Audi, China’s SAIC partnership confirmed – new EV models to use IM Motors platform; China debut 2025

Audi Activesphere concept

Chinese carmaker SAIC has confirmed its partnership with Audi for upcoming EV projects, Car Expert has reported.

“All stakeholders agree that the Chinese auto market is in the midst of the biggest transformation in its history, therefore we will jointly work on a strategic approach that guarantees our future success,” SAIC told Automotive News in a statement.

Last week, Reuters that Audi has been in talks to purchase an EV platform from SAIC, namely the platform owned by IM Motors which is a joint venture between SAIC Motor and Chinese technology companies Zhangjiang Hi-Tech and Alibaba Group.

Audi grandsphere (left) and urbansphere (right) concepts

Audi is reportedly looking to partners outside the Volkswagen Group as there are delays sustained in the development of the Scalable Systems Platform (SSP), though it remained unclear if these models developed on the IM Motors platform would be destined for global markets or be confined to China, Car Expert wrote.

In China, Audi EV sales have been weak compared to its competitors, as data from the China Association of Automobile Manufacturers (CAAM) show Audi sold just over 3,000 EVs in the first quarter in China, compared to BMW which sold 21,646 units, and Tesla sold 137,429 units.

The IM Motors platform will be used by Audi for a brace of EV models based on the German brand’s activesphere, skysphere, urbanpshere and grandsphere concept vehicles.

Audi skysphere concept

Upcoming EVs on the SAIC-developed platform in the pipeline include the IM Motor L7 sedan and LS7 SUV, which have been said to be scheduled for launch in China in 2025 badged as MG models. These have been said to be offered with single-motor RWD or dual-motor AWD powertrains, the latter boasting up to 577 PS and 725 Nm of torque.

The L7 packs a 90 kWh lithium-ion battery while the LS7 has a slightly larger 100 kWh battery pack, while claimed battery range on the CLTC testing protocol is claimed to be 675 km and 660 km, respectively.

The L7 sedan has been revealed to measure 5098mm long, 1960mm wide and 1485mm tall, while the LS7 measures 5049mm long, 2002mm wide, and 1731mm tall, with the SUV weighing a claimed 2,630 kg according to Car Expert.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Chennai on Jul 21, 2023 at 2:44 pm

alamak, now come the milestone Continental Western Audi celup/rebadging SAIC’s sub luxury brand – IM / 智己汽车

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/IM_Motors

reversed invasion,
    now the hoohaoo ongoing is that, when Mercedes Benz and BMW want to follow?

• MASAMI on Jul 21, 2023 at 3:12 pm

The world knows China is the best in manufacturing. From junks to super high quality luxury items, China can manufacture depends on your budget. Audi, BMW and all big companies knows it that is why they keep going back to china. Some tried to move to India but the quality of workers and the whole country there is so bad that most will bankrupt when they relocate to India. Not looking down on India but facts is facts. I think its the difference in the government. The chinese gov teach their people to work hard and respect each other irregardless of religion but in India, the government promotes hate and corruption.

• Tom Lu on Jul 21, 2023 at 10:43 pm

What a hate infested person you are Mr! India is much better than what you said. Your understanding of marker economics is zero!! Better focus that hate you have for India on your country’ s improvement.

• MASAMI on Jul 22, 2023 at 9:07 am

No one is hating India unless you think speaking the truth is a hate speech. If you want to know what hate really is (spreading lies to defame others), go watch indian news channel. After doing that, go watch news channel from China, singapore etc.You will see a big difference between bad and good people

• hazri on Jul 21, 2023 at 5:43 pm

audi design so elegant. you will disappointed with audi design.

• ERIKO on Jul 22, 2023 at 1:05 pm

Your english is left to be desired. No one can understand your poor thought execution.

• President Xi on Jul 22, 2023 at 7:27 am

China number one!

• German design with Chinese engineering on Jul 22, 2023 at 1:05 pm

Best of both worlds