Mercedes-Maybach S-Class Z223 now available as a S580e plug-in hybrid variant – V6 joins V8 and V12

The creme de la creme of society can now travel with some eco credentials as Mercedes-Benz has decided that its V6 plug-in hybrid system is worthy of being installed in a Maybach. And why not, really – the same S580e system installed in the S-Class is perfectly capable of being luxuriously smooth and quiet – an I6 engine that’s completely turned off surely beats a V12 engine, no matter how silent, in that respect.

The Mercedes-Maybach S580e’s hybrid system pairs a 3.0 litre inline-six engine making 367 hp and 500 Nm of torque to a 150 hp, 440 Nm electric motor sandwiched between the engine and the 9G-Tronic gearbox. The 100 km/h sprint can be reached in 5.1 seconds. Thanks to a huge 28.6 kWh battery, it can travel up to 100 km on all-electric mode.

At the moment, the sole Mercedes-Maybach S-Class with a published pricelist in Malaysia is the S580 (with no e), with a 1.9 million ringgit pricetag. The S580 uses a 4.0 litre V8 engine producing 503 PS and 700 Nm of torque. It’s got a mild 48V hybrid 20 PS, 200 Nm motor, but hybrid assist capabilities are far from what the plug-in hybrid is capable of.

The range topper is the Mercedes-Maybach S680, which doesn’t have an official pricelist, but we are sure if your pockets are deep enough you can order one. No 48V hybrid system here – powering the S680 is purely a 6.0 litre V12 engine making 621 hp and 1000 Nm of torque.

Want to go greener than this Maybach S580e? You’ll have to wait for the production version of the Mercedes-Maybach EQS SUV for that.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Onanodus on Feb 16, 2023 at 5:49 pm

I think the title and the second line of the first paragraph is wrong, should be I6 instead of V6.

• got ACC or not. funny if dont have axia also have hahaha.

• Maybach brand already failed. How many times they want to try to resurrect the brand?