2023 Toyota Vios now open for booking in Malaysia – RM90k-RM96k est; wireless CarPlay, rear AC vents

UMW Toyota Motor (UMWT) has opened the order books for the fourth-generation Toyota Vios (internal code AC100), which will be offered in two variants. Estimated pricing starts at RM90,000 on-the-road without insurance for the base 1.5E, while the range-topping 1.5G goes for RM96,000. Yes, only two variants – the entry-level 1.5J and sportier GR-S have been dropped for now.

Now marketed as a “fastback” rather than a sedan, the new Vios gains a few notable improvements over its predecessor. As a start, the available 9-inch Display Audio system (a thin unit) now comes with support for wireless Android Auto and Apple CarPlay (previously wired only).

Elsewhere, the B-segment sedan (let’s just call it that, shall we?) now comes with rear air vents as well as an electronic parking brake with auto brake hold. The number of drive modes has also increased to three, namely Power, Eco and Normal (previously it was just Eco and Sport).

Other equipment mentioned in the leaflet include 17-inch alloy wheels, paddle shifters and a panoramic view monitor. Though not mentioned, you can clearly make out the boot lid spoiler and a 7-inch digital instrument cluster. The latter matches that on the Veloz as well as the Perodua Axia, Alza and Ativa due to it being based on the same Daihatsu New Global Architecture (DNGA) platform. We also see brown interior trim (Thailand gets red) and controls for an ambient lighting system.

Under the bonnet is a 1.5 litre, four-cylinder Dual VVT-i engine, which is most certainly the 2NR-VE with 106 PS and 138 Nm of torque – this is paired with a D-CVT, matching the Veloz MPV. The outgoing Vios in Malaysia is powered by a 2NR-FE 1.5 litre engine (also with Dual VVT-i) with 107 PS and 140 Nm.

As for driver assistance systems, the Toyota Safety Sense suite makes a return and consists of familiar things like Pre-Collision System (autonomous emergency braking) and Blind Spot Monitor with Rear Cross Traffic Alert.

Lane Departure Alert also makes a return but is now renamed to Lane Departure Warning and is supplemented by additional systems: Lane Departure Prevention and Lane Keeping Control. New features making their way in are Front Departure Alert, Auto High Beam and Adaptive Cruise Control.

Customers will have five colours to choose from, including Silver Metallic, Attitude Black, Nebula Blue Metallic and Spicy Scarlet, the last of which is the hero colour. The fifth option is Platinum White Pearl that will cost an additional RM400. A five-year, unlimited-mileage warranty accompanies each purchase.

Speaking of options, UMWT offers a Tech-Up package for RM380 that adds a rear digital video recorder, which likely complements the one already included for the front on both variants – the company’s Vehicle Telematics System (VTS) is also part of the standard kit and comes with a three-year subscription.

The new Vios first made its debut in Thailand last August 2022 being launched in Indonesia in October the same year. In its fourth generation, the sedan switches to the Daihatsu New Global Architecture (DNGA) that sees its dimensions grow ever so slightly. Measuring in at 4,425 mm long (+5 mm), 1,740 mm wide (+10 mm) and 1,480 mm tall (+5 mm), the Vios’ wheelbase has also grown quite a bit to 2,620 mm (+70 mm).

UMWT will provide full details at launch, although it didn’t provide a date. Given all the available information for now, what do you think of the 2023 Vios? Share your thoughts in the comments below.

GALLERY: 2023 Toyota Vios in Indonesia

GALLERY: 2023 Toyota Yaris Ativ in Thailand

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Meanwhile Honda still sticking to LaneWatch… lmao. Nice work Toyota — this will steal those City sales back.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 17
    • panda on Feb 24, 2023 at 4:56 pm

wait. doesnt the city have 7 honda sense features as well?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 18
      • Ya got the TSS features, but Honda dont have BSM, just have LaneWatch on passenger side

Toyota (even on NSP151) had BSM on both sides + 360cam
        New Vios added ACC as well

• CBU from Thailand first then later CKD?

• yuyie on Feb 24, 2023 at 3:50 pm

what guarantee can i get if i buy this i wont get screwed if its launched as a bezza later?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 21
    • Habibu on Feb 24, 2023 at 3:50 pm

Dont buy, easy, no one force u

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 71 Thumb down 4
    • newme on Feb 24, 2023 at 3:57 pm

Well, you won’t get any guarantee. They have no qualms screwing anyone until they see low sales figure.

• dont buy lo..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
    • Now better than the Toyota Corolla 2016 already.

Too good to be true as of now. Why wait longer?

• anonymous on Feb 24, 2023 at 5:19 pm

i mean even if it does get rebadged it won’t be a Bezza right? aren’t they in different segments?

• Outalingam Crap on Feb 24, 2023 at 10:48 pm

I’d personally expect that latest Theophilus Chin’s render of the new Bezza to succeed the current iteration instead

• grumpy_car on Mar 15, 2023 at 11:13 am

You buy the “T” brand lorr, Not a car… if you need a car just buy the perodua. You still get from point A to point B.

• Dugung X on Mar 16, 2023 at 1:29 pm

Brader, the mighty TOYOTA badge alone is worth at least RM30k minimum.

• Berbaloi…
    Vios base model was selling at 80k in 2002.
    After 21 years only increased by 10k but loaded with tonnes of safety features, more modern specs and better chassis.

Car price in malaysia is the only thing that defy the law of inflation.. annualizing the inflation rate only 0.55% increase per annum..

well done Toyota..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 42
    • LaksaKL on Feb 24, 2023 at 5:05 pm

Dulu RM50k only get JDM mini kei car here….
      Now pun lain.

• macanpondan on Feb 24, 2023 at 8:51 pm

got… who say only car price…. salary also mah… u forgot already meh

• 90k, diff int & ext but same engine…worth every penny?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 8
    • Have you ever asked the uncle that sell chicken rice is it worth RM8 today compare to RM3 20years ago? If the chicken and rice have changed after 20years?

Syukur la Vios price only increase 12% after 20 years compared to houses and food that has increase 200% over the same period of time.. Apa lagi kita mau..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 52
      • huhhh on Feb 25, 2023 at 11:46 am

i do not know which uncle you were referring to…but i’d met an entrepreneur selling chicken rice who could afford a brand new 3 series in less than 5 years…obviously you’re just a salaryman

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
      • Dugung X on Mar 16, 2023 at 1:19 pm

Cars are considered semi-tech products. Technology has a negative impact on inflation, things become cheaper and easier to produce thru improvements in efficiency and automation. So the effect of currency devaluation should be much less. Would you pay RM6000 for an IPhone 11 or Galaxy Note 10 today? I guess you would

• bersyukur is not an excuese on Feb 25, 2023 at 9:24 am

depends on what you want, really. If interior is more important for you, you won’t mind if it is carburetted. If engine is more important, of course it doesn’t worth that much. But, overall I think its still worth it if you see the entire thing as a whole.

just my 2 cents. cheers.

• My dream car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 26
  • no variants under 90k, saved for perodua sedan?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
  • dong gor on Feb 24, 2023 at 4:37 pm

almost 100k for a 1.5l vios ka… more like a strategy to make the car a premium brand rather than want sales. good luck Vios.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 6
    • What do you expect when 1USD = 4.4MYR?
      Even Axia is moving up to RM50k..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 14
    • Greedy MAA members on Feb 24, 2023 at 9:52 pm

Dong gor
      The car is not premium.It is not a LEXUS.
      The price is PREMIUM.Thats the marketing trick,to package it as a very desirable car.
      When u factor in the hire purchase interests..it is a 100 grand car.

• Bossku on Feb 25, 2023 at 2:38 pm

Why would anyone consider Lexus a premium brand? It is essentially an overpriced Toyota that gave moronic buyers the impression of “Premium”! Both brands share the same platform, engines, transmission and build in the same factory owned by the same company! Take ES for example. It is a Toyota Camry! Might have a different interior design, but still use the same cheap plastic spare parts from Camry and even Vios!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 10
    • Very easy to calculate. Just discount 20% or minus 20k from Toyota’s prices for full specs.

• B40 spotted

• Justice on Feb 24, 2023 at 4:42 pm

Vios in daihatsu platform? What a shame

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 16
    • Outalingam Crap on Feb 24, 2023 at 10:50 pm

Lowest of Toyota vehicle lineups are subsumed to the DNGA due to heavy costs involved in TNGA platform – period

• Rossie on Feb 25, 2023 at 7:25 am

Subaru XV AWD 2.0 N.A sepang record so so only, loose to The Toyota Raize TNGA Gen1 Ativa 1.0T FWD by the same driver of both car – RiderAth a subaru owner and fans.

TNGA Gen2 now launched too, for Toyota Prius 2023.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 10
        • Li Peng on Feb 25, 2023 at 4:54 pm

Porsche GT2 RS at Sepang: 2:18.997
          Stop spreading your lies of a “Sepang record” of a Subaru XV AWD 2.0 NA or even a Toyota Vios

• Stopa on Feb 27, 2023 at 10:45 am

The point he given is that DNGA TNGA tu Sama,
            Perfect for handling time magically.

Even a less hp and TNGA 1.0L turbo D-CVT FWD > Subaru 2.0 NA CVT AWD that is touted for excellent cornering handling.

At Japan,
            Subaru XV Japan start @ 2959000 yen / RM 97k
            Toyota Raize Vios SUV Japan 195R17 tayar Ecopia 2282000 yen /RM 75k
            Here it’s over engineered for Ativa with 205R17 Bridgestone Turanza, helped alot on the superior track time achieved.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
          • Lighter weight vehicles is good for track racing.

• JakeC on Feb 28, 2023 at 6:28 am

He was saying about XV’s record in Sepang, why suddenly masuk Porsche? What lies did he said? If the XV got around Sepang of course it gets its own record time by the driver, then got defeated when the same driver ride in an Ativa. This dude so dumb can’t even comprehend what people said, think before you post.

• Pak toh on Feb 25, 2023 at 7:27 am

You also can beli Vios SUV Raize turbo, dapat cash back RM20k.

• davenport on Feb 24, 2023 at 4:47 pm

ROFLMFAO “Fastback” konon

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
  • it is so weird that the more expensive corolla cross still use foot brake and wired Apple Carplay & Android Auto.. lol.. Pity to those corolla cross owner didnt get to enjoy the auto hold function which helps a lot.

what kind of game UMW is playing? Give shitty spec to upper range car and full spec for lower range car? Like the Veloz also equipped with EPB as well.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 0
    • Meladam on Feb 24, 2023 at 5:34 pm

Lol that cross is old model ady. Marketed as b40 harrier. So what to shame about it? Every car have their own target market

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
      • No lah.. harrier is one size bigger should be the same as Rav-4. Study first

Yes it is still a shame because Cross in another country say Aussie has got EPB as standard even though it is an old model like you said. Why downgrade it for our market? even lower range cars are well equipped eg new Vios, Veloz

True that every car segments has got the target market but it does not mean they have to downgrade the spec. As if you are saying people who buy the cross do not need the EPB and fine with a mediocre specced car. lol

• Haha. Thats why I’m still proud with my Altis (sedan). EPB and can drive hands free and foot free on hiways. The only thing I envy with this Vios is the wireless AA/ACP. Hmmmm.

• holofanboi on Feb 24, 2023 at 5:08 pm

Woo…90k for a Vios. Certainly a very hard sell when compared side by side the Veloz (even though its a different category altogether).

Man, I wish this was 2013. So want to change my Kia Optima to another sedan (Yes im looking at Toyota these days. You win Mr.Sam Loo) but extreme pressure from wifey to get a MPV T_T

• Sam Loo Dah Berambus on Feb 25, 2023 at 10:31 am

Sam punya anak pakai Proton. I think i saw him using kimchi oso

• anonymous on Feb 24, 2023 at 5:13 pm

excited for this tbh. good job toyota for the packaging and pricing (although yes it’s still expensive but at least it doesn’t touch the 100k+ mark).

also, it’s HILARIOUS that the Corolla Cross which is priced way higher than this still has the foot brake while this even has auto hold lol.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
    • holofanboi on Feb 28, 2023 at 1:10 pm

I have a theory, but I doubt UMW actually goes that deep in consideration for its customers:

Probably because that car is likely to be used by older people (me and above) due to its rather simple design and specs. They maintain the overall ‘reliable and familiar’ identity by keeping certain stuff the same. This benefits the company’s profits too, since no additional tooling, training and manufacturing is needed for certain ‘old’ features. Therefore its most likely just cost reasons lol.

• the front light kinda screwed up the overall front end design

• Please highlight this to Toyota! When everything reached perfections, why the front light!?!?! If the designer insist of the shape, just lengthen it slightly will passed as perfection.

• jdmcarlover07 on Feb 24, 2023 at 5:53 pm

looks nicer than City. however, the City V Sensing is RM6k cheaper. don’t know which one to go for. decisions decisions…

• Junkies otr on Feb 24, 2023 at 5:55 pm

A new Beng is born

• Oh no, please make those body kits as option instead of standard fit.

• Car looks good l, but price increased I guess ?

• Bangkok on Feb 24, 2023 at 7:29 pm

I hopefully the next gen 3 series and mer c class got these features

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
  • this is daihatsu car… same engine, technology and gearbox with new alza.. only looks different

• Alcios on Feb 24, 2023 at 8:40 pm

What to expect last time city have vios dun now they sekali give u…but price + rm6k abit hard to swallow….GR version will sure over rm100k dy. Wish they made J variant rm78k with 16inch rim and lesser assist assists thingy , leather seat and normal reverse camera just enough for me.

• alahh on Feb 24, 2023 at 10:01 pm

TEST DRIVE first la..cannot anyhow buy this UMW product…fishy..

• CamPro on Feb 24, 2023 at 11:00 pm

No thanks. I prefer to have proton with CamPro VVT engine.

• HuatAh on Feb 24, 2023 at 11:03 pm

90k for starting price is a bit steep, should have lower spec variant, not everybody needs all those assist2 thingy and electronic hand brake, rear vent also can be optional, dunno who make the decision in UMW, so “clever”

• Proton oh Proton on Feb 24, 2023 at 11:42 pm

I still don’t get it why vios need 17inch rim? This will make it car underpowered and it’s will be painful during change new rubber.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
  • Lower power and torque figures compared to the outgoing model, and heavier mass equals to sluggish performance, but will eventually be a higher asking price!

• Matt Watsons Fan club on Feb 25, 2023 at 11:29 am

we bet coming soon an uncle car reviews the new vios ferrying a couple of passengers racing haphazardly ascending road to Genting Highland will still claims the car has plenty of power and torque

• Li Peng on Feb 25, 2023 at 1:58 pm

At least it has more power than the Axia. For old people the power is sufficient anyway, as the eyesight gets worse the older you are.

• Stopa on Feb 27, 2023 at 1:19 pm

If old ppl also say it is powerful it is good enough.
        Bcuz they are the experienced drivers.

For racers they will able to mod the TNGA Axia to a rocket bunny from the balance RM 40,000 to enter Sepang for the AXN Gang. It already has the Vl0S dashboard, chasis and lighter weight for Oustanding Agility to begin.

• Omg. Is it true?! Those freakin’ rear fog lamps are gone?!!!!! Yesssss!!!!!!!!!!

• Mustafa on Feb 25, 2023 at 7:56 am

The pricing is making way for a perodua version (lower specs) of the Vios

• No Formula on Feb 25, 2023 at 8:48 am

Yeh yeh. The B segment cars that used to be priced around 70-80K are now in 90-100K bracket. Good job Raja Formula. If too expensive, dont buy. Talk is sweet.

• Travolta Theodore Ong Ah Keong on Feb 25, 2023 at 4:40 pm

Wei so good time we living now all coming and more coming red color one. Many luck coming your way ahem actually coming to me already since I buy the red X50. Don’t just trust me buy one and see I wish you good luck and much prosper with money

• lin ngong on Feb 25, 2023 at 5:17 pm

wah no wonder young generation full of debts….basic simple car also 90k already….house even worst…one pigeon hole also 700-800k now….these two basic stuffs add up almost 1mil…..haha..manyak pokai and pay till death

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
    • Jasonx on Feb 26, 2023 at 6:58 pm

The specs doesn’t read ‘simple’ and is not ‘basic’. You confusing this with something else.

If they can’t afford the debt and still buy them… It’s bad financial planning.

• tai lin ngong on Feb 25, 2023 at 8:01 pm

what to do ……..last time house costs 300k and car 50k also think like mad ….nowdays house + car debts = 1mil macam kacang…all looks good from outside and far …kesian generasi sekarang ….hutang aja lebih…

• Look great but Expensive, vios is economical car but now level upgrade to 100k

• Wolfy on Feb 25, 2023 at 11:44 pm

It look like a mini camry

• Since it is riding the DNGA platform and co design by P2, basically you get an elongated Axia with 1.5l engine plus not one,but 6 T badges.

• Bangkok on Feb 26, 2023 at 7:57 am

BECAUSE the corolla cross is designed, engineered and produce in Thailand and as it make it’s way all along to all parts of the world there are add ons and improvements to features and digital things as well as fascia designs and lightings, yes the original has been 3 years in Thailand while the the rest of the world just got it

• Li Peng on Feb 26, 2023 at 12:29 pm

Toyota doesn’t sell the Vios in Europe. “All parts of the world” is obviously wrong.

• grikian on Feb 26, 2023 at 8:18 am

Vios 1.5 is the best strategy on Malaysian market… Say no…. To Vios 1. 3 r 1.2
    Further, yes to 1.5 turbo and hybrid for vios….

• abni. on Feb 26, 2023 at 8:23 am

Vios perlu kekal 1.5 selamanya… Kecuali utk turbo 1.6 jgn ikut Thailand 1.2 r 1.3.

• abam grab on Feb 26, 2023 at 10:15 am

Macam beli alza/veloz lagi berbaloi kecuali dgn eco idle kacau tak boleh tanggal. 17inch tayar rm400+ sebiji, 16inch dah cukup.

rear vent aircond -cun
    dnga -cun
    blind spot, rcta, reverse camera -cun

acc- memang useless
    aeb, lka, lda- useless lagi kacau driving
    klu pakai radar logo depan macam vios previous ok lah, klu pakai front camera macam perodua tu tak accurate bodo auto brake suka2 lagi steering berhantu.

• Why you grab still old school always main cucuk orang sampai AEB always brake for you?

Don’t so reckless boleh?

• X payah beli la.. simple..

• Engine power and torque kept dropping. What is going on?

• Bangkok on Feb 26, 2023 at 3:02 pm

I mention corolla cross not vios to those who are still puzzle why our version foot park brake

• Boycott la on Feb 27, 2023 at 8:46 am

Because, there is still lot of stupid customers buying this car. So, UMW don’t bother.

• Ben Yap on Feb 27, 2023 at 8:48 am

newer engine but lower power output compare to its predecessor… that’s quite bad.

• Almighty Snack Bar on Mar 02, 2023 at 6:40 pm

Honda BS BQ AC will finally be officially dead. Thank you Toyota..

• alwin on Mar 07, 2023 at 6:16 pm

Hopefully this type of rims quality and design will not be broken at the lock nut edges when doing alignment and balancing.

• I feel like why dis vios is very small are they shrinking or what just bcuz of their size???

• Almost a perfect car.

• Again.. it need dismantle/remove WHOLE DASHBOARD for a/c Cooling coil service ? What a….