Targeted subsidy for RON 95 petrol will be delayed, will be introduced for diesel first – Ahmad Maslan

The government says that its planned targeted fuel subsidy programme is still on the cards, but will begin with diesel, with that for RON 95 petrol being introduced at a later date. According to deputy finance minister Datuk Seri Ahmad Maslan, targeted subsidies will first involve electricity and diesel when it is implemented, The Star reports.

“We are looking into targeted subsidies for electricity and diesel. We might delay targeted subsidies on RON 95. When will the targeted subsidies be implemented? Wait for the announcement,” he said during his winding-up speech on Budget 2023 in parliament yesterday.

A targeted fuel subsidy was expected to be announced in the revised Budget 2023 that was tabled by prime minister and finance minister Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim on February 24, but nothing of this came about.

The matter of targeted subsidies has been brought up on numerous occasions over the years, and Anwar renewed the push to implement such a scheme when he took office. Last November, he asked relevant government ministries to explore the impact of such a move.

In February, Ahmad told the Dewan Rakyat that the government could save up to RM17 billion should it implement a targeted subsidy mechanism and remove subsidies enjoyed by the T20. He said that the government spent RM50.8 billion in subsidies for petrol, diesel and liquified petroleum gas (LPG) in 2022.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Dugaan on Mar 14, 2023 at 11:21 am

Nice,
    Moving forward,
    We pay $ Diesel, Petrol,
    Get $ salary too.

• Sohai on Mar 14, 2023 at 5:27 pm

DIESEL is used by commercial vehicle… by millionair businessman either SME or coporate for their company vehicle… can immediate pull out subsidy by tomorrow no need wait…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 12
      • Dah Menang Semua on Mar 15, 2023 at 9:43 am

Those big industrial players gotta take the lead in Green Revolution. Things have to be improved for the betterment of human society cannot stay constant forever. Just like our salary, nobody loves no-increment..

• Squid on Mar 15, 2023 at 9:59 am

Logistics costs will go up, pushing goods prices up as well. Then ppl jump complain everything go up in price…

• Sohai on Mar 14, 2023 at 5:29 pm

Just float the DIESEL follow market price, diesel only used by commercial vehicle by millionair SME or large corporate

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
    • Civic Turbo 2018 on Mar 14, 2023 at 6:00 pm

Good thing is the push for EV trucks. Lower carbon emission. No more smuggling across border. One stone kill two birds..

• T20 tax already raised on Mar 14, 2023 at 9:37 pm

They just raised the tax for T20 by 5%-10%.

That should address their concern of T20 buying humvee and getting subsidised gas.

It was a dumb idea anyway. I think if the government still impose this ill-conceived targeted subsidy, you can see some intellectual start voting the other way. Which is a shame.

• RM1.50/L petrol mana? on Mar 15, 2023 at 10:25 am

Just admit this is another failure of Kerajaan Gagal to give RM 1.50/L petrol that they had promised if they became the Govt.
      #KjaanGagalNoBola
      #RM1.50/LpetrolMana

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
  • Tax the rich, help the poor on Mar 14, 2023 at 11:40 am

Nurul Izzah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
  • Rafizi sembang kencang on Mar 14, 2023 at 11:40 am

Anwar menang rakyat senang

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
  • Menteri Formula on Mar 14, 2023 at 11:41 am

Targeted fuel subsidies mean lower food and goods prices? Is it correct, Anwar and Rafizi?

• Anwar Supporter on Mar 14, 2023 at 11:42 am

Just do it. U have my support!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
  • Benjamin on Mar 14, 2023 at 11:44 am

The main users of Ron95 diesel are transport companies such as buses, cargo transport trucks, container hauliers and delivery vans. Hopefully the Ministry of Transport will be involved in the discussion on targeted users. If like previously where trucks were given 960 liters of subsidy, many long haul operators will find this amount too little as their monthly average usage can run up to 9,600 liters. Ir is good that the government is spending more time to study before implementing the targeted subsidy. Hope the MOT will engaged with transport operators before implementation.

• Civic Turbo 2018 on Mar 14, 2023 at 6:04 pm

Keep up with green energy revolution people. Bus electrification already started… https://paultan.org/2023/03/10/rapid-bus-to-begin-its-bus-electrification-programme-100-ev-buses-in-phase-one-481-units-in-phase-two/

• Laugh on Mar 14, 2023 at 11:46 am

Why so long?

Business have been booming and profits have been skyrocketing ever since the recent market wide price hike.
    Whenever client ask, we just say inflation mah.

I’m waiting to increase maximum prices of the things I sell.
    Now only need the extra excuse to increase maximum.

Higher petrol price translates to higher income for businesses.

A much welcomed subsidy removal.

• super laugh on Mar 14, 2023 at 3:43 pm

you slowpoke. I already raise all goods price and blame it on weakening ringgit.

• Naive rakyat on Mar 14, 2023 at 12:49 pm

Remove subsidies without lowering prices of cars and trucks? Suicide move.

Not to mention diesel is the bulk of transportation costs, should expect another round of price hike. Why not RON95 first while partially subsidising diesel to avoid increase in transport cost?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
    • Rafizi Anwar Sallahudin & Co (RAS & Co) on Mar 14, 2023 at 3:25 pm

Last year,the TZ dude spew dragon fire,threatening BMW owners with floated fuel price.
      Earlier on,Sallahudin n Rafizi…again hinting..
      Now,AM said diesel first..which is the bulk of transportation costs.
      Until the state elections r over,no one will dare jack up fuel prices.It is tantamount to regime change suicide.
      The only sticky point is the MECHANISM of execution.
      You do a retina eye scan,thumbprint,special ID card,or what ?It will involve billions of Rm of “special gadgets” at the pump.Who gonna foot the bill?
      Another Jana Wibawa 2.0 scheme? OH no…we got enough of these shit.

• Dong gor on Mar 14, 2023 at 1:39 pm

when sugar up 20c per kilo, a cup of teh tarik up 10c per cup. And the price never comes back down even sugar is on sale. So do consider this carefully, it’s a checkmate move..you may just bring the cost of living here to grave level and cause all the social problems and guess what, the impact is irreversible like the teh tarik story

• Agree. When businesses runs by greedy bunch, they’ll use any excuses to max their profits. Just bring back GST. Those bastard cannot hide their true cost and profit margin anymore..

• Caruser21 on Mar 14, 2023 at 3:03 pm

Seems that MANY of the RAKYAT has got so…sooo….. USED to Government FREE subsidy . Such “subsidy” …distord economic principles and encourages corruption and wastage ( Locals and foreigns (Smuggling ) ). There are better ways than subsidising your way out to help the POOR .

• PH Supporter on Mar 15, 2023 at 10:28 am

2018 & 2022 we voted for the party that promises us the most free stuff wat. Of courselah! If you promise us the world for free we will sure kau vote for you too!

• longjaafar on Mar 14, 2023 at 3:11 pm

The easy way is to ask those in the target group to sign up, by providing details of their car registration. Then the govt credits their bank account with the appropriate subsidy. For the rest, they pay market price for RON95.

• Some people can't think on Mar 15, 2023 at 9:00 am

you really think this will work ? Go look around those withdraw RM10k EPF previously, how many of them really keep and use it during their hard time ? In fact they went shopping etc

Crediting subsidy to their accounts same thing will happens, in the end they will not use the money to buy petrol but enjoy their life, then complain petrol price high

• Kea Was on Mar 14, 2023 at 3:32 pm

Until today still no calculations on how the subsidy is spent on B40, M40 & T20 just a plug from the sky. Anyway just say election is coming so cannot implement it yet.

• dodgeviper88 on Mar 14, 2023 at 4:41 pm

Please let us know how much the government is getting from Petronas and then how much is spent on paying for these ‘subsidies’. If you focus on eradicating inefficiencies and leakages alone, i’m pretty sure they can save RM100b/year.

• Rafizi Anwar Sallahudin & Co (RAS & Co) on Mar 15, 2023 at 7:09 am

Petronas gift to germen is 50B this year.Subsidies petrol,TNB etc should hit 70-80B.But dont forget the T20 is hit with higher taxes.
      No surviving PM has floated fuel prices for long ..Badawi experimented at $2.70/litre…the fireball of backlash exploded,u turn quickly.
      Now with the greenies threatening to topple germen,u think PM will dare execute a floated price ,with B40 exempted?
      With state elections just after Raya,enjoy the balik kampong first with subsidised fuel.

• Yehuuuu we still get to enjoy cheap petrol

• Bla blaz on Mar 14, 2023 at 9:52 pm

Those “ultra rich” as mentioned by Anuar falls under what cat? Cannot be T20 or even T2. They earned more than that. They shd be excluded. Like i said b4, T20 group is not rich.

• Dumb low income people on Mar 15, 2023 at 9:02 am

Aiya what so hard, just remove subsidy, those no money pump petrol, just take public transport or find another job that doesn’t require petrol, rent a house nearby the office

Then everyone is fair, the poor just remain them as poor if they don’t wan to improve themselves

• Robinhood on Mar 15, 2023 at 9:05 am

No wonder all the prices have shot up so much recently!!! One of the lousiest govt we ever had in history. Taking away subsidy without thinking the consequences or formulating policy to address inflation is very irresponsible.

• Transport companies pay exorbitant prices for their lorries & spare parts as a result of APs, taxes, etc. Many have conveniently forgotten to mention that

• 2cents reader on Mar 15, 2023 at 10:13 am

The group who pay the most taxes but dun entitle the fuel subsidies, what logic is this??? You increase the income tax by 2 percent which is more than enough to cover the fuel subsidies for the individual consumption and yet again penalize by removing subsidies

For those who can’t afford vehicle should take public transport or grab, which save more money from maintainence too.dun forget that our car price is one of the highest in the world too

• kckfen on Mar 15, 2023 at 10:40 am

I thought this target electricity is for SME only? Intially say mo domestic removal for electricity? Which is which getting confused.

• Sohai on Mar 15, 2023 at 2:08 pm

suka suka implement, suka suka delay.
    Doesnt sound like the Gov has a clear plan.
    Please think and plan through before you announce anything.