Boy dives into path of moving car, group of witnesses suddenly appear – get dashcam to foil possible scams

We’ve seen these kind of scams before, but here’s a reminder that it’s still a thing, it’s still happening. This video, originally posted up by one Jerry Lim and then shared on Facebook groups, shows a boy diving into the path of a moving car to possibly create a fake incident. In no time, other actors appear out of nowhere to assist the ‘victim’, probably doubling up as ‘witnesses’.

In the case of the foreigner attempting the scam last year, he at least ‘put his body on the line’ by launching himself into the car’s bonnet/windscreen. The main actor here sees a car coming and appears to ‘dive’ into the vehicle’s path and not the vehicle itself, almost like crawling on the road. Not sure if contact was even made.

But the problem for us drivers is that there need not be actual injury or even contact for fingers to be pointed at you for ‘running into a kid’. Never mind that the kids could be doing illegal things and extortion, you’re the car driver and you’re automatically in the wrong in the eyes of the many.

Dah tak hidup lagi ke budak ni.

Video jerry lim

Posted by Nas Khalid on Sunday, 9 April 2023

While this is most likely a scam, in some actual accidents, the driver might even get physically harmed by a mob, never mind if he was in the wrong or not. If memory serves right, a lorry driver involved in a recent fatal accident with a motorcycle was beaten up pretty badly by onlookers. Imagine if someone shouts “dia langgar budak” and mob rule kicks in?

These kids should be taken off the roads, and if it established that it’s a deliberate scam, some form of punishment must be meted out as a deterrent, perhaps to their parents, before actual injury or death happens if the act goes wrong. Here’s hoping that the police will act accordingly.

What can we as drivers do? Unfortunately, nothing much when people decide to dive into your path and use a mini mob to make you look guilty. But if you have a dashcam, the scam won’t work as their deeds are clear, as is the case here. So, if you don’t already have one, get a dashcam installed to protect yourself, and always be alert.

LINK: Get a dashcam installed

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• This is B40. What do you expect?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 29
    • bad behaviour group has mentor on Apr 10, 2023 at 4:50 pm

somebody some organized group is teaching these bad behaviour to less intelligent species

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 3
      • Duta middle eastern on Apr 10, 2023 at 8:16 pm

such low life mentaliti.. wondering who is that mentor tokguru

• AppleTree on Apr 11, 2023 at 9:39 am

Do you know what you can expect from the B40 group?

When you get yourself into a real shit accident, the first to come to your rescue is the B40 group. They will be the one to call the ambulance.

When you lost your wallet and mobile and hungry, they will be the one to offer your water and food even they themselves dont have sufficient.

When you are shit dirt and lousy, the first stranger that smile and greet you, is the B40.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 13
      • yes, and also probably the reason you lost your wallet and phone in an accident

• sub_zero on Apr 11, 2023 at 3:50 pm

B40 is not mentality group

B40 is people who are financially under poverty line

so all poor people are bad heh?

blanket statement saying all b40 is stupid, that’s also means probably pointing at you

• The fact that people can just simply shit on the term “B40” whenever something bad like that happen just beyond me smh

like how dense can you be

• Ben Yap on Apr 10, 2023 at 1:28 pm

giving the kid the benefit of the doubt, he probably farted too hard that he fell into the path of the oncoming car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 3
  • Heavy punishment to avoid these type of rubbish cari makan like this!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 1
  • newcomer on Apr 10, 2023 at 1:52 pm

It’s all about the peoples’ rationalism. Any driver should call police immediately. Driving recorder is a must nowadays.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
  • Kiasso on Apr 10, 2023 at 2:05 pm

Jay Walking

should get Saman,
    Including the KL City zone.

Feels like 3rd world city.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
  • Thanks to the dashcam, PDRM can summons all those witnesses who didn’t wear helmet and possesed a valid driving license. Scammers got scammed back.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
  • Apaapapunboleh on Apr 10, 2023 at 2:22 pm

Think where this all 1st started first. After basikal lajak overturned judgement, nowadays every crooked minded ppl taking advantage of motorists. When law get abused by lawmakers itself, this will continue. So sad how this country become.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 1
  • BluedestinyX on Apr 10, 2023 at 2:37 pm

Next thing u know, dashcam pun dia org curi.

• DonkeyKong on Apr 10, 2023 at 5:11 pm

For a country to be scam-free there should be mandatory death penalty for all types of scammers.

Unfortunately Malaysia joined the woke crowd by abolishing the death penalty.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
  • Anti Prank on Apr 10, 2023 at 5:20 pm

Make it a law every new car must have dashcam installed

• that kid could have been killed! The car wasn’t moving that slow. kudos to the driver for being alert!

• Phuddi sung lee on Apr 10, 2023 at 6:33 pm

Honest review about this incident can cause rational disharmony,cheap people cheat thinking and acts,surprise me that still people have time to act dangerously and put others life is in danger,

• Donut Sambal on Apr 10, 2023 at 8:55 pm

Scam import dari Cina

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 13
  • limpeh on Apr 11, 2023 at 10:28 am

1st they get a lady blamed for their own stupid basikal lajak behavior, then scream for the 4th EPF withdrawals, now this??? all goes back to birth control if no wisdom & financial power to handle too many kids.

• In 90s SPM Moral paper, there was a question on what would you do when a kid was knocked down by your car in a kampung, then the villagers come running amok to you with cangkul and parang.
    How would you respond?