2023 Perodua Axia is more expensive due to bigger size, plus advanced features – not a planned price hike

Earlier this morning, Perodua announced the start of order taking for the all-new Axia D74A, which will be available in four variants. In addition to preliminary specifications that we’ve detailed in our original post, the local carmaker also provided estimated pricing for its upcoming model.

The range starts with the G that is estimated to retail for RM38,600 on-the-road without insurance. This is followed by the X at RM40,000, the SE at RM44,000 and the range-topping AV at RM49,500. All variants are powered by a 1.0 litre engine paired with a D-CVT, the latter replacing the previous four-speed automatic.

Compared to the outgoing Axia that also had a 1.0 litre engine (a naturally-aspirated three-cylinder) and 4AT, the D74A is noticeably pricier. For context, the previous model after the 2019 update was offered in six variants, namely the “driving school-spec” 1.0 E MT (RM24,090), the 1.0 G AT (RM33,490), the 1.0 GXtra AT (RM34,990), the SUV-inspired 1.0 Style AT (RM38,890), the 1.0 SE AT (RM38,890) and the top-spec AV (RM43,190).

According to Perodua president and CEO Datuk Seri Zainal Abidin Ahmad, the increase in the new Axia’s price is because of the larger vehicle size as well as the inclusion of more advanced features compared to its predecessor.

“For new prices, like our Axia, the size of this model has increased compared to the current (car). The features are also different. Previously, the Axia was basic and didn’t have ASA (Advanced Safety Assist). The new (car) will be equipped with up to six airbags, including curtain airbags. Safety is very important. We want to make sure that as we grow, we include all the safety features in our line-up,” he said during a Q&A session following a media conference held today.

“So, with the increased specifications, the increase in safety, the pricing will be different from before. We increased the price of the new model not because of inflation or material costs, but because of additional features that we included,” Zainal continued.

2019 Perodua Axia 1.0 AV AT

Based on what we know so far, the Axia D74A is certainly a lot more advanced than before, with the AV coming standard with six airbags, a seven-inch TFT multi-info display, a nine-inch Display Audio head unit, LED headlamps and DRLs as well as Perodua Smart Drive Assist (PSDA) that includes ASA. These upmarket features, along with the larger vehicle size as mentioned, are why the AV has gone up RM6,310 (referring to the estimated price provided).

It should also be said that while the starting price (RM24k to RM39k) of the Axia sees a huge jump, that’s only because the manual version has been dropped for the new launch. If comparing the G, or more accurately the old GXtra, the increase is relatively less substantial at RM3,610. Only the GXtra onwards came with Vehicle Stability Control (VSC) and traction control, but the new Axia will have VSC, traction control and hill start assist as standard across the range.

We’ll know more about what else has changed for the Axia when it makes its launch debut, but for now, are you impressed with what Perodua has come up with? Is the increase in pricing justified based on the reasons given?

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Good Job Perodua!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 15
    • Celup King on Feb 01, 2023 at 11:41 am

P2 penipu scalper, in the past RM 50k can get you full spec Myvi. Now P2 downgraded buyers from Bsegment to Asegment. Shame on you for insulting buyers P2!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 11
      • In the past rm 5 can get ayam goreng and nasi putih today rm5 get kangkung and nasi putih. Inflation happens to all forms of business get your mind straight.

• Xdm S. on Feb 05, 2023 at 12:49 am

In the past Saga FLX high spec was 46K and have nothing and now Saga Premium S with just 44K have everything. What’s your point?

• TJ Liew on Feb 10, 2023 at 2:16 pm

FLX has more bespoke parts compare to current Premium S, lots of share parts for current SAGA thanks for Geely mass part purchase. Hope this answer your question.

• The price range is still within RM 50K, alot will buy regardless of the hike.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 11
  • Keyboard warrior on Jan 31, 2023 at 4:29 pm

The AV should at least come with 1.2 or something that a little bit bigger. The AV also should have Carplay & AA to justify the almost RM50k price tag. Well the later might threaten the Myvi lmao. This is just my opinion la.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
    • Anonymous on Jan 31, 2023 at 11:37 pm

To keep costs down the last thing they want to add is another engine to assemble/import exclusively for one model. If you want a bigger engine for the Axia for minimal cost, it will have to be a 1.3 that they already have. But then it would not be as economical and at least 20 kg heavier, being a 4 cylinder. As far as I know there are no Daihatsu 3-cylinders larger than 1.0.

Carplay and Android Auto are also not “budget” features. You know how expensive the good units are. No car maker will put in cheap off-brand Apple CarPlay or Android Auto enabled players you can get from Shopee or Lazada that they can’t put a warranty on.

• Go get yourself a myvi

• yeah right on Feb 02, 2023 at 3:24 pm

Your opinion is invalid. I dont care about your opinion. You are nobody. Boo..

• The driver on Jan 31, 2023 at 4:36 pm

The price increase is nearly double the original. What a bummer for hundreds of parents like myself wanting to get a 1st car for their kids

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 10
    • Kids should earn their first car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 9
      • Kariayam on Feb 01, 2023 at 8:20 pm

There’s nothing wrong with a parent wanting to provide a safer and easier mode of transportation for their kids. I say this as someone who bought his own first car.

• Kids should own their first car

• kckfen on Jan 31, 2023 at 4:45 pm

So now Axia become Myvi………?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 3
  • “…the increase in the new Axia’s price is because of the larger vehicle size”

Larger? Axia is an A-segment hatchback, why make it larger with RM5k difference? Then the size is closer to Myvi, might as well but a Myvi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 3
    • Syaiful Nizam Hassan on Feb 02, 2023 at 7:55 am

Perodua already stated increasing dimensions started with Kancil, next Kelisa, Viva, Axia I & finally upcoming Axia II.

• I’d say the wait is worth it because I was actively following the rumours/news of d74a. It’s gonna be a huge jump from driving a 1985 saga for 10 years, a hand me down from my mother. A 1st car for a new job is risky ngl

• FudgeMeSideways on Jan 31, 2023 at 5:33 pm

Dorang dah lama merancang, korang je yg lalai.

• samake on Jan 31, 2023 at 5:35 pm

Nasi lemak naik 20sen – “Barang naik bang, I bagi sambal banyak sikit ye.”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • newme on Jan 31, 2023 at 5:41 pm

Advanced feature like what? … that good for nothing idle start/stop that requires more expensive battery? or that nice to see meter cluster? or the touch screen head unit?

This P2 is getting out of touch by turning a supposedly affordable car to a premium car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 5
    • Mahalsikit on Jan 31, 2023 at 9:21 pm

Agree.

But then if you need an affordable car you should’ve buy a second hand car. A used 2 gen Myvi sounds better

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
      • newme on Feb 01, 2023 at 11:00 am

One would want to get a new car to minimise the need to spend more money to replace failing parts in the coming years.

• Vaskaran.c on Feb 01, 2023 at 3:21 pm

Your advice is similar to our Minister’s reply when chicken prize goes up..Don’t eat chicken.. compared to other countries our vehicle prices are already high..

• With so much added specs and features, I feel that the price increase is too low. It can be hiked more but they didn’t want to. Back then for more airbags and stability control, it’s like few k premium compared to non stability control specs for other brands.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 18
  • Kevin on Jan 31, 2023 at 7:04 pm

CVT transmission is a disaster … and it is a deal breaker for me. A mistake by Perodua?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 19
  • Kita Tak Boleh on Jan 31, 2023 at 7:05 pm

Proton can never. X50 nak bagi AEB pun kedekut.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
  • Nan Cheese fans on Jan 31, 2023 at 7:22 pm

now even entry level segment car price already close to rm50k (can buy myvi 2023 already). Those fresh graduates, b40 people doesnt have many option anymore. Car getting pricier from time to time.

• Keyboard warrior on Jan 31, 2023 at 10:28 pm

Are you serious? If you are from b40,single, fresh graduate, owning a car should not be your priority let alone buying a brand new car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
      • So many good used car below RM40k for fresh grad as startup practicing.

Langgar new car, sakit hati oh.

• Anonymous on Feb 01, 2023 at 12:03 am

No one asks fresh graduates and B40s to buy the highest specs. You can get a new AT Saga or new Axia for less than RM40k. The used market is also littered with well-kept Toyotas for under RM35k.

• Myvi 2019 owner on Jan 31, 2023 at 7:52 pm

Although the price almost rm49k, I don’t want to put high expectation on this car since their other newer cars also have same driving quality (aruz, alza, ativa, myvi & bezza) which are also can be compare to an old Kancil driving experience.

What I don’t like cars from these brand:

Feels like an old car because

1) Low interior quality. Vibration from dashboard & loud rattle noise from other interior parts when go to harsh road/yellow line (same like an old Kancil)

2) Bad NVH. Felt like a 10 years old car. Loud wind noise, loud tyre noise especially during rain, lousy wiper motor & power window motor, lousy lock/unlock sound)

3) Stock suspension almost macam kayu, no function at all especially when dealing with bonggol & jalan jauh.

4) Low quality sound system (equivalent to old kancil speaker sound only)

5) Real world fuel consumption is far from what they advertised. But still can be considered as fuel efficient also.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 3
    • Jasonx on Feb 01, 2023 at 8:50 am

Feel free to go P1… LoL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
    • newme on Feb 01, 2023 at 11:07 am

I agree. Not to mention them shoving all unnecessary features to justify the price hike.

But again, what choice do Malaysian’s have apart from 2nd cars? Proton is so unreliable.

• Right? on Feb 01, 2023 at 2:22 pm

Then what do you expect from this B40s car? 50k for this damn cheap with all the bell and whistles. If you want more refine car, you need to pay more.

Business is business.

Study and work hard brother.

• Mahalsikit on Jan 31, 2023 at 8:51 pm

Too expensive for an entry level car. But if i want to go for a compact car like this, with that price id rather spend on Picanto seriously

• Vios 1st gen on Jan 31, 2023 at 9:32 pm

Top spec almost same price as persona standard. But cheap if compared to ativa just non turbo and smaller wheel 23k cheaper

• Bund sung Lee on Jan 31, 2023 at 9:49 pm

Means more idiots on thee road, like turn left and right without signals, cross driving, drive either v slow or v fasts, lists is endless, so pls dnt launch or teach drivers properly without any favor bfr handover theses type of cars to them,(wouldnt happen)

• laa 1.0 juga… alahaii axia,klu letak turbo aku bli haha

• Anton on Jan 31, 2023 at 11:57 pm

Every year car prices, along with other stuffs, by the thousands, but salary increases by the hundreds. Sad

• Up to you... on Feb 01, 2023 at 2:27 pm

Further your study brother and work hard in order to compensate with the inflation.

Actually the price vs given spec already good. If you cannot afford the full spec, there is always alternative which is bare bone spec or used car market.

• newme on Feb 01, 2023 at 9:02 am

Have a model without these “advanced features” and let the people choose.

• Sohai on Feb 01, 2023 at 11:19 am

If they want to go upmarket and charge premium, do it properly. Put the 1L turbo on the AV spec. Charge Rm55k for it.
    The performance people can appreciate, not some half baked head unit and fancy meters.

• Mohamad on Feb 01, 2023 at 1:17 pm

Utk org kurang berkemampuan.. yg diperlukan hanyalah sebuah kenderaan basic.. gadget gadjet lain yg menambahkan harga tu bukan pun digunakan sgt..

• Adrian on Feb 01, 2023 at 3:07 pm

If i wanted a bigger car, i could option for bezza or myvi. I dont want a bigger car… i want a CHEAPER car…..

• Used car market have alot lower spec and cheaper car.

• Zainul Abidin bin Ridzuan . on Feb 02, 2023 at 6:04 pm

Several years ago I read in THE EGE , Ki Spectra arrived here at about 23 rm , before all the taxes , of course. That means KIA has aleady profited . Now , I can’t see why Axia , locally produced , ( no shipment costs ) should cost roughly 40 percent more ! Isn’t this a ripoff ? Shame on you , Produa ! And pray don’t tell me …don’t insult our intelligence , you , the govt , by telling us you are in the dark about this .

• M has on Feb 02, 2023 at 3:51 pm

With that price .with that quality that p2 carry..hey malaysian ! Be a clever user- you may need add few more ringgit to get world brand such as toyota .mazda and nissan.Yes p2 is toyota dna..but why marrige the son…when you can get beutiful quality mother..right?

• Zainul Abidin bin Ridzuan . on Feb 02, 2023 at 5:59 pm

Several years ago I read in THE EDGE , Kia Spectra arrived here at about 23 rm , before all the taxes , of course. That means KIA has aleady profited . Now , I can’t see why Axia , locally produced , ( no shipment costs ) should cost roughly 40 percent more ! Isn’t this a ripoff ? Shame on you , Produa ! And pray don’t tell me …don’t insult our intelligence , you , the govt , by telling us you are in the dark about this .

• Zainul Abidin bin Ridzuan . on Feb 02, 2023 at 6:00 pm

Several years ago I read in THE EDGE , Ki Spectra arrived here at about 23 rm , before all the taxes , of course. That means KIA has aleady profited . Now , I can’t see why Axia , locally produced , ( no shipment costs ) should cost roughly 40 percent more ! Isn’t this a ripoff ? Shame on you , Produa ! And pray don’t tell me …don’t insult our intelligence , you , the govt , by telling us you are in the dark about this .

• Zainul Abidin bin Ridzuan . on Feb 02, 2023 at 6:01 pm

Several years ago I read in THE EGE , Ki Spectra arrived here at about 23 rm , before all the taxes , of course. That means KIA has aleady profited . Now , I can’t see why Axia , locally produced , ( no shipment costs ) should cost roughly 40 percent more ! Isn’t this a ripoff ? Shame on you , Produa ! And pray don’t tell me …don’t insult our intelligence , you , the govt , by telling us you are in the dark about this .

• Junkies otr on Feb 03, 2023 at 8:25 am

Cheap cvt

• Felix on Feb 03, 2023 at 6:42 pm

Some complaints are understandable, but why people are so upset about the price and the extra spec of the AV variant? If you are looking for a cheaper new car without all the new bells and whistles, G, X, and SE variants exist for a reason.

• Overpriced Axia. Very kecewa with P2.

• Ng yui meng on Feb 16, 2023 at 1:52 pm

Which is more economical axia 2023 or bezza