New toll for the road going up to Genting Highlands? Gantries being built at Gohtong Jaya – how much?

Does this look like a toll gantry? It does, right? These are pics from Gohtong Jaya shared by Vincent Chow from the Eat Sleep Touge (Chat & Chill) Facebook group, and it shows construction of a steel frame structure of what could be a toll gantry.

The image above looks like the tunnel inside the big Gohtong Jaya roundabout, going through to Batang Kali side perhaps? The image below looks like the side slip road going up to Gohtong Jaya shop lots, which is under construction now.

If it’s indeed a toll booth under construction, Vincent’s question is relevant. “My dear touge friends, your weekend drive (touge) session may just gonna start costing you another RM2.50 to RM3.50 more,” he asks. If you’re going to drive all the way up the hill for pleasure, and a cup of expensive coffee, what’s another few ringgit of toll, right? Or wrong? What say you?

Before you bark up the wrong tree, no, this isn’t the government’s doing – like the popular hill resort itself, the road leading up to Genting Highlands is private property, and Genting has the right to charge toll. But it has always been free – why now though?

Looking to sell your car? Sell it with myTukar.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Ben Yap on Oct 16, 2023 at 4:37 pm

drive up genting have to pay toll at karak highway, then another toll on twisty road to genting. once up there, got to pay parking. not worth it to go to genting anymore.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 84 Thumb down 4
    • Japar on Oct 16, 2023 at 6:37 pm

Shud charge entry fee to Genting Premium outlet

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
    • YB Kunta Kinte on Oct 16, 2023 at 7:22 pm

Folks,havent you read the news that Genting Cruise based in Hong Kong have gone bust?
      So,the natural thing is to recoup some losses there by charging toll,lor…for those ardent hardcore Genting fanboys.

• Those uncle and Ah Beng test car utubers on Oct 16, 2023 at 9:55 pm

Soon car reviewer has to pay toll to test racing car up getting highland road

• hazri on Oct 17, 2023 at 7:47 pm

ya, and tol gombak very jam because so many cars back from genting.

• They are gambling by erecting this gantries. They bet it will pay handsomely.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • 4GR-FSE on Oct 16, 2023 at 5:13 pm

Genting charging toll for extra revenue to make up for the lack of China tourist coming here to spend.. :))

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
  • There are plenty of property development around gohtong jaya, Genting does not directly benefited from these developement. it is a matter of time Genting charge toll from traffic

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
  • seancorr on Oct 16, 2023 at 5:27 pm

I seriously hope the roads leading up to Genting will be top notch. No uneven roads, no potholes and with proper lighting if they are going to impose a fee.

• pengayuhbasikal on Oct 16, 2023 at 5:32 pm

The toll may cause traffic jam.. ekekekeke

• Uncle YS Khong on Oct 16, 2023 at 5:49 pm

Sorry guys, no more Genting runs. Maybe another place, any suggestions?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 6
    • Civic Type Rawr on Oct 16, 2023 at 6:34 pm

That expected fee is punny compared to what he get from his viewers.

• Yeahsure on Oct 16, 2023 at 8:24 pm

Safety hazards… I swear if it was me i will put speed bumps every few kilometers… They all talk safety is top priorities and go n drive like lunatics on oublic roads.. Dude… Respect your age atleast.. Life can bite you hard

• That road open for public already?

• Phuddi sung lee on Oct 16, 2023 at 8:19 pm

Let’s go make money by cut throat rakyat as usual

• Ever since LGT passed away, his decendants are sucking money like crazy

• Bieight8 on Oct 16, 2023 at 9:32 pm

Don’t mind paying till but at least remove those dangerous downhill speed bumps

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
  • Toll or not people will still go and packed.. nuff said.

• Anak bolehland on Oct 16, 2023 at 10:46 pm

Well, no more genting run I guess. 2× Toll + parking fee not worth it.

• Yeoh Kean Thai on Oct 16, 2023 at 10:58 pm

Maybe the toll pay cars going uphill, another brilliant idea to get visitors. I’m dreaming right?

• saya ULAM. Buka mulut je mohong

• Z900 2016 on Oct 17, 2023 at 8:41 am

What is so special about Genting anyway…everything is expensive, even GPO is not cheap…nowadays people shop online laaa…be smart and spend your money wisely. Unless you are a hardcore gambler with plenty of money….dont waste your money there

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
  • Loklak on Oct 17, 2023 at 9:18 am

Good, less people will going up there

• aderen on Oct 17, 2023 at 9:54 am

oh no, now i no place to race my viewers car.

hi, i run a youtube channel when i race my viewers car up genting. why? because i think i am pro but i don’t have money to buy my own car.

so i use my viewer car to race and post on yt! follow and subscribe!

• Another toll booth? Why not just set up for RFID only for MLFF?

• Sparcov on Oct 17, 2023 at 10:08 am

It does not really make any different. If anyone intended to go up for gambling or holiday, would not mind to pay extra Rm 5 or so for the toll. So it extra revenue to the Group. Well, question is why now? Perhaps to recoup the investment for the outdoor theme park.

• Azrul Z Stork on Oct 17, 2023 at 10:09 am

You champion ma….race against toll lah.

• Francis Lim on Oct 17, 2023 at 12:20 pm

Business must be bad so every cents count.

• Private road ? Genting Grandfather Road? on Oct 17, 2023 at 6:37 pm

Public road where can simply put Toll? Unless new highway or expanded improved publc road

IF private road can control who can pass thru

• frank on Oct 17, 2023 at 7:38 pm

Mostly comment not going after so manynegative things, but still packed as usual, cakap x serupa bikin..

• Simon on Oct 17, 2023 at 7:55 pm

Please charge toll at Cameron too. The road is so bad now bc too much tourists, is really affecting people staying there, the jam is ao bad also. rm10 per entry the best.

• Bumi Kenyalang on Oct 18, 2023 at 11:03 am

Nonsense unless you are not a consumer of CH produce! Only idiot wants veg fruits flower tea with inflation pricing.