EVs under RM100k? Malaysia working on making electric cars more affordable – climate change minister

Malaysians are slowly but eventually catching on to electric vehicles (EV) with over 10,000 EVs registered in Malaysia but as a whole, the barriers to entry for EV ownership are still high. Currently, the most affordable EV in Malaysia is the Ora Good Cat, priced from RM140k.

For those who have been looking to get on the electric vehicle bandwagon, this piece of news gives plenty to look forward to as the government is now looking into the affordability of EVs. This is with the intention to introduce electric vehicles that cost below RM100,000 to ensure that it is not merely reserved for a higher-income group of customers.

The move will not only make electric vehicles more accessible to the general public but will also contribute to the reduction of carbon emissions, according to Nik Nazmi Nik Ahmad, minister of natural resources, environment and climate change.

“Most EVs in our market cost RM100,000 or more, hence the need to shift our attention to a larger market with EVs costing RM100,000 or less. The government is exploring avenues to introduce more affordable EVs in Malaysia and will be observing Proton as to when they will introduce a Geely-based electric vehicle here,” the minister said.

He added, “Even if that happens, it’s still coming from overseas. If we can assemble it locally, electric vehicles will be more affordable. The government will also explore the roles it can play alongside automotive manufacturers to make this happen.”

Pan Eu Jin

Pan Eu Jin is a firm believer that good things don’t come cheap, but cheap cars can be good. How a car makes you feel behind the wheel or as a passenger should be more important than the brand it represents.

• Bekas Banduan Diangkat Hero on Dec 14, 2022 at 6:37 pm

I thought when PH became government, car prices would become cheaper?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 18
    • TT laman on Dec 14, 2022 at 10:33 pm

Then after PN take over what can cheaper? Pride?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 5
    • Sohai on Dec 15, 2022 at 1:23 am

Sohai betoi making below 100k… better resigned no need work because Gelly just launched rm26k EV , can u work at below rm30k EV or not…? If cannot then sohai betoi because Geely already selling rm26k…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 9
      • Alfonso on Dec 16, 2022 at 8:54 am

battery alone costing RM20K .. mabuk ke

• Jean the horseface on Dec 18, 2022 at 12:47 pm

Lol, U talking about Myr 26k or USD 26k….???? Give the source about where u get this info

• SkepticScripter on Dec 16, 2022 at 7:03 pm

Your ignorance is mind boggling. But then, I’m sure licking the ass of PN politicians is extremely tantalizing for you.

• Ruming on Dec 19, 2022 at 9:40 am

You thought that PH took over car become cheaper…what made you think that??? Maybe can recover a substantial amount of the sum of 600 billion “spent” during PN time can then be used to reduce the car price….better to reduce the cost of living….PN storm trooper…

• Don’t forget lithium mining…
    Or the recycling of electric cars following battery degradation
    When talking about environment

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 2
    • Kariayam on Dec 14, 2022 at 9:30 pm

I agree, also how much of our grid is being sourced from burning petrol & coal. Good public transportation systems are the most effective way of going green. The goal is to convince people to get out of their cars. EVs aren’t going to solve traffic jams.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
      • kebal on Dec 14, 2022 at 11:42 pm

Ditto! public transport is practically the best way to move people efficiently, not personal transport

• EVuser on Dec 15, 2022 at 1:10 pm

Lithium Mining is in LAND where there are FEW poeple living.AND away from populated areas. Progress has a COST and this enviroment degration is the Price we pay. BUT ….. If we do NOT transit to EV …We and our children and FUTURE generation WILL DAILY breath the Cancer causing pollution when we wake up until we DIE. So .. do we want to health ISSUES NOW ? And give EXCUSES that Lithium Mining degrade the enviroment ? How about Extraction of Crude Oil, Fracking , Gas extraction , etc ? Even Huge cultivation of Cattle produces Methane which degrade Ozone layer = Climate change.

• FudgeMeSideways on Dec 14, 2022 at 7:56 pm

Work on making MYR more valuable.

• F Shahrir on Dec 14, 2022 at 9:24 pm

Please make Malaysia a major hub for EV in SE Asia, then our economy will booming for real!! Bring those Tesla, Toyota BZ3 and even more.. come here Panasonic, Sony Honda.. invite them all Anwar.. please

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 10
    • Newme on Dec 15, 2022 at 8:01 am

Enough with all this hub-hub lah. Of all the hubs (IT hub, auto hub, education hub, halal hub… etc), which one really made it to the top so far?

• Battery technology is progressing daily.Lithium battery will soon be replaced by sodium and other environment friendlier one. Car emission is one big pollution especially in urban areas, just go stand near any road junction and see if you are comfortable with the emissions from nearby traffic.

• kckfen on Dec 15, 2022 at 8:03 am

Malaysia should attract CATL and BYD to set up Sodium Ion Battery in Malaysia. Malaysia is also Graphene producer ( from Palm Oil Kernel ) which is essential nano component for battery manufacture. If we able to bring these company to Malaysia to set up Sodium Ion Battery, we will manage to cut a standard EV cost by at least 30%. With CKD and local Sodium Ion Battery manufacturing, it is possible to bring down the EV cost to less than Rm50k

• drMpower on Dec 15, 2022 at 10:21 am

the cheapest ev in the market (with good, acceptable brand) is usd 25k. the bolt by our american brand

so how this going to be sub 100k myr? with forex 25k usd is surely more 100k myr already

dont tell me those cheap chinese brands ones…

• Retrofit EV Cars on Dec 15, 2022 at 10:32 am

To Mr Minister Nik Nazmi ,

Better amend the JPJ law to allow retrofit current/old car into EV car.

Tell the carmakers to provide official EV retrofit kit for common models (eg. Proton Saga, Perodua Myvi, etc) to comply with safety rules.

Allow approved 3rd party EV installers which will help workshop owners with new business options (retrofit EV car).

Thank you and all the best.

• EV vs petrol on Dec 15, 2022 at 12:33 pm

What is the cost to charge an ev vs refueling petrol per kilometer?

• work faster hahah

• Scion on Dec 15, 2022 at 1:42 pm

Want to make car cheaper? Easy. strenghten RM currency. everything will become cheaper.

• I worry about this enthusiasm about EVs.
    1) Malaysia’s hot and humid weather is bad for lithium ion batteries. Meaning batteries either degrades faster or discharges faster.
    2) Buyers of EV should be prepared for drastic price drops in 2nd hand or resale value of EVs. As the car and battery ages, the range of the EV decreases. No one in their right mind will buy a car that travels shorter over time.
    Buyers beware and don’t be too hyped up with all these talk about EVs. Leave this to the developed and rich nations. Malaysians can ill afford EVs.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
  • Jawyu on Dec 15, 2022 at 7:07 pm

Why not below 40k? Also bnm to legislate reducing balance on loans for below 50k cars…

• Ora meow on Dec 16, 2022 at 7:49 am

Ora cat is alr selling below rm100k in china. It’s our taxes dumbo

• I thought EV cars are tax-free. If that is correct, the government should investigate who benefit from huge profit and charge them with price manupulation.

• Ralph luku on Dec 16, 2022 at 8:27 am

Let thevnew government take the way to promote the ev car…apa bising2..it good for environmental issues in the run…

• Xavier on Dec 16, 2022 at 4:23 pm

If they mean it, very easy, tax and duties charged for this class.