Make sure your car’s third brake light works properly – up to RM2,000 fine, six months in jail, says PDRM

Does your car’s third brake light work properly? If not, you can be fined up to RM2,000 and face imprisonment of not more than six months if convicted, according to the Royal Malaysia Police (PDRM).

The third brake light is the red light located at the top or bottom middle of a car’s windshield and serves to notify drivers behind that you are slowing down, which is especially important when it is raining.

Should the third brake light malfunction or be removed by the car owner, this poses a danger to other drivers tailing you as they may not be able to know when you are braking, resulting in a possible collision. Drivers caught with faulty or absent taillights are subject to Section 119(1) of the Road Transport Act 1987 for general offences and penalties.

A simple way to check by yourself if your car’s third brake light is working is to use your phone to record a video of your car from the back while you get in and step on the brake pedal in a safe environment.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• v-tech fan on Dec 19, 2022 at 10:55 am

aiyoh…mcm ni pun kena jail… sometime user don’t know their 3rd light not working…is not they want to turn off or pusposely disable the 3rd light. IMO…i agree saman lah… but jail i think is too much lah…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 19
    • v-tech? Amg please on Dec 19, 2022 at 1:31 pm

Aiyoh, x buat enforcement bising tak buat kerja. Bila buat enforcement, kata too much. What do u want? They dont know their 3rd light working?ada ambil lesen kan? Sebelum bawak kasi check dulu la lampu tu hidup ke tak..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 11
      • Baskaran. on Dec 22, 2022 at 1:02 pm

Ok before start driving I can check with the help of a second person. What as I am driving the bulb fused? I cannot check every time before I start my next driving.

• Good enforcement is good, BUT just look out for the quality/right color lightings at night.
      On PLUS highways, some vehicles esp heavy vehicles – they have dim lights.

• Good enforcement is good, BUT just look out for the quality/right color lightings at night.On PLUS highways, some vehicles esp heavy vehicles – they have dim lights.

• Abd Muin Ahmad on Dec 22, 2022 at 8:10 am

Undang² di Malaysia ini mmg byk yg menindas rakyat sbb perasuah² tidak boleh dan tidak pernah membuat pertimbangan yg wajar. Pewajiban pasang lampu ketiga adalah suatu kedangkalan ide utk menambah kekayaan pihak kapitalis semata. Nanti dtg pula undang² utk pasang lampu ke 4 dan ke 5, alasannya kemalangan bertambah padahal selepas lampu ketiga diwajibkan, eksiden makin bertambah juga. Bukan akar masalahnya yang diurus, simptomnya yg disibukkan!

• Li Peng on Dec 19, 2022 at 11:01 am

But kapchais don’t need lights at all and the police does nothing (aside from some roadblocks in KL or Penang)?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 2
  • Sgt Scoop on Dec 19, 2022 at 11:54 am

Six months in jail because a light you can’t see isn’t working?

What kind of madness is this?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 11
    • Shane on Dec 19, 2022 at 10:45 pm

So much fuss over this when I see hundreds of bikers breaking the laws daily and not one thing gets done ! Where are the police when you need them. ? And besides that nobody should be tail gaining you in the first place ! Those people are the real law breakers and should at least be fined

• Tan AIK HONG on Dec 20, 2022 at 7:46 am

Electric appliances can malfunction at anytime. How are you to know when you are driving! The fine is high for such a minor offence and the jailing is rediclous

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
  • I wonder how’s the after sales going for Ertiga and pre-2016 Suzuki models. E.g. they need a replacement third brake light, can they get one?

• Li Peng on Dec 19, 2022 at 2:45 pm

Exhausts and headlights for pre-2016 Suzuki’s also not available any more. Should government allow pre-2016 Suzuki owners to go without exhaust n headlights?

• Newme on Dec 19, 2022 at 11:02 pm

Proton dont sell?

• newme on Dec 19, 2022 at 12:59 pm

In the meanwhile, mat rempit with no side mirror, no brake, no license and insurance are pampered and gifted with racing circuits.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 2
  • Curious on Dec 19, 2022 at 2:36 pm

Nex wil b rear seat belt n baby seat enforcement, good that they keep on reminding , hope it’s not just for show only bcos of new government.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
  • This seems might be purposely to let cops ask for higher bribes.

Why set it so ridiculously high? Is it proven that not having a 3rd brake light seriously causes accidents?

OK, if you set it so high, can we set the fine for cops asking for bribes to be RM200K and 20 years jail?

In countries like the US, you get a “fix it” ticket, instead of such a crazy, hefty fine.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 1
    • Shane on Dec 19, 2022 at 10:46 pm

So much fuss over this when I see hundreds of bikers breaking the laws daily and not one thing gets done ! Where are the police when you need them. ? And besides that nobody should be tail gaining you in the first place ! Those people are the real law breakers and should at least be fined

• relax gais… no enforcement so all good

• Andrew Chua on Dec 19, 2022 at 3:58 pm

Common scene on night roads is cars moving without headlights ON hence no rear lights as well Some have their secondary front lights ON but not the headlights hence no rear lights as well. Action and saman need to be taken. Myvi Cara are common. What are the causes? JPJ/PDRM need to put out social media posters on offences to remind the public.

• athies on Dec 20, 2022 at 10:26 am

When secondary lights are on the rear lights are on too..
      Nowadays most cars have TFT screens, which is lit even during the day…so drivers will forget. Cars with analog meters do not need to be lit up during the day.Therefore at dusk, the meters cannot be seen/read…so drivers have to switch on their secondary lights for the dashboard to be visible

• A joke. I see so many cars with only the 3rd brake light functioning. Instead of enforcing this they should instead give priority the main brake light is actually working in the first place.

• I see so many cars with only the 3rd brake light functioning. Instead of enforcing this they should instead give priority the main brake light is actually working in the first place.

• better saman those with tinted signal and tail lights. how tf do we know if ur braking or turning when we can barely see the light. some also change their signals to red!

• C Chu on Dec 19, 2022 at 6:52 pm

How much is the fine for >30% tinting? Where is the enforcement? Should the tinting allowance be increased given our hot weather?

• C Chu on Dec 19, 2022 at 6:56 pm

Where is the enforcement for >30@% windscreen tinting? I noticed a good number of pdrm vehicles with dark tint. Asked another way, is 30% even practical in our hot climate?

• Guess tis the wildest and dumbest enforcing laws ever happened.Wat to do.Dont use car the best resolve as wat to come in future is worst i reckon..bcos msia needs money now. Everybody knows 3rd brake lite is not a critical causes to car wreck.Attitudes count..

• What about cars / older generation cars that doesn’t have 3rd brake lights when it roll out from the factory.

• Charlie fu on Dec 19, 2022 at 10:21 pm

The ministry of transport should study this law carefully and review it, because I always check my third brake light before I drive my car.but what happens when along the journey, my third brake light bulb blown. I wouldn’t know and traffic police stop and give me saman. It is fair to me? I suggest as long as the other two brake light are working. They should only issue a warning ticket.

• Anuar Ibrahim on Dec 19, 2022 at 10:42 pm

RM2000 fine or jail is too ridiculous. I would say RM300 fine will do. What if yr brake light malfunction in the midst of driving?????

I would say impose RM2000 fine or jail 6 months to those double parkers that causes inconvenient to others

• Kenny on Dec 19, 2022 at 11:47 pm

I saw a car with all brake lights not working. Not aware and almost hit that car.

• Ben Yap on Dec 19, 2022 at 11:51 pm

no 3rd brake lights then put out your hand and wave like being taught in driving school.

• Fawwaz on Dec 20, 2022 at 5:22 am

Half the Myvi and Alza on the road have a 3rd brake light that doesn’t work. These people don’t send their cars for maintenance?

• master on Dec 21, 2022 at 1:57 am

perodua cars especially notorious for burnt 3rd brake light bulbs. dunno why aa

• Kumares on Dec 20, 2022 at 8:03 am

Yang ni berkuatkuasa sejak bila yea? Atau ianya serta merta kuatkuasanya, Tuan Paul Tan?

• A. H. Tan on Dec 20, 2022 at 8:17 am

Electric appliances can malfunction at anytime! How are you to know when you are driving. It is most important drivers should not tailgating when driving. Even the taillight is working you won’t have time to stop the car in time especially if at high speed. The fine is high for such minor offence and jailing is uncalled for!

• David on Dec 20, 2022 at 8:55 am

Can we fix another 1 or 2 third brake light? Just in case 1 blow we still got spare

• Junkies otr on Dec 20, 2022 at 9:01 am

Ehhhhh…..what about those lorries or cars with white brake lights, blue signal lights n all sorts of nonsense?

• Tony Stark on Dec 20, 2022 at 11:07 am

Make sure no potholes otherwise I don’t pay road tax. Make sure no mat rempits on the road, or else we imprison PDRM!!

• What about the actual break light

• Nigga on Dec 20, 2022 at 7:09 pm

Ridiculous law of enforcement. Summon is okay but prison is fkin over the top. You got more bad guys to jail.

• Please get the enforcement officer on the road to check lah, especially perodua car, damn a lot of them no third brake light, contact me if you want the prove, I got a lot.

• Krishan Chand on Dec 20, 2022 at 11:18 pm

How to fit third brake light on a 1970 Mini Moke?

• With the rear mirror tint NOW ALLOWED AT 100% darkness, the whole point/purpose of having the 3rd brake light as a crucial early warning to motorists has been largely defeated as one cannot now see the car ahead of the one directly of him in front braking! So authorities are actually clueless about the reason why it was introduced in the first place!!

• Very true indeed. I start slowing down ahead looking at 2-3 cars beyond in front.

• The law enforcement should issue a warning ticket for the driver to change the light not only the third brake light but all the light esp the headlights n brakes lights.
    It’s very dangerous to all drivers during the night

• Sam chin on Dec 21, 2022 at 3:49 pm

Third brake lights law will remains….too harsh penalty and summon for it. If you agreed, what about the billboard lights and cars lights against drivers eyes on the road? The lights against driving on the road is also hazardous to drivers. Pls check and advise. Should we sue or put a petition against the advertising and billboards lights and cars lights brakes against drivers at their back during red lights traffic stops and driving around the town?

• No slaying on Dec 21, 2022 at 4:01 pm

Good job government! People will hate gov for everything lorr.. so just go with it. Drivers blame riders, riders maki drivers, all monkeys are similar regardless what trees they’re on. Tighten and stricter enforcement as well, please. Takut kena saman or jail then just abide the law wut. Simple

• Zahar on Dec 21, 2022 at 4:14 pm

There too many traffic offends freely doing without police taking any legal actions such as illegal parking, obstructing traffic, changing lanes without signal, illegal u-turn, driving on emergency lane, speeding and many others that they should take action. When enforcement cannot be done it is showing that there are something not right happening, either the enforcement team are weak, not firm, poor enforcement or been corrupted. Obviously we can see, the enforcers need to be firmed to do their job.

• Shanthi Philipose on Dec 21, 2022 at 5:33 pm

They should do it like in New Zealand where one is given a week to rectify the defect failing which a fine can be imposed without jail time . That I see it as being sensible. Thank you .

• Shane on Dec 21, 2022 at 6:14 pm

So I’m a criminal if that 3rd light goes out while I’m driving ? I woke up that day in the morning with a criminal mindset??

• Baskaran. on Dec 22, 2022 at 1:24 pm

Ok before start driving I can check with the help of a second person. What as I am driving the bulb fused? I cannot check every time before I start my next driving. Enforcement is good. Be reasonable, My vehicle have three brake lights,(rear left, rear right and a third one at top rear.) the enforcement office can warn the driver if any one of the brake light is malfunction. He can do one step further by ask the driver to report to the nearest police station after replacing the bulb instead issuing summons.

• I think not immediately jail. after many times of summon and being repetitive offender than make sense to jail.