Gerik-Jeli lorry fatality – transport ministry revokes company’s license; prior public safety offences found

In a statement regarding the fatal crash involving a lorry and two passenger cars, which claimed the life of an unborn child, the Malaysian transport ministry said that transportation firm Mun Fei Enterprise has had its operator’s license revoked.

The revocation of the company’s license was following an investigation by the land public transport agency (APAD) in conjunction with the road transport department (JPJ), and the decision was made in line with Section 57 (1)(b)(x) and Section 58 (1)(b) of the Road Transport Act 2010 (Act 715).

The APAD licensing suspension and revocation committee found that the operator had failed the inspection and safety audit (JISA audit), and had a prior record of offences with the JPJ which involved public safety. Therefore, the agency’s licensing suspension and revocation committee decided to revoke the company’s license effective immediately, the transport ministry said in its statement.

On October 29, the lorry spilled its unsecured load into the path of oncoming vehicles, which collided with the items spilled, causing the camera vehicle to overturn. It then emerged that a pregnant woman was injured, to the extent of the loss of her unborn child.

Footage of the incident from the camera vehicle was shared by transport minister Anthony Loke on his Facebook page earlier this month, who expressed his condolences and said that the JPJ and APAD have been ordered to take immediate action on the driver and the company. Prior to Loke’s statement, APAD issued a show-cause letter to the company.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Bieight8 on Dec 27, 2022 at 3:43 pm

Too little too late…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
    • Casual reader on Dec 28, 2022 at 9:25 am

As usual Loki is too slow to everything and he only does it to ride on popular voices. Give it few months and things go back the same as before.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
      • Jasonx on Dec 28, 2022 at 12:55 pm

Sure. Better than the rest before… Didn’t even do anything. Probably even gifted said licenses for kicks

• Donkey on Dec 28, 2022 at 2:02 pm

At least Anthony ada lah buat kerja…. the previous lepak-ing lazy ministers got do anything?? Loki did more stuff in 1 month than the entire old government did the past 60 years

• Sarcastic Man on Dec 30, 2022 at 6:59 pm

No bro. You had very little knowledge on this. During the Spad existence, there were more than you can imagine how many operators had been revoked their licenses, with hard punishment and brought into court by AG. Its Loke who adviced Spad to be dissolved. And now you can see a bus express or a lorry can simply overtake you while you were driving in 110km/h

• Squid on Dec 27, 2022 at 4:06 pm

Good to see something is being done but much more than supending license is needed.

• Hmmmm on Dec 27, 2022 at 7:48 pm

First the license is revoked not suspended.
      2nd, this is action from APAD which is only a regulating body. Further civil suit may follow as there is for sure a police report. It wont only be a summon as a life is taken. This is the longer process as the court will need the complete details in order to close any loopholes which might allow the culprit to walk free or just get a slap on the wrist. This is not as simple as writing a comment.

• Only revoke license? Its like a slap on the wrist, not painful pun. Typically the operators can use another company to reapply licence. There is no mechanism to check that the same owners have past records. If there were other issues from the past, why not take a more stern action against the company? Surely JPJ/APAD can do better, right?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
    • YB KINTE KUNTE on Dec 28, 2022 at 7:40 am

Your Excellency Mr DOM,
      We voted for regime change.We got a unity gomen.OK,move on.
      Ajibkor said..eat kangkong
      Rafizi ,”suggested” eat less chicken.
      I think Sharizat gonna come out of retirement,to “advocate”,eat less lembu.
      Now,AhLokekor just “saman keras” ONE bad luck transporter.If he goes undercover at JPJ,he pengsan straight. Why? There r multiple long lists of such bad transporters.But all,biasa lah..continue the shit.
      YAB PM..we appreciate Datuk Seri for cancelling the S600 Merc,but transparency n proper enforcement is still very lacking at most gomen depts.
      Hopefully,there is no “Hilton” move to to topple this regime.If no concrete action is taken,the new HILTON move may happen.Then,we r back to Mr Lockdown PM again.Just unthinkable.

• Casual reader on Dec 28, 2022 at 9:26 am

Yup. Loki shd have done better and done it faster but he wants to ride the popular wave

• Chong Or Pei on Dec 27, 2022 at 8:05 pm

You know how Section 17A of the MACC Act can incriminate the senior management and the board of a company in corruption cases? A similar law must be enacted for traffic offences: senior management and board members of companies whose vehicle cause death can be subjected to jail terms and fines

• Yes, agreed, not just for owners of heavy vehicles but owners of construction companies and main con as well…. so many fatalities involving foreigners. Management and the board needs to be accountable!

• FrankC on Dec 27, 2022 at 9:07 pm

Time to step up enforcement. That’s why I good to know they taking actions now

• Call me by your name on Dec 27, 2022 at 10:18 pm

Jpj couldn’t care less to enforce when they can make money from selling plate numbers

• Charge the owners for criminal negligence plus attempted manslaughter.

• Rizal on Dec 27, 2022 at 10:46 pm

The lorry driver should be charged for manslaughter

• Apa-ini on Dec 28, 2022 at 8:56 am

License can be renewed.
    Lorry can be painted.
    Registration number can be changed.

The life lost can never be replaced.

So a summon and license revoked is sufficient?

I punch you in the face then pay a fine for it is good enough?
    Is this what they mean by “Money is King in Malaysia”?

Really “Boleh Land”.

• little comfort to the family of the deceased, as usual, we react, never proactive… will there be more accidents like this? without a doubt there will be bcos when money is at play… semua jalan!