Not just free toll, electric car owners on balik kampung trips will enjoy free highway EV charging for Raya 2023

Not just free toll, electric car owners on <em>balik kampung</em> trips will enjoy free highway EV charging for Raya 2023

Motorists who are on balik kampung journeys this Hari Raya 2023 break will be able to enjoy free tolls for a total of four days, but electric car owners have it even better!

A few EV charger providers have announced free highway charging this Raya break. So not only will toll be free for them, juicing up their car batteries will be free too.

Shell Recharge ParkEasy

Not just free toll, electric car owners on <em>balik kampung</em> trips will enjoy free highway EV charging for Raya 2023

Shell Recharge (via the ParkEasy app) has announced that usage of its seven Shell Recharge highway chargers will be entitled to a 100% rebate from April 19 to May 3 2023.

You will have to pay for charging as per normal, but you will receive 100% of the amount you spent as a rebate after the campaign has ended.

The 7 stations that are involved are at:

Booking and payment for the charger can be made with Shell’s ParkEasy app. Don’t forget to use our referral code R88W3N2T when you download the ParkEasy app and you’ll get some free credits to try it out.

TNB Electron

TNB’s EV charging brand TNB Electron has announced via the Go To-U app that it is partnered with that all TNB Electron charging stations will be free on April 19, 20, 21 and 24 for EV users. This is in sync with the free toll dates that the government has announced previously.

There are currently three TNB Electron chargers up and running:

To use these chargers, download the Go To-U app on iOS or Google Play.

JomCharge

JomCharge has announced that all its chargers on the PLUS highway will be free from April 21-24 2023.

The following is a list of free JomCharge chargers during Raya 2023:

• Caltex Ayer Keroh (North Bound)
  • Caltex Ayer Keroh (South Bound)
  • Caltex Bukit Gantang (North Bound)
  • Caltex Bukit Gantang (South Bound)
  • Caltex R&R Skudai (South Bound)
  • BHPetrol R&R Skudai
  • MINI R&R Skudai – near Family Mart (South Bound)
  • Petronas Juru Layby (North Bound)
  • Petronas R&R Gunung Semanggol (South Bound)
  • Petronas Gambang (East Bound)
  • Petronas Pedas Linggi Layby (North Bound)
  • Petronas Gambang (West Bound)

If you haven’t downloaded JomCharge yet, get it from Apple App Store or Google Play Store.

Gentari

Gentari has announced that five of its highway chargers will be free to use from April 21-24 2023. These chargers are also included in JomCharge’s free charger list above because you can use both Setel and JomCharge to pay for Gentari chargers.

• Petronas Juru Layby (North Bound)
  • Petronas R&R Gunung Semanggol (South Bound)
  • Petronas Gambang (East Bound)
  • Petronas Pedas Linggi Layby (North Bound)
  • Petronas Gambang (West Bound)

If you haven’t downloaded Setel yet, we would appreciate it if you could use our referral code “5h9f3”

LINK: Download Setel

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Rich gets richer, nice.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 9
  • U charge your car slowly while I have already reach home n rest!

• Sohai on Apr 19, 2023 at 2:15 pm

But I travel for free, toll and “petrol”…

• But u pay in time and time is gold

• Can afford high price ev but still get free charge?? on Apr 19, 2023 at 3:34 pm

But if time is gold, then y balik kampung to enjoy, better just continue work? Anyway, those owned ev knew more on $ matters , if not how to own such cars. But i dont agree they give them free chargelah..since they r high earners…wanna give, give f&b voucher to every1, so all can enjoy..

• Tortilla on Apr 19, 2023 at 4:00 pm

Free charging means every batter car owners will wait charging completion, till 100%

• Perlisian on Apr 19, 2023 at 4:34 pm

So if your kampung is north of Ipoh, you simply have bad luck? In this case you would have to take a petrol power generator with you to charge your EV?

• meladam on Apr 20, 2023 at 9:50 am

so many hatred comments. No wonder you guys stuck at the same level of life

• Its not hatred. EVs are beyond the reach of the average Malaysians. So it seems like the rich who can afford to buy these EVs at prices well above RM150K are getting free/subsidised “fuel” ie charging, while the B40 or M40 group who can only afford ICE cars have to pay much more.

• Samaje on Apr 20, 2023 at 12:10 pm

The only common thing among B40, M40 & T20 is all like to use latest iphone or samsung :) and cut queue & beat traffic lights