MTUC asks gov’t to overhaul procedures for driving licence tests, making it more affordable for B40 group

A trade union has called on the government to overhaul the procedures needed to obtain a driving licence in the country, especially the costs involved in getting one, which it says is a burden on the B40 group.

The Malaysian Trades Union Congress (MTUC) said the fee to get a Class D licence costs between RM1,200 to RM2,300, and this was too high for the lower income group. It added that the cost does not commensurate with the service provided, as the New Straits Times reports.

In a statement, MTUC said that certain fee penalties should be scrapped. Citing an example, it said candidates have to pay RM100 for being absent from the road transport department (JPJ) driving test although they have valid reasons for missing the test. In another example, it said that a colour blind student sitting for the computer test, which includes a colour blindness test, would fail the test, and would then need to pay extra to sit for another special test.

“This double payment on the grounds that the booking with the JPJ has been made is nonsense and the institution is driving to seek profit in the wrong way. The pay-for-all error policy should be discontinued. The driving institution should not hold back the L licence if the student failed to pay the course fee,” the trade union said.

“The absence of a flow chart for customer reference makes it difficult to understand the driving institute’s standard operating procedure. Discrimination and payment fraud will easily occur and corruption will permeate the affairs of driving institutions,” it added.

As part of the overhaul, MTUC suggested that computer and driving tests be fully managed by JPJ while the driving institution is only limited to be a training provider, and urged the department to develop a system to reduce the involvement of driving institutions. It said this would reduce the red tape and also greatly lower the cost needed to obtain a driving licence.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• My honest opinion: if you’re priced out of something, it’s because you shouldn’t be able to afford it. Our country is too reliant on private transportation and not many are willing to take public transportation because they complain that it’s inefficient. Authorities also have no real incentive to improve public transportation because lots of people don’t actually take them outside of the LRT/MRTs, so it’s a chicken-and-egg problem.

• Walker on Jul 10, 2023 at 12:01 pm

They completely failed on promoting the public transport. They should make public transportation easy & accessible to even kids. They should also promote on HOW! to access public transportations. I was once had no Idea how to use public transport, ended up costing me a lot of time and money wasted just to learn various transport modes. There’s no way kids under 18 could learn all that without someone experienced accompanying them. Safe to say, as of now it’s still inconvenience until you reach one of LRT MRT station. Cities in MY develop infra for cars instead of pedestrian friendly city, also doesn’t help at all.

• NajibNazam on Jul 10, 2023 at 1:30 pm

this is the issue with people living in klang valley their whole life. brader malaysia is not just klang valley, public transport pretty much dont exist outside of the main city for other states, driving license cost is a country wide issue.

• Walker on Jul 10, 2023 at 5:27 pm

Brader, I’m living some 200km away from KV but I do know public transport in Malaysia is the best within KL city centre, then what that make other cities? Even worse! Yet you don’t see this as an issue. You want all those cities throughout Malaysia also develop into a city for cars, pedestrian have to walk alongside cars for less than 200m destinations.

• Yeahsure on Jul 10, 2023 at 11:48 am

B40 this, b40 that… They keep being played by politicians, and they still fall for it…this is a non issue.. Its trival.. Instead of funding enforcement of the law of motorists and specially bikes to maintain law and order, lets focus on something hardly anyone asked for

• NajibNazam on Jul 10, 2023 at 1:36 pm

i think they can kill two birds with one stone on this one. make it cheaper and improve road safety through new, more updated module. also takes out corruption and let only really qualified drivers/riders on the road. i think a lot can be gained by improving current system.

• Sohai on Jul 10, 2023 at 1:46 pm

“Not to worry, I have instructed the authorities to set up another task force to study the problem and propose some solutions….”

-Ah Loke-

• Ben Yap on Jul 10, 2023 at 1:55 pm

if B40 also cannot afford driving license, then they should just stick to their motorbike license. their status is just a bike, not a car.

• kckfen on Jul 10, 2023 at 2:03 pm

The title should be scrap all unnecessary fees for all, not just B40…… everything B40, B40, B40… are we a communist country? ( nanti marah pulak )

• sohail on Jul 10, 2023 at 3:12 pm

SPM grad, siapala bukan B40?
    SPM’s parents already suffer from further education, monthly expenses etc.

B40 refer to household income,
    noob are exploiting it.

• B40:
    less tax = subsidy
    cash voucher = subsidy
    lower TNB Bill rate due to lower usage = subsidy
    petrol = subsidy

who much subsidy has been given to B40?

all are meaningless,
    might as well flat rate to all, then give cash back to B40 then you can count, you can see. no job pun ada cash.

• call me by your name on Jul 10, 2023 at 6:55 pm

sorry to whom should i sell my car?

• It’s not my fault I was born poor but it’s my fault if I die poor

• Sohai on Jul 11, 2023 at 9:39 am

Overhauling the whole procedure of getting a license is a way to clear the backlog issue that jpj is currently facing.

• Junkies otr on Jul 11, 2023 at 1:43 pm

Can’t afford driving test fee but can afford to buy car. Bullsh!+

• Ummmm.. if taking license is pricey, cars are even more pricey no?

• DZULKARNAIN on Jul 14, 2023 at 6:09 pm

Saya sokong idea MTUC… Bayaran yang dikenakan tidak masuk akal. Kalau gagal satu bahagian bayaran yang dikenakan terlalu mahal RM100. Kemudian kenderaan dan motorsikal yang DISEDIAKAN pun sudah uzur. Lebih baik bayar Saman TIADA lesen daripada ambil lesen. Harap JPJ dapat mengkaji semula bayaran ini.