2023 Mazda 6 in Malaysia – 2.0L sedan RM180k, 2.5L wagon RM231k; 20th Anniversary Edition at RM241k

The Mazda 6 in Malaysia receives its latest round of updates, this time arriving as a 20th Anniversary Edition as part of three variants across two bodystyles – the 2.0L Sedan at RM180,359, the 2.5L Touring (station wagon) at RM230,848 and the 2.5L 20th Anniversary Edition at RM240,848. All prices are for Peninsular Malaysia, on-the-road without insurance.

Powertrain for the Mazda 6 range continues to be the Skyactiv-G 2.0 litre and 2.5 litre naturally aspirated inline-four-cylinder petrol engines, with the 2.0 litre unit producing 162 hp at 6,000 rpm and 213 Nm of torque at 4,000 rpm. The 2.5 litre unit in the Touring (station wagon) and the 20th Anniversary Edition outputs 192 hp at 6,000 rpm and 258 Nm at 4,000 rpm; all versions get a six-speed automatic transmission with steering wheel-mounted shift paddles.

Rolling stock for the 2.0L sedan are 225/55R17 tyres in 17×7.5J alloy wheels, while the 2.5L sedan and station wagon get 225/45R19 tyres on 19×7.5J alloy wheels; all versions get a 185/55R16 space saver spare on a steel wheel.

For exterior kit, the 2023 Mazda 6 get automatic LED headlights with LED DRLs, LED tail lamps and fog lamps, keyless entry, power-folding and adjustable exterior mirrors, and four parking sensors front and rear each. Inside, the 2.5L variants add a powered sunroof, colour HUD projection. The 20th Anniversary Edition sedan gets LED interior lighting, while the other two get bulb units.

2023 Mazda 6 specifications in Malaysia – click to enlarge

As its name suggests, the 20th Anniversary Edition commemorates 20 years of the Mazda 6 nameplate that made its debut in 2002, with the special edition bringing unique styling for its exterior and interior. This consists of 19-inch alloy wheels in Bright Metallic Alloy, a gunmetal finish for its front grille, along with 20th Anniversary badging on its front fender.

The interior of the 20th Anniversary Edition sedan is distinguished by its leather upholstery in tan, with 20th Anniversary embossing on its front seat headrests. The front seats also receive ventilation, while also included are a self-dimming frameless rear-view mirror, a seven-inch multi-info driver’s instrument display (4.6-inch TFT LCD for other variants) and a rear window sunshade.

Joining the overall equipment list for the 2023 Mazda 6 range in Malaysia are wireless device charging, while the i-Activsense ADAS suite is added to the 2.5L variants, and includes front and rear smart brake support (AEB), and radar-guided cruise control with stop and go with cruise and traffic support.

Infotainment in the 2023 Mazda 6 for Malaysia brings an eight-inch touchscreen with Android Auto and wireless Apple CarPlay, and four USB ports. The 2.0L sedan gets a six-speaker audio setup and a reverse camera feed, while the 2.5L versions get 11-speaker audio by Bose and a 360-degree surround view camera system.

For 2023, the Mazda 6 range in Malaysia gains Platinum Quartz and Rhodium White Premium to its palette of exterior colours, joining the existing range of Arctic White, Deep Crystal Blue, Jet Black, Machine Gray, Sonic Silver, Soul Red Crystal and Polymetal Gray. The 20th Anniversary Edition sedan exclusively gets the Artisan Red Premium colour.

In Malaysia, Mazda vehicles are sold with a five-year manufacturer’s warranty with a five-year maintenance package (except for the BT-50 pick-up truck), including labour fees, parts and lubricants costs. Both the manufacturer’s warranty and the free maintenance package are for five years or 100,000 km, whichever comes first.

2023 Mazda 6, Malaysian market – official images

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Peppa on Oct 11, 2023 at 10:44 am

Bermaz update this dying 6 but refused to update their breath and butter the CX-5 and CX-8

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 2
    • Katheryne Wong on Oct 11, 2023 at 11:18 am

Haha, why need to update if people still want to buy the ancient CX5 and CX8. If sales are slow then maybe they will update to pull back customers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • seancorr on Oct 11, 2023 at 10:53 am

Paying RM180k and not getting any sort of ADAS is criminal.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 2
    • dong gor on Oct 11, 2023 at 5:07 pm

this model how many years d…still want to squeeze rakyat money with it ar. don’t sell something u already plan to kill. this is committing 2 crimes at the same time

• Linda on Oct 13, 2023 at 2:02 pm

Audh, Autonomous Emergency Brake put tak ada.
      Empty tin arr

Better go for the higher spec, not the low spec one.

• anonymous on Oct 11, 2023 at 11:01 am

a lovely car but at this price there are better options. glad they finally introduced the MRCC with stop and go and traffic support though.

• Bob Mal on Oct 11, 2023 at 11:02 am

Well at least Mazda 6 is the most logical price increase when back in 2015 it was RM160 and slightly increase until today RM180k when compared to 2.0L Mazda 3 back in 2015 was RM106k now all of a sudden jump to RM150k in 2019 while all are using the same Skyactiv-G engine.

Come on Mazda at least give us the Skyactiv-X engine I’m sure our RON95 is more than capable to handle your non mainstream technologically advance engine.

• lol blog on Oct 11, 2023 at 12:29 pm

Someone seems to have forgotten the change from CKD to CBU, and the tech jump was enormous.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
      • Bob Mal on Oct 11, 2023 at 3:39 pm

Kindly explain what is the tech jump so enormous? Also taking ques from Mercedes-Benz GLC300 4Matic CKD the CBU price – RM429,888 while CKD – RMRM378,888 which makes 11% price difference, however the Mazda 3 is roughly 30% price difference despite the 4 years gap.

• Z900 2016 on Oct 11, 2023 at 11:43 am

2.5L NA for RM230K? Should have put the 2.5T CX-5 engine instead. Even Chery is laughing at the output figures. Just imagine Mazda RM230K car kena cucuk by China 2.0T RM160k SUV. Tepila siput! hahahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 11
    • Not everyone driving dangerously like you. Not everyone driving like like driving sport car. Other than speed, many other factors are equally important.

• ROTI CANAI on Oct 11, 2023 at 11:50 am

TESLA. BYE BYE THIS.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 22
  • proton oh proton on Oct 11, 2023 at 1:10 pm

Time to exit Malaysian market for sedan models.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 13
  • Ranger on Oct 11, 2023 at 1:23 pm

With that price i was expecting a 2.5L Turbo.

• I wonder how many person here is potential buyer or just keyboards W? Always nothing is right for them.

• arthur on Oct 11, 2023 at 8:53 pm

usually those comment are just poor people ^^

• Most of them can’t even afford this car

• Sohai on Oct 12, 2023 at 10:18 am

You need to be a buyer to offer an opinion? Gee.. I didn’t know.
      Where is the car enthusiast section?

• Berani kerana benar on Oct 15, 2023 at 10:29 am

Lol. Then show us the proof that you can buy this car. Your official pay slip, bank balance, income tax proof etc. You MF cant do that, i bet. Loser and A hole. Ppl like u always looks down on other ppl and useless. Stupi.dity at its most.

• Ben Yap on Oct 11, 2023 at 1:57 pm

RM180k without ADAS is way too expensive. sell at a lower price without ADAS is not a good strategy when competitors are offering it at this age.

• Pudinga on Oct 11, 2023 at 2:30 pm

Old hat and outclassed.get a Camry instead.better engine with 8 speed transmission

• ThePolygon on Oct 11, 2023 at 2:58 pm

Probably won’t see much on the road…

• CBU quality is far more superior than you imagine than CKD assemble by monkeys

• adasMan on Oct 11, 2023 at 6:25 pm

Ahh…the ADAS Numbnuts have surfaced!

• hazri on Oct 11, 2023 at 7:14 pm

must be a hard die fan and penjilat tegar matsuda who buy this car. you go to mazda owner facebook page, many said mazda is another level or car. bmw of asia. haha. then go buy bmw la. just admit, you buy mazda because they give 5 years free maintenance right?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
    • hazri sehat? on Oct 11, 2023 at 11:48 pm

bet you cant even own any of them

• As an owner of BMW and Mazda cars, this is quite offensive to many people, bro. I got the Mazda because it is clearly a better kind of car. it’s very well engineered. any owner would attest to this.

You speak of maintenance? please, anyone can afford it if they had already decided on this car. People work hard to earn the experience to own this car, i know i certainly do.

The experience has been great if not better over other purchases. so before you comment, please make sure you are really in the position to put your money where your mouth is.

• msia driver on Oct 12, 2023 at 4:10 am

lelz 241k , i rather buy tesla just 199k only ..

• the estate version is super nice, just wish the price is lower or the skyactive diesel are available. There’re vast other options available at that price range.

• missing my long roofline wagons on Oct 12, 2023 at 11:30 am

more wagon body style need to do a comeback in this country

• The same old look for the past 2 generations..good luck.. This model is Dead by nature.

• Ur moms car on Oct 12, 2023 at 10:27 pm

Half of those 20 years is simply this gen lol

• stasta on Oct 14, 2023 at 12:37 am

camry is cheaper, better spec, more power engine

• SayGoodBye2Mazda on Oct 15, 2023 at 10:31 am

RIP on arrival. Bubye Mazda 6. Outdated specs. Welcome Tesla.

• stopfoolingMalaysiaconsumer on Nov 12, 2023 at 10:53 pm

it is funny to see people support distributor here sell higher price outdated model. I think they are either work with the distributor or the boss of the distributor.