MRT Putrajaya Line Phase 2 will be fully operational in March 2023 – delayed from original January deadline

The second phase of the MRT Putrajaya Line will be fully operational in March 2023. This is according to a statement by MRT Corp, reported by FMT.

MRT Corp said that construction works for the second phase of the line, which is from Kampung Batu along Jalan Ipoh in KL all the way to Putrajaya Sentral in the administrative capital have been completed.

“The 38.7 km-long section of the Phase 2 alignment, which consists of 15 elevated stations and nine underground stations, is expected to be operational in March 2023,” the statement said. If so, it’s a delay of two months from the originally mentioned January 2023 opening date.

The first phase from Kwasa Damansara to Kampung Batu has been running since June 16 this year. Stations between those two points include Kampung Selamat and Sungai Buloh, previously from the MRT Kajang Line.

From there, the train follows MRR2 to Kepong, tracing Jalan Kepong and Jalan Ipoh. The stations along this route are Damansara Damai, Sri Damansara Barat, Sri Damansara Sentral, Sri Damansara Timur, Metro Prima, Kepong Baru, Jinjang, Sri Delima and Kg Batu.

Many in the south of the Klang Valley have been eagerly awaiting the opening of Phase 2 – it’s been a very long wait, so another two months won’t make a huge difference perhaps? Those living near Phase 1 stations will finally get to go to KL and beyond with this line, too.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Make Malaysia Great Again on Dec 23, 2022 at 6:33 pm

Under previous hardworking and capable Gomen, MRT2 committed to opening 1 Jan 2023 but under PH now delay by 2+ months. Yet another symptom of a fail Gomen soon. With floods and camp disaster, the heavens have spoken.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 107
    • Selvaretnam on Dec 23, 2022 at 11:05 pm

“The heavens hv spoken”? Well, blame your god for the cruelty, not PH govt.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 14
      • History Bender on Dec 24, 2022 at 9:09 am

In past eras, disaster speaks of those in power losing ‘heaven’s mandate’ to rule whatmore where they never got the mandat rakyat either. Time for them to go. Remember the biblical epic 7 disasters, we’re only step 3 and worse to come.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
        • Invert on Dec 24, 2022 at 5:36 pm

Are you hoping that PN government to replace PH….since you and your gangs like Make Malaysia Great Again and Rakyat Malaysia support PN and believe nonsense talking from PN? We have enough all sorts of dangerous situations from PN…And what’s so good about PN….have you learnt on during 17 months rule from 2020 to 2021…you are not bothered at all….you actually ignore everything and don’t care feelings of Malaysians. Two, are you also Malaysians…that’s what I questioning you

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 4
        • “never got the mandat rakyat”
          I assume you refer to that Prime Minister in March 2020 right?

Now I understand why floods are much worse in Terengganu than other states down south

• manjushri on Dec 25, 2022 at 2:46 pm

very correct. Those guys in 2020 came in through the Jamban busuk.

• Stephanie Larissa Anne Pang on Jan 26, 2023 at 3:45 pm

Selvaretnam on Dec 23, 2022 at 11:05 pm
        “The heavens hv spoken”? Well, blame your god for the cruelty, not PH govt.

Please dont put the blame to god… BN government already schedule fully operation in January 2023, What on earth that this PH delay the operation until March 2023…

God is watching you why must you mentioned gods name of this MRT fully operation that was delay another 2 months… PH leading this total mess. its look like Anwar Ibrahim its going to step down very soon…

• Nicholas on Dec 23, 2022 at 11:46 pm

Safety is priority! U want public to be on risk when testings are not consistent yet!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
      • Safety First on Dec 24, 2022 at 9:17 am

Sufficient testing has been factored into the original launch timeline. This has nothin to do with safety but says a lot about the failures of those in Government now if they cannot keep to a prompt time frame as planned. #Nothin2DoWithSafetyFirst

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 15
    • ROFLMAO, who was the prime minister who imposed the nonsensical lockdowns in March 2020 that caused the delays?
      If no lockdowns, would there be a delay?
      The tyrannical lockdowns that did nothing but sent thousands of Malaysians into destitution.
      Don’t you remember Phase 1 (Kg Batu) was similarly delayed for 7 months?
      The previous Transport Minister who sat on his backside for 33 months, what did he do?
      New Transport Minister had to clean up the Suzhou sh*t that his predecessor had left behind!

If the recent floods are what you claim “Mandate of Heaven”, how about December 2021?
      If it was the “Mandate of Heaven”, why the floods hit Kelantan and Terengganu particularly badly?

Are you even Malaysian? Or someone from the illegal Middle Eastern country pretending to be Malaysian?

Get a life, sore l0ser

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 5
    • Let me ask you: which 2 states are the worst hit in the floods?

• no name on Dec 24, 2022 at 6:02 pm

PN = Pertikaian Nasional
      Percutian New Zealand
      Perjudian Nasional
      etc…

PN KOYAK
      PN = NWO

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
    • I wow, I can also say it’s ur “capable” Gomes who did not have proper city planning which caused all the floods.

• LoL brainless comment thats why support the brainless government. PH just become government 1 month but the MRT delay u blame PH? Brainless person only will support …. (U know la)

• Lol. Do you know the MRT phase 2 only started oct 2022 (before ge2022), and trial run must run for 6 months before it start operates? This was deemed to be delayed no matter who became government.

• Adik Saiful on Jan 16, 2023 at 5:13 pm

Flood in Kelantan and Terengganu so serious, Haji Awang should spend money there instead of giving to cybertroopers merepek here lah.

• YB KINTE KUNTE on Dec 23, 2022 at 7:17 pm

Heads must roll,if third world maintenance culture persists with brand new trains.

• Why don’t you just open from Putrajaya-Sg.Besi only…if you not confident

• Up in n ipin on Dec 23, 2022 at 9:13 pm

Last year floods even worse..landslide everywhere..groceries prices went way up..the ringgit to usd issues..mrt in kelana jaya keep giving problems..state of emergency been declared..2 PM’s..really incompetent gov..the worst since independence

• Exactly. Some pp, are just purely blind n ignorant. They also expect our new gov can fix all the mess from past decades immediately.

• MarhaeiCommuter on Dec 23, 2022 at 11:49 pm

Delay again? hope no further delay..

• Look like they are working around the clock to repair all the existing escalators, lifts and lighting for the time being.

• Bullshit..again n again facing with delay.. whereas billion of duit rakyat allocate for the project

• Del... on Dec 24, 2022 at 6:47 pm

Delays happen when the govt is not bothered and concern about the people. They only favor the construction company due to corruption practice.I just dont understand why the delay and Prasarana Bhd should come out with a logic answer.

• John Doe on Dec 24, 2022 at 9:53 pm

Even if this phase is delayed till next election, there will still be the foc keyboard warriors saying Ph did a good job. PH is like their deities.. one line about them is an insult to their ancestors.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
  • So much time delay. How much time and money lost and lose. End up the project cost more. Where got a company do business like that. Time is money.

• Yajiv on Dec 25, 2022 at 2:59 pm

MRT must explain why the postponement from Jan to Mar. Just releasing a state that it will be fully operational in Mar 2023 is untenable. MRT2 phase 1 is not very useful as it does not connect to the city centre where most commuters work.

• seem MOT and PH gov have fail

• Holy cr#p. Ppl qurelling abt politics while not talking abt the actual issue – why the heck was it delayed. There must be a factual reason. MRT not posting anything on their website/twitter

• Does anyone have further news of when exactly in March 2023 the phase 2 Putrajaya line will open?

• Dulu jgn sebut on Mar 16, 2023 at 8:24 pm

Under previous govt 5 billion sudah bayar ..satu perahu pun tak namoak..lagi bohong sudah terima..jgn sebut gomen dulu lagi..pencuri besar semua

• Ibrahim on Mar 16, 2023 at 8:24 pm

Under previous govt 5 billion sudah bayar ..satu perahu pun tak namoak..lagi bohong sudah terima..jgn sebut gomen dulu lagi..pencuri besar semua