE) / “cursing”(DISLIKE) ?

• Tin Kosong Tian Chua on Dec 05, 2022 at 10:05 pm

Crying,moaning,cursing,having nightmares getting prosecuted soon etc..biasa lah ,expected.

• john is otak batu on Dec 05, 2022 at 4:59 pm

expected…. NEXXXXT!

• Angry Voters on Dec 05, 2022 at 6:04 pm

But here PH trooper sez flood caused by BN corruption and if they win, there will be no more floods. So what is this?! Are PH just as corrupted or they were lying all these while? Big fat stinking lies since 2018!

• Kea Was on Dec 06, 2022 at 6:19 pm

Nah more like the ex-Environmental Minister who said Malaysia is not a climate vulnerable country last year 2021 and then went and approve project as his liking but without any study or even any work done – so your guess is as good as mine why?

• Resurgent Rafizi & Co on Dec 05, 2022 at 10:08 pm

By now,only a fool will additional avoid special peril coverage.

• jagat malaysia on Dec 06, 2022 at 10:44 am

state monarch should be proactive tackling this natural disaster hand in hand with public servants