Perodua should add electronic stability control (ESC) and ABS to ‘rahmah spec’ Axia E – Dr Wee Ka Siong

MCA president and ex-transport minister Dr Wee Ka Siong has posted on his social media platforms urging carmakers to reconsider selling brands new cars without ABS (antilock braking system) and ESC (electronic stability control) in the Malaysian market, calling them minimum safety standards that should be included on all cars sold. He said these safety features should not be compromised to bring prices of cars down to ‘rahmah’ levels. He used the recently launched Perodua Axia E priced at RM22k as an example in his post.

Indeed, the Perodua Axia E does not have ABS and ESC. The only safety feature it has is two airbags. This is not just indicated on the spec sheet, but on every display car in the showroom, there will be MIROS card that lists the safety specs of the car, which will reveal this fact.

So what exactly is ABS and ESC and are they important?

Antilock Braking System (ABS)

In a car with an ABS system, there are sensors to measure each wheel’s rotation speed. Under heavy braking, if the sensors detect that any of the wheel’s rotation speed is about to lock, it will send a signal to a computer telling the brakes to relieve braking pressure on that wheel to prevent it from locking. This computerized brake pumping action can happen up to 15 times per second.

The result is a smooth and steady slowdown to a halt, shorter braking distance and maintaining steering control during heavy braking. Your braking distance will be shorter.

Electronic Stability Control (ESC)

ESC is a feature designed to improve a vehicle’s stability by detecting and reducing loss of traction (skidding). If the ESC system detects a loss of traction or skid, it can take one or more control actions to help stabilize the vehicle. These actions include selectively applying the brakes to one or more wheels, reducing the engine power, or a combination of both.

if the vehicle is understeering (not turning enough and tending to go straight), the ESC system might apply the brakes to the inside rear wheel to create a torque that helps the vehicle turn. If the vehicle is oversteering (turning too much and tending to spin out), the ESC system might apply the brakes to the outside front wheel to counteract the spin.

In some cases, the ESC system might also reduce the engine power to help regain control.

By reducing the chances of skidding or losing control, ESC systems can help drivers maintain control of their vehicle, especially in slippery conditions or when the vehicle is handling at the limit of its capabilities, thereby significantly improving safety.

Can a carmaker sell a car without ABS and ESC in Malaysia?

Malaysia previously announced that it would be making ESC mandatory on new cars from June 2018. The announcement at that time was made by transport minister Datuk Seri Liow Tiong Lai.

As far as we can tell, ABS does not seem to be mandatory for cars in Malaysia, but there are plans to make ABS mandatory for motorcycles above 150cc in Malaysia, as it is even more important to prevent crashes in motorcycles. This plan was initiated under Dr Wee Ka Siong’s tenure as transport minister.

So how can Perodua sell a car without ESC if it is mandatory? It seems that because the Axia E is an old model that was previously homologated, newer rules that mandate ESC does not apply to it.

Perodua is not alone in offering a base model without ESC. Proton’s cheapest car currently on sale which is the Proton Saga 1.3 Standard MT also does not have ESC, but it has ABS.

Why is Perodua selling a car without ABS and ESC?

The simplest explanation would be to reduce cost. At RM22k, the Axia E is even cheaper than when it was last on sale for RM 23,367. At that time, the Axia E did not have ABS or ESC either.

The cheapest Perodua Axia of its generation with ABS and ESC is the Standard G which was priced at RM33,490. That’s a full RM10k more.

What is the cheapest car in Malaysia with ABS and ESC?

Using CarBase.my’s search engine, you can set the filters to require ABS and ESC. The results sorted by cheapest car first are above. The cheapest is the 2023 Axia G priced at RM38,600. In second place is the Proton Saga 1.3 Standard AT priced at RM38,800. Next up is the 2023 Axia X priced at RM40,000.

Should Perodua add ABS and ESC to the Axia E?

At paultan.org we have always been very strong proponents of increasing the minimum safety features in our cars. We have been talking about making stability control mandatory in Malaysia for a long time and were overjoyed when it was finally made mandatory in 2018.

We have also been strong proponents of using child safety seats in cars, even giving free rental/giving away tens of thousands of ringgit worth of free child seats to low income families during festive periods in partnership with carmakers over the years.

We have since shifted our focus to advocating the inclusion of autonomous emergency braking (AEB) on cars in Malaysia, which has the potential to prevent many road accidents on the road today.

Perhaps Perodua could try to look into offering a ‘rahmah spec’ car with ABS and ESC if it is possible, perhaps an Axia EXtra alongside the E priced at RM2k higher would work? At least there will be a choice for those who value ABS and ESC without having to fork out more than RM16k for the 2023 Axia G. Perodua has used this ‘Xtra’ suffix in the past with the Axia Gxtra.

What’s the cheapest way to get an Axia with ABS/ESC then?

The cheapest way would be a used Perodua Axia Standard G spec made in September 2019 onwards. It was priced from RM33,490 when it was new. Given that Perodua offered a 5 year warranty for that generation of Axia, the first batch should still have a bit of warranty left as of June 2023.

Share your thoughts – is ABS/ESC important to you?

Will you buy a car without ABS/ESC in Malaysia? Are these safety features important to you? Share your thoughts in the comments section.

JANGAN PANDANG RINGAN SOAL KESELAMATAN ASAS KENDERAAN : Walaupun kenderaan mampu milik ditawarkan dengan harga serendah…

Posted by Wee Ka Siong on Sunday, 18 June 2023

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• AI-generated Summary ✨

Comments largely agree that incorporating safety features like ABS and ESC should be standard, especially in budget vehicles like the Axia E, to ensure road safety for all, including lower-income buyers. Many highlight that these features are essential and could reduce accidents, emphasizing that safety should not be compromised for cost. Several argue that it is the manufacturer's responsibility to include basic safety systems without significantly raising the price, likening it to a minimum standard for modern vehicles. Some comments mention government and regulatory roles, suggesting that safety features should be mandatory and subsidized for the poor. Others believe that responsible driving also plays a vital role, but overall sentiments favor mandatory safety inclusion for better road safety and reduced fatalities.

• Common sense on Jun 18, 2023 at 9:52 pm

Regardless the safety feature in a car, a CAR is still far far safer than riding a bike.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 76 Thumb down 22
    • Civic Turbo 2018 on Jun 18, 2023 at 10:43 pm

23K bike may not get ABS,EBD
      What’s inside WKS brain?
      Cheap-talk popularity?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 16
      • YB Kinte Kunta on Jun 19, 2023 at 1:44 pm

Wee wee is a Trojan horse in the unity germen.
        He is behaving like the Greenie opposition dude who gonna insists female nurses wear chastity belts to work very soon.
        He is still dreaming he is the menteri.
        Time he wakes up.Most of the time,he is a ardent critic of the germen.
        Folks,just ignore the bugger.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 3
    • Re-Route on Jun 18, 2023 at 11:15 pm

If not mistaken, MITI the one that imposed car standard accessories. Therefore MITI must imposed the minimum:

– ABS brake system, Traction control ESC
      – minimum 10-years car warranty unlimited mileage

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
    • Safer Axia on Jun 19, 2023 at 1:37 am

Totally agree that cars should come with a minimum of abs and ESC besides 2 airbags in 2023. No point having a cheaper car that compromises your safety and that of your loved ones in the event of a mishap. And stop taking the bait that it’s acceptable when compared to motorcycles when it comes to safety, even kapcais and scooters have abs these days. It’s 2023! Abs and ESC just like airbags are a token for bare essentials when it’s comes to automotive safety. Only the most foolhardy would still think that these are first world luxuries with a premium.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 9
    • Sense on Jun 19, 2023 at 8:27 am

Bike doesn’t go 120km/h right? Car can, so the safety must be much better than a bike lor..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 15
      • Common sense on Jun 19, 2023 at 10:29 am

Bike doesn’t go 120kmh ?? Which part of the world have you been hiding all this while ??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
    • minister shud consider stop motorcycle on road. they r much much dangerous to rider and other user.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 9
  • Carolyn Khaw on Jun 18, 2023 at 9:52 pm

Hey loser, if you want such features go get the new Asiah la. This is for B20 couples riding motorbike to start a family. Really lost and out of touch with rakyat

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 51
    • Aikon on Jun 19, 2023 at 8:47 am

Exactly. Again, these commenters haven’t the foggiest idea about segment marketing. Why give something (even things that can save their lives) when it is seen as superfluous to their budgets? It is still safer than a kapchai.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 6
  • Perodua Kedekut on Jun 18, 2023 at 10:39 pm

I totally agree. Every car need ABS as basic safety.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 7
  • Wee wee tryin to be relevant

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 11
    • MCA useless on Jun 19, 2023 at 9:42 am

last time when they are in government, tak buat kerja pun. Now as opposition suddenly so hard working.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 3
      • DonkeyKong on Jun 19, 2023 at 10:35 am

Bang Non and gang were noisier than this as the opposition and now when they have a Madanon govt it’s no different at all and no work is being done. Anyone who thinks Malaysia can be saved at the ballot box is indeed foolish

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 12
        • mahathir on Jun 19, 2023 at 11:31 am

when you keep using the same useless bunch of ministers from previously failed administration in your new cabinet. THIS HAPPENS.

UMNO should have been buried, but they are like cockroaches, keep coming back

• TH Lim on Jun 19, 2023 at 12:06 am

It is unbecoming to remove safety features to reduce price. Why are we denying the poor those safety features? Are their lives more dispensable?. The Govt should be serious enough to consider reducing taxes or rebates to cars for the poor. Car loan installment is a big burden to the poor. If we can build those affordable rumah wip what is stopping the Govt from reducing taxes to help the poor from owning cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 7
  • t333son on Jun 19, 2023 at 12:29 am

Perodua is already doing an amazing job here and should be thanked . Offering Axia E as is is not a profit making proposition. Asking them to do it for a loss is what idiot politicians are great at, it is not their money is it..

The fact is at 22k many more poor families get to consider upgrading from an old car or motorcycle . it is a step up in the right direction. Applying first world standards on everyone is a dangerous game as many do not have the luxury of making easy money and thinking about ABS, ESC, 10 airbags etc. to some, it is a blessing to have a roof that shields them from the elements and the ability to ferry their family around

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 31
  • Lampard Wong on Jun 19, 2023 at 12:29 am

Country obsessed with teh tarik hooks more la

• jasoho on Jun 19, 2023 at 2:22 am

Wee should add ESC and ABS in his mouth… maybe just maybe it is safer also whenever he speaks… Hahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 16
  • “perhaps an Axia E+ alongside the E priced at RM2-3k higher would work? ”

The Standard G Axia was updated for 2016 with the inclusion of ABS (+ interior trim piece revision) for a price increase of RM1500.

So perhaps instead of lowering the price, we should have seen the addition of ABS.

Else, instead of E+, what about E Xtra like the Bezza G Xtra previously or Kancil/Russ EX Extra.

• Aikon on Jun 19, 2023 at 9:38 am

More variants, less economies of scale, higher individual prices. Not economically viable for such a plan. It is either with or without. We may think it is just a few hundred ringgit to maybe even RM1k more to add those in. But when you factor that in the thousands of units, it is a huge cost and risk to car companies.

• OrangTua on Jun 19, 2023 at 3:16 am

I total support on including ABS/ESC for few k increase on the pricing. I believe it is important to have any additional safety features on todays vehicles. It should be mandatory in 2023, period.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
  • perodua shouldnt sell cars without this minimum safety features.if it too much to ask than just scrap the idea of selling the cheapest variant.the less fortunate is not their guniea pig

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
    • Yeah yeah on Jun 19, 2023 at 8:56 am

Yeah, let the miskin use public transport. They want safety, they have to pay premium.

• This guy is one sore loser that can’t move one.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 10
  • Must better then riding a bike anytime….imagine carring your child on a bike on a rainy day….some compromise must be made to make it more effortable to the poor….get real

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 6
  • Aku ada dgr berita kat radio yg owner perodua ckp dia bagi harga murah utk semua rakyat Msia yang susah merasa naik kereta dan tak terbeban. Tapi itu semua kata2 manis dia, motif utama dia dah tentu keuntungan, dia serupa ahli politik byk main kata2. Klau betul nak tolong rakyat susah, jgn la kedekut sangat bagi tin kosong. Central lock takde, wiper belakang takde, abs yg simple skg ni pun takde. Taik ko la ceo perodua nak bantu org. Untung jgk anwar dpt nama rahmah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 17
    • Peppa on Jun 19, 2023 at 9:13 am

In business perspective, this old axia does not make a huge to Perodua. Idk where the hell you got that silly information from. Sounds very kampung behavior to me

• Sangat pelik on Jun 19, 2023 at 3:58 pm

Banyak duit kan, beli la yang paling mahal. Benda murah, minta lebih

• Sohai on Jun 19, 2023 at 7:13 am

Given a choice for that extra 2-3k, people would prefer auto than having abs.
    Wee wee should know better that the majority of fatality on the road were riders. If only they were in this kosong spec Axia…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
  • Sohai on Jun 19, 2023 at 7:20 am

It is again a politician that fail to read the sentiment on the ground. People would rather have this than without this. Is easy to have it mandatory, but can you control the asking price? 22k also need to take 9 year loan brother.
    Why don’t MCA start a car company and make one?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 6
  • Husin on Jun 19, 2023 at 7:23 am

Very fair decision if Ecs, abs must include in std specs of new cars when technology has advanced ahead very fast. A car must not be a moving coffin or a lethal trap of death for people who only afford to buy at this lower price range.

• Better scrap out this rahmah car. You actually put motorists and other people’s life in danger

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
  • macampondan on Jun 19, 2023 at 8:14 am

this guy should go back and eat shit during his time, he did absolutely nothing and he has no respect and even deserves rights to say shit about anything.

he is the ultimate piece of junk

• WeeWee on Jun 19, 2023 at 2:51 pm

He could actually make himself useful and talk to the manufacturer on the ground and work out some possibilities.
      MCA is in the government, no? No need to talk empty, go and do. Go talk to Miti also which the minister is from BN.

• Ben Yap on Jun 19, 2023 at 8:27 am

abs and ECS should be given without any price increase. perodua already earning and give a bit also won’t die.

• Squid on Jun 19, 2023 at 11:01 am

I guess you’re one of those who don’t mind to give up your bonus for a good cause. Good on ya mate..

• kckfen on Jun 19, 2023 at 8:29 am

Remove the power door, add on ABS. ….should be able to balance up. If still not enough race Rm500.00 still acceptable

• Sohai on Jun 19, 2023 at 10:56 am

Remove the aircond and just 1 year warranty. There, you can have your abs. But would you buy?
      Wee wee talk cheap, can MCA subsidize?

• Safety Standard on Jun 19, 2023 at 8:47 am

one need to weight in, what’s minimum safety standard of moving vehicle. to me, air bag is the minimum that you need to have, to protect ppl from serious injury. Those.. ABS.. ESC is just additional safety feature. “You cannot have ABS minus AIRBAG, but you can have AIRBAG only and you are safer”. If we discuss safety further, then we even must have 360deg sensing radar for auto stop, lane departure prewarning and so on.. safety is important isn’t it, but all these add on will make the vehicle too expensive to own.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
  • Speed devil on Jun 19, 2023 at 8:53 am

Even with all the safety features, always saw axia and bezza drive too fast at the highway. Even can cucuk2 people

• KPLee jelapang, Ipoh Perak on Jun 19, 2023 at 9:23 am

I i will Not buy Axia E without d ABS N ESC safty features. Why should i risk my life which cost more than d mere few thousands rm. I believe Axia E sales will drop drastically. Perdua, plse install them. Tqqq

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 9
    • Use your brain please on Jun 19, 2023 at 3:40 pm

If you need more safety feature, just buy the expensive one la.

• Spectator on Jun 19, 2023 at 4:22 pm

Lol, if you want Axia with ABS & ESC, go buy the new one then. NOBODY is forcing you to buy this new AXIA Rahmah. No one. If you dont feel the need to buy this 22K AXIA, then you are not PERODUA’s target market.

• No ABS, no EBD, no EGG, Wee Sida Sida

• Bossku on Jun 19, 2023 at 10:00 am

This is Malaysia….life is tough already since Ringgit shrinks faster than Cutie budget toilet paper. I don’t think corporate Perutdua/Daihatsu/Toyonomy will prioritise customer safety over profit when they are too cheap to even install radio!!

• kenot on Jun 19, 2023 at 10:06 am

Without ABS, maybe we will hear complaints that the steering wheel is locked. so that the driver cannot control the vehicle.

• Just add the ESC ABD with no additional price to the car and the extra is subsidized by the Govt lorrrr… for the Rakyat, opkos can.

• farghmee on Jun 19, 2023 at 10:15 am

1. how much it’ll be for E+ABS+ESC?

2. how much to replace if those ABS+ESC are kapputten?

• todak on Jun 19, 2023 at 10:25 am

https://paultan.org/2023/06/13/915874-road-accidents-recorded-from-2021-2022-mot/
    Last week, there was this article which mentioned that the Malaysian Institute of Road Safety Research (MIROS) had found that road accidents were mainly caused by human behaviour. There were no statistics to show that most accidents involve vehicles without ABS & ESC, especially the Axia E. It’s no surprise that there are road users who have been lulled into a false sense of security, because they believe that the ABS, ESC & other types of driver’s aid features in their vehicles will ultimately help to avoid accidents, and thus, they need not have to drive as carefully as they should.

• Sohai on Jun 19, 2023 at 11:44 am

many factors are at play here in terms of road safety.. Driver behaviour / skill, road condition, safety features…
      ABS does reduce the chance of accident during hard breaking because you can stomp your break hard and the steering wont lock up. It is better to have than without for sure, but at what price. And is not just the price of the abs module, is also how then this product will cannibilise the other products in the line up and thus affect the overall profit.
      one thing is for sure, you can specify the features you want, at the price you want. You can only pick one.

• todak on Jun 19, 2023 at 12:20 pm

When there is already an idiotic motorcyclist on our roads who believes that it is OK to ride against traffic flow because he was lost (in relation to the recent SUKE highway accident), it wouldn’t be surprising that we also have idiotic road users who believe that they can always survive a high speed drive on the PLUS highway in the pouring rain because they have ABS, ESC, etc.

• Yalah on Jun 19, 2023 at 5:20 pm

And our overall economy or policy should take care of this bunch of people who do not care about themselves? If they are an idiot who don’t understand speed kills, is none of our concern

• todak on Jun 20, 2023 at 10:07 am

Well, hopefully everyone will understand that ABS, ESC & other electronic automotive safety features are intended to further assist already sensible cautious drivers to tackle potentially hazardous situations on the roads, and not make reckless erratic drivers invulnerable to danger.

• Frankc on Jun 19, 2023 at 10:53 pm

If the axis can retain control during hard braking due to abs, then axis may not Knock into other car or motorcyclist. Safety not just for axis driver but also other road users

• todak on Jun 20, 2023 at 10:41 am

Let’s say there is a car with ABS, traveling on a main road in the rain, approaching a junction with a side road. If the driver is cautious enough, he or she would slow down to a sensible speed. If the driver has thrown caution to the wind, he or she is unlikely to slow down. So, if it happens that another vehicle suddenly turns onto the main road from the side road & the driver has to jam on the brakes, who would have a better chance of retaining control & avoiding a collision, the driver who had taken the precaution to earlier slow down, or the driver who had not?

• scan QR code for more info also ticked in the safety features card? lol

• Kimchi on Jun 19, 2023 at 10:34 am

Unless you want to beat traffic in KL, this car is much safer than motorbike.

• no ABS on Jun 19, 2023 at 11:13 am

I don’t like ABS feel and I am fine driving non-ABS car as a daily driver for dacades now.

If you really need ABS, just buy the Axia G.

• People no use brain on Jun 19, 2023 at 3:48 pm

Why they’re so mad that axia E doesn’t have ABS, LMAO. They can just bought the expensive one with more safety features.

• bila kita cakap ‘kosong’ maksud kita tak mau gula dalam minuman… bukan nak kereta kosong! adoi P2

• Ex kelisa owner on Jun 19, 2023 at 12:17 pm

If u skillful enough to drive well a manual car, abs and vsc essential but not a must. Just don’t drive recklessly.

• Bossku on Jun 20, 2023 at 9:56 am

Question is: are you sure all “skillful” drivers drive on the road? Assuming they are not on drugs and mabuk to begin with…

• dua kupang on Jun 19, 2023 at 12:58 pm

Remember, an accident is also caused by other cars’ negligence or the inability of other vehicles to stop.

If there are so many cars on the road without proper braking systems and stability, this car can one-day “langgar” your car too, due to a breaking system, that ABS can prevent.

So I support this channel which is quite strong in emphasising the safety of the vehicle.

PaulTan.com, how about you highlight the danger of the towing truck (flatbed) with its sharp edges at the back?

I see so many of them with sharp edges without proper stopping bars or warning lights moving freely.

Imagine if rear-end collision, sure the head of the car passenger that hit this towing truck from the rear will be chopped.

thanks
    my 20cents thoughts

• Because this car is for B40 that can not afford better car in order for them to join the congestion during weekend. If you go shopping mall, jam like hell. If you go tourism spots, jam like hell!

• Say no to perodua on Jun 19, 2023 at 2:08 pm

This shows perodua not growing up at all

• Use your brain please on Jun 19, 2023 at 3:54 pm

We all know that this safety features are mandatory but do you think the B40 can buy the car with safety features? I don’t think so.

If you really have a lot of money then just buy the expensive one, it’s not that hard

And also, the accident will not occur if people drive recklessly

• Curious on Jun 19, 2023 at 3:18 pm

YB , pls giv ur opinion on those old cars that r stil on the road, those cars r all without these functions.

• hazri on Jun 19, 2023 at 3:29 pm

let say i buy used viva manual at rm6000. then i go to perodua service centre for full inspection and change all parts to new, maybe maximum cost up to rm3500 or maybe less. then change to 14″ new sport rim with use tyre, cost maybe rm300-rm500 or i spend rm600-rm1000 for new 4 michelin/continental tyre. another optional buy new android player with rear camera. so the total cost up to rm10k-12k. maybe viva a little small than axia, but for rm10k-12k saving i think it is worth. what do you guys think?

• Bossku on Jun 19, 2023 at 7:55 pm

All you do is replace all non safety items (safe for tires) with new but equally useless items like radio, which Perutdua is too cheap to even install, on a car with steel that is so thin you can see through without Superman’s X-ray vision. Well, if you think RM12K is worth spending on these junk, why would you need to ask for public opinion on a website?

• hazri on Jun 20, 2023 at 5:27 pm

well, i think i don’t have to take any opinion from bossku. obviously, never know and never drive a viva.

• I had a Renault Kangoo. Was very basic, . No complete safety features. I drove normal, used for 14 years. Still it was safe. Too many safety features, more headache to pay for replacement later

• todak on Jun 19, 2023 at 4:56 pm

Of course, if you frequently drive sensibly & defensively, you’ll have a good chance of surviving on the public roads regardless of whether the vehicle has those electronic safety features or not, as long as it is properly maintained.

• I don't understand on Jun 19, 2023 at 5:51 pm

Careful and sensible drivers should be able to handle this kind of low cost vehicle. But for those reckless drivers, even if you give them full safety features like ADAS, ASA , all kind of sensors and etc, they can still find the way to cause fatal problem to the world…

• Kurt Cobain on Jun 19, 2023 at 10:01 pm

Axia E already sold during the time he was a transport minister. Why no complain from him during that time?

• Ku Nazri on Jun 20, 2023 at 10:02 am

Kalau buang aircond…cat putih…boleh dapat 18k keter ni…

• Cheapskate perodua on Jun 20, 2023 at 10:16 am

Agree. Why people assume this car is for B40 folks to upgrade from bikes? Perodua said so as requirement? Evryone can buy so safety is important. This is year 2023 after all. Abs, esc, 4 airbags should bare minimum.

• Sohai on Jun 20, 2023 at 5:58 pm

Why that assumption? Because if you are not B40 and you value your life, you should then spend the money in higher variant that has ABS.
      The discussion is really for people that can (barely) afford cheap new car, should the manufacturer be more responsible and do more.

If you are not poor, but you want everything features at a cheap price, my suggestion is to make your own car. Nobody force you to buy this car. You buy it willingly knowing it is without ABS. You have accepted the risk. Make sense now?

• Leonardo on Jun 20, 2023 at 2:24 pm

Agree. Perodua have the economies of scale in Malaysia and have many shared components with big sister Toyota. Should not be a burden to include ABS and ESC to their “Ghost Car” variant. Unless Perodua thinks that life is less valuable for those in the lower income bracket.

• I will buy the cheapest car, only if it equips with ESC and ABS and 4-gear auto.