Carlos Ghosn sues Nissan in Lebanon for USD1 billion – alleges defamation, slander, evidence fabrication

According to a report by Reuters, Carlos Ghosn is suing Nissan and other parties for around USD1 billion (RM4.65 billion). The lawsuit was filed in Lebanon and includes allegation of allegations of defamation, slander, libel and the fabrication of material evidence by the Japanese carmaker, two other firms as well as 12 individuals.

“We have a long battle in front of us. We are going to fight it to the end,” Ghosn told the news outlet. His lawsuit is seeking USD588 million (about RM2.7 billion) in lost remuneration and another USD500 million (about RM2.3 billion) in moral damage. “What I am asking for is only a little compensation compared to what they’ve done to me,” he added.

Ghosn was previously chairman of Nissan as well as Renault and Mitsubishi prior to his arrest in Japan in late 2018, where he was charged with under-reporting earnings, breach of trust and misappropriation of company funds.

He denied the charges and claimed his detention was part of a conspiracy against him by Nissan. While awaiting trial, Ghosn fled Japan in December 2019, revealing in an interview with the BBC in 2021 that he did so with the help of two individuals that hid him in a large music equipment box – the story of his escape was featured in a few documentaries on Ghosn’s life.

The legal dispute between Ghosn and the Renault-Nissan-Mitsubishi Alliance has been ongoing for a while, with several lawsuits being filed against each other since the former’s dismissal. When asked if his latest legal action would expand to include Renault, Ghosn said his focus was currently on Nissan. “I’m not precluding anything for the future. Today we are concentrating on the Nissan plot,” he said.

“It’s a large company and they have assets everywhere and you can go after their assets anywhere, so this is not a joke. I hope they are going to provision this amount of money and I hope they are going to talk to their shareholders about what is happening and why this is happening,” he added.

Ghosn holds French, Lebanese and Brazilian citizenships but has not left Lebanon since 2019 because of an Interpol Red Notice issued by Japan. “I’m stuck here. I cannot make a complaint of this size in another country,” he commented.

His lawsuit alleges that “the sanctity of a residence” had been violated and says crimes were committed in Lebanon, Japan, France, Brazil, the United States and the Netherlands. “I have the intention to get my rights back, to repair my reputation. I am going to dedicate all the time necessary for the truth to prevail,” he noted.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Japan conspiracy: How to get rid off the foreigner CEO that help revived Nissan and take over back by local CEO.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
    • Western Star on Jun 21, 2023 at 3:45 pm

Like all good comeback stories, he should write a Hollywood script.

• Peppa on Jun 21, 2023 at 5:00 pm

How so? Look at all the nissan product during his reign. None of them are interesting nor appealing. He is playing the victim. Stop dickriding him

• DonkeyKong on Jun 21, 2023 at 12:18 pm

Clearly the problem lies with the feudalistic and xenophobic Japanese. Another high-ranking executive of non-Japanese ethnicity has just left the Alliance as well. You can actually see this lousy Japanese corporate culture even within the Japanese MNCs in Malaysia where seniority and relationship with the boss takes precedence over merits and results.

• Look what happen to Nissan & Mitsu after he left, on a doward spiral into oblivion.

• stasta on Jun 24, 2023 at 12:25 am

sounds like the ketuanan bumi concept in Malaysian

• He saved it, brought it back to prosperity from the brink of collapse, made it profitable in a short timeframe, improved its image around the world, it was going to have bright future under him, only to get backstabbed and pulled down by others. This is the thanks he gets after all that effort and hardwork.

Yep, just like a certain bossku. Gud leaders become unappreciated, while sycophant and joker leaders thrives. Under bossku RM naik 2.5 to USD, but today is 4.65, rakyat tengah menderita while a certain PM gembira but not long. Time to bring back the good prosperity & strong Msia days of bossku, time to bring back bossku!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 19
    • You must be on crack, look at all the nissan product during his reign. None of them are interesting nor appealing. He is playing the victim

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
      • Roger on Jun 21, 2023 at 6:26 pm

You’re wrong. He knew the importance of sports car for brand image. Sports car like 350Z, 370Z, GTR, A110, Megane RS were under his time. Check your facts.

• Those products are incompetent against rivals stupid. Check your mental health first

• What rivals stupid. They were all left in the dust. Look at the pisspoor cars from Nissan that came after him.

• basherlogic on Jun 21, 2023 at 7:52 pm

Bossku stole your money, you really want him back ke? classic john, never change

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
      • Bossku stole our money but gave us prosperity & jobs. Bang Non stole our money but gave us more suffering.
        Bring back bossku better lar.

• stasta on Jun 24, 2023 at 1:28 am

USD 4.6 now is the repercussions from 1mdb debts fiasco. bad effects doesn’t happen immediately you know

• ROTI CANAI on Jun 21, 2023 at 5:48 pm

this guy has no shame

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
    • Peppa on Jun 21, 2023 at 7:29 pm

He has white peoples army protecting him. What did you expect?

• Markus Toh on Jun 21, 2023 at 6:32 pm

I love Bossku I don’t care how many hand bag his wife buy just make our currency better. Don’t trust DAPur one bit they are just accelerating the great reset .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
  • give the guy USD1 lah… for all the trouble of escaping custody in Japan

• yusrykru on Jun 23, 2023 at 10:48 am

17 years till forever, they still flogging that GTR from Ghosn era, anak dah boleh drive

• stasta on Jun 24, 2023 at 12:09 pm

no better car model to offer , because to develop a great car like gtr required a great leader like ghosn