Prime minister Anwar Ibrahim says RM2 billion could be saved by re-evaluating flood mitigation projects

According to prime minister Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim, close to RM2 billion can be saved by reviewing flood mitigation projects that were awarded through direct negotiations.

As reported by The Star, Anwar, who is also finance minister, said almost RM15 billion had been previously allocated for the flood mitigation programme, of which RM13.8 billion were approved through direct negotiations.

Even so, these projects had yet to be implemented by the finance ministry. “That is why I wanted to put a stop to direct negotiations,” Anwar said in the Dewan Rakyat yesterday (December 20, 2022), adding that some of these were long-term projects and not urgent to warrant direct negotiations. Under the previous government, the water and environment ministry received submissions for 39 flood mitigation projects, with around 28 approved via direct negotiations.

“From RM15 billion, we could save close to RM2 billion because we have put an end to direct negotiations,” he said while tabling the Consolidated Fund (Expenditure on Account) Bill 2022, which has been approved to the amount RM107.7 billion – it is also referred to as the ‘2023 Mini Budget’.

Anwar also said RM400 million has been allocated to the National Disaster Management Agency (NADMA) for early preparations for floods. I held discussions with the Finance Ministry last week and this morning to find a way to increase allocations because according to early reports, the flood conditions are worse than expected,” he explained.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Amran on Dec 21, 2022 at 12:54 pm

Nature waits for no man. While they go reevaluating the projects, floods still coming in. So what if they saved 2Bil but the rakyat loses 20bil in personal losses? That is shortsighted thinking from this failed PH Gomen.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 53
    • newme on Dec 21, 2022 at 2:23 pm

Spending the RM2bil today can prevent the current flood?

• Dah Menang Semua on Dec 21, 2022 at 7:42 pm

None of the direct-negotiated projects was started. So whether stop-n-review 1st, it doesn’t affect the course of latest disaster.

Flood mitigation won’t change the destiny of God’s call. And certainly won’t help if U choose not to move-away from staying low-ground/ next to river/sea.

This article should carefully choose an image that best representing fact to avoid misleading reader’s sentiment

• Gomorrah on Dec 21, 2022 at 3:03 pm

Nature suddenly only stopped waiting issit? So during direct nego, nature also rilek a bit la? If direct nego was touted as the necessity to get it done, why isn’t it done yet?

• Mudin on Dec 21, 2022 at 4:26 pm

Your narrative is great bro.
      How did you come up with the 20bil figure?
      There’s no medication for stu.pidity aka bo.doh

• Panjang on Dec 21, 2022 at 8:17 pm

Brader, takyah lah menggelabah puyuh menyalak sana sini. Ko tak tau pun detail projek apa yg di tangguh atau cancel tu. Cuba belajar membaca, memahami, mendalami, mengkaji, dan ulang kaji baru komen….opps x pe lah, orang yg ada otak dan menggunakan otak je mampu buat bende2 ni.

• AutoFrenz (the original) on Dec 21, 2022 at 10:58 pm

Bodoh la rempit ni…diam2 je la kalo x tau…act like u know everything

• Ex-PN Supporter on Dec 22, 2022 at 2:11 am

Ape2 jela labu. janji bukan PN , LOL

• Gomen buat aper aper pun salah. Baik ko jaga rumah u dulu sebelum kritik.

• Gabriel on Dec 21, 2022 at 1:50 pm

This is a good move. We need to let contractors that are PH supporters to get the projects so that we can guarantee support for next election.
    We can delay the flood mitigation projects to make sure that our contractors can get the project.
    Those affected by floods are used to floods anyway, so they can wait awhile longer for the mitigation projects.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 17
  • Kea Was on Dec 21, 2022 at 2:00 pm

While the ex-Environmental Minister who said Malaysia is Not a Climate Vulnerable Country last year told us that the direct award is urgent but these flood mitigation projects were long-term project directed to award cronies. If this were to happen can’t wait for another ballooning priced project & delayed completion to maximize tax payers money to feed….

• Undi PH dapat Zahid on Dec 21, 2022 at 3:57 pm

Good job Anwar. We should save money as many as we can.

• Undi PN dapat Hadi on Dec 21, 2022 at 8:43 pm

I’m so ready for 2nd “Hotel” move
      Then these floods can be saved

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 15
      • Invert on Dec 22, 2022 at 12:01 pm

Come on bro, can you just move on and stop talking bad about PH. Btw, since you like PN so much, then why PN love to bankrupt our country economy, making our people more suffer, Muhyiddin and his gang have been lying so many times to all of us and stealing our rakyat money. How much worse than BN and PH. Did you think you should continue to support PN. Why care about you. Oh btw, PN government also broke their rules as always

• Mudin on Dec 21, 2022 at 4:31 pm

Your narrative is of infantile folly, bro
    There’s no medication for stu.pidity aka bo.doh

• Mengkabumi got many civil works projects from the gov. Yes it us a lot. But the company is a shell company with no resource. They managed to get the projects due to their connections and cables. They total sub their project and easily pocketed 35% atas angin commission. Basically RM2b is almost 30% of the RM7b the true project cost!

• Aikon on Dec 22, 2022 at 7:49 am

I rather they do it the proper way. Proper tender process and full accountability to the tender team and the vendor. The problem with direct appointment is the danger of under table money and as a tax payer, it is my money too and I sure want it to be allocated and utilized within proper guidelines. This is not about PH or whichever party. It is about accountability and achieving KPIs for the vendor.