Targeted fuel subsidy to utilise info from a number of databases, not only from JPJ alone – KPDN minister

The targeted fuel subsidy mechanism that is being proposed by the government will not only rely on vehicle engine capacity data from the road transport department (JPJ), but also integrate information from all available databases to identify those eligible for the targeted petrol subsidy, Bernama reports.

Domestic trade and cost of living (KPDN) minister Datuk Seri Salahuddin Ayub said the comprehensive database will consist of data not only from JPJ but also the inland revenue board (IRB), Bank Negara Malaysia (BNM), Khazanah Nasional, the department of statistics Malaysia (DOSM) as well as that from university studies.

Stating that a comprehensive data set was important and necessary to make the proposed mechanism a success, he reiterated that identification would not just be based solely on info from the JPJ database.

It had earlier been reported that vehicle engine capacity data would be used to identify those eligible for the RON 95 petrol subsidy schemee, leaving some to question if granting targeted petrol subsidies based on the cubic capacity of vehicle engines was adequate.

“I have already clearly stated that JPJ data is among the data needed, and we will also have data from the IRB, Khazanah, DOSM, BNM and university studies. We need to gather all the data. The ministry or the national action council on cost of living (NACCOL) will look at all the data before a final decision is made,” he said.

While the proposed paper on targeted subsidies was presented at a NACCOL meeting – which was chaired by prime minister Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim – last week, the existing fuel subsidy policy is expected to run until the cabinet decides on the new targeted subsidy mechanism so as not to burden the rakyat, Salahudin had said earlier.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Rafizi sembang kencang on Dec 29, 2022 at 10:44 am

It seems that the current government doesn’t know how to use Rafizi’s formula to reduce petrol prices.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 102 Thumb down 10
    • Dear government,

Please also remove AP and taxes for excise duties and import duties, then everyone can buy foreign cars. Foreign cars have been tax because of protectionism for proton and perodua

Please also reduce fuel prices for everyone

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 150 Thumb down 92
      • Civic Turbo 2018 on Dec 29, 2022 at 5:18 pm

Take public transport, subscribe Rapid50 or buy cheaper car to counter that <RM200 difference in fuel cost lo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 89
        • Support both public transport or buying cars are good choices. People choices as they what they want. But people don’t want to buy car that comes with low quality like proton and perodua, people want to buy car with something more but not poor quality like proton and perodua. It is better to end protectionism for proton and perodua and bring cheaper prices for all foreign cars

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 33
          • Civic Turbo 2018 on Dec 30, 2022 at 1:08 pm

Personally I don’t think Proton/Perodua nowadays is “low-quality” as U claim. However U can opt-for 2nd hand.

If U cannot offset the additional RM200 fuel cost monthly. Public transport will be the choice.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 81
          • Why not try proton and perodua and see whether quality is better than imported cars if you say quality for proton and perodua is better quality than imported car. Proved that many complain about quality on proton and perodua, also driven proton/perodua before but quality is not really as good as imported brands

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 136 Thumb down 100
          • Civic Turbo 2018 on Dec 30, 2022 at 7:05 pm

OK I get it. Saga/Axia quality cannot beat “Yaris-G” quality. Typical B40 mindset, tried so hard to own better car while trying to save that punny RM200 monthly, sigh..

• Wrong, I am not typical B40 mindset and since when I owned Yaris G, I have been telling you so many times in previous articles, but you saying this again. It is only you that you never tried to buy any national cars whether to see quality is bad or not compare to imported brands, Mr Civic Guy

• markx on Jan 26, 2023 at 8:29 pm

Easy for you to say since you live in Lembah Klang. The rest of the country have poor public transportation system.

• Aerial on Dec 29, 2022 at 5:30 pm

The one who disagree with you, they are not clever. Tell to those who dislike this comment on why the price for foreign cars already too high while national cars isn’t, very greedy. Yet, specs for foreign cars bring low specs car but national cars isnt

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
        • I agree with you. Proton and perodua are really boring cars but not foreign car brands

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 9
      • YB KINTE KUNTE on Dec 29, 2022 at 8:12 pm

Before GE 15,I dared the Zafrul dude to jack up petrol prices to market price..he chickened out.
        Now,I dare the Crusader Sallahudin to jackup to RM3.30/litre by Jan 1.
        Once executed,all the logistic companies will skyrocket their charges.Your Gardenia bread,telur,tambang bas sekolah,Lazada,Shoppee,Ikea,Aeon Big etc will burn a bigger hole in your pay packet.
        Make sure your price hike stays,unlike Badawi retracting from Rm2.70/litre within 2 weeks.
        Ajibkor said ,eat kangkong.
        Rafizi ” suggested” eat less chicken.
        Soon,Sharizat will say ,eat less lembu.
        We voted for regime change,but now we r left in the lurch,when all these economic clowns emerge.

• But at least better than having PN rule that have failed for 17 months from 2020-2021

• Dah Menang Semua on Dec 29, 2022 at 3:03 pm

Main Data
      JPJ (#vehicle with active insurance)
      BNM (vehicle market value)

Supporting Data
      IRB (income tax bracket)

Consider
      [not entitle] T20 owning new_Myvi
      [not entitle] M40 owning vehicle value >100K
      [not entitle] Anyone owning >2 cars OR >2 bikes
      [not entitle] Anyone w/o owning any vehicle
      [not entitle] Any non-private registration

[entitle] B40 owning vehicle value <100K
      [entitle] M40 owning vehicle value <100K
      [entitle] 50L subsidized RON95/Diesel?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 1
      • I’m so gonna buy two old myvis under my retired parents’ names and syphon the petrol to my 6 litre aston

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
        • Civic Turbo 2018 on Dec 29, 2022 at 6:20 pm

Unsubsidised RON95 (low-grade EURO4)
          Around RM3.15 per litre (current price)
          Around RM1.10 per litre (subsidised)
          40L tank X 4 weeks = RM176 ONLY
          M40 go shopping, decent meal
          Also more than that la…

• YB KINTE KUNTE on Dec 29, 2022 at 8:30 pm

I think YAB PM Anwar have to weigh carefully this “regime toppling” Fuel subsidy thing.
      U can protect the B40,but once the logistic sectors up the logistical costs,every item that needs a lorry to transport to your house or supermarkets..will spiral upwards like Putin’s ballistic missiles.
      We r not out of the covidian woods yet,PM.
      Many businesses r still struggling to break event.
      So,abolishing fuel subsidies at this point of time,might embolden the Moo Moo dudes to weaponise this fuel thing,to jeopardise our new unity garmen.
      So,the Rafidian and Sallahudian “gungho” push to abolish fuel subsidies is a bit wrongtimed,when China is facing a resurgent covid blast and recession is predicted worldwide next year.
      Hopefully,due diligence is done.We cant afford another GE16 within 3 months.The rakyat need space to recoup their covidian losses.

• Joyce on Jan 26, 2023 at 8:20 pm

Bro, even Rafizi doesn’t know how to use his own formula.

• Janji dicapati on Dec 29, 2022 at 10:45 am

refer my name

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 11
  • Failed government! on Dec 29, 2022 at 10:46 am

Menteri Formula

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
  • Kerajaan penipu on Dec 29, 2022 at 10:51 am

It is clear that this subsidy scheme has not been thought out properly. Instead of looking at subsidising fuel cost, they should look at lowering car prices by removing excise duty and road tax. After all the PH government is also singing the same song as BN government before.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 8
    • Civic Turbo 2018 on Dec 29, 2022 at 5:18 pm

Ini pengajian Zafrul waktu PN la
      Senang lupa ke?

• There’s a reason it’s been in talk for years. Not as simple as people think. My opinion? Lower the cost for electric cars, both in price and cost to own. Those that can afford it can go buy that. Keep subsidizing ron95, and take profit from ron97 to cover. Focus on cleaner energy to reduce cost of electricity so people will want to use electric cars. Basically just ignore fuel subsidy problem for the next decade and focus on getting people to switch from gas to electric to reduce subsidy overhead that the rich benefits from.

• Failed government on Dec 29, 2022 at 11:03 am

Government should promote ev cars more by allowing car brands to sell below 100k 50k price range. There are a lot of car brands in China that sell cars in this price range. When more people use electric cars, the fuel subsidy will also decrease as people start to use less fuel in their cars. The government should have a very comprehensive plan for setting up a lot of rapid chargers nationwide.

• john is otak batu on Dec 29, 2022 at 2:23 pm

EV infrastructure not fully in place & not ready for full EV!China China China.. u fulfill C what happen… $$$$ not enough lah

• newme on Dec 29, 2022 at 3:19 pm

Still banking on China? You will have to depend on CCP whim to get your parts.

• M40 worker on Dec 29, 2022 at 11:20 am

I am still skeptical of this targeted subsidy. As M40 group, I still feel it is unfair. Not because I’m jealous of the B40 group, but the classification of the B40 and M40 groups itself is not good enough and transparent. Many groups on the B40/M40 border are stuck either getting help as B40 or not because they are included in M40.

Furthermore, the direct impact of the income tax payment made seems to be imperceptible because everything is still being paid. That is not included with other types of taxes that need to be paid and the results only benefit some groups.

The M40 taxpayer group is also the one that is always pressured and chased by the LHDN, even if you are an employee who has a fixed salary every month. I expect the government to fulfill their promise to reduce the living cost by the end of next January. implement all the formulas you mentioned before to make them come true.

• john is otak batu on Dec 29, 2022 at 2:24 pm

next January???!!!! … pipe dreams :(

• Mark my words on Dec 29, 2022 at 4:35 pm

Ya man won’t be solved before GE16

• Civic Turbo 2018 on Dec 29, 2022 at 5:15 pm

Unsubsidised RON95 (low-grade EURO4)
        Around RM3.15 per litre (current price)
        Around RM1.10 per litre (subsidised)
        40L tank X 4 weeks = RM176 ONLY
        M40 go shopping, decent meal
        Also more than that la…

• Ajibkor on Dec 30, 2022 at 10:58 am

$176×12=?dude..u step son of Elon Musk kah?

• Civic Turbo 2018 on Dec 30, 2022 at 2:41 pm

U drive gotta jam like hell
            Pay parking monthly pass
            Summore we get MRT 1/2/3
            LRT 1/2/3 RapidKL Monorail
            If get more increment boleh la

• All are msian! on Dec 29, 2022 at 3:13 pm

kind of agree on ur comment. Gment shld not segment to different groups of msian. Sry to say tht this encourage B40 to remain B40, as they see alot of benefits can get. And also create dissatisfaction to the M40 & T20 group as they paid more taxes. I hope the gment can look for external income instead of targeting local. Look for more investment like how Indonesia aggressively promote their country for investment. Look at the big picture. Or promote affordable EV/ hybrid ownership to reduce the usage on fuel. Plz stop doing something to increase the hardship of msian.

• The main problem with Malaysia tax system is, the rate goes too high too fast but flat out at just 30%. So, M40 felt the pinch the most, as bulk of their income actually goes into the income tax. While the very rich paying pennies at 30%. Why not make the graph with a less steep tax percentage bracket but strech it higher so bigger earners in the T20 actually pay a lot more. This will provide a better breathing room for the middle income families. And corporate tax in Malaysia is probably among the lowest in the world, there is where government can find more source of income. Maybe scared certain “groups” of people are affected if these are adjusted?

• Whatever they end up coming with, I hope it’s fair and with very little chance (ideally zero) of the ultra rich gaming the system once more. T20 and rich businesspeople shouldn’t be entitled to these subsidies, period.

• Wham! on Dec 29, 2022 at 11:40 am

Last raya I bought a new merc
    But the very next month bank took it away
    This year, to save me from tears
    I’ll buy a Perodua Bezza

• john is otak batu on Dec 29, 2022 at 2:27 pm

errr.. this is your own pocket’s problem… nothing to do about this “Subsidy” can help u … U’re on your own

• Keluar Batu, bro John on Dec 29, 2022 at 6:17 pm

r/woosh My guy, hear some songs, and remove rocks from head. Hint: Song Name and name of artist is same as op username.

• Aside this, Please also remove AP, then everyone can buy foreign cars. Foreign cars have been tax because of protectionism for proton and perodua

• Aside this, Please also remove taxes for excise duty and import duty, then everyone can buy foreign cars. Foreign cars have been tax because of protectionism for proton and perodua

• Fair to everyone! on Dec 29, 2022 at 12:27 pm

My suggestion for u, sir!:
    1. Use a system tht need IC to purchase ron95 fuel. So foreigner unable to purchase.
    2. Allocate quota per mth of Rm500 for every 18yrs and above citizen to purchase subsidises fuel. Every citizen entitled for it, whether t20, m40..they r msian & paid tax..This also limit those pump for others.
    3. For business usage, let them apply fuel card with the petrol company to enjoy other benefits.
    4. Cheap Diesel shld not remove subsidy as it will hv spill over effect on daily goods.
    5. for 16yrs -18yrs, entitled to rm200 per mth, as this normally bike user.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
    • Side income on Dec 29, 2022 at 6:57 pm

Saya sokong cadangan ni. My monthly petrol usage is about RM100 only. I can sell my unused RM400 quota plus 20% markup to those who need it especially e-hailing drivers. Sila PM tepi.

• Civic Turbo 2018 on Dec 30, 2022 at 8:35 am

Then how do U tackle privately-owned diesel? Those high-power turbo-diesel i.e. Raptor, Hilux, Triton, SkyActiv-D, CRDi, Xdrive25d, Xdrive30d, Xdrive35d, 320d, 520d, C220d, E220d, E300d, G350d, Range Rover SDV6, Prado, Land Cruiser 3.3ZX etc…

• FrankC on Dec 29, 2022 at 7:56 pm

Petrol subsidy should be removed gradually over a period of time. The process to identify and distribute ‘subsidy’ targeting b40 should be under kementerian kebajikan masyarakat.
    This ministry should know who and open case for providing monetary assistance to deserving b40. I doubt just by giving out a lump sum periodically is a feasible approach. Considering we should help and guide b40 out of poverty. This group of people will change over time. How to apply complicated formulas using multi database leh…

• Human on Dec 29, 2022 at 11:44 pm

If this targeted fuel subsidy is implemented, should a certain economic policy be revamped so that the it is targeted as well? Same logic, rich people from a segment still benefit from this policy.

• Habibu on Dec 30, 2022 at 8:31 am

Aih, just give RM0.50 per liter to all B40, they will happy.

Then charge RM5 per liter to T20 and M40, B40 will be more happy.

Bunch of losers – B40

• sarawak sarawak on Dec 30, 2022 at 10:37 am

T20 help build the country.
    B40 destroy the country. Throw rubbish everywhere. tiu tiu tiu tiu beranak, tiu tiu tiu tiu beranak….

• Basic Instinct: Breed on Jan 01, 2023 at 6:14 pm

Well….they need to do something during their free time right? And it’s NOT making more money or expanding their wealth

• Family planning? on Jan 01, 2023 at 6:42 pm

Yes, we like our family to be large

• Contraceptive? on Jan 01, 2023 at 6:43 pm

Never heard of it. Is it edible? Do pandan leaves count?

• Birth control? on Jan 01, 2023 at 6:48 pm

Ya, my wife gives birth every other year til she hits menopause. If that’s not control then I don’t know what you call that

• Boss:” Chan, do you know you are top sales in my company? You bring me so much sales. In order to appreciate your contribution, I give you lower commission percentage as you are capable to earn high income”

Boss:” Lee, I really pity of you. You can not bring much sales to me. Your commission is so little. In order to help you. I decided to give your high commission percentage so that you have higher income. I am so nice, right? You do not work hard like Chan to get what you want”.

• Meshia Permaidani on Jan 26, 2023 at 8:28 pm

Kalau serious mau implement targeted subsidi, then buat system utk apply utk subsidi la. Beberapa perkara, kene tengok tax & eksais duti + road tax + +. Impact atas industi yang pakai subsi petrol. Yang terpenting, opt in subsidi supaya mereka Yang perlukan dapat.