2023 Toyota Vios in Malaysia – over 5k bookings since order books opened on Feb 24; priced from RM89,600

Prior to the official launch of the fourth-generation Toyota Vios last night, UMW Toyota Motor (UMWT) began accepting orders for the redesigned B-segment sedan from February 24 this year. In the time since the order books opened, the company has announced that it has received more than 5,000 bookings.

This was revealed by UMWT president Datuk Ravindran Kurusamy at yesterday’s event. “The response for the all-new Toyota Vios has been phenomenal, with more than 5,000 orders to date made since we announced our order-taking on February 24, 2023. This is a testament to the popularity of the all-new Toyota Vios in the Malaysian market,” he said.

“We are excited to kick off the year with the launch of the all-new Toyota Vios, which represents our commitment to providing our customers with the best quality vehicles and services. We look forward to a promising year ahead, full of opportunities to drive Malaysia’s economic growth and development.” he added.

Now based on the Daihatsu New Global Architecture, the latest Vios is offered in two variants, with the base E being priced at RM89,600 on-the-road without insurance, while the top-spec G retails at RM95,500.

Both variants a powered by a 2NR-VE 1.5 litre naturally-aspirated four-cylinder petrol engine that serves up 106 PS (104 hp) and 138 Nm of torque. The mill features DOHC and Dual VVT-i and is paired with a CVT that drives the front wheels.

Available features for the Vios include 17-inch alloy wheels, LED headlamps, LED taillights with sequential turn signals, a Qi wireless charger, a 7-inch digital instrument cluster, a nine-inch touchscreen head unit with wireless Android Auto and Apple CarPlay, keyless entry and engine start, rain-sensing wipers and a 64-colour ambient lighting system.

Apart from the usual passive safety systems, the Vios range gets a pre-collision system (autonomous emergency braking), lane departure warning, lane departure prevention, lane keeping control, pedal misoperation control, blind spot monitor with rear cross traffic alert and a 3D panoramic view monitor as standard.

Stepping up to the G adds on lane keeping control, auto high beam and adaptive cruise control. The range-topper was the version of the Vios we tried out in Langkawi before the model’s launch, and you can read our review of it here.

GALLERY: 2023 Toyota Vios 1.5G

GALLERY: 2023 Toyota Vios 1.5E

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• meladam on Mar 21, 2023 at 10:11 am

Ativa seats, myvi steering wheels, axia chasis, alza meter. Price should be lower as this is downgraded vios

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 4
    • No worries. people will still buy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
      • Dah Menang Semua on Mar 21, 2023 at 3:20 pm

(Like) Alza
        (Dislike) Vios

Both same – Engine, gearbox, DNGA, length/width
        (Alza only) +7 seater, duo-AC system, 20K cheaper

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
    • Yeahsure on Mar 21, 2023 at 10:48 am

The fact that ppl dont seem to mind.. Share parts with cheaper cars and sell them more expensive, in fact, lets not give them spare tyre and make the rear headroom worse, also, lets remove rear foldable seats as well.. No consumer economic theories works on msians…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 3
      • Ella Hu Hut Pa on Mar 21, 2023 at 11:24 am

Removed spare tyre makes the car lighter thus more fuel efficient kek

• Curious on Mar 21, 2023 at 1:18 pm

I think use 16 inch wheels like previous Vios might save more fuel than 17 inch wheels without one spare wheel…

• Retired Akio on Mar 21, 2023 at 11:21 am

There already reduced cost of production ie thinner metals and more plastic parts begets better profits meanwhile propagates the new car is lighter thus travels faster with less fuel consumed

• Milo Tin Is More Reinforced on Mar 21, 2023 at 2:03 pm

Any thinner body metal sheets you can use it as drum and musical instruments already. Even now most of the japanese cars body metal if you tap it sounds like those biscuit tin can.

• Toyota Always Cost More on Mar 21, 2023 at 2:05 pm

Given even if the same Myvi you slap a Toyota logo on it, price jump by 20%. The logo is costly.

• Squid on Mar 21, 2023 at 3:26 pm

Those cars u mentioned are cheaper as they are smaller and also enjoy higher tax savings. Nothing to do with quality.

• First time toyota buyer on Mar 27, 2023 at 5:20 pm

You think it’s Malaysia build since it’s comes in Malaysia cars first? This tech and accesories already with Toyota and perodua bought it. That’s how it works all the time. This Vios is too good for A segment. Already placed the booking for G spec. The car definitely awesome and better than city and almera

• Better than the old civic 1.7L 152Nm, less power and lethargic to its weight.

• Keyboard warrior on Mar 21, 2023 at 11:44 am

I don’t understand why people keep ranting on how the new Vios is a glorified Daihatsu/Perodua. It is always has been since the first generation! You think the first Vios is based on the first gen euro market Yaris? NOPE Vios always utilise Toyota parts bin leftover to compete in emerging markets. Nevertheless i do still think Vios is now overpriced and here is my rants :

1. No USB-C on the front. The rear should be double USB-Cs? Why? Because this is 2023. People who can afford this car can also afford to buy a decent smartphone that comes with USB-C to USB-C/lightning right in the box.
    2. Black interior is boring. Where is the dark red interior?
    3. The infotainment software should use the one that Toyota has developed in house in the U.S.
    3. Again. Overpriced

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
    • Civic Turbo 2018 on Mar 21, 2023 at 3:22 pm

The Gen-1 was build on JPM model
      Most powerful Vios last 20-years
      TH has limited Turbo-version

• alldisc on Mar 21, 2023 at 3:48 pm

well, actually the series NCP42 vios we in malaysia was indeed based on the first yaris of 1999.

that Yaris code is NCP10, NCP20 is Toyota Fun Cargo, NCP30 is Toyota bB.
      The 2nd gen Vios we got was based on Toyota Belta, which uses the code NCP93. The hatchback variant is NCP91, also sold here under UMW as Yaris.

Platform P goes a long way to KP60 Starlet and then EP71 Starlet and after that EP82 Starlet Glanza.

same platform also pins several other models including Toyota Tercel.

The Soluna on the other hand is a standalone model based on L chassis/platform.

• Keyboard warrior on Mar 21, 2023 at 5:10 pm

That is much more complicated than a Kardashian’s family tree. Thank you btw

• Ground europe passenger on Mar 21, 2023 at 12:27 pm

No real picture for the E spec?

• Gerard Lye (Member) on Mar 21, 2023 at 5:06 pm

We just uploaded our launch post and this one with photos of the Vios 1.5E. Enjoy.

• Ben Yap on Mar 21, 2023 at 3:11 pm

Honda City 1.5NA can develop 120hp. that’s 14 hp more and for toyota vios to get the same performance figure, one will need to spend a lot to modify their vios. so in a nutshell, the honda city is a better buy.

• Squid on Mar 21, 2023 at 3:29 pm

City is a better buy simply because of an extra 14hp? Still got this type of ppl lol…

• Ben Yap on Mar 21, 2023 at 5:07 pm

u think so easy to squeeze out 14hp? Toyota failed to do that since the day the first Vios was launched. Honda did a better job in engine technology.

• Tortilla on Mar 21, 2023 at 6:54 pm

The Honda engine is still boring, and has higher emissions,
          should choose the 1.5L hybrid.

• Bossku on Mar 21, 2023 at 3:35 pm

Hondas are for losers!

• Laugh on Mar 21, 2023 at 3:35 pm

The rear row space is a joke.
    I almost laughed out when the reviewers showed how small the spaces are.

• Bossku on Mar 21, 2023 at 3:37 pm

Aiya…no high cost of living or inflation problem in Malaysia lah…so many people booked to buy Vios! Where got money problem?? A lot of kaw bei kaw boh for nothing only!

• crazy…at this price point isn’t city a better buy? you agree right?
    1. more powerful engine 121bhp vs 104bhp
    2. bigger boot
    3. foldable rear seats…which i believe is important for family car like b-seg sedan
    4. city is cheaper, price start like rm20k lower..range RM70k-100k

cant wait for umw toyota to release innova zenix…hope price is more sensible.

• Ex VGM staff on Mar 22, 2023 at 6:25 am

That extra 15bhp or so only comes in at peak rpm. Useful only in racing.

Majority 95% vios and city owners drive at a leisurely 2,000rpm.

To think that the city is more powerful because of that extra 15bhp is stupid, especially when you can’t even get a manual gearbox.

Even worse when one bought the city just because it has 120bhp. Extremely stupid.

• so vios buyer with higher price, smaller boot, smaller rear seat space, non foldable seat, no spare tyre, bigger 17 rim on puny engine, is clever?
        extremely clever you are

• Looks like City.

• carlzen on Mar 21, 2023 at 4:38 pm

price almost at 90k but stil don’t have ACC with stop & go like Alza.

• Pity poor Ryan on Mar 22, 2023 at 9:11 am

Many people say buy any Perodua better / cheaper

No wonder u all stay in Perodua bracket, can’t afford to upgrade your own lifestyle, then complain about others not good.

Well done B40

• carlzen on Mar 22, 2023 at 11:27 am

overpriced car with low spec is for stupid people

• Pity poor Ryan on Mar 22, 2023 at 12:39 pm

Low earning income complain about expensive goods is a piece of rubbish.

Don’t eat mcd, overprized burger, go cook yourself

• Virus everywhere on Mar 22, 2023 at 12:53 pm

Sad…Ferrari and Lambo so low spec, only for stupid people ?

• stasta on Mar 23, 2023 at 10:32 pm

bro do you even logic? why the F would you pay more for a toyota which shares most of its parta and features with sibling perodua?

• Ground europe passenger on Mar 22, 2023 at 9:07 am

G spec rm96k with complete exciting features minus out those acc, aeb, lka (daihatsu version) which are useless to me. E spec just like J spec or perodua x spec price not worth at rm90k, adequate pricing should be around rm82k. Just the dnga, else honda city more worthy to buy. Although always preferred sedan as practical use car, I will choose the Ativa H or Alza H for the sake of rm20k+ cheaper with a lots of similar parts. It’s just a daihatsu with toyota badge, if it’s is a perodua rebadge, price should be under rm70k.