Toyota Alphard vs Vellfire – which “face” of this popular luxe MPV do Malaysians buy more?

The Malaysian T20 group absolutely love their Alphards and Vellfires. Its spaciousness and comfort makes it immensely popular all the way from the lower end of the T20 bracket to the upper end with some able to afford the Royal Lounge version.

But which one do Malaysians love more? The Alphard or the Vellfire? Even if we asked UMW Toyota Motor which one they sell more, we wouldn’t be able to get an accurate picture because of how many grey import models that flood the market.

Now that JPJ registration data is available at MAMPU’s data.gov.my website, we can somehow have an idea of which model is more popular.

In the past 4 years, there were 39,039 Toyota Alphards registered in Malaysia. During the same period, there were 30,773 Vellfires registered in Malaysia.

So at first glance, it appears that the answer is Malaysians like the Alphard more, though it wouldn’t appear to be by a significant margin.

If you look at the yearly data though, it paints a different picture. The Vellfire used to outsell the Alphard until recently when there seemed to be a big spike for the Alphard in 2022 which contributed significantly to its sales numbers. This spike is not seen in the Vellfire data.

We wonder what caused this spike in the data. Was it somehow driven by the 50% CBU SST exemption given during that period?

Which do you prefer? Specs aside, as the official UMW Toyota Motor imports are differentiated by spec level, do you prefer the Alphard or the Vellfire?

Won’t be too long now before the latest generation Alphard (now with turbo engine!) and Vellfire hit the Malaysian roads.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• since i own a agh30 vellfire, i can comment.
    it depends on year of design, personally for me the best looking face is alphard 2018 and above

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
    • Dah Menang Semua on Sep 14, 2023 at 2:51 pm

Is because of availability of Vellfire la
      Now both streamlined into 1 model

• Avenger on Sep 15, 2023 at 9:59 am

2022 massive sales hike due to PH Gomen fleet bought Alfats for their MP use. Too bad for them they did not have chance to use after got kicked out of office. Thanks to them us taxpayers was saddled with a huge debt for unnecessary luxury cars and some got special treatment as “Isteri kepada YAB PM”.

• fancy number plate is free on Sep 19, 2023 at 8:09 pm

you know a fancy number plate doesn’t cost a single sen?

now compare that to rosmah receiving tens of millions in kickbacks from solar project . not to forget her hands bags and diamonds

• bobby on Sep 14, 2023 at 6:58 pm

i am chinese. Many years ago everseen i saw they use these car for funeral transportation, my interest for these car totally drop to 0.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 11
  • Clarke Chee Ah Fatt on Sep 14, 2023 at 10:23 am

This car is make for me. My Alphard bring me luck and fortune. I always upgrade so luck for ever follow me. Good comfort and good respect so I not complain. Come visit me at Happy Fortune Bak Kut Teh in Happy Garden I give you surprise.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 37
    • Many Sour Grape here Made Story on Sep 16, 2023 at 9:28 am

Work hard, dont teh tarik too often you wilk get one one day

• Ben Yap on Sep 14, 2023 at 10:34 am

no matter how kia carnival try, they are not even close to vellfire or alphard. they are like a high-class “toyota hiace”.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 7
    • i agree. and truthfully, alphard/vellfire is different class from kia carnival.
      new alphard/vell cost rm 400k+ (latest model rm 500k+)
      new carnival cost rm 180k – 200k+

totally different segment
      ofcourse recon price is lower as it is a 2nd hand car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 6
  • davidletterboyz on Sep 14, 2023 at 11:01 am

They are both ugly cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 23
    • Pee end on Sep 14, 2023 at 11:26 am

Like you

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 10
    • happyman on Sep 15, 2023 at 11:34 am

wah… not only are you poor. you are also salty!

• hazri on Sep 15, 2023 at 4:38 pm

i know you dont own one, or never have been inside both. but, from the bottom of your heart, you want it too. long time ago, me like you too, think like you too. but, as my age increase year by year, looking for spacy and comfortable 7-8 seater for my parent, kids, family, i dont have many choice. alphard/vellfire price long time ago is 400k. but now can get 150k-200k only. and its toyota. so in the end, owner of alphard/vellfire never said their car handsome, but to compare with any alternative we have, its still look good. but if you want to say avanza, innova, alza ugly, ya agree with you.

• Papagoines on Sep 14, 2023 at 11:17 am

Not an owner or a fan

but, really like the design of Vellfire more than Alphard… maybe the Alphard grill a bit ‘semak’ for me

Hence, I’d rather buy Toyota Voxy over Noah for the same reason

• Yeahsure on Sep 14, 2023 at 11:36 am

Why does it feel the the numbers are underestimated, like dude, there litrally 30k alphards in my area alone

• Regina George on Sep 14, 2023 at 11:58 am

Either way, Velffire and Alphard are household name. Of course that sounds ridiculous considering these are for the rich. What i actually mean by that is people who own these cars will say “I have an Alphard/Vellfire” not “i have Toyota…” and same goes with Corolla, Camry, Harrier, Hilux and etc. That is probably one of the reasons why cars like CH-R and RAV4 don’t make it in Malaysia.

Fun fact :Toyota Japan is getting rid of distinctive logos that are found on previous Alphard, Velffire and Harrier for some reasons

• Many has finally realise that the Alphard is the more sensible looking between the two and the Vellfire will look dated quickly, just like most Mazdas.

I think many starts to look up on Alphard after most political leaders rode in Alphard (than Vellfire) in memorable political scenes like when they went up to see YDPA, when the video camera focused on Ahjib’s bungalow when BN lost the GE, etc, etc.

Just like when many political leaders rode in Perdana V6, many laymen would like to be seen in Perdana too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 14
    • Peppa on Sep 14, 2023 at 12:40 pm

Mazdas look dated? Then why are there so many CX5 and CX30 on the road? Not suprised coming from the guy who want to relate this to politics. You are just like the previous gov who have no decent taste in cars.

• Din Djarin The Third on Sep 14, 2023 at 2:43 pm

The next statistic should be about which of these two vehicles have the worst drivers

• hazri on Sep 14, 2023 at 2:47 pm

year by year alphard sales increase. and by 2022, the sales almost double the vellfire sales. why? first, previous gen alphard not very good looking than vellfire, look old and bulky. but 2018-2022, the facelift alphard became more handsome. very hard to choose between two. but if look closely, alphard is more handsome. second, the price. long time ago, alphard pricier than vellfire by 80k and above. but now, you get alphard by topup 20k-50k only. third, reputation. everyone knows alphard is more pricey than vellfire. 4th, car rental. vellfire can get 500 perday, but alphard 600-700 perday. so if you drive alphard, very low tendency people might think that is car rental. you see people drive vellfire, high chance people think that is car rental. especially without fancy number. 5th, choice. actually not many choice we have. you want 7-8 seater but to look luxury, what choice you have.

• I see the driver either of this car drive like their “jalan bapak saya punya”. T20 truly make a difference.

• I personally think that the Toyota estima is the perfect mpv in terms of size, outlook, road handling & many more…

• hazri on Sep 15, 2023 at 4:29 pm

ya, i dont know why toyota made sienta as replacement for estima.

• Both are fugly overated vans. Love by many Malaysians. Even B40 has it, so many of these bread box otr in msia. Overpriced because of the weird demand and taste here. The shape is so out of proportion, the front grill and skirting so Ahbeng, rear so AhPek, side profile look gay-ish. More chromes more luxury..lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 6
    • u must be one of hensome grand kia carnival owner

• No I own a Macan. But will get Carnival anytime over these fugly Japanese cartoon bread box. Global award winner GUV vs Asean (and HK) Ah Pek Beng van.

• hazri on Sep 15, 2023 at 4:32 pm

ya fugly. but practicality is the key. have you been inside alphard/vellfire? its spacy and comfortable. thats why some country use it as van mayat.

• Houston Tan Cheng Whut on Sep 14, 2023 at 10:54 pm

Big car for big ego
    Car getting bigger size and engine
    People getting fatter and brain smaller

• Owned 2012 Vellfire, and sold it last year for 2021 Alphard (both JDM spec).

Major thing is design, prev gen ANH20 Alphard was, imo, horrendously ugly. Not too mention it was slightly over a decade ago that these Japanese MPVs were picking up popularity.

But now AGH30 Vellfire Alphard more streamlined than ever, both 1:1 same interior except for face. While the most agressively chromed Modellista kitted AGH30 Vellfire may attract the younger Gen Z in their new found riches, the older people who previously had the old gen Vellfire find comfort and like the moderately stylished (yet nothing but dull) new gen Alphard.

• alibaba902 on Sep 15, 2023 at 9:30 am

woaw, which means cronies earn a lot yeah? it’s around 100k unit, each of them can collect 25k just for AP, total up 1b RM?

• Robert on Sep 15, 2023 at 10:50 am

The west call this gay van, some with better taste in Malaysia call this Jinjang/Ahbeng taste van. Whatever it is these refrigerators or ice cream van are meant for Japan roads, narrow. The tall profile and short length made the van look weird and funny. Many who need to feed ego but don’t have enough money will get this, since RV is in their mind. The chromes around portray a fake aura of “wah so lux -xu-li” .Those who has taste and money will go for Carnival, or even more to the SUV likes for example Range Rover, Volvo etc

• Yalah on Sep 15, 2023 at 3:48 pm

Alphard is the one that people always wanted.
    But Vellfire was always cheaper… until recently.
    Thats the reason.

• VellFart? Cannot la…no power, poor ride handling, floats and sway like a tall sampan. Wonder why so many on the road in Malaysia, weird taste because the shape looks like a 1990s van undergone plastic surgery. Oversized tail lamp, excessive chrome trims, poor harmonious design. Even at the airport, one of my visitor asking why so many of this boxes on wheels in Malaysia. He doesn’t even want to get into one..bluntly tell me to find another car. Asked for Volvo, or even the Carnival which our company has in Europe fetching top level executive. In the end settle for Elantra to fetch him from airport to hotel. Again, it sell well in Malaysia partly because of FOMO by many and wrongly perceived here as a car (ooopss van) for the rich. The real rich with taste won’t get these vans.

• Wellfart on Sep 16, 2023 at 10:00 am

Front grill design and price the decider. T20 will choose the big chrome design and which 1 more expensive buy which. Buy the avanza/innova similar front face with toyota logo and cheaper price cant inspired people they are orang kaya.

• Gerardo on Sep 16, 2023 at 11:00 pm

That’s the thing. Many msians don’t have taste and sore losers. Have to choose big and more chromes.

• Cubey on Sep 18, 2023 at 9:53 pm

Both same! Up to the buyer! If have big family and got the money – why not? Takkan get toyota hiace meh

• Only in Asia ppl still purchase these minivans while the rest of the world prefer SUVs. Minivan are a dying breed in Europe & North American mkt

• Faggot and fugly looking fridges. Many on the road. Msians has weird taste.