Honda Civic crashes on Genting Highlands road – be courteous to others, take the hard driving to the track

Terciduk beb

Video kredit Inforoadblock

Posted by funtasticko.net on Sunday, 16 April 2023

The road leading to Genting Highlands has seen yet another crash, this recent one having happened on Sunday morning according to date and time stamp on the dashcam footage shared on Twitter.

The vehicle involved is an FD-generation Honda Civic, which was shown being driven together with a Toyota Mark X and the camera vehicle. It was not clear from the video if the drivers of the trio of cars were already acquainted, though the ensuing crash saw both the camera car and the Mark X in front stop immediately after.

Given the footage, this appears to be a single-vehicle incident, fortunately with no other other road user involved. Nonetheless, reckless and dangerous driving is an offence according to Section 42 in Act 333 of the Road Transport Act 1987.

The danger of driving in such a manner is clear, and it could have turned out worse. Where the crash eventually took place is on a road shared with the public, after all, and if one feels the need to cut across lanes in order to negotiate a bend, then it is being driven with too much speed. As for the crashed FD Civic, its driver appeared to apply the brakes well into the left-hand bend where the crash occurred.

When the car is already turning – especially at speed – there is weight transfer from one side of the vehicle to the other, and braking that late, that deep suggests the bend was tighter than the driver anticipated, and that also adds to the severity of the weight transfer, in this case taken to the point of no return.

Among driving enthusiasts, we all love to exercise our machines every now and then, but we must remember to take due care. When on any road shared with others, always drive with lots in reserve – your vehicle’s ability, and your own as a driver – which means to drive only as quickly as you can be certain of successfully taking corrective or evasive action.

Ultimately, to really exercise your vehicle and your skill, head over to a gymkhana or track day event. The hillside route is popular not just with enthusiasts but also as a tourist attraction that draws a broad cross-section of the public, and any such incident will lead to lane closures that will lead to congestion.

When these involve cars associated with enthusiasts, such as by being modified, these attract attention to any group of motoring enthusiasts, which will reflect in some way on the enthusiast community at large. Genting Highlands in particular has turned away groups of cars and motorcycles in the past.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Uncle on Apr 17, 2023 at 11:14 am

Please drive carefully if you are not pro.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 8
    • Don’t reckless overspending speedlimit,
      And eating lanes even there if there is no car.

• Diablom on Apr 17, 2023 at 12:36 pm

Tasty?

• Ajibkor in Kajang waiting for pardon on Apr 17, 2023 at 3:28 pm

I was overtaken by a 2018 newer civic today,from left,the bastard veered to the extreme right..bastards ..they deserve a wheelchair for life.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
    • Saints on Apr 17, 2023 at 12:33 pm

Also consider limits of the car, cheap FWD eco-box from late 2000s, obviously much less capable than current sports cars. Wathced the video, didn’t seem that aggressive. Looks like a proper sports car or better tires could’ve handled that

• 4G63T DSM on Apr 17, 2023 at 3:02 pm

Not so.

Those that know and can actually drive, more sporting cars (as well as higher grip tyres) will have higher limits, but also sharper drop off. You better have super quick reflexes and know exactly what you are doing.

Most crashes are a mistake by the driver itself. Driven correctly, you’d be surprised just how much grip the car has. Only when you put in the wrong inputs and destabilise the car it ends up doing something unexpected.

Trust me on this. I used to be an advance driver instructor. I would run rings around cars with much more sporting pretentions on a tight track.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
        • Betol2…. Most drivers CAN drive fast not all drivers KNOW how to drive fast

• Aiyahh every Ah Beng with a Wiralution oso claim to be advanced drivers lah… until mati eksiden.

• Maintain on your own lane plz! on Apr 17, 2023 at 3:12 pm

this is a problem when many want to show off and put on u tube. plz stop racing, or driving like maniac in public road endanger other user. These so called self shiok pro take line like in race track. If ur car handled well,no need take ppl lane lah. A good ride&handling car shld able to manage on it own lane when corner. Genting shld put speed cameras to catch all crazy selfish drivers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
    • Pro allowed to go racing up Genting la?

• Whether you pro or not , the this bloody stupid and brainless.

• Mata Mata on Apr 17, 2023 at 11:15 am

Everybody knows that the Civic is capable of low speeds only, as it was designed in very strictly speed-limited Japan (110km/h).
    The driver had to know that before racing uphill to Genting.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
  • Pity poor Ryan on Apr 17, 2023 at 11:17 am

Orang tu dah mati x ? Kalao belum jail dia je

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 0
    • Jail those YouTubers n too who showed bad examples

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 1
      • Uncle on Apr 17, 2023 at 9:15 pm

Please don’t jail me.

• AI chatgpt on Apr 18, 2023 at 10:20 am

Recommended everyone should reports these F&F family youtubers to YouTube for encouraging dangerous speeding driving on public roads

• Mohamad Nadzri on Apr 17, 2023 at 10:48 pm

Setuju dgn ulasan awak.. baru pakai civic dah ego mcm pakai skyline..

• Bell Copter pilot on Apr 17, 2023 at 11:19 am

IMHO all protégés emulating the good example of Why Asked Kong testing car going up down getting road right?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
    • Adamos on Apr 17, 2023 at 12:19 pm

Yeah, it just setting a bad example. Should be reprimanded for his actions too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
      • holofanboi on Apr 17, 2023 at 12:52 pm

I’m surprised your comment went through. I’ve named before and it was deleted by a certain someone. Probably to protect PT from potential legal issues.

• Alex Yong on Apr 17, 2023 at 12:51 pm

we ex-racing driver(s) always practice testing cars officially unofficially on sepang racing circuit only never on any public road

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
    • Follow your lane and drive carefully. on Apr 17, 2023 at 3:18 pm

I think test car going uphill is ok but drive properly not race up hill. Especially those treat it as in circuit, always cutting ppl lane. This is public road. Dont endanger other road user. Ppl going up genting r for leisure, not asking for unknown risk from idiot drivers.

• Brian on Apr 17, 2023 at 11:25 am

There are no angels here. Cam car is also modded and can see the aftermarket boost meter dials reflected on his windscreen.

• yangmin81 on Apr 17, 2023 at 11:50 am

the Power of Dream

• pengayuhbasikal on Apr 17, 2023 at 11:54 am

nasib dia baik laah…nak kata pun berlumba bersama sama pun…speed dalam recorder .. 48 km/h sahaja…

• Snehan Warrior on Apr 17, 2023 at 11:55 am

Orang naik genting Happy happy untuk berromen, paku memaku, judi , mabuk , shopping tapi yang nie buat lawak gila atas jalan….bodoh tahap tahi…nasib baik tak ada yang jadi mangsa pasal pundek nie

• the driver on Apr 17, 2023 at 12:01 pm

As I tell my daughter, driving fast is the easy part – just press the throttle harder. Hard part is doing it in a controlled fashion – watch the apexes and understand the amount you have on hand

• Saymore on Apr 17, 2023 at 12:08 pm

Maybe he want a good reason to change the newest Civic…?

• Mata Mata on Apr 17, 2023 at 12:25 pm

“Your Honda is equipped with a Traction Control System (TCS) to assist you in maintaining traction while driving slowly on loose or slippery surfaces. The TCS assists only in low-speed, low-traction conditions; up to approximately 18 mph (30 km/h). TCS monitors the speed of all four wheels.” (techinfo.honda.com)

To be on the safe side, Honda owners should never go faster than 30km/h to enjoy TCS.

• Only I can race dangerously in public roads. You think you are me?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
  • Kathryne Wng on Apr 17, 2023 at 12:31 pm

Genting road is for reckless drivers no money go track racing.

• Ground europe passenger on Apr 17, 2023 at 12:34 pm

More and more youtuber making video driving drastically pushing corners with over 100km/hr naik genting. Please don’t even u think u process uncle ys skills, 1 day u crashed and lost your precious life.

• holofanboi on Apr 17, 2023 at 12:54 pm

And these are with supposed ‘underpowered’ cars. There was one richie rich kid speeding in KL/bangsar roads on youtube with his C43 ._.;;; (This was nearly a year ago)

The best part? Virtually all the comments there was egging him on despite him recording himself almost hitting standstill traffic TWICE.

• Puteh on Apr 17, 2023 at 1:03 pm

To be fair, there are situations where performance vehicles doing double limit is safer than doing the limit in a Myvi. The difference in cornering, braking, handling in a c43 vs myvi is massive, and c43 isn’t even near the top end .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
        • Shepherd87 on Apr 18, 2023 at 8:37 am

It doesn’t matter if u drive High Performance car or the Fuel Efficiency ones. The most important things are driving ikut law, be cautious, & be considerate towards other drivers.

• Saints on Apr 17, 2023 at 12:39 pm

These systems have come a long way since 2008, when this car was produced. And not all TCS from all manufacturers are created equal. I’m convinced the manouvre he did in the video,would be possible or at least easier to correct in a better handling car.

• tayar cap ayam (Viking)

• Yeahsure on Apr 17, 2023 at 12:45 pm

I see alot of youtubers or car reviewers go Genting driving recklessly testing new cars and so on.. No doubt promoting these kind of reckless driving.. We all know who they are

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
    • adele lim on Apr 20, 2023 at 11:56 pm

you can’t touch us youtuber car reviewers got powerful lawyers

• why do drivers need to show off their ‘driving skills’ on public roads is beyond me.

• I think someone mentioned before that Genting uphill climb is technically private road, that’s why no enforcement on speed limit, etc.

• Zhong Liang on Apr 24, 2023 at 5:54 pm

Technically Sentosa Island too :P
        But they also give private fine

• Civic Turbo 2018 on Apr 17, 2023 at 12:58 pm

All because of bad examples
    Those YouTubers speeding illegally
    Doing public stunts to making bucks

• This chow ah bengs thinks their Hondas are some kind of god-on-wheels. Their brains are small and good that they kill off their own kind and not the other proper road users.

• newme on Apr 17, 2023 at 1:22 pm

public nuisance. hope that crashed driver be forever disabled from using public roads. get the pun? disabled!

• Soh@i on Apr 17, 2023 at 1:25 pm

Initial-D…hahaha!

• simon on Apr 17, 2023 at 1:29 pm

all learn from our youtuber friends. all wanna be car reviewer.

• Boy Racer on Apr 17, 2023 at 1:35 pm

Noob driver then don’t drive fast

• Ben Yap on Apr 17, 2023 at 1:42 pm

i couldn’t stop laughing at the car crash. it looks like he will have to change his FD to FE already.

• Stupid Ah Beng.

• Zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

• Kibod Worrier on Apr 17, 2023 at 2:03 pm

Dude is overtaking on the outside and thought he can make it before the sharp left. Forgot that its an uphill battle in a family sedan with Vtec yo. Cue braking and cornering at the same time in a FWD car. Proceed to oversteer into a ditch. Kek.

• All I can say is padan muka.

• These scumbags deserve coffin, not even a wheelchair

• Sport car on Apr 17, 2023 at 4:03 pm

Haha, a normal 330i can smoke these car badly at higher speed without noise polution and cut the bend like a knife cutting tofu. No need sport car, sport car is not reliable and not practical for nornal usage people, 330i is already king of normal car. 340i can be so call sport car killer, u need more than a normal ferrari to kill a 340i on genting road.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 11
  • Engdau on Apr 17, 2023 at 4:13 pm

Poor racing skills and tarnished the reputation of Civic FD.

• Ibnu Qamariiza Sajama on Apr 17, 2023 at 4:23 pm

The driver of the car that crashed may be a subscriber of Uncle YSK. He always sees uncle speeding up the hill

• TokKilau on Apr 17, 2023 at 4:28 pm

Haramkan G Highland atau beri nama baru Bukit Babilon.

• aleuto on Apr 17, 2023 at 4:59 pm

my my..our local hero uncle (no name mentioned) has also ran up genting in an axia or even slower cars but safely..skills are very important for the safety of other road users

• That uncle had many near misses in his videos. Skilled or not, accidents are accidents. Even professional F1 or rally drivers get into accidents. Is this uncle so godlike that he can never get into accidents? This uncle should be banned. Stupid uncle.

• Stephen Reid on Apr 17, 2023 at 5:15 pm

The car in which the video was taken was showing 112km at one point so they were also breaking the law. I hope that the police take action to apprehend all these drivers. This road is used by families going to and from the theme park. Driving standards and enforcement are sadly very poor in Malaysia which is reflected in the unusually high level of road fatalities.

• civicminded on Apr 17, 2023 at 6:30 pm

I strongly condemn those who do media test drive up Genting Highlands, usually at relatively high speed and overtaking everyone on the way. These personalities are showing bad example to others. I’ve seen some even drift at the bends (video was quickly taken down).

• Classic Honda driver

• Unknow people on Apr 17, 2023 at 7:08 pm

Very good…..kacang pulut

• You should not go to genting on Sunday morning, every wannabe rally and race drivers are in their way up or down putting every other commuters on the road. They have absolute no concern on the safety of themselves and others. Malaysians are going to hate me for saying this..our dear takes all his cars to genting and do a hard lap kind of thing up and down though he does not measure time. Several youtubers does it. I’m not going to quote many names. take your hard driving to the track please. Don’t put others life in danger. Please be a role model for younger generation.

• Jinglot on Apr 17, 2023 at 7:46 pm

Oh I like to see the way that the car swung over. The once mighty driver hopefully he is now have broken brain and bones. Hmm should dive inti the ravine would be better

• Jingloty on Apr 17, 2023 at 7:48 pm

Oh I like to see the way that the car swung over. The once mighty driver hopefully he is now have broken brain and bones. Hmm should dive inti the ravine would be better . One less gold fish brain driver got rid

• Too all Road HOGS on Highways please use the correct left lanes NOT the fast lane or the overtake lane .. I have seen one too many as I am always on the road to work … You Road Hogs could cause serious injuries to other road users who are driving accordingly to speed limits .. speed Limits. Some KMS 90kmj and most are 110kmj. NOT 80 or 60 Kmj for the road hogs !!!!!!

• Genting road not a race track meh? i thought its not only race track but also test drag track. ;).
    All the youtuber also go there test drive ….including those just pickup the new car….hahah.

• Vtec Longkang on Apr 17, 2023 at 10:48 pm

I hope the car insurer reject the claim since the video shows that he is involved in reckless racing driving.

• literally does this for a living. Anjua?

• Piplup on Apr 18, 2023 at 12:16 am

Recently alot of ppl racing at night, ldp, nse, a bunch of convoys civics and mercs racing each other flashing everyone highbeam like nobody’s business

• penangite on Apr 18, 2023 at 7:58 am

Same here, only that the Civic’s mostly racing Bezza’s.

• Pls also educate some of malaysia’s well known motor journalist who routinely carry out genting run to test drive newly released model.
    It sets a very bad example to other road users.

• Alex Wong on Apr 18, 2023 at 8:11 am

Why police not taken action to drivers exceed speed limit in youtube?

• Z250 2016 on Apr 18, 2023 at 8:16 am

The car with video is racing him so both should die before they cause accidents kiling other innocent people!

• Stupid Civic owner on Apr 18, 2023 at 8:31 am

9 out of 10 Civic owners are stupid, drive a cheap RM150k car and treat it like a HIGH CLASS car lol…I guess Honda need to sell brain together with Civic, buy Civic get brain at RM100

• SangatCepat on Apr 18, 2023 at 9:29 am

Should ask . Apparently there are racing lines.

• AhBengVersion2.0 on Apr 18, 2023 at 10:57 am

The fella did not follow the ideal racing line la. Got caught out la. Too late to save it. Ran out of talent. The Mark X fella also racing with the fella. All trying to show off their skills at the expense of others. Usual nonsense at Genting. Nothing to see here. Just run along now…

• Ran out of talent. Driver probably panicked when the car started oversteering. The corner wasn’t even that sharp and could have been corrected by going on opposite lock. Looks like the dashcam car was also part of the pack of cars racing up the hill.

• Uncle YS Khing take note. Wether you’re pro or not on public road you must abide the law

• 4 Pistons on Apr 20, 2023 at 6:46 am

Hahahahahaha… Padan muka That’s what I can comment.. There’s so many wannabe racers racing up Genting Highlands.. Go to the track if you are so into car racing

• There is prove of racing not riding on the public road.so the next problem is,will this guy be arrested?