PLUS Malaysia to add 12 RFID lanes to toll plazas by April this year following complaints – works ministry

Works minister Datuk Seri Alexander Nanta Linggi took to social media recently to announce PLUS Malaysia has agreed to add 12 RFID lanes following complaints from motorists of congestion at toll plazas.

UPDATE: PLUS Malaysia has issued a full list of where the additional RFID lanes will be. This post has been updated accordingly.

The locations of the additional RFID lanes are listed in the table below, but they will only be ready by mid-April this year at the latest, according to the minister. Besides helping ease congestion, the additional RFID lanes were deemed necessary as motorists were concerned about safety as they questioned the positioning of RFID lanes at different toll plazas, which are led to accidents occurring.

The rollout of RFID toll payments on PLUS-operated highways began in January 2022, and some toll plazas at the time already had more than one RFID lane. However, severe pushback from the public resulted in the government ordering PLUS to restore SmartTAG lanes, which reduced the number of RFID lanes available.

Disruptions with the RFID toll payment system continue to persist one year on from its initial introduction, with transport minister Anthony Loke saying the situation needed to be rectified in response to former minister in the prime minister’s department Datuk Seri Abdul Rahman Dahlan’s complaint on Twitter.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• newme on Jan 13, 2023 at 1:51 pm

Why would anyone want to use RFID and at the same time keeping TnG card as a backup because RFID system is so unreliable?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
    • FudgeMeSideways on Jan 13, 2023 at 2:07 pm

I used RFID because i have been unable to buy TnG card whether its the old version or NFC thru any official channels. Always sold out, everywhere.Been wanting to buy since 2020.

• YB SANTA NANTA on Jan 13, 2023 at 3:07 pm

The blardy T n Go new cards purchase is a nightmare.I went to 5 outlets..JUAL HABIS..finally good Samaritan told me,LRT station ada jual.
        The blardy Setapak counter lady said” Lu pergi baca notice sana…2 hari no stock”
        Menteri LookLOOK said we have first class infra,but no class,shithole maintenance.I totally sokong.
        HOw to pay parking or toll without t n g?
        The whole system is totally f…up.

• newme on Jan 13, 2023 at 3:47 pm

It’s in your wallet. Your IC.
        By the way, the nfc is available at TnG Lazada for some time now.

• Maverick Merpati on Jan 13, 2023 at 10:02 pm

stupid newme
          The IC cannot buy new card.Only for top up.
          How to top up when your card hilang?Bodo.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
          • Newme on Jan 14, 2023 at 10:21 am

Are you dumb or what? If IC hilang, you should make a new one. You cannot walk around without IC. Takkan ini pun nak diajar?

Wait …. You dont know your IC is a TNG card?

• Tin Kosong Tian Chua on Jan 13, 2023 at 2:47 pm

What choice do we have during rush hours?We have bear with the shit,bradder.

• Haters gonna hate on Jan 13, 2023 at 1:58 pm

Good job !!! Now we have extra 12 lanes to be jammed !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
    • Janji dicapati on Jan 13, 2023 at 3:55 pm

Kerajaan gagal!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
    • Anti RFID on Jan 13, 2023 at 6:10 pm

I will avoid RFID lanes at all cost. Mine not readable after a few months. Bodoh punya solutions. The system is unreliable.

• alamaaaakkkk PLUS & Works Ministry tak faham betul laaaa.. it’s not about adding more RFID lanes, it’s about making sure the RFID in each lane WORKS! Doesn’t matter if you add 100 extra lanes if they continue to malfunction! aduuuuuh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 3
    • azhar on Jan 13, 2023 at 8:43 pm

90% of the time rfid works since i used it..common cause of malfunction, speed above 20kmh..rfid cant detect

• landan on Jan 13, 2023 at 2:21 pm

The congestion is not because of insufficient lanes but rather the RFID system unable to detect effectively. They are now to trying to solve the problem by creating another problem; good luck on that.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • nyanongkrong on Jan 13, 2023 at 2:44 pm

just remove all smart tag lane at first. keep tng as backup. adui smart tag obsolete ady

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 22
    • Mr Mar on Jan 13, 2023 at 5:06 pm

Mister, my smart tag never failed compared to lousy RFID ahahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
    • Newme on Jan 14, 2023 at 10:23 am

The smarttag lanes has proven again and again in saving the day when rfid fail to do its job.

• KusoKing on Jan 13, 2023 at 2:50 pm

They should remove the stupid unreliable things. They just want to earn money from old tech and not fix the problem.
    Many country already have many kind of system are work safe and reliable for reference, very unbelievable unitl now they still stuck on this easy issue.

• YB SANTA NANTA on Jan 13, 2023 at 2:57 pm

Our new menteri’s name sounds a bit like Santa.
    As a good Santa,pls go on your rounds UNDERCOVER like AhlOKEkoR.
    Dont sit in your ivory tower.Be hands on,Mr Santa Nanta.

• Why so stupid ! The problem is reliability of the RFID… more RFID line makes more uncertainty and more problems. Solve the RFID reliability rather than add more problem !!!!

• whats the use of adding lane? when its system down.. all lane down also.. guna lah otak…

• No touchy on Jan 13, 2023 at 4:48 pm

Bring on the dislikes but I still have to say this.. For the love of all Malaysians, please expedite the implementation of multi-lane free flow tolling.

• Sahid on Jan 15, 2023 at 8:43 am

I agree…But it means JPJ must give database access to TNG due to user won’t install RFID tag (register themself).

• @Snakebabu on Jan 13, 2023 at 5:09 pm

Fix the real problem not add on another 12 Oh my kadavuley

• seancorr on Jan 13, 2023 at 5:19 pm

The public is right in pushing back. RFID has been crap from day 1 so it’s obvious no one wants to use them plus with TnG charging RM35 for a tag that isn’t durable either.

• musdelarocha on Jan 13, 2023 at 5:25 pm

Some observation after using for few years. Some highway like Duke have marking where the RFID detection area/spot. So the car should be slow or stop at that point amd it really works 95% of the usage. Other highway such as Plus dont have this,thats why people domt relly know where to slow or stop for the exact sensor detection spot.

• Y not make rfid and smart tag use same lane?

• 4G63T DSM on Jan 13, 2023 at 6:42 pm

What’s the point in adding more RFID lanes when it’s unreliable? It’s going to take up lane space for those on smart tag and TNG.

If RFID goes down, all Sama Sama koyak now.

Sounds like a band aid solution instead of actually fixing the problem. If you don’t fix it, adding more will just mean you are adding more problems.

• hazri on Jan 13, 2023 at 7:01 pm

this alex nanta lingi i dont know who vote him, when he was kpdnhep minister also fail, this time as work minister also fail. masa PN fail, masa PH pun fail. but, PN got many minister gagal, PH only got this one gagal.

• Yunos on Jan 15, 2023 at 5:08 pm

Menteri PM very BIG gagal. When he said he can sell petrol rm1.50/litre.

• wonder who to blame? PLUS? Works Minister? Or our PM who hired this Works Minister? haih… we have a loooooong way to go folks

• Sohai #1 on Jan 13, 2023 at 8:34 pm

A lots of bodoh use to talk to the phone while using RFID. It’s will affect the frequency.

RFID at. Exit Segambut toll at Duke 2 only can run at 5kmh while go through. Else it’s cannot detect.

• Sohai #2 on Jan 13, 2023 at 8:35 pm

A lots of bodoh use to talk to the phone while using RFID. It’s will affect the frequency.

RFID at. Exit Segambut toll at Duke 2 only can run at 5kmh while go through. Else it’s cannot detect.

• I Regret buying The Rfid i remember going to my grandpa house at perlis And using The Rfid After in Penang The RFID tol is jammed so i decided to use the smart tag and guess what? I got Penalty RM 73.40 AND LOST ALL OF MY RM100 IN MY TNG CARD.

• Refund money on Jan 14, 2023 at 12:00 pm

You can write complain in touch and go website, they will refund the money…

• Refund money on Jan 14, 2023 at 12:03 pm

Complaint in touch and go website… they will refund you the penalty money ..

• Add Tol Masuk, Keluar?

• Adding more means more lanes will not be working. Just have the operators make sure they works.

• Joe Jambul on Jan 14, 2023 at 9:56 pm

No point adding more lanes… This is merely to give more lanes with immovable long queue as they will likely get stuck… Experience yourself at DASH hiway KotaDam when all Smartag lanes are doubled with RFID.. In the end, those with Smartag have to queue together with those stucked RFID… Great.. Great.. Great otak udang

• Farid on Jan 15, 2023 at 2:56 am

Dah guna rfid dari masa phase ujian rfid lagi , ada dah 4 tahun. Dalam 4 tahun ini ,cuma ada beberapa kali sahaja gagal detection itu pun sebab kereta terlalu laju je. Function auto reload tng wallet memang membantu. Jarang sekali pergi reload kad tng kecuali untuk parking sahaja.

• Smart tag on Jan 15, 2023 at 8:04 am

Sepanjang pengalaman saya tgk kat pintu rfid tol sg besi tu tak de la pulak sesak..yg berlaku perlahan sikit bila ada masalah jer…yg saya tgk sesak pada pintu smart tag ada la…

• Root Cause on Jan 15, 2023 at 1:10 pm

Adding more RFID lanes might not solve the problem when issue is on how the Wireless Scanning Unit is being installed. Some toll booth very efficient. So far the best I found is at LDP Section 16 PJ from Bangsar going towards Damansara. The unit picks up fast when goes near probably because it’s installed lower and the angle is just right. Worst toll booth I found at Plaza Toll Batu 11 going towards KL. The scanning unit is installed way too high and sometimes need to go very near to the barrier. I think Work Ministry needs to turun padang to check. Learn from the better toll booth. More lane does not solve problem and might cause more issue where jam caused by lesser non RFID booth. Lastly don’t trust the report from the officer, experience it yourself.

• Root Cause on Jan 15, 2023 at 1:15 pm

Adding more RFID lanes might not solve the problem when issue is on how the Wireless Scanning Unit is being installed. Some toll booth very efficient. So far the best I found is at LDP Section 16 PJ from Bangsar going towards Damansara. The unit picks up fast when goes near probably because it’s installed lower and the angle is just right. Worst toll booth I found at Plaza Toll Batu 11 going towards KL. The scanning unit is installed way too high and sometimes need to go very near to the barrier. I think Work Ministry needs to turun padang to check. Learn from the better toll booth. More lane does not solve problem and might cause more issue where jam caused by lesser non RFID booth. Lastly don’t trust the report from the officer, experience it yourself.

• rootcause on Jan 16, 2023 at 3:16 pm

Applaud the initiative. Here are some suggestions:

1. standardize the RFID lanes on ALL toll plazas. If you want them on the right most, then make 100% all toll plazas to place them on the right. Dont suka suka some on left, some on right, some in the middle. This causes accidents.

2. standardize the RFID stickers to be on headlamps 100%. Stop all fancy placements, on plastic stands la, on windscreen la, etc. all put on headlamps 100% works (drivers please dont tint your stupid headlamps)

3. remove all SmartTag booths. This is unpopular because general population dislike change. but it has to be done. This FORCE both the road users and also PLUS to focus on 1 problem rather than 2.