Stopped your vehicle beyond the white line at traffic lights? You may face a RM2,000 fine or six months jail

Motorists who stop their vehicles beyond the white line at traffic lights may face a fine of RM2,000 or a jail term of six months, the police have warned as it conducts the nationwide ‘Ops Garisan Putih’ to catch motorists committing the act, reports The Star.

According to Bukit Aman traffic investigation and enforcement department (JSPT) deputy director DCP Datuk Mohd Nasri Omar, motorists must not stop beyond the white line and obstruct pedestrian crossings under Rule 38 of the Road Traffic Rules (LN166/1959).

“The rules state that a motorist must not cause the vehicle or any part of the vehicle to stop in the crossing area unless he is prevented from moving by circumstances beyond his control or if he must stop to avoid an accident,” said Mohd Nasri.

“Any individual who commits this offence can be fined not exceeding RM2,000 or imprisoned for a period not exceeding six months,” he continued, adding that the act not only causes road congestion, but has also resulted in accidents.

On July 28, Bukit Aman JSPT announced the implementation of six special operations to educate and raise awareness among road users. These operations are aimed at catching traffic light offences, illegal licence plates, traffic obstructions and illegal parking.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Ben Yap on Aug 04, 2023 at 10:40 am

most likely will be just fine coz government cannot afford to have so many people in the overcrowded jail.

• Wrong Emphasis..is this what MADANI should be? on Aug 04, 2023 at 10:57 pm

Which is more dangerous ?
      Exceeding 6 inches of the white lines or speeding past red traffic lights?
      Those food riders who dont give a damn at traffic lights,can turn rogue and kill or maim your auntie or grandpa while crossing the roads.

• eeeriz on Aug 07, 2023 at 4:04 pm

Exactly! i think the police didn’t get the priority right which one is more serious offence. Few years back I would only noticed motorcyclists going past red lights but nowadays cars also do the same, even in the middle of bustling KL city! This has got to stop! Now they want to go and penalise those who overshoot just a mere 6 inch of the white line.. sigh

• alibaba on Aug 04, 2023 at 10:40 am

hello, please do something useful, always find these kacang putih things to do, we tax payer wants improvement not this kind of backwards moving shyt. thank you

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 6
    • Gabriel on Aug 04, 2023 at 12:41 pm

Anthony Loke is the best, and he is from DAP which makes him levels above than the rest.
      Not crossing the white line need to be controlled. So please respect what harapan gov is doing here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 18
    • pak cik tua on Aug 04, 2023 at 2:35 pm

bende ni tak akan sebabkan kemalangan, tapi bersemangat PDRM nak tangkap, sampai buat Ops. Tapi bende lain yang merbahaya, yang serius, dia tak ambil kisah. APA DAH JADI NI???

• dodgeviper88 on Aug 04, 2023 at 10:42 am

LOL, like that almost every motorcyclist will be fined

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 0
    • Brian on Aug 04, 2023 at 12:53 pm

Yeah what about motors then? Fine 2k its like them giving the Govt their motors. So how does this help anyone?

• Sohai on Aug 04, 2023 at 2:22 pm

maybe running the light is a cheaper fine than stopping beyond the line.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
  • Dong gor on Aug 04, 2023 at 10:52 am

So many offences don’t enforce want to go the details to fine ppl cross white line? F1 grid meh…which idiot suggested this?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 3
  • @NotBruceWayne on Aug 04, 2023 at 10:52 am

What about moving vehicles which do not use turn signals?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 0
  • If there’s REAL enforcement… PDRM can actually collect over RM1 BILLION in fines! amazing!!

• Mr Fakta on Aug 04, 2023 at 10:57 am

It will be better if the same fine and jail term is implemented to motorists who stop their vehicle way before the white line and sensors causing traffic light not turning green or those who take their sweet time accelerating slowly after a green light. Actually not triggering the sensors or slow moving vehicle is the main cause of traffic jams. The cause of traffic jam is stupid drivers (which there’s plenty), I say make our license exam same as F1 academy, so only professional drivers who can operate their machine with split second precision can operate a car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
  • john dough roti on Aug 04, 2023 at 10:57 am

SAMAN NOT USING TURN SIGNAL !!!!!

Everything PDRM will do but NOT the low hanging fruit that makes roads safer by 50% at least

• Bob Mal on Aug 04, 2023 at 11:06 am

As in the mind of every Malaysian driver so does the rule not apply to Motorcycle or do they have some special law that we do not know about.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • Ah Chong on Aug 04, 2023 at 11:08 am

As long as the government reserve more safe space for motorcycles to stop at the front, I don’t see issues. For car-driving only people it might look annoying but for motorcycles it’s actually safer.

Safety should be no.1. And yes I know people will argue if safety is no. 1 then we should ban kapcai yadda yadda you can save that part.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
    • Gomorrah on Aug 05, 2023 at 3:30 pm

So what is so special about Malaysian motorcycle riders that they need this? Which other country in the world is doing this? No need to ban kapcai, just ban the people who tak tahu bawa kereta or moto.

• Z900 2016 on Aug 04, 2023 at 11:12 am

huh…too many secondary school students riding motorcycle to school without helmet everyday, why no enforcement?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
  • Michael on Aug 04, 2023 at 11:17 am

With this enforcement, more and more people going to beating the traffic light. RM300 vs RM2000.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 0
    • Brian on Aug 04, 2023 at 12:56 pm

Funny isnt it? Stopping after white line is a 2k fine but beating the red light is only Rm300 summon.

• Elon Musk or YiLong Ma on Aug 04, 2023 at 10:51 pm

That explains why food riders become color blind every time they speed past red traffic lights.
        Somemore towards year end or special events,one VVIP will ampun them by reducing the fines to 50 bucks.
        They should concentrate on the speed demons with green,pink,orange baskets who dont have an inch of respect for traffic laws.

• Where r the markings? on Aug 04, 2023 at 11:35 am

to the authority, plz make sure all the road marks r visible first. especially in klang valley, many r without any sign or markings. tq

• Vedder on Aug 04, 2023 at 11:38 am

What if the line is faded off?

• GRAB delivery on Aug 04, 2023 at 11:38 am

catch all the grab delivery thank you.

• Line pn dah tak nampak, buat line tu bagi jelas.

• longjaafar on Aug 04, 2023 at 11:51 am

The reason why they stop in front of the line, is that even in that position, they still can see the traffic lights.
    In our country, we spend so much money by putting lights at the line, on top of a gantry, far in front, and sometimes left and right..In many other countries, like Germany for example, the only traffic light is at the line itself. So, if one waits in front of the line, one cannot see the light change to green…

• SURESHK on Aug 04, 2023 at 12:18 pm

Hangat-hangat tahi ayam! Motorcyles with no rear lights, turning without giving signals, riding bike without helmets, helmets without reflectors, cars with non standard number plates, foreigners owns bikes with no licences….the list goes on, enforce rulings and laws accordingly!!

• Law abiding Citizen on Aug 04, 2023 at 12:35 pm

Heavy fine and 6 months jail time for such trivial matter. Limpas sikit kena saman or masuk lockup. The real culprit is queue cutting and abuse of emergency lane.

• Kotembad on Aug 04, 2023 at 12:46 pm

Good. Please enforce. Stopping past the white line is no different than passing a red light.

• ROTI CANAI on Aug 04, 2023 at 12:59 pm

a law is a law but im not sure if this should be at the top your priority in regards to road safety

• st3wp1d on Aug 04, 2023 at 1:14 pm

moto grab included?

• Ongtk on Aug 04, 2023 at 1:27 pm

What about those who drive slow on the overtaking lanes?

• Susukotak on Aug 04, 2023 at 2:01 pm

Who decide the limit line & criteria for it?

• mancoi on Aug 04, 2023 at 3:11 pm

In many places, the lines not even visible!!! Please improve the road markings before you implement this.

And better impose stricter rules for beating red light as this has been proven as very dangerous and deadly. Qatar for example fines QR6,000 (RM7200) for beating red light. Even those rich Qataris abiding to this rule.

• Traffic Police on Aug 04, 2023 at 3:17 pm

Baru saja this morning two traffic police officers were stopped their motor’s rear wheel just right after the line while waiting at the traffic light in front of SJMC…

• Mohamed on Aug 04, 2023 at 3:27 pm

What about fines to idiot motorcyclist on the Federal Highway when motorcycle lanes are provided and empty

• Aren't you a Cowboy can't follows basic law? on Aug 04, 2023 at 4:03 pm

We bet some motorcyclist will rant on this global common road and traffic law! ie dangerous to queue behind motorcar lorry minivan, faded white line marker etc…

• Kelab Kopi Lesen Rempit on Aug 04, 2023 at 8:44 pm

What law? We obtained our license passes test fully paid package.

• Abam Rider on Aug 04, 2023 at 5:13 pm

What if we totally ignore the white lines and just ram traffic lights?

• Abdul Rahman B Abu Bakar on Aug 04, 2023 at 5:19 pm

Pls implement nation wide

• Chai KF on Aug 04, 2023 at 5:28 pm

There is always 3 lines at any traffic light. The crossing area is inside the 2nd and 3rd lines. The first line is for your car wheel. Remember the up slope test for your driving licence? This is the line (First line) you car wheel must be extended. Your car wheel must be between the 1st and 2nd line. Imagine if not this, a car may stop way before the first line at the traffic light, say 3 or 4 car distance. What consequences. Think about it.

• Bieight8 on Aug 04, 2023 at 5:43 pm

I have never seen any car stop for pedestrians at the zebra crossing here

• haha…
    meanwhile riding motobike without helmet… you can literally see that every town, every street, everywhere….

• Curious on Aug 04, 2023 at 7:13 pm

Tis is not something new, e”body know abt tis rule when attending driving course. Pdrm wil just conduct afew days of operasi, issued afew saman n then bac to normal again.

• Priority on Safety First on Aug 04, 2023 at 8:12 pm

Really dumb. Which is of higher priority? Motor riders breaking the red light or your car accidentally stop on the white lanes as you try to stop when the signal turns red

• Good initiative but it will be far better to catch those motorist beating traffic lights!

• alwin on Aug 04, 2023 at 11:33 pm

I fully support such rules & regulations. However, the enforcement that matters. I ever seen some police vehicles, YB’s cars and even the government vehicles were violating this rules. After all, who cares?

Just to urge the government, stop making good laws but no enforcements. It wastes our money.

• Azahar on Aug 05, 2023 at 10:08 am

The main problem is faded road marking

• I wish they slapped higher fines for motorcycles riding against the traffic flow. This only cause congestion when they can cause fatal accidents

• Concerned citizen on Aug 05, 2023 at 8:50 pm

I wonder if this applies to bikes too?

• Junkies otr on Aug 06, 2023 at 10:40 am

Better ride a bike cos they r exempted

• kcgunn on Aug 06, 2023 at 1:26 pm

Authorities should go after those road users who constantly running red lights (& endangering other road users), than to penalise those who actually stop at every red traffic lights. Why the double standards!

• When the fines are not paid, the offenders would later get a 70 percent discount?

• It is about time both JPJ and PDRM gets the traffic glowing with discipline. Now, at every traffic light junction, we see law breakers, beating the light or taking wrong lanes indiscriminately. The food raiders have become totally ignorant of the lights.

Add on, the heavy car tint, fanciful or tiny registration numbers.

• A very good initiative