KL police to run massive operation targeting illegal number plates, window tinting and mods from July 1

Kuala Lumpur police recently announced it will be conducting a massive integrated operation to curb various traffic offences. Dubbed ‘Operasi Hormat Undang-undang Jalan Raya’, the operation will start from July 1 and will be conducted in collaboration with other enforcement agencies such as the road transport department (JPJ), Kuala Lumpur City Hall (DBKL) and department of environment (DOE).

The operation will involve about 1,000 officers and police personnel, with illegal parking, obstruction of traffic, running red lights, illegal number plates, illegal tinting and offences related to motorcycles being targeted. Errant road users would also be educated on the dangers of not obeying traffic rules under Op Didik.

Additionally, the police will perform background checks for arrest warrants and criminal records as well as detect stolen vehicles. Action will also be taken against workshops conducting illegal modifications on vehicles.

The Kuala Lumpur Narcotics Criminal Investigation Department will also be involved to act on drug-related cases throughout the operation. “The operation is to discipline, educate and advise road users to obey all traffic rules as well as the rules of the other enforcement agencies involved,” said KL police chief Datuk Mohd Shuhaily Mohd Zin in a report by Bernama

For the record, 895 investigation papers for traffic offences were initiated from January to May this year, with the highest number of offences being obstruction of traffic (including illegal parking) at 311 cases, followed by 180 cases of illegal racing and 167 cases of running red lights.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Mod bikes, cheap mod cars & mat rempits… kasi tangkap!
    Annoying luxury mod cars… teruskan tuan

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 6
    • Albert on Jun 28, 2023 at 7:11 pm

They should start in Putra Jaya for the No Plates . Followed by the Parliament car park.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 0
      • Firdaus on Jun 29, 2023 at 11:59 am

Correcto. Operasi in kedah & kelantan 2

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
      • Dah Menang Semua on Jun 29, 2023 at 12:14 pm

Original front windscreen
        transparency already 70-80%

Can dark-tinted look-out clearly at night? Is just asking for trouble at night on a road without lamp post, cyclist or pedestrian road crossing, bikers/cars did not turn on the lights

• JakePui on Jun 29, 2023 at 6:50 pm

Can go down to 50% no issue. 50% rule currently for the side windows already. They should lower the front windscreen to 50% also. 70% still allows too much heat in, even if you’re using top spec V-kool or Llumar. Below 50% then might have problem in dark places.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
          • Jasonx on Jun 30, 2023 at 9:27 am

Wow… You are expert? LoL

• stasta on Jul 01, 2023 at 10:56 am

government should ban dark tinted cars from driving after 7pm. dark tint greatly reduces visibility on low light conditions

• Why so susah, just close All mods/accessories shop, stop imports things related to that. Do other businesses more benefit to people. Same as drugs-sell, own and use it is illegal.

• Yes. Make the announcement so that perpetrators can avoid going there.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 4
    • Can I advice u something..from Fat Mama on Jun 28, 2023 at 6:42 pm

The next time the bandits want to rob u,they will announce in social media a week in advance.
      So,in the end,those who r caught r the bodoh or very loaded lot who cant be bothered with warnings.Perhaps,they think by Christmas,there will be yearend 70-80% rebates on samans.
      It should be like a massive dadah,unannounced operasi,where officers handphones r prohibited.
      So,in the final analysis..the hardcore offenders will go into temporary hiding from July 1.
      Just unimaginable insanity.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
  • haha…
    meanwhile motobodo … lepaskan…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
  • Ben Yap on Jun 28, 2023 at 4:58 pm

those install disco lights in their cars also kasi tangkap.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
  • jerry on Jun 28, 2023 at 5:05 pm

why always operation. i thought this suppose to check all the time.

after operation just change back fancy design, is it ok?

all this tinted/ number plate and mod should take action all the time, not during operation only.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 2
    • VVIP immunity on Jun 28, 2023 at 7:16 pm

dare to setup operation checking at Pavilion area and Bangsar Telawi or BSC area?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
  • good

• Dominic on Jun 28, 2023 at 5:22 pm

Issue saman but nobody pays because they waiting for discount. Then police bend backwards and give 80% discount. So what’s the point?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 5
    • Madani Style of Enforcement on Jun 28, 2023 at 6:46 pm

One more loophole announced.
      KL POlice,with DBKL n JPJ.
      So July 1,try elak KL.If can ,go Selangor .

• Gomorrah on Jun 28, 2023 at 7:13 pm

Bingo. Kalau kena tangkap, bayar on the spot. Kalau takde wang, kena tunda dan taruk dalam impaun. Habis cerita.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
    • Hantu on Jun 28, 2023 at 7:32 pm

Make money

• Phuddi sung lee on Jun 28, 2023 at 8:34 pm

Make us always stupid but in reality its make money programme for miskeen civil servants (al knw what I mean)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
  • Matti on Jun 28, 2023 at 6:28 pm

Probably gonna get downvoted, but my front windscreen tint is not JPJ compliant. Rest of the car is. 70% VLT for front simply doesn’t work for our region’s UV index, since the actual visible light spectrum still transports most of the heat we feel. IRR and UVR ratings only go so far (even for the most branded films) if the VLT remains too high. Authorities need to revise ruling for front windscreen, at least make it 50% VLT. Asking me to obey rules is one thing, but expecting me to die from the sun is another story.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 27
    • ddeck on Jun 29, 2023 at 6:13 pm

u shud go back to pluto then, earth is not suitable for u lmao

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 11
    • u shud go back to pluto, earth is not suitable for u.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
      • Matti on Jun 30, 2023 at 12:46 pm

How nice of you, having a driver, sitting in the back seat with no limits on VLT. Meanwhile the working class people like me need to drive 6 hours a day with blazing heat coming through the front windscreen.

• stasta on Jul 01, 2023 at 11:01 am

are iyou a eskimo? if you can’t even stand the heat with the air con and vkool, how do you think construction labourers feel under the sun?

if I’m the government i will let you tint front 50%, but BAN you from driving your car between 7pm to 6am because the dark tint reduces visibility at night. ok or not?

• Saman all they want, no worries, hefty discount incoming.

• the driver on Jun 28, 2023 at 8:21 pm

Illegal tinting? Too late, about 70% of cars on the road have illegal tinting.

• Ya atau tidam on Jun 28, 2023 at 8:28 pm

Good. Fine + tear off those dark window tints. Too many are not following the law.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 4
  • Enforcement of law is a year round thing and not just during hunting season..and stop giving out 50% discount to settle summon. Nobody care about summons.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • Acrylic Sonny on Jun 28, 2023 at 10:12 pm

Xmas came early. Time to make money bois!

• Lai Jonn on Jun 28, 2023 at 11:02 pm

Inilah Bulan Julai It’s Bonus Day for operation officers la. Mula kedai untong. Ramai dah tinted baru operasi. Jadi, polis untong. Traffic JEM, Semua officer Hilang Diri mising. Paling PANDAI,BUAT BLOK SESUKA HATI.

• Lampu putih too please.. so kacau those white light at night

• Lampu putih too please.. so kacau those white light at night.. kelisa with white light , wita with white light, myvi, 4 x 4

• Tsmano on Jun 29, 2023 at 12:32 am

Malaysian law in tangap itu tangap ini only last for 1-2weejs, not consistent, for what waste time, do it continues.tinted.funny nmbr plates, colour front lights, apa Malaysia law???

• Kavitha on Jun 29, 2023 at 8:15 am

Banyak kereta memasang Headlight Lampu LED
    Yang menyakitkam mata pemandu semasa memandu kereta pada waktu malam

• Vavval Aan on Jun 29, 2023 at 8:27 am

Don’t just Ops on the road. Ops to the accessories shop avery month atleast. Do surprise sport checks st one go. Confiscate unlawful accessories, tint and others.. Make changes at the source..

• ERIKO on Jun 29, 2023 at 11:00 am

Another OKU policy from OKU ministers to make money from the people instead of for the people. Malaysia boleh. International embarassement

• If really want to catch the perpetrators. Please go to these places…Housing areas, Malls roads and Night spots! You have 70% of nation car’s owners heavily tints will be there waiting to scrap off their illegal tinted windows and car number plates all together. Way to go enforcement work action!

• Selected places only la!

• ROTI CANAI on Jun 29, 2023 at 9:03 pm

tangkap semua kaya punya

• Peace on Jun 29, 2023 at 10:37 pm

Target those vellfire and alphard , they are shit vans and constant rule breakers.

• Mohd kamil mokhtar on Jun 30, 2023 at 6:50 am

Thanks for the news. I will go hiding for the time being. Will go out when the operation is over. Will hide again when the time comes. Me clever? You?

• Aku rakyat malaysia on Jun 30, 2023 at 7:54 am

Go catch those big lorries who speeds and drive like lunatic and those who cut que during jam time.

• Trigger with Logic on Jun 30, 2023 at 4:52 pm

Those who downvote comments that supports 50% front windscreen, i am not sure if you have sat in a car with 50% front windscreen VLT. but if you did and you think its too dark to drive at night, you might need to get your eyes checked.

• stasta on Jul 01, 2023 at 11:05 am

its definitely too dark with 50% front because

1. some areas don’t have street lamps (maybe spoilt)
      2. as people grow older from age 40 onwards their eye sight will deteriorates

• Please make sure ALL MINISTER’s CARS and their families cars with illeage TINT are given summons start with the one who is heading this operation..NO ONE IS ABOVE THE LAW ..the rakyat pay taxes for your salaries…..make sure no ViP are off the hook……let see how you fair…this round not just talk….and go after the lower class….how big is your guts yo take down the higher status and ranking people ….

• Mike Cami on Jun 30, 2023 at 6:12 pm

Make sure summon all ministers and their family’s car for tint…let’s if you do this…start with the one heading this op

• all lies and smokescreens on Jul 01, 2023 at 11:01 pm

all these laws tangkap small fish only la…….different people different law applied here…..all bullshit bastard….