PDRM launches nationwide Op Pematuhan Peraturan Lalu Lintas – traffic lights, illegal parking, no plate

PDRM launches nationwide <em>Op Pematuhan Peraturan Lalu Lintas</em> – traffic lights, illegal parking, no plate

PDRM’s traffic investigation and enforcement department (JSPT) will be cracking down on traffic offences via the Op Pematuhan Peraturan Lalu Lintas, a nationwide enforcement campaign.

The Op Pematuhan Peraturan Lalu Lintas will include Op Lampu Isyarat Merah (traffic lights), Op Nombor Pendaftaran (number plates), Op Halangan Lalu Lintas (obstruction), Op Garisan Putih (white lines at traffic lights or junctions), Op Parkir Haram (illegal parking) and Kempen Op Didik (education).

JSPT deputy director Datuk Mohd Nasri Omar said that the campaign will see constant enforcement in every contingent and district with more focus on areas where the accident rate is high, or where offences frequently occur.

This sounds like a nationwide version of KL police’s Op Hormat Undang-Undang Jalan Raya, which started on July 3 in collaboration with JPJ, DBKL and the department of environment (DOE). It has been successful – over 117,000 saman have been issued, with around 83% of them for offences related to traffic obstruction.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Ruslan Bahari on Jul 31, 2023 at 1:21 pm

It’s the perennial question: why do you need an “ops”? The law is there, and all it needs is an implementation.

Your ops should be daily. When you see a Ferrari or Lamborghini or even a Perodua that uses plate numbers that are not as specified, flag it down. That’s how you teach the public to “hormat” peraturan.

And stop the discounts which effectively encourages offenders to not pay the fines immediately (and impacting government revenue).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
    • Civic Turbo 2018 on Jul 31, 2023 at 3:47 pm

Near my area, police ignored those cars parking near the bus station that going to the banks; they only interested “cari-makan” from illegal U-turn

• Laugh#PDRM on Jul 31, 2023 at 8:50 pm

Yes you are right.. PDRM just wake up after so many year…need do the it right

• Besi Busuk on Jul 31, 2023 at 2:03 pm

The rest are ok but before PDRM launch ops Op Halangan Lalu Lintas and ops and Op Parkir Haram, perhaps they wanna ask someone to launch Op extra parking space or Op better public buses.

• hopefully it’s a constant thing… and not hangat2 tahi ayam only

• seancorr on Jul 31, 2023 at 2:34 pm

Should launch Ops PDRM Sila Buat Kerja Anda that goes on infinitely

• FrankC on Jul 31, 2023 at 9:25 pm

this article is to warn you of upcoming ops. macam preview sebelum filem baru ditayangkan… bersedialah.. he he

• t333son on Jul 31, 2023 at 5:04 pm

Do worry serial offenders, just wait for Discount season

• Men in blue on Jul 31, 2023 at 8:05 pm

Ops is when they’re working otherwise it’s mengeteh kat kantin or tidur dalam radio car parking tempat teduh

• I don’t think it’s “no plate’ like stated in your title. Probably illegal number plates, like those with weird “mahjong” style fonts.

Tbh, while I’ve seen plenty of these illegal plates, I don’t think I’ve ever noticed a car with no plates at all, at least not where live.

Slightly off topic, but is there any guide available to show us what number plate font is approved and what isn’t?