It’s ok to use phone on holder while driving – PDRM

Motorists would not be breaking the law if they use hands-free kits or phone holders when operating the touch screen of a smartphone to make or receive phone calls, The Star has reported.

The report cites Rule 17A of the Road Traffic Rules 1959 as saying that it is an offence to use a cellphone while driving a vehicle unless it is with a a hands-free kit or phone holder, and as such, it is permissible to swipe and touch the screen of a cellphone that is mounted in a car with a holder.

According to federal police traffic investigation and enforcement department (JSPT) director, commissioner Datuk Seri Mat Kasim Karim, the law is clear on the matter that no motorist should be holding a cellphone when a car is in motion or even when at a standstill during traffic jams or at traffic lights.

“Using cellphones without a holder during such situations would mean diverting their attention away from the road. This can pose a danger and inconvenience when a driver is required to resume driving when traffic starts moving again,” the JSPT director told The Star.

Instances of accidentally dropping a phone on the vehicle floor and attempting to retrieve it while driving can also lead to the driver losing control of their vehicle, Mat Kasim added. In the absence of a phone holder or hands-free kit, motorists may only only their phones by stopping their vehicles in a parking lot, and reminded motorists that stopping in an emergency lane without a valid reason is an offence.

When asked if the use of smartwatches while driving is allowed, Mat Kasim said this is permitted as smartwatches are not considered hand-held devices.

In 2020, the police announced that using a cellphone without the aid of a holder or hands-free kit while driving was no longer just a compoundable offence, and instead the offenders issued with summonses for the offence would be brought to court, and could face a fine of up to RM1,000 or imprisonment of up to three months, and the penalties are doubled for repeat offenders.

There is ample research that finds cellphone usage while driving can lead to accidents, said Universiti Putra Malaysia (UPM) associate professor Law Teik Hu. “Drivers who are partially focused on the road has only a 50% ability to spot oncoming hazards and a 50% ability to react to avert the danger,” Law said.

“This declines further if a driver is texting with his cellphone, even at low speeds. Motorcyclists, especially ehailing riders who often use their cellphones while riding their machines, are at higher risk of an accident,” he added.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Bob Mal on Jul 18, 2023 at 4:58 pm

It defies logic how does a smart watch with scrolling through the crown be any safer than your touch screen smartphone especially the watch screen is far smaller and need more focusing for continuous reading.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
  • Why suddenly allow? Ada VIP kena ka?

• Dildo on Jul 18, 2023 at 7:18 pm

Am I considered a hand-held device and am I safe to be used while driving?

• Sohai on Jul 19, 2023 at 8:26 am

P2 can you give us a phone holder designed on the dash if you can’t give us android auto…? On top of your Teh Tarik hook and smart tag reader to make it more Malaysian

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
  • It’s never okay to use your phone WHILE DRIVING, your absolute focus should be on the road. They’re condoning the wrong message.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
  • Lost the plot on Jul 19, 2023 at 4:51 pm

The original issue was is an offence using phone while waiting at trafic lights STOP

Then some high IQ ktards begins to think using phone while driving, ktards whose IQ is no higher than the chair they are sitting On.

• Old grabber on Jul 19, 2023 at 6:17 pm

Ok for using map or read messages. Some bastard use to watch drama or YouTube blocking car behind creating phantom jammed.

• Frankc on Jul 19, 2023 at 7:16 pm

Go buy hp holder!!!

• Bro, I’ve seen people hogging highway middle lane with a hand holding and scrolling the phone and another hand on the steering wheel, swaying in and out of his lane at 70kph.

• Bob Mal on Jul 20, 2023 at 1:32 pm

Nice Malaysian style. I have also seen people at the traffic light with one hand answering the phone call & the other hand on the cigarettes all while driving a manual car – that’s quite legendary to do all that from a standstill.

• Laugh on Jul 20, 2023 at 9:39 am

Real Stupid.

All mobile phones already comes with build in loudspeakers to take and answer calls.
    They even have voice answering option without the need to touch the phone at all.

As myself, I always put my phone to call out the name of the caller and I answers my phone by using my voice.
    No use any phone holder.
    So I also kena saman?

Stupid new rule.

• Nonong on Jul 21, 2023 at 11:53 pm

Kamu faham ke tak apa yg diberitahu..sebenarnya kamu yang bodoh betul sebab fahaman kamu nampak sangat kebodohannya..

• Press phone on phone holder can but press phone while holding cannot? What is the logic?

• Mike Tee on Jul 20, 2023 at 2:19 pm

I still have many friends driving <3 year old cars who either refuses to or don't know how to pair their phones to Bluetooth.

Worst are the ones who place their phones on their laps to navigate, even worse are those whose car has ACP or AA and still places their phones on their laps to navigate.

SMH

• That mean u also cannot touchscreen yr car ori player. While driving.