What is a catalytic converter and why are thieves stealing them from cars parked at LRT/MRT stations?

Some of you might be aware of thieves stealing catalytic converters in Malaysia, something that has been happening with increasing frequency lately. The catalytic converter is part of a car’s exhaust system, and thieves have been targeting cars parked at LRT/MRT stations to steal them. Each catalytic converter is worth anything from RM500 to RM2,500. Thankfully, police have managed to catch two men involved in various catalytic converters thefts in the Klang Valley. But we don’t know if this is the end.

What is a catalytic converter and why is it so valuable? A catalytic converter is a device used in the exhaust system of vehicles to reduce harmful emissions. It contains a matrix of materials coated with certain catalysts (like platinum, palladium, and rhodium) that promote chemical reactions converting harmful compounds into less harmful ones.

Specifically, it converts carbon monoxide (a poisonous gas) into carbon dioxide, nitrogen oxides (which contribute to smog and acid rain) into nitrogen and oxygen, and unburned hydrocarbons (which contribute to smog) into carbon dioxide and water.

What is a catalytic converter and why are thieves stealing them from cars parked at LRT/MRT stations?

The catalytic converter was first introduced in the United States market in the 1975 model year to comply with tightening regulations on auto exhaust emissions. It was developed in response to the U.S. Clean Air Act of 1970, which set standards to reduce pollutants released by passenger vehicles.

After its introduction in the United States, the use of catalytic converters spread gradually worldwide, driven by tightening emission standards in various countries. However, the pace of adoption varied significantly depending on the region.

In Europe, for example, catalytic converters didn’t become widespread until the late 1980s and early 1990s, as leaded petrol, which is incompatible with catalytic converters, was still commonly used. In other parts of the world, the adoption of catalytic converters came even later.

Unleaded petrol was introduced in Malaysia in the year 1994. We later fully phased out leaded petrol in 1999, which allowed for the use of catalytic converters in vehicles without the issue of the lead in the fuel deactivating the catalyst.

Leaded petrol is incompatible with catalytic converters because the lead in the fuel can coat the catalyst materials. This coating essentially “poisons” the catalyst and prevents it from facilitating the chemical reactions that reduce harmful emissions.

The lead interferes with the catalyst’s ability to promote reactions that convert carbon monoxide into carbon dioxide, nitrogen oxides into nitrogen and oxygen, and unburned hydrocarbons into carbon dioxide and water. That’s why the introduction of unleaded petrol was a crucial step in the widespread adoption of catalytic converters in vehicles.

Anyway, due to their high value and increasing prices for these metals, thieves can sell stolen catalytic converters to scrap metal dealers. Removing a catalytic converter from the underside of a car can be relatively quick, especially for experienced thieves, making it an attractive target.

Harvinder Sidhu

Harvinder Singh Sidhu thinks there's nothing better than Formula 1, not even sliced bread. Having written about cars since 2006, he plunged head first into the industry out of a passion for all things four-wheeled and everything in between. The F1 enthusiast has been following the sport since 1999 and has been keeping up with it since. In between races he keeps himself busy as the host of the Driven motoring show and as our version of the Joker.

• Susukotak on Jun 24, 2023 at 7:46 pm

How to prevent it? Anyway to lock it or cover it?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 197 Thumb down 1
  • Bieight8 on Jun 24, 2023 at 8:18 pm

Drive EV and no need to worry about thieves

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 22
    • SmartConsumer on Jun 25, 2023 at 9:04 am

You’re absolutely right. EV is the best. No oil leak, no coolant leak, no damage piston, no need oil change, no need gasket change, no need timing belt change, no need O2 sensor and macam macam sensor problem………… ICE cars are money pits and make mechanic rich

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 26
      • EV for Rich People ONLY! on Jun 25, 2023 at 12:25 pm

When no electricity, EV become a piece of junk!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 8
        • msacras on Jun 25, 2023 at 3:07 pm

Without fossil fuels, ICE cars are also junk.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 11
        • bodohland on Jun 26, 2023 at 9:31 am

if no electricity, not just EV cant move la bangang. Even your phone, laptop, PC, LRT, trains, traffic lights also dont work.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 6
        • Muhammad on Jun 29, 2023 at 5:04 pm

When no electricity petrol stations also cannot pump. What’s the difference?

• Zakaria on Jun 25, 2023 at 2:37 pm

when think of changing the battery i want to throw the battery car already.

even a Tire for a kimchi EV can cost RM 8000++ 1 set?
        that’s a crazy cost for every ave. 2 years of running.

8 years gonna burn 4 sets or RM32,000+ just for rubbers, not yet including brake pump, brake disc and absorber which suffering more due to overweight pressure by half tonne of battery.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
        • msacras on Jun 25, 2023 at 8:12 pm

EVs have regenerative braking and thus their physical brakes are not as stressed as the ones on ICE cars.

• Ahmadi on Jun 26, 2023 at 6:44 am

So how EV stop or slow down the car compare to ICE car?

• msacras on Jun 26, 2023 at 1:45 pm

Ahmadi, if u r able to visit & post a comment over here at paultan.org, u must surely know how to google (or use any other internet search engine) for ‘EV regenerative braking’.

• Muhammad on Jun 29, 2023 at 5:10 pm

Electric car batteries now last at least 20 yrs. Can throw away the car and keep the battery for the next car. Still alot of outdated battery info propagated by the god forsaken oil bastards.

• U can do some of it on yourself such as changing oil, filter, air filter, who knows u can improve your car by tweaking some simple parameter such as hp or torque and improve the way u drive

• Goon Wui Yeang on Jun 25, 2023 at 2:06 am

Is the article reviewed by an editor? Is it necessary to repeat the names of the metals and the compounds they convert/chemical reaction twice in such a short article?

• ERIKO on Jun 25, 2023 at 9:01 am

After all the hard work catching the thieves, the PDRM decides to announce in public letting everyone knows how valuable catalytic converters is so more people will become thieves and steal them. Great intelligence level. Lol. Some people are born stupid

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 42
    • msacras on Jun 25, 2023 at 11:36 am

Similarly they shouldn’t have publicised the modus operandi of various scam syndicates. Now crooks everywhere know how to do it, resulting in more scam cases.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 7
    • R u 1 of the thieves? Afraid of competition? Better to inform the public so that they can take steps to protect their cars from cat theft.

• Calvin on Jun 25, 2023 at 4:16 pm

this one can claim car insurance? any effect to NCD?

• Madam on Jun 25, 2023 at 6:44 pm

if accident due to self careless driving can burn NCD,

why a theft not due to self careless, need to burn NCD?

• Anonymous on Jun 26, 2023 at 2:21 am

Did they really just noticed this issues from the USA??

• Konto on Jun 26, 2023 at 7:40 am

Guard rails, road signages, electrical cable etc and now car exhaust.. Actually the real culprit as always again.. the scrap metal dealers but who really take them to task?

• Takumi on Jun 26, 2023 at 9:30 am

there are idiots who, on purpose, remove their cat converters. They think it will turn their cars into sports-racing breed. Dream on.

• IamVictim on Jun 26, 2023 at 9:50 am

I am one of the victim too of my car cat got stolen in a secure parking at a suburb mall recently. As usual, the mall washed their hand off and dont even allow to view the cctv unless you come with a police report.

Anyway, the rampant stealing of such catalytic converters is due to the lucrative recycling agents is paying this scumbags. Please go check out ECOTRADE Malaysia (can search via google map or their facebook). This company is buying used catalytic converters and i am surprised all this scumbags who stole it sold to them.

Our enforcement agencies should investigate such companies.

• Gomorrah on Jun 27, 2023 at 3:37 pm

I suggest you get legal advice because precedent has already been set in Malaysia with respect to parking lots and disclaimers of responsibility. See https://www.freemalaysiatoday.com/category/nation/2020/12/07/landmark-decision-brings-hope-to-owners-of-vehicles-stolen-at-car-parks/

• Ecar Mafia on Jun 26, 2023 at 6:19 pm

its terrifying to know that this happens in the cover car park with CCTV security. I am no longer going to reverse park at least then people walking by can see these “baskets” under the car.

• Engr Kamtu on Jun 28, 2023 at 1:22 pm

The information is quite resourceful. Gives knowledgeable analysis on the catalytic converter and a good understanding of the harm unleaded petrol does to the converter.
    My question, those the converter help to reduce fuel consumption as asserted by mechanics?
    Thank you

• Famasu owolabi on Jun 29, 2023 at 2:55 pm

I love this car, I want to buy one, please can you send perodua Myvi 2019 to Lagos

• Anthony on Jun 29, 2023 at 7:05 pm

Please what are they using it for when the steal it because many times the steal my from my car.please I need answer thanks

• Dayo Olusanya on Jun 30, 2023 at 12:22 pm

Does catalytic converter reduces fuel consumption?

• Betnovate on Jun 30, 2023 at 12:51 pm

Sell your old catalyctic converter. Good money

• Owusu nyarko Stephen on Jun 30, 2023 at 2:18 pm

it’s rather unfortunate wicked people don’t want the world to free from pollution that can cause several illness, the authority should do everything possible to stop the stealing.