2024 Kia Picanto facelift leaked ahead of official debut – A-segment hatchback gets EV9-inspired styling

Images of the new Kia Picanto facelift have been leaked on Autospy ahead of an expected global unveiling later this month. This is the second update for the third-generation A-segment hatchback, with the first being presented back in 2020.

The latest facelift is a significant one and appears to draw inspiration from the EV9 electric SUV. This is evident by the vertical headlamps which are linked by a chrome bar, while the lower apron is a lot more expressive with large faux intakes and a good number of body-coloured inserts.

Elsewhere, the design of the alloy wheels mimic those on the EV9, while the rear now sports an LED light bar to connect the redesigned taillights. This aggressive look is seen on a GT-Line example, which will be one of a few available trim levels for the Picanto.

While the exterior underwent a overhaul, the interior remains largely familiar, with notable changes being a digital instrument cluster as well as new graphics for the infotainment system – this was upgraded to an 8-inch unit with the prior facelift.

Further details such as powertrains and safety features were not part of the leak, but the Picanto should carry over the same options as before, possibly with some minor updates. The Picanto was sold in Malaysia in the past but has been absent for a while now. Would you welcome its return if it looked like this?

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Jambu on Jun 06, 2023 at 2:56 pm

Kia Picanto 2011 2nd Generation,
    12 years already still facelift?

is this a goodway to dodge latest Crash Test?

https://paultan.org/2016/06/13/kia-picanto-scores-zero-stars-in-latin-ncap-peugeot-208-gets-marked-down-to-2-stars-due-to-poor-side-impact-protection/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 20
    • Kim Jong Un on Jun 06, 2023 at 3:32 pm

2018 version is not a facelift bro

• Leong on Jun 06, 2023 at 5:16 pm

My Picanto JA is already more than 5 years old and you are still referring to the previous TA generation.

And you should read the article you posted properly to understand the rating.

• Please bring it in, I need a i10 or Picanto small car for city drive.

• Good luck with that. KIA Malaysia is clueless, just focusing on their EVs and large SUVs/MPVs. Gone are the glory days of the Picanto and Forte here.

• Teehee on Jun 07, 2023 at 7:54 am

Anyone has an experience with current Picanto regardless of pre-facelift or facelift? I am quite interested with Picanto

• Jabit on Jun 07, 2023 at 1:39 pm

Had the pre-facelift model since 2014. Clocked around 110k km.as of to-date. After 8 yrs major repair was the ECU – use refurbished around $3k. Other than that typical maintenance and wear&tear. Cost higher a bit compared with other japanese/malaysia cars of same class.

Engine is still good (full synthetic since day 1) but can’t beat the fuel efficiency of the Japanese or Perodua. Interior plastics still solid.

Overall satisfied with the car. Won’t hesitate to replace it with the newest version if available in Malaysia in the future. And for comfort get or replace for 14″ wheel. My pre-lift came with 15″ wheels.

• Sohai on Jun 11, 2023 at 6:59 pm

Owner of 2016 model. I too will not hesitate to upgrade to this new model if the price is right.
      Back then, it was the only A segment car with proper safety features, 4 disc break VsC etc.
      the experience has been good.
      Can’t understand why the Axia today can’t give simple things like 4 disc break

• I hope they will bring the Picanto in and sell it at a reasonable price. It will give us some choice instead of the Axia monopoly which we have to wait 6 months or more!