Significant flooding forecasted for several states in Malaysia within the next three days – weather expert

Malaysia will experience significant flooding within the next three days due to heavy monsoon rain brought on by the the active La Nina and negative Indian Ocean Dipole (IOD) phenomena, reports Sinar Harian.

National Antarctica Research Centre meteorological expert Professor Datuk Dr Azizan Abu Samah told the publication that the monsoon rain has not only created strong winds over the South China Sea, but also the La Nina and IOD phenomena, which has caused an increase of rain resulting in flooding in the east coast of the peninsula.

He added that the forecast from global models such as Nullschool.net predicated that heavy is expected until Tuesday (December 13) night [and possibly after that]. “More heavy rain increases the potential for major floods to occur within these three days,” said Azizan.

The states that could experience major floods include Kelantan, Terengganu, Pahang and Perak, with continuous rain raising the water levels of rivers to the point that they overflow and result in flooding.

Azizan noted that both the La Nina and IOD phenomena would subside by the end of the year. “By early 2023, the weather is expected to be good especially in the east coast of the peninsula,” he said. However, he said heavy rain in Sabah and Sarawak occurs in January and February, a month or so later than in the peninsula. “So, the phenomenon of heavy rain due to the north-east monsoon is not expected to subside in East Malaysia,” he explained.

As always, do check in advance if the route you planned to take brings you through an affected area before heading out. If possible, delay your journey and if you’re already out of your home, move your car to safer area if possible. Do not force your way through flooded areas as it can severely damage your car.

It is also important to get Special Perils insurance coverage for your vehicle, which is an optional add-on. Opting in will cost a little extra but the amount is relatively small compared to your vehicle’s insured value and can prove to be very important to protect you financially if your car gets damaged by floods. Without it, you’ll be paying the repair bill out of your own pocket, which can be very costly.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• newme on Dec 13, 2022 at 5:05 pm

If it is so “significant”, then declare holiday lah. People also need to keep their family safe.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
  • Bekas Banduan Diangkat Hero on Dec 13, 2022 at 5:36 pm

Take care everyone. Know your car’s limits!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
  • Angry Voters on Dec 14, 2022 at 8:58 am

F*ck this sht! I though Pakatan troopers said if they come back to power the skies will clear and no more flooding since their leader is like a messiah?! So what is this sht?! Had they lied to us?!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 9
    • Ranjit kaur on Dec 14, 2022 at 11:58 am

You thought that the new government is a superman.
      Humpty years, other old bloody government did nothing.
      Now , you expected overnight everything to be done.

• Avenger on Dec 14, 2022 at 6:32 pm

Superman Hew… calling Superman Hew… you have been hailed.

• Avenger on Dec 14, 2022 at 12:15 pm

Pakatan Hoser has hosed everyone including the majority voters. Illegal government without Mandat Rakyat.

• biggest electoral fraud ever ph bn on Dec 14, 2022 at 12:23 pm

Please have patience, it will take time. If nothing changes, just vote them out.

• Avenger on Dec 14, 2022 at 6:34 pm

Brother. They were clearly voted out. 82 out of 212 seats, only 38% popularity votes. They clearly did not have any sort of majority and yet they backdoor to be the Government. You can’t vote that out when they didn’t win to be there.

• stasta on Dec 15, 2022 at 7:29 pm

PH got the most number of seats in a 3 way fight, meaning they were the number 1. are you suggesting to let the number 2 or number 3 runner up to form the government? no logic right.

• Matthew anak Keylow on Dec 14, 2022 at 12:07 pm

those rich east coast dwellers has a second home at klang valley upmarket neighbourhood meanwhile the general poor stays put welcoming the annual flood affair

• Hurricanemax Joko on Dec 15, 2022 at 9:45 pm

Today 15Dec, is the 2nd day of above forecast affecting Pahang… And the ‘strong winds’ had barely moved the coconut fronds… the heavy rain? Well, enough to make my cars dirty only. The flood water? From logged drains …