Malaysia’s Transport Ministry proposes separate motorcycle lanes on state and federal roads

Malaysia’s Transport Ministry is proposing for separate motorcycle lanes to be implemented on all state and federal roads. This was said by ministry secretary-general Datuk Isham Ishak in a New Straits Times report.

Currently in discussion, the proposal has been forwarded to the Local Government Development Ministry and local councils. The plan will be submitted to the National Physical Planning Council (MPFN) in 2023.

The government aims to halve the number of road accident fatalities by 2030, under the Road Safety Plan 2022-2030 launched in January 2022. Under the safety plan, Isham said the ministry has also made it compulsory for anti-lock braking system (ABS) on all motorcycles above 150 cc in Malaysia.

In 2020, the police recorded 418,237 road accidents, including 4,634 deaths. with 255,532 accidents and 3,302 deaths between January and September last year. However, details were not provided on vehicle types involved in the report.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• Kapchai on Dec 28, 2022 at 6:21 pm

Let’s start from full implementation @ Federal KL first.

Existing rule also should be enforced – where bike must ride on the left most lane.

Don’t need spend more money but no enforcement. otherwise,
    Later bike still use car lane, Wider for them, needed for riding >60km/h.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 11
    • When is the rule;Bike must ride on the left most lane implement?Are you sure?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 18
      • Rule of thumb

• DonkeyKong on Dec 28, 2022 at 11:53 pm

Are you one of the two-wheeled pests who is ignorant of proper motorbike rules and etiquette?

My bad. Why am I even asking this question. It’s like asking a tree whether it’s a plant. Sorry, pardon my momentary motorcyclist-IQ moment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 9
        • How about the ignorant bad mannered car drivers who endanger the life of motorcycle riders . I see idiots on Facebook on the highway while driving at 110kmph. You knock a motorcycle the riders dies you crash your car you survive. The stupid car drivers need education first .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 15
          • Hence stay in the left lane. Don’t play with your life just to have a race with a car. Look at the number of stupid people you see on the road, motorcyclists will sure always take the majority.

• Commenter on Dec 29, 2022 at 12:41 am

Yo father head rules is it bike need to ride on left?

• Abam outrider on Dec 29, 2022 at 11:59 am

Kita pun kena masuk lane jugak ke? Siapa nak tolong menteri bukak jalan?

• Dah bubar..where is my Starbucks machiatto ? on Dec 29, 2022 at 8:43 pm

AhLokeKor…please go undercover again..see for yourself how food riders ignore red lights.Organise besar besaran campaign to lock up these overgungho riders first,without bail.They can injure or kill your auntie or grandma tomorrow.
      Then,look into all these special lanes thing that has been discussed from Watergate to Cowgate.

• Ko buat aeroplane lane pun tak guna on Dec 28, 2022 at 6:23 pm

Let’s do a count of how many rempits not using the moto lane along federal highway

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 6
    • Commenter on Dec 29, 2022 at 12:42 am

Since when moto lane along federal fully usable? Always got construction in the middle of the way that need motorcyclist to jump on main road.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 9
      • WooGoo on Dec 29, 2022 at 11:06 am

Motorcycle lanes on the federal highway has just been resurfaced, very wide and smooth now. But many motorcyclists just like to challenge the law and don’t use them.

• Vesplain on Dec 29, 2022 at 2:27 am

We just lack of maintenance. Let’s not talk about highway along Putrajaya which already ‘Gajah Putih’, Just do some research with motorist along federal highway to exactly address the issue. Then you can talk about implementation.

• Rafizi supporter on Dec 28, 2022 at 6:25 pm

Statistics have shown that motorcycles are not safe to ride on the public road. Just ban all motorcycles and reduce car prices and improve public transport.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 55
    • mastermind on Dec 28, 2022 at 7:55 pm

not good, with motorcycle gone traffic will up 3 times because everyone drive car and your food panda will be 1 hour delay

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 4
      • Rafizi supporter on Dec 28, 2022 at 8:38 pm

Read the last statement.

• Songket Air on Dec 29, 2022 at 1:31 am

1 hour delay due to road traffic we can accept. No jam in the air and 8 hours delay we cannot accept. Please fly with Songket Air, mesia’s newest airline.

• Silent Reader on Dec 28, 2022 at 7:55 pm

A recipe for a massive traffic

• Ex Rafizi supporter on Dec 28, 2022 at 8:39 pm

Not really if we have good public transport system in place.

• Especially in Penang. I like the tram, monorail and LRT there.

• Lol u think everyone got money to buy car? Moto is dangerous yes cause is open nothing to protect around you but most accidents happen cause of rider error or rider doing stupid things but if done properly u can reduce the risk

• Brianselamat on Dec 28, 2022 at 10:45 pm

Looks like someone born privileged talking.

• Abbas on Dec 29, 2022 at 6:48 am

Excellent suggestion from people who are simply ignorant or do not want to understand the hard life of the have-nots.

• scion on Dec 29, 2022 at 7:46 am

otak udang

• Celicazz on Dec 29, 2022 at 8:02 am

Good, thinking like Rafizi.

Very short-sighted.

• sub_zero on Dec 29, 2022 at 11:40 am

i ride motorcycle not because im poor but generally it’s fastest and the most convenient but also dangerous private transport you can buy

i’m not an idiot to waste petrol and stuck in jam for 2-4 hours where i can reach my office/site in mere 30 minutes

all we need is better enforcement not by proposing something counter-intuitive and potential waste tax payer money

• DonkeyKong on Dec 28, 2022 at 6:27 pm

Waste of time. The brainless motorcyclists on the two ends of the spectrum – B40 rempits and T20 super-lansi big-bikers – will still feel it’s their birthright to terrorize the lanes meant for heavier vehicles and they won’t give a hoot in hell for dedicated bike lanes..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 22
    • Ah Chong on Dec 28, 2022 at 7:02 pm

Ahhh the classic cager. Why not come up with a better solution instead of spreading hate?

Let see, like only allow lane filtering but not lane splitting? It’s more about education rather than enforcement too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 15
      • DonkeyKong on Dec 28, 2022 at 9:54 pm

I don’t understand your gay outburst. Please seek Pastor Senpai for counselling

• Ah Chong on Dec 31, 2022 at 6:31 pm

I know sometime it’s hard to understand, it’s okay, not everyone gets it. You don’t need to stress your brain if it doesn’t have the capability.

That said, I think the best people to comment should be those who use both motorcycle and cars. Else it’s just going to be a one-sided hate, because hating is easier.

• DonkeyKong on Dec 28, 2022 at 11:50 pm

Spreading hate? Mate, rempits and superbikers are two sides of the same coin.

Drive along the federal highway at any daytime hour and you’ll see the 80/20 rule in action.

80% brainless motorcyclist morons endangering all road users on the main lanes, mainly consisting of p-hailing pests, rempits and low-IQ big-bikers.. and 20% of the sensible motorcyclists using the bike lanes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 11
    • Maybe you should try riding before making brainless comments.

• T20 super lansi. Can’t deny they exist but don’t do blanket ban bro. Majority not like that

• Dong gor on Dec 28, 2022 at 6:40 pm

Make it work on the highway first..then we invest in other roads in states

• Motoboto on Dec 28, 2022 at 6:52 pm

Good initiative indeed. But make the motorcycle lane more motorcycle friendly lah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 2
  • Rider on Dec 28, 2022 at 7:24 pm

As fellow rider, it is good to have separate road for safety and smooth traffic, however the existing one’s are poorly maintained. On some highway, you couldn’t find the entry for motorcycle line if you came from certain exit. Then there’s pot hole, stupid bump placement & flash flood for some route whenever ever there’s a rain.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 2
  • ROTI CANAI on Dec 28, 2022 at 7:57 pm

federal highway, budak moto ada jln moto x mau guna, kenapa? guna highway kereta, baru boleh rempit, best

• persoalannya… will the motorcyclists ride on this motorcyle lane?

• KrunchiZ on Dec 28, 2022 at 8:53 pm

Frankly speaking some of the motor lanes are not even suitable for bigger bikes like it’s freaking narrow. Conditions are bad as well. I rode the motor lane on Federal b4 on a 250cc and I seriously think riding on the car lane (1st or 2nd) would be better lol… Lorries are arrogant on the Elite as well like they freaking tailgate ppl so i can understand some bigger bikes taking the fast lane instead playing back kissing with these lorries.

• the driver on Dec 28, 2022 at 9:03 pm

Very simple solution –
    1. post minimum speeds on highways
    2. regulate the size of motorcycles allowed to use highways ie. 250cc and above
    3. Increase surveillance and enforcement – more cameras

• kab8108 on Dec 28, 2022 at 9:49 pm

Change the mindset of road users rather than the infrastructure. After all,accidents are due to lack of focus and inconsiderate decisions while on the road.Fullstoo!

• marzuki on Dec 28, 2022 at 10:31 pm

what about supercar?..they should have separate lane also

• Mesti kelakar motor besar CC tinggi tapi bawa dalam lane motor aje. Kakakaka. Would love to see this.

• Qozh Moreno on Dec 28, 2022 at 10:47 pm

Good idea to have separate lane for motorcycle.
    But awareness also play part. Malaysians still have that “tidapa” mindset & it’s hard to get rid of it.

• Why some stupid person keep recommend to ban motorcycle.

-Do they know motorcycle is only 150 cc while they car 1500 cc, burn more oil.

-Do they know motorcycle only occupy small parking space. About 4 times less than car parking lot. At the same time can help driver to park their car.

-Do they know the reason why food delivery by grab food etc, fast and cheaper..because of rider use motorcyle.

-Do they know in flat area, or aparment using motorcycle can help save a lot of space. No issue with double parking etc.

-Do they know, the rider already optimize their vehicle while in many car, only one person…driver with 3 empty seat. If they do car pool..then it is ok.

-The rider use motorcycle because it is easy, cheap, and practical for daily use. Not everyone M40 like you.

So, if they use motorcycle and can easily filter in traffic. And ‘potong’ you. Dont be jealous and blame them. Just go and get your license and ride motorcycle. Simple as that.

Or if you scare to death to take risk to ride motorcycle..dont blame other people. Just blame yourself.

No any modern country including US and Japan ban motorcycle.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 8
  • At last!! Plz do asap! on Dec 28, 2022 at 11:45 pm

Good thing at last. Hope to implement asap. Make sure bikes lanes hv to well maintained & proper lighting so tht bikers wont hv excuse to avoid using. After bikes lane done, plz make sure enforcement carried out at each toll gate to catch those illegal use highway. I suggest tht trees dont plant too near the lanes/road to avoid the risk when fell on it when raining and trees leave block the drainage . tq

• Rider and Driver on Dec 28, 2022 at 11:58 pm

Come on, be a man and ride the bike yourself for at least 5000km rain or shine, day or night, then you talk. Then only you are qualified to give all kind of suggestions towards the bikers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
  • A very stupid and shallow idea

• Vesplain on Dec 29, 2022 at 2:31 am

When it comes to separate lane, We just lack of maintenance. Let’s not talk about highway along Putrajaya which already ‘Gajah Putih’, Just do some research with motorist along federal highway to exactly address the issue. Then you can talk about implementation.

• CúChulaiññ Van Der Gøønting on Dec 29, 2022 at 6:20 am

Much has been said about this over the years and nothing done to date. I’m an avid biker and do agree but the smaller bikers MUST be educated as many go in the middle – fast lane but at a moderate speed which is dangerous.

The designated bike lanes ie. Federal Highway, Putra Jaya are not wide enough (for big bikes)and are poorly maintained to boot.

Even more ridiculous is the high road tax on big bikes ( I ride both a small and large capacity bike).

Even the exit lanes at toll gates are narrow to the extent that one could clip one’s knee caps on those Flexi poles passing through.

I’ll wager that a large percentage of the kapchai riders do not EVEN possess a bike license.

I’ve been riding over 40 years and these idiotic daredevil kapchai riders still unnerve me.

• 4G63T DSM on Dec 30, 2022 at 1:42 pm

That’s part of the problem. Bike lanes are sometimes not suitable for bigger bikes, especially those equipped with wide panniers.

Much hate against bikers are for the rempits and some superbike riders. For them bike lanes will do little. It’s an attitude issue. I go on the bike lane get tail gated by kapchai that is trying to squeeze though at 100kmh. If I had to brake for whatever reason, it will result in a pileup. Rest of the hate just stems from drivers stuck in a jam while seeing motorcyclist go though.

I switched to a bike 2 years ago after getting fed up with the traffic situation in KV. My usual 1hr and 1.5hr commute becomes 15mins and 20mins.

Before drivers complain more saying pay no toll and road tax and should not share the big road, our big bike road tax is much more than your cars’.

• Sparcov on Dec 29, 2022 at 7:51 am

It is not only the federal highway. Any major highway e.g. NKVE, LDP or DUKE should ban motorcycles. Sometimes, it is because of certain rider behavior. Also what is the protection law against other road user? For instance an accident happened when a motorbike hit a car? The car user have to bare the insurance lost. Is this fair?

• Mahkau on Jan 05, 2023 at 11:30 am

Then you want me not earn money? Brainless shit lpd sudah jem mau ban motor

• lowpro on Dec 29, 2022 at 8:14 am

Sounds like a decent idea but please do not make those lanes bicycle sized. Bear in mind there are bikes like the Goldwing and huge Harley tourers. They need space to overtake kapchais on those lanes and to maintain a decent speed to be safe. So please think this carefully before doing it. Better to do it right than just give a half-baked white elephant that nobody wants to use.

• Junkies otr on Dec 29, 2022 at 8:47 am

Lorries n heavy vehicles driving on middle n right lanes. No action taken

• Squid on Dec 29, 2022 at 9:01 am

First thing first… Existing motorcyle lanes must be widened, maintained and improve safety. If you crash in the motorcycle lane along federal highway there is a very high possibility of getting major injuries or even die.

• newme on Dec 29, 2022 at 9:05 am

Didn’t we have bike lane at Fed Hwy? How did it turn out?

• for my opinion, the licensing system and driving school had to be regulate. proper rules and guideline should be come out so that everyone will not confusing. just like for those drive slow should keep on left lane, motorcyclist should maintain on left lane etc. by doing so, highway traffic jam problem deathly motorcyclist accident might dramatically reduce, i guess.

• sub_zero on Dec 29, 2022 at 11:45 am

your point is good but i proposed better idea. our motorcycle law is obsolete and need a big revamped. introduce licensing structure similar to europe/UK

and then enforcement, this is what we actually really lacked of.

what’s the point implemented this and that when it’s become hazard itself aka federal motorcycle lane as example

• mauis on Dec 29, 2022 at 10:08 am

1st thing 1st – need to enforce that all motorcycles drive on the motorcycles lane where available.

2- no more tolerance or leniency on motorcyclist not following the rules – drive against the traffic, not wearing helmet even in kampung/small towns, etc, driving beyond the speed limit of hiway (does the speed limit only apply to cars???)

3- then only can consider spend money to build special lanes for them on other roads

• car fan on Dec 29, 2022 at 10:10 am

if we cannot make it work on the Federal Highway- why bother trying? The sheer volume of bikes as compared to cars will just funnel the problem to the motorcycle lane and quite rightly pointed it is poorly maintained.
    My cynical mind tells me this would be another “cari makan”
    white elephant project.

• Concerned on Dec 29, 2022 at 11:17 am

Hope this is not like the bicycle lanes in KL.
    Brainless implementation by painting part of the existing car lane blue then called it a bicycle lane.

• Car fan on Dec 29, 2022 at 5:33 pm

Agree. Taking the 3 car lane Jalan Sultan Ismail and converting into 3 car lanes plus 1bicycle lane without without winding the road is brilliant. In many places motorcycles cannot pass in between cars..
      Maybe this will encourage motorists to wind down the windows and have a right conversation in a traffic jam.
      Heard that this blue lane was put up hastily because of a international sustainability conference in KL

• Oldie on Dec 29, 2022 at 11:46 am

Don’t waste taxpayers’ money, which can be used for B40, senior citizens, disabled, etc. If these moron bikers want to die, why stop them? It’s their life.

• Ben Yap on Dec 29, 2022 at 12:16 pm

good move to implement mandatory ABS for motorcycles. however these manufacturers will increase the already high price of motorcycles to consumers. just look at Yamaha and Honda, every year they just change the color, they will increase the price by RM500 even though no mechanical changes are involved. In just 3 years, they would’ve increase the price between RM1K to RM1.5K. Hence, the government should make it mandatory that these manufacturers do not pass the cost to the consumer as they’ve earned a lot from the price increase from new paint work.

• Modenas Pulsar NS160: RM7,577 with single-channel ABS (not a kapchai though).

• Azgarffield on Dec 29, 2022 at 12:41 pm

Good intention. Headline grabbing. No brain.

• Waste of money. Just make into law the left most lane wider to accommodate slow moving motorbikes. So if uts just two way, make road wider, like in thailand. Our lanes are sometimes so narrow, especially on flyovers abd bridges and country roads.
    Plus reduce speed in urban, populated and residential areas to 60km/ hr. Motorbikes in these areas speed way above 100km/ hr disregarding pedestrians and other road users.

• Ong Cheng How on Dec 29, 2022 at 4:11 pm

This is exactly the right things to do. Our country road rules is a mess.

• Anthony69 on Dec 30, 2022 at 2:13 am

69 and his dreams has officially began

• Samuel on Dec 30, 2022 at 11:41 am

Even federal highway motorcycle lane rule also cannot enforce, want to implement to other places? What a laugh

Go start enforcing the rules at federal highway first if you can.

• Fine motorcyclist that do not use motor lane!

• Joe Fernandez on Dec 30, 2022 at 5:33 pm

Before motorcycle lanes are in place

• Joe Fernandez on Dec 30, 2022 at 7:42 pm

Before motorcycle lanes are implemented, maybe the authorities may want to consider.
    1. Synchronising all traffic lights in the cities.
    2. Improving all public transport. And
    3. Ban all 2 stroke engine motorcycles.

• Taiwan has one of the best road user system, specially motorcycle n bicycle

• Some of the so-called motorcycle lanes are shockingly decrepit and endanger riders outright. Get this right before talking cock about separate lanes.

• ShamshirHassan on Jan 03, 2023 at 12:18 pm

Paultan.org: come for the automotive news, stay for the cager vs rempit arguments in articles regarding road safety measures (nevermind that it takes the drivers/riders instead of vehicles and number of highway lanes to keep the roads safe, pointing fingers while flinging mud is easier lol).

• ShamshirHassan on Jan 03, 2023 at 4:02 pm

*but I suppose pointing fingers while flinging mud at each other is easier lol

God, I wish this website’s got an edit button orz

• Andrew Pang on Jan 04, 2023 at 9:29 pm

I am a multimodal motorist who drives but also rides a bicycle to commute around the Klang Valley. As a cycling commuter, I use the motorcycle lane wherever it exists until the road ends, and I then move into the main road (non-toll, of course). What do you fellow motorists think about us cycling commuters sharing the roads with you all? I appreciate your thoughts. TQ

• Askpang on Jan 04, 2023 at 9:32 pm

I am a multimodal motorist who drives but also rides a bicycle to commute around the Klang Valley. As a cycling commuter, I use the motorcycle lane wherever it exists until the road ends, and I then move into the main road (non-toll, of course). What do you fellow motorists think about us cycling commuters sharing the roads with you all? I appreciate your thoughts. TQ

• Good Move on Feb 04, 2023 at 9:47 pm

A big transformation for safety. Looking forward to have better road for bikers.

• I actually was long term living in Taiwan before. I’m not really feel that the motorcycle lane is a safety traffic method. Because it will make more chaos on the road. For example, the left turn car will fully have conflict with motorcycle. And as example on the roundabout, if also do the motor lane on that, the right turn and u turn car will be 100% crash the motorcycle. I saw some junction in Penang have motorcycle red light waiting area, that is good policy. Lastly, correction the judgement that lane splitting not between two cars, make as full trouble responsibility to the motorcyclists is enough. Thank you.