Flash floods reported in Kuala Lumpur, Perak after rainfall – check for affected areas before you travel

Rainfall across Kuala Lumpur today has seen several areas in the capital to be flooded today, including Jalan Parlimen, Jalan Maharajalela, Jalan Travers and others, as well as Taman Connaught in Cheras.

Further north, the same also appears to have taken place in Kampong Sumpitan, Perak, where the flooding appears on video to be rather more severe (video for Kampong Sumpitan in embedded tweet immediately below).

If you had planned to leave to office or otherwise travel into or out of these affected areas, check your areas from your point of origin to your destination to find out if your route will take you through any of these affected areas; if they are, delay your journey if you can, and move your vehicle to a safer location where possible.

If you must get going for any pressing matter, be especially vigilant and not force your way through flooded zones as doing so can cause considerable damage to your vehicle.

Do remember to have Special Perils coverage for your vehicle’s insurance policy if it isn’t already included, as this is an optional add-on.

Opting in will add to your insurance cost, however it will be relatively small compared to the vehicle’s insured value, and may well prove to be crucial for your financial protection should your vehicle get damaged in a flood. Going without will leave you to face any flood repair bills on your own, which can be very expensive.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Adrian on Nov 30, 2022 at 8:10 pm

Turn your damn headlights on on rainy days! Increase your visibility to other motorists!!!!!!

• Resurgent Zahidkor on Nov 30, 2022 at 9:21 pm

Special peril additional add on insurance is no longer”later lah”.
    It is COMPULSORY if u dont want your brand new 100+ grand X70 ravaged by sudden flood waters.
    If u leave it to “FATE” ,well FATE will allow the bank to demand full settlement for the written off car without flood coverage.
    In other words,u r in danger of being sued for bankruptcy if the total debt crosses 100 grand.
    Are there any more motorists who still leave it to FATE ?

• LaksaKL on Dec 01, 2022 at 7:15 am

https://paultan.org/2022/05/27/dbkl-deploys-water-pumps-sandbags-at-flash-flood-hotspots-across-the-city-temporary-measures/

Time for a review on earlier provision temporary water pumps, sandbags provided @ flash flood hotspots. It should be a continuous effort until a permanent solution. Too much Hazard.

• Angry Voters on Dec 01, 2022 at 10:42 am

But here PH trooper sez flood caused by BN corruption and if they win, there will be no more floods. So what is this?! Are PH just as corrupted or they were lying all these while? Big fat stinking lies since 2018!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 18
    • Kea Was on Dec 01, 2022 at 11:12 am

One thing we know for sure is that the ex-environmental man told us that Malaysia is not a climate vulnerable country last year 2021 – there you go corruption marred with St…

• Brian on Dec 01, 2022 at 5:47 pm

Exactly! End year flood has nothing to do with climate change, that is why it is called end year flood. But PH troopers stupidity tried to blame natural weather phenomena onto BN. That is like saying earthquakes in Japan is caused by their proliferation of JAV. Stupid reasoning right? Cannot brain how these PH troopers thought process, perhaps no brain was applied.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10