Stability control mandatory in Malaysia by June 2018

stability-control-button

The Malaysian government has announced its plan to introduce legislation for electronic stability control (ESC) at the Global NCAP’s Stop the Crash event here at the Sepang International Circuit (SIC) today – all new vehicles in Malaysia will be required to be fitted with the safety net by June 2018.

The announcement was made by transport minister Datuk Seri Liow Tiong Lai at the launch of the event. “We are proud that the Malaysian government is taking this important step forward in Road Safety and to be the first ASEAN country to mandate ESC,” he said.

Stability control has already been made standard fit in certain markets, having been made mandatory in the EU and the US in 2012. “Global NCAP welcomes this announcement. This year, the UN General Assembly recommended that countries legislate to introduce Stop the Crash technologies and Malaysia has responded to the call and we congratulate them for doing so,” said Global NCAP secretary-general David Ward.

Director-general at MIROS and ASEAN NCAP chairman Professor Wong Shaw Voon added, “We are pleased that the Malaysian government has taken this step. ESC will save thousands of lives in Malaysia. MIROS and ASEAN NCAP urges other countries in our region to follow suit and mandate this life saving technology.”

We at paultan.org have long championed this important active safety feature. Read here to find out more about why your next car should be fitted with ESC.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• It should be now

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 0
    • anonymous on Nov 29, 2016 at 9:34 pm

Would current car like Almera gets recall and fit them in on 2018?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 16
      • Ex VGM staff on Nov 29, 2016 at 11:19 pm

The current almera is already 4 yrs old. By that time it will be replaced by an all new model

• Kunta bin Kinte on Nov 30, 2016 at 9:24 am

Finally our gomen is doing something right. But why wait 2 years? Then that 2 years come, you say postpone to 2025. That is typical Malaysian gomen style.

Hello kerajaan. This is critical. You need to do it immediately. It is like a disease. You don’t say, we need to wait 2 years before we do something about it ad quarantine the place.

Be responsible lah gomen. 45% of all accidetns in Malaysia cause because of lack of stability control. That s 45%. This is gomen statistics.

That means rom now to 2018 or 2025, half of all accidents c be prevented.

Car manufacturers can implement all this tomo also. Problem is, Malaysian gomen own all car companies in Msia.

So, they need to minum teh Tarik 8x and mesyuarat 1000x before any decision can be done.

• Abang Alza Pakai Topi on Nov 30, 2016 at 11:44 am

Bean counters in UMW, Perodua and PNB now complaining bonus kena reduce by half month because more cost to install stability control.

• Anti-Fuel-Price on Nov 30, 2016 at 12:10 am

Comment here is much more human compare in fb comments. Idiotic from few fb users:
      1) save more buy better car lah
      2) don’t drive fast lah
      3) U think easy to implement ah?

This is human lives we are talking here, and by the time 2017 dunno will postponed again or not??

Totally support “humans” comment here. To fb comments: Wish you all go HELL without ESC.

• The Mariner on Nov 30, 2016 at 4:40 am

Oh oh.. UMW now in trouble.There’s no more optional package to offer.

• john is otak batu on Nov 29, 2016 at 5:08 pm

Nak ikut, ikut lah awal, terhegeh-hegeh baru cakap nak mandatory! dah ramai terkorban sebab lambat ni!
    Kalo takut P1 & P2 tak sudi bagi tutup dia kedai terus ler!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 26
    • P1: tak kesah mau mandatory atau tidak. Hampir semua model ada ESC

P2: tergetar-getar krana hampir semua model takde ESC!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 82 Thumb down 6
    • Kunta bin Kinte on Nov 30, 2016 at 9:31 am

Finally after so much of online protest in PT, something is being done. We have to thank our forums and commentators here who were aggressive in demanding VSC.

It is sad that the rakyat have to demand safety features and beg for more airbags and VSC. Other countries, the gomen strictly tells car companies to give all these features as standard. Here in Malaysia, our car companies is owned by gomen. So, they got no incentive to be neutral and tell the car companies to give more safety features

Don’t be fooled to think our gomen is good hearted. They are doing this cause nobody is buying cars without VSC anymore

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
      • Really? Owned by Gov?
        U mean ur boss, akio toyoda-san reports to Gov? Soichiro honda-san as well?

• Interceptor on Nov 29, 2016 at 5:11 pm

Why almost 2 years more to wait ? If something is good, implement it asap.. People’s live is not a game.. Don’t wait for a long time to find ways how to make money..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 7
    • John BN on Nov 29, 2016 at 8:55 pm

cause part of election keystone.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
    • Ex VGM staff on Nov 29, 2016 at 11:22 pm

We still have millions of cars that have no abs nor esp. The best thing the govt should do, reduce car price by 30%, and start removing cars 30 yrs and above from the road. Later bring it down to 25%

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
      • Nope. Best thing is to make polluting cars & motors even more expensive, so that pipu will take the cars off the roads and use public transport instead. Gov just need to gip more buses and better pay for drivers. Win-win for all rather than win-lose with reduce tax.

• Abang Alza Pakai Topi on Nov 30, 2016 at 11:47 am

Wira Tomyam 22 year old all driving strong without stability control, but always give business to towtruck and abang workshop.

• camtakpro on Nov 30, 2016 at 12:35 am

Because Saga, Ertiga, MyVi, Alza, Avanza, Rush, Axia, Almera, City, Innova… (and many many more)… don’t have.

• FIST (Member) on Nov 30, 2016 at 10:16 am

car makers need time to source for local supplier and adapting to existing models. testing them would take time

• Mikey on Nov 29, 2016 at 5:11 pm

To LTL, it is better late than never. For this, I would like to congratulate U.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 6
  • TongHoi on Nov 29, 2016 at 5:11 pm

Every times just talk talk talk…no used. Later give many excuses.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
  • Make it earlier lar minister like June 2017. ESC was not created yesterday but long long time ago.

• ESC is fitted as standard in the later year but some budget cars still do not fitted with ABS. Government should mandate all new cars in Malaysia should equipped with ABS, EBD and ESC. Even if not mandated, those car manufacturers should take a step forward to equip their budget cars with those safety features. Cars can be rebuild but life will be lost once gone.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 1
    • Jason on Nov 29, 2016 at 9:52 pm

With implementation of ESC on June 2018, ABS, EBD and BA will be mandatory as well because it was part of key component in order to make ESC works. But it is welcome that push this legalization process as earlier as possible because it is live saving features everyone should have in a car.

• Abang Alza Pakai Topi on Nov 30, 2016 at 11:48 am

Wira tomyam 22 year old can be repaired and driven until kingdom come.

• Doc Sin on Nov 29, 2016 at 5:13 pm

FINALLY!

This is so important. Good to know that even the humble Axia will have it.

I hope it is enforced, because they made dual airbags mandatory but the Nissan Almera still has single driver airbag only despite the regulation =(

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
    • Jimmy on Nov 29, 2016 at 11:37 pm

Government USA will take this opportunity to make big money, through denda; remember the VW story?

Or, there are many cakes around?

• Karipu on Nov 30, 2016 at 12:59 am

Nissan Almera is the ugliest sedan car in Malaysia.

• Jeffrey Read on Nov 30, 2016 at 11:15 pm

I have been told at MIROS that there is a car in Thailand that has secured excellent ratings DESPITE NOT HAVING FRONT PASSENGER AIRBAGS!

That is because of the design of the car has PERFORMED extremely well during crash test, as such it is redundant to even install SRS Airbags for front passenger. :)

• Mikey on Nov 29, 2016 at 5:17 pm

This must be one of the wisest move our transport minister ever made. Bravo for listening to our grouse/complaint. How i wish our PM will listen to our ‘other’ complaint too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 7
    • What ‘other’ complaint? And if its ‘ ‘, then it must not be important anyways.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 9
      • Mikey on Nov 30, 2016 at 12:41 pm

j, since U asked, I will gladly spell it out for U. It start with a G & end with a T. The middle word is your S. Now U get it ?!

• Okaayyy. So whats the problem with it, exactly? A better more equitable, transparent, & fair taxation method thats employed by more than half the countries in the world?

• Perodua Axia on Nov 29, 2016 at 5:17 pm

Yes!!!

• Passerby on Nov 29, 2016 at 5:18 pm

ESC good for Malaysia… Malaysia road banyak lubang dan bonggol… make sure your car hv ESC to zigzag the lubang and bonggol and ABS to stop in time when tiger running across the street…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
    • KL Has Fallen (2017) on Nov 29, 2016 at 9:44 pm

this idiot doesn’t even know what’s ABS is all about..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
  • UMW toyota on Nov 29, 2016 at 5:21 pm

2018 june.. old strait time..
    potong car ESC not working when detect oversteer..driver dead

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 27
  • seancorr (Member) on Nov 29, 2016 at 5:23 pm

Next stop, 6 airbags then autonomous braking system.

• Jimmy on Nov 29, 2016 at 11:40 pm

Why do you want autonomous braking system? Shouldn’t you be very alert during driving? Or else you kiss other people’s cars and you pay lah, fair wat.

6-airbags is a must, I agreed.

• camtakpro on Nov 30, 2016 at 12:38 am

Can Honda supply enough ‘safe’ new airbags while old models are lining up for replacement?

• Abang Alza Pakai Topi on Nov 30, 2016 at 11:52 am

Next step is ban all 20+ year old Wira Tomyam from our roads.

• panjang on Nov 29, 2016 at 5:30 pm

Why June 2018?
    All manufacturer are capable of doing it now.

• sohhai on Nov 29, 2016 at 5:35 pm

I do have one concern; ESC is software controlled and every car makers has different software for this. Some are developed in-house while others (like Proton) buys them off the shelve. Is there a comparison of which one is better? As example, not all anti-virus software are the same

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 13
    • Expet on Nov 29, 2016 at 10:12 pm

ESC has to be tuned for each model albeit it is developed in house or out sourced. It is not like audio off the shelve.

• Deadpool on Nov 29, 2016 at 5:45 pm

2018!!?!
    nah, mlm

• We want Langkawi car prices on Nov 29, 2016 at 5:56 pm

Oh yes!! If your face you greedy car manufacturers!! Equip your cars now or we won’t buy your cars.

• Andrekua on Nov 29, 2016 at 6:05 pm

Just ESP? Come on… what’s all the 7 seaters doing with 2 airbags? ESP is helpful but it is not designed to help protect passengers when accident happened.

• wiwiwiwiwiw on Nov 29, 2016 at 6:12 pm

Good. I’ll wait and won’t purchase any sub RM100k cars until 2018.

Padan muka and shame on you UMW Perodua, Nissan Tan Chong, Mitsubishi, Suzuki for making your cars no VSC.

This is working guys.
    Car makers don’t pandai pandai mark up prices for VSC. UMW Toyota learnt the hard way.
    No VSC, no sales.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
    • Gangnam on Nov 30, 2016 at 8:52 am

The Korean cars already have 6 airbags and esp since 2013 for sub 100k. Even their kia piano are fully equipped.

• Sam Lorr on Nov 29, 2016 at 6:15 pm

err… didn’t see that coming…
    what about ABS? is this mandatory already?
    what about ABS on bikes?
    what about minimum 3 star NCAP?

if you are so keen to implement it, how about some incentives? you know, in the name of road safety…
    how about zero GST for cars who have it…?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
    • kzm (Member) on Nov 29, 2016 at 8:39 pm

If the car have ESC/ESP automatic those car must have ABS n TC.. ESC work with combination of both.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
  • Aragon on Nov 29, 2016 at 6:37 pm

Good move. Take note P1 and P2, all your vehicle must have ESC across all the variant after this. Not only on the top spec.

• transformer on Nov 29, 2016 at 6:52 pm

“all new vehicles in Malaysia will be required to be fitted with the safety net by June 2018.”

i read “ALL”

and please ensure ANCAP stars rating only for lowest/cheapest variant! eg: Vios J(rated) not Vios G

• kzm (Member) on Nov 29, 2016 at 8:41 pm

any NCAP rating oni use lowest variant for star rating.

• camtakpro on Nov 30, 2016 at 12:42 am

>>all new vehicles in Malaysia will be required to be fitted with the safety net by June 2018.

Do they mean ALL NEWLY REGISTERED VEHICLES? Somehow, ironically, I felt they mean ALL NEW MODELS LAUNCHED IN 2018.

• geekfiredog on Nov 30, 2016 at 8:58 am

What is the definition of “all new….. by June 2018”
      – all new vehicles manufactured from June 2018 onwards?
      – all new vehicles sold from June 2018 onwards?
      – all new vehicles registered with JPJ from June 2018 onwards?
      – all new vehicles with new model launch from June 2018 onwards?
      – all new vehicles with facelift or new model launch from June 2018 onwards?

• Wayang on Nov 29, 2016 at 7:08 pm

I’m waiting for the next excuses or must have feature
    Last time they say safety belt will decrease death rate, yet after making it compulsory even for passenger accident death rate continue to climb
    Then came the next must have or excuse; airbags
    Yet accident death rate continue to climb
    Then they say VSC will improve or cut down death rate
    Really the only way to decrease death rate is not reliant on systems but the best systems ever made which is our brain
    Sadly the best systems gets neglected and we now rely on less than perfect or second best systems

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 12
    • kzm (Member) on Nov 29, 2016 at 8:46 pm

use seat-belt start from u.. how do govt know u don’t use seat-belt? roadblock? before come there cepat2 pakai seat-belt after that kasi bukak itu seat-belt how?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
    • MY pipu uses brains?

• Jeffrey Read on Nov 30, 2016 at 11:27 pm

That is so true, Wayang but like a knife it cuts both ways and that is why most accidents are due to human error.

Now I have been told that the future is autonomous driving, which means that there will NOT BE ANYMORE ACCIDENTS IN THE FUTURE!

I cannot even imagine the day I am no longer allowed to drive!

• Piupiupiu on Nov 29, 2016 at 7:09 pm

Woah.. good!! We’ll see axia equipped with ESC after this.. Will buy one..

• 0bs3rv3r on Nov 29, 2016 at 7:48 pm

Good move. Hope this one did no go to waste as its just a plan. I wonder why Suzuki did not allow proton to implement such safety measures to its ertiga… even the ugly reflector sticker also cannot remove.

Gomen shud also give tax break incentive for emergency autonomous braking & other safety tech as these are very expensive but so important for safety.

• Jeffrey Read on Nov 29, 2016 at 7:59 pm

Why is Stability Control mandatory only June 2018?

Will there be no accidents attributing to new cars from now until June 2018, as such it does not require Stability Control?

Why not Stability Control be mandatory earliest by January 2017?

Are the lives of Malaysians tha UNIMPORTANT?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
  • Jeffrey Read on Nov 29, 2016 at 8:06 pm

Why is Stability Control mandatory only from June 2018?

Will there be no accidents attributing to new cars from now until June 2018, as such it does not require Stability Control?

Why not Stability Control be mandatory earliest by January 2017, if it is truly a proud step forward in terms of road safety?

Why must Malaysians continue to wait any longer?

Are the lives of Malaysians that UNIMPORTANT that the implementation of mandatory Stability Control be delayed until June 2018?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
    • kzm (Member) on Nov 29, 2016 at 8:48 pm

not everything can suddenly implement..if easy why wait January 2017 why not tomoro?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
      • Jeffrey Read on Nov 29, 2016 at 10:32 pm

Quote – We at paultan.org HAVE LONG championed this important active safety feature.

The grace period for a month is more than sufficient as car manufacturers already have some existing models with Stability Control, thus incorporating this into other models should be a piece of cake.

Just to wait for another 19 months is incomprehensible by any standard!

Either that they are just dragging their feet on this crucial safety feature. Perhaps that is the way just how things works in these part of the world.

My take is this, the faster this country starts churning out cars with Stability Control, the safer we all will be! Albeit there will always rotten apples around…

I was travelling to MIROS recently and I noticed 3 vehicles of a similar make, crashed on the NSE most probably lost control due to slippery road conditions as it was wet. If those 3 cars had Stability Control surely the drivers would have averted those crashes.

• 1 month to install ESC? R u kidding me?! Even honda takes almost 1 year to get ready enuff airbags for replacement! And thats after their joke of an announcement 5 months b4!

• Jeffrey Read on Nov 30, 2016 at 11:02 pm

My mistake and I am truly sorry. Never expected installing E.S.C. was that simple. Attended Stop the Crash and didn’t know just to install something like the E.S.C. would literally take mmmmmoooooonnnnnttthhhhhsss. Obviously I am ignorant about the technical process but I am glad a learn about it today.

• kzm (Member) on Nov 30, 2016 at 7:07 am

Easy for you to say..

• Jeffrey Read on Dec 01, 2016 at 10:34 am

My sincerest apologies to kzm, john and everyone else. Due to my sheer ignorance I had no idea that implementing any changes at all, would involved so MANY OTHER PROCESSES and VALIDATION PROCESSES in order that a vehicle could be classified as road-worthy. Was at Stop The Crash event yesterday and learned it from the horses mouth. If indeed it was that EASY as I HAVE MENTIONED, surely indeed car manufacturer’s would have start manufacturing vehicles with V.S.C. by Jan 2017! I am all for V.S.C. but I still have my reservations with S.R.S. Airbags.

• Aero (Member) on Nov 29, 2016 at 9:06 pm

Excellent news ! Although many 2016 models already come with ESC as standard here, quite a few popular models still do not.

Perodua is by far the biggest offender. Not a single Myvi, Axia or Alza has ESC… and only the top spec Bezza has it. Considering that Perodua is no.1 in terms of 2016 car sales with about 36% market share… that’s a lot of new cars being sold without ESC.

UMW Toyota is also a big offender, but it’s worth mentioning that their new 2016 Vios facelift finally got ESC (VSC) as standard (prior to 2016, no Vios had ESC whatsoever). For 2017, the updated Camry and Corolla Altis facelift will also get ESC as standard. As for UMWT’s other current models, the Sienta also has standardised ESC, but not all HiLux and Fortuner variants do. Worst of all is the Avanza, which has no ESC at all.

TCM Nissan’s safety seems to be hit or miss. The Almera (their best-seller) does not have ESC whatsoever… nor does the Livina. But the Teana, Serena, Sylphy and X-Trail all have standardised ESC. The Navara is 50/50 though.

Proton is in a relatively good position. Every single Iriz and Persona has ESC. All new Prevés have it too. Unfortunately, only the higher spec Suprima S, Saga and Exora models have ESC. But all these cars will probably be facelifted by 2018. The new Perdana and Ertiga are at risk though… we’ll have to wait and see what happens.

As for Honda Malaysia, they have nothing much to worry about really. ESC is standard on their popular Civic, Accord, HR-V and CR-V. However, ESC is not standard in the Jazz and City, but I’m guessing Honda will introduce a new City/Jazz facelift in 2017 with standardised ESC.

Anyway, this comment has become too long already, so I’ll stop here. But let’s not forget that standardised ESC will not help, if we do not make an effort to drive safely. Safety on the roads starts with us… we still have some time to go until self-driving cars become popular.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 5
    • Silthice on Nov 30, 2016 at 12:55 am

For Perdana, they just sell the one with ESC only. For Ertiga, they are doing some testing right now to be implemented for Suzuki’s Ertiga & Breza, Proton’s Ertiga and Mazda VX-1.

• ESC as standard and ultimately 10 airbags exactly like the base spec Toyota Camry in America= less or zero serious injuries towards Malaysian drivers.
    By 2050, Proton and Perodua close down forever= Rusted in Pieces.

• Perodua will be around for quite some time due to the share of T badge company..need to collect profit from malaysian..proton not sure but if can nail good partner also will be around for quite some time

• We want Langkawi car prices on Nov 29, 2016 at 10:28 pm

I believe that this the best news ever! Meaning there will no be junk rubbish cars like the Avamza that has no VSC can be sold after 2017. If Proton can do it, why can’t y’all? You see Honda is making fat profit margins charging it’s VSC City and Jazz, for an extra RM15k to RM20k. Perodua also with the Bezza. Shame on you! Adapt or die

• Ben Yap on Nov 29, 2016 at 11:12 pm

It’s time for car manufacturers to give an excuse to raise prices.

• ahmadazzaki on Nov 30, 2016 at 2:21 am

Once esc is mandatory,hopefully side and curtain airbag will be mandatory

• They know ‘x, y, and z’ are popular brands of cars without ESC, so they make it mandatory-by-law to have ESC.
    Coincidentally ‘g’ brands already have ESC as ‘standards’, so they could expect sales boosts.

• passion on Nov 30, 2016 at 8:57 am

finally. thank you.

• “all new vehicles”…erm….datuk…does it means including buses, lorries, tractors etc? how about bikes?

• david on Nov 30, 2016 at 9:21 am

ertiga is in odd position. newly launched proton but no esc. and perhaps its not possible to fit one due to agreement with suzuki

• hullikane on Nov 30, 2016 at 10:41 am

even my keyboard is equipped with ESC

• Ahmad on Nov 30, 2016 at 2:40 pm

What class of the vehicle should be install…??? It good to mandatory first for vehicle according to their class especially public and 5kg above

• The good news is bad news on Nov 30, 2016 at 6:25 pm

After so many donkey years, after many lives lost, property damaged, hundred of million ringgit wasted, endless suffers of road accident victims……then the Govt wanted to do stability control mandatory….

Wait…..

only to be enforced in 2018.

If this is not sickening news, what is then?

• 4wheeler on Nov 30, 2016 at 9:25 pm

That is if it is enforce in 2018 becos usually they (Gov/Minister) will defer the date & give tons of excuses later..mmmmm

• ESC Campaigner on Dec 01, 2016 at 6:14 am

I actually laud the government’s decision to make ESC mandatory in all new cars, as this also means even a base spec vehicle will have ABS and ESC too, since ESC is a value added function of the ABS system. But why 2018? Its better by next year all cars have it!

• sslee on Apr 20, 2018 at 11:53 pm

nobody mentioned it anymore, a lot of car still not complying with due date 2 months from now

• Sam Loo on Apr 23, 2018 at 6:16 pm

Nearing to June 2018, does this means all the cars without ESC cannot be sold anymore?

Avanza, Polo, Vento (except HL), Jazz S spec, Axia, Alza, Saga (non high spec), Inspira, etc etc…

• ESC When? on Jun 04, 2018 at 4:40 pm

Its already June 2018, we need the media to start asking the new Transport Minister regarding this matter, he might scrapped this plan for all we know :(

• Its end of 2018, P2 still selling axia E without ABS