2023 Toyota GR Corolla launched in Malaysia – AWD 6MT hot hatch; 1.6T 3-cyl, 300 PS, 370 Nm; RM355k

Perhaps the most exciting of the five GR-branded cars that UMW Toyota Motor (UMWT) is launching today is the Toyota GR Corolla. Three of the cars are variants of existing model and one is a new generation (GR86), but the GR Corolla is a new product, a hot hatch wearing a badge that not many will think of when they think performance – Corolla.

But this mean-looking five-door C-segment hatchback has plenty of performance and is priced at RM355,000. Under that bulging vented hood is a 1.6 litre turbocharged engine with 300 PS and 370 Nm of torque made between 3,000 and 5,550 rpm. 0-100 km/h is done in 5.3 seconds and top speed is 230 km/h.

It’s the same G16E-GTS three-pot found in the smaller GR Yaris – already the most powerful three-cylinder in production – but here, it makes 39 PS and 10 Nm more than our European-spec GR Yaris, “to provide equally high levels of performance with the larger model”. The engine features D-4S port and direct injection, as well as a single-scroll turbo integrated with the exhaust manifold.

Like the GR Yaris, the hottest of Corollas is also equipped with a six-speed manual transmission (with a rev-matching function) and the GR-Four all-wheel-drive system. The driver can choose from three drive modes and three AWD modes. A Torsen limited-slip differential on the front and rear axles control drive to the 18-inch black Enkei multi-spoke wheels, which are wrapped with 235/40 Yokohama Advan Apex tyres.

The GR Corolla – which by the way is not a limited production model like the GR Yaris – is based on the Corolla five-door hatchback, which in stock form is already more sporty than our market’s sedan. Now it looks like a beast, thanks to widened fender flares (track widened by 60 mm in front and 85 mm at the back), a bare carbon fibre roof, functional bonnet vents and that super wide mouth of a grille.

At the back, there’s a big spoiler and a unique triple exhaust layout. Unlike the Civic Type R’s three pipes in the middle, Toyota employs two round ones on the sides plus one central oval tip. By the way, the GR Corolla weighs nearly 200 kg more than the GR Yaris at 1,475 kg, due to the larger body and the three-door car’s more extreme dieting – that’s why more power is needed.

Inside, some of the good stuff like the seats and steering wheel are familiar from the GR Yaris. But while the smaller hatch gets traditional analogue dials, the Corolla presents info via a 12.3-inch screen supplemented by a head-up display. The digital meter has a GR start-up animation, and there are also GR logos on the steering and seats.

GR bits done, we move on to the Corolla part. There’s a 9.0-inch touchscreen head unit with Android Auto and Apple CarPlay, dual-zone climate control, a wireless charger and keyless entry and start are all standard. Seven airbags and the full Toyota Safety Sense suite of driver assist tech – using a monocular camera and radar – are included. Local kit fitted by UMWT include a telematics system (car tracker), dashcam and solar/security film.

There are four colours – Precious Metal (grey), Super White, Emotional Red and Black. Yes, just Black. Once again, the CBU Japan Toyota GR Corolla is priced at RM355,000 on the road before insurance. So, this or the FL5 Civic Type R?

GALLERY: 2023 Toyota GR Corolla live pics

GALLERY: 2023 Toyota GR Corolla official pics

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• This or the FL5 ?
    definitely this one

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 9
    • Hondaman on Feb 18, 2023 at 8:15 am

Better save more, and get FL5 CTR… Cheaper, faster, and wayy more powerful

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 14
      • FL5fan on Feb 18, 2023 at 12:40 pm

Do you really think the FL5 will be priced lower than this? I sure hope so.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
        • Civic Turbo 2018 on Feb 22, 2023 at 5:00 pm

Next gotta be Toyota Camry GR
          Same 1.6T powertrain in Yaris

• FL5 CTR missed out variable AWD grip and less fun from its length too.
        Just a cheaper option to Supra Z4

• Toyota aiyo on Feb 20, 2023 at 9:32 am

FL5.. such a lame codename.
          unlike examples like.. AE101, AE92 ..
          eff ell five.. cmon toyota.. what happened to you..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 16
        • Idiot on Apr 30, 2023 at 10:49 pm

Yup, same like I don’t understand why Ferrari uses 911 to name their famous sport car… Ayoyo, cmon Ferrari, what happened???

• VW arteon better anyway.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 39
    • Casual reader on Feb 19, 2023 at 1:14 pm

Pointless car pay much higher than 86 for a ahbengfied corolla

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 9
  • jdmcarlover07 on Feb 17, 2023 at 9:43 pm

NOOOOO!!! NOT THE SHITTY ASS UMWT’s INFOTAINMENT TOUCHSCREEN!!! IT LOOKS SO BAD ITS LIKE BOUGHT FROM THE YOUR LOCAL TUNING SHOP

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 10
    • Actually, this is a racing car with number plates (like i.e. the Porsche 911 GT3 RS).
      If you care about touchscreens so much, then this car is not for you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 25
      • Hahaha, those 340i, 135i also Nar said they are racing car. At just 5.3sec in Toyota standard mean real world around 6 sec is far from racing car. The family car 330i manage 5.8 sec too. 0.5 sec behind is really not far you know. Racing car is M2 and GT3 you r right and For Toyota is Supra. This is sporty hatchback just like golf R.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 18
        • this car will outlast the euros u mentioned above plus will be a collectible in the future

• No way on May 06, 2023 at 8:02 pm

Dont forget toyota use BMw engine and interior and transmission for their most racy and legend car aka Supra. If so geng why use others?

• why so judgemental?

oh wait, this is paultan comment section…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
    • newme on May 02, 2023 at 2:36 pm

you will commit harakiri if you’ve seen the infotainment units on all Perodua cars. Sometimes i wonder why P2 even bother putting it into their car? almost all owners I know, thats the first bloody thing they remove once they collect their cars.

• very handsome car it look very distinctive then the normal corolla that sell in our market or else you will see ah beng corolla with loud pipe think they are the real deal lol.

• jdmcarlover07 on Feb 17, 2023 at 9:54 pm

I’m so disappointed with UMWT. Why they give us their own made touchscreen on GR cars for our local market. We want OEM touchscreen products. Don’t even need to bother retrofit your own stuffs on these mighty GR cars! It doesn’t suit them!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 8
    • if you buy this car and bother so much about the touchscreen headunit..means you don’t know anything about the car…LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 29
      • You have no idea on Feb 20, 2023 at 9:33 am

he may not know everything about the car, but he is a real car enthusiast.. coz to the car enthusiast, EVERYTHING IS IMPORTANT

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 6
  • RyanT on Feb 17, 2023 at 10:50 pm

How much does it cost for 4-cylinders out of rm355k?

• luqman on Feb 18, 2023 at 2:17 am

dashboard macam axia baru ni je haha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 4
  • newme on Feb 18, 2023 at 7:57 am

People are waiting for the new Vios but they release all these fancy models. How much sales they expect from this?

• It’s a kind of advertisement to give the brand a “sporty” touch. I doubt they make lots of money with that models.

• Oh ho on Feb 20, 2023 at 9:35 am

All the money they supposed to make, all gone down the GR racing series already.. now all we see is .. Toyota = desperate boy racers.

• stick on Feb 18, 2023 at 10:00 am

pls ban these so called “sports cars” on public road, they’re a menace for losers who are weak physically

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 27
    • Oh yeah on Feb 19, 2023 at 7:19 pm

No,no,no….they are a ‘menace’ for losers whom cant afford the real thing.

• Sigh... on Feb 24, 2023 at 1:51 pm

Bila B40s berbicara, bila x mampu disuruhnya ban.

Patut lah neraka tu ramai org miskin, krn mrk ni x bersyukur dan dengki nak mampos.

Pity those B40s, now & hereafter also failed.

At least if your life now like shyte, try to target your afterlife brother.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
  • hyin21 on Feb 18, 2023 at 10:24 am

Unless you are a major shareholder in UMWT, whatever said here will not change their marketing & sales strategies

• this car is the spiritual successor the Impreza/Evo. I think this car would give serious fight to the Impreza WRX that’s recently launched here.

• dong gor on Feb 18, 2023 at 6:35 pm

at this price, just get a bmw and look classy. it’s comfortable, luxury, and german made. Engine wise it’s powerful enough for normal road. not as fast = safer too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 13
    • Up to your choice. Both BMW and Corolla GR looks sporty and powerful

• RM355 is almost bmw m340i territory and that gets 0-60 in 4 secs or less as tested in carwow of UK and its automatic.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 7
    • A GR Yaris chase away Porsche 911 GT3.

m340i handling @ cornering not good enough

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
      • Although both GR Yaris is good in handling and also performance…

You already driven M340i and Porsche 911 GT3?

Both M340 also good in performance, cornering and handling, same can be said on Porsche 911 GT3

• Li Peng on Feb 19, 2023 at 12:51 pm

It’s based on a rally car. It’s noisy, hard and thirsty. Btw: The GT3 will reach the Yaris top speed in third gear already…

• Tortilla on Feb 19, 2023 at 9:07 pm

Go get M3 instead of M340i,
      M340i really not good enough.

• No way on May 06, 2023 at 8:08 pm

By your logic, go get bugatti then big talker. If everyone want M3 there wont be a 340i dude. You are not cleverer than the whole BMW team or the large buyer market. What car you drivin? Have you even ever press the 340i pedal? Go to showroom test one pls.

• May I know which showroom has an example for viewing?

• lol blog on Feb 20, 2023 at 9:39 am

dude, pickup the phone and call your nearest dealership that has the GR garage la. why so lembik to come ask here.

• axia 2023 owner on Feb 20, 2023 at 8:58 am

dashboard resemble Perodua Axia 2023.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
    • Li Peng on Feb 20, 2023 at 12:56 pm

And it has a three cylinder engine too.

• luqman on Feb 21, 2023 at 2:41 pm

kelako ape kete ni 3cylinder hahaha

• Hardy on Feb 26, 2023 at 4:25 pm

It’s funny to your kind,but to guys who’s in in automotive world it’s is an amazing achievement in auto manufacturers..3cyl can easily pass 280hp back in the days..plus it’s a mass production vehicles..
          no need to mod up gila2

• 3 cylinder car owner on Apr 17, 2023 at 12:17 pm

3 cylinder is so powerful, my manual 2018 axia pickup faster than a lot of 1.3L

• George Rhiee on Feb 20, 2023 at 11:27 am

Incredible machine. Thank you for bringing it UMW.

• Wow! Awesome car! But how come there are cup holders in between driver & hand brake? This seems off. The hand brake is too far. Position hand brake tu untuk kereta steering wheel sebelah kiri. malas nak tukar ke apa..

• I think Toyota forgot to switch the handbrake on the GR corolla, still at left side like US model. Look at GR 86, it is on the right side while the US’s GR 86 is on the left side. Is the handbrake awkwardly positioned in our GR corolla Danny, since you drove it? Tx

• No way on May 06, 2023 at 7:59 pm

3cyc engine very unstable thats why BMW throw it away. This is 340i price territory, I can have a BMw 340i at 380 plus hp and 500Nm faster and prestige and more comfort and peactical than this. And BMw is chick magnet too. Haha TOyota should price this below 300k.

• killer A on Nov 21, 2023 at 6:36 pm

sports car with axia touch screen n 3cylinder for 355k bravo