Xiaomi SU7, the smartphone maker’s first EV revealed

We’ve known for some time now that Xiaomi is entering the EV arena in China, and here are first images of the smartphone maker’s first car, the Xiaomi SU7. These pictures and specs are from China’s Ministry of Industry and Information Technology (MIIT), which vets the homologation process, shared by CarNewsChina.

The ‘Mi Car’ with the codename MS11 is a sedan, and it will be contract-manufactured by established carmaker BAIC. The SU7 is 4,997 mm long and 1,963 mm wide, with a wheelbase of 3,000 mm. That makes it a fair bit bigger than the BYD Seal, which is 4,800 mm long and 1,875 mm wide, with a wheelbase of 2,920 mm.

Under the sleek if generic skin are batteries by BYD (LFP) and CATL (ternary NMC). The base RWD setup has a 295 hp (220 kW) motor while the dual-motor AWD adds on a front 369 hp (275 kW) unit to make it 664 hp (495 kW) in total. The 1,980 kg RWD’s top speed is limited to 210 km/h. Weight and speed maxes out at 2,205 kg and 265 km/h.

According to the filing with the regulator, there will be three versions of the EV – SU7, SU7 Pro and SU7 Max. Some trim levels will feature an active rear wing and there are two wheel options – 19- and 20-inch. Xiaomi submitted cars with and without Lidar. There’s a camera on the car’s B-pillar, which suggests a phone-style facial recognition unlocking function.

You’d expect an ecosystem, and the SU7’s in-car system will be powered by Xiaomi’s HyperOS, an in-house operating system that can power both smartphones and cars. There’s also built-in ETC for toll collection.

According to CNC, mass production of the SU7 will begin in December, and deliveries will start in February 2024. BAIC’s Beijing factory has already started a trial production run with dozens of pre-production units having rolled off the line. What do you think of this ‘Mi Car’? Would you ever buy a car from a phone company?

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• china is king on Nov 16, 2023 at 10:03 am

EV being completely dominated by the chinese, is a no-brainer. china is the world’s largest electronics manufacturer. All their years of doing OEM finally paid off.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 4
  • Sohai on Nov 16, 2023 at 10:13 am

Cars are becoming like appliances with the EV. And electronic companies have an edge over traditional car companies on battery and charging tech.
    So yes, i would consider a Mi Ev car.

• EV sucks on Nov 16, 2023 at 12:55 pm

Just like their phones, you’ll see ads every time you enter your car. Every time you try to use their infotainment. Good luck with that

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 10
      • bro stuck in 2012

• Cermin diri on Nov 17, 2023 at 7:40 pm

How hard is it to google something b4 shooting your own foot with such ignorant comment?

• pakcikmael on Nov 19, 2023 at 7:49 am

Kesian bro cannot move on. Sudah sudah lah dengan mi phone full of ads retorik tu .

• Proton Oh Proton on Nov 16, 2023 at 10:16 am

from smartphone become EV car manufacturer… Next Apple ?

• Looks like Xiaomi has beaten Apple to develop and sell their own Electric car. China 1 – USA 0

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
    • China Rise on Nov 16, 2023 at 3:23 pm

You are right; China is on the verge of disrupting all forms of the market. They thought that stopping Huawei from growing would be the end of it. Still, they have cultivated their OS and homegrown chipsets, and very soon, we Malaysians will not need to rely on US investment but rather China Investment. We need to work with them better and de-dollar raise the US dollar.

• Nanti mcm handphone diaorang, no software update. Kakaka…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 14
    • China Rise on Nov 16, 2023 at 3:24 pm

What proof do you have that the Xiaomi phone doesn’t get updated? Pay peanuts expecting 10 years worth of OS support.

• I’m using Xiaomi and about to get android 14 early next year. Guess you’re happy getting likes no matter what eh?

• Cermin diri on Nov 17, 2023 at 7:37 pm

Ironinya yg tak update info terbaru ialah kamu. Masih ilmu tahap 2016…

• Kaiju Melayu on Nov 16, 2023 at 10:40 am

Haiyaaa Apple…where is your car? Xiaomi already ahead of you hahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
  • President Xi on Nov 16, 2023 at 11:19 am

China numba one. Malaysia numba last

• ROTI CANAI on Nov 16, 2023 at 11:56 am

mcm beewhydee anjing laut, but definitely better than any india made apple car

• YB Albert Albata Batu Bata Wall Plug EV Charger on Nov 16, 2023 at 12:07 pm

hopefully this car wont run ads like mi phone. if not, shift gear also have to watch ads hahaaha

• Bob_B78 on Nov 16, 2023 at 2:37 pm

3 variant launch follow new phone launching style, vanilla, pro then max/ultra. Like just recently launched Xiaomi 14, Xiaomi 14 Pro and upcoming Xiaomi 14 Ultra. HAHAHAH

• stick on Nov 16, 2023 at 2:48 pm

they need to change that fugly logo

• China Rise on Nov 16, 2023 at 3:23 pm

You are right; China is on the verge of disrupting all forms of the market. They thought that stopping Huawei from growing would be the end of it. Still, they have cultivated their OS and homegrown chipsets, and very soon, we Malaysians will not need to rely on US investment but rather China Investment. We need to work with them better and de-dollar raise the US dollar.

• albag on Nov 17, 2023 at 10:22 am

what a ciplak McLaren design

• Later fully production and cheap price everyone will buy.. including those looking down and criticizing the product.. hahaha .