Ban dark window tint to prevent ‘forget child in car’ deaths – women’s minister discusses idea with Loke

I’m sure you’ve heard of cases where the driver forgets his/her child and leaves the kid in the car as they go about their business, resulting in the child’s death. One such case happened recently, and there have been suggestions that banning dark window tint can prevent such cases of negligence.

Minister of women, family and community development Datuk Seri Nancy Shukri said that such a ban can only be issued by the transport ministry (MoT), and she has already put forward the suggestion to her transport minister Anthony Loke.

“For the ban on dark tint that was suggested by the public, that’s up to MoT to look into it as one of the causes of negligence. I have actually discussed with the transport minister to see if we can take action on this issue as we know that it’s one of the causes of negligence,” she told the press in JB yesterday, reported by Bernama.

Nancy was previously reported saying that her ministry is considering suggestions to ban the use of dark window tint to avoid deaths of children left in cars. The issue arose after three children passed away in the span of two months, after being left in vehicles by their parents.

What do you think of this suggestion? While there’s logic behind the idea (clear windows would allow the public to notice a child in distress, and take action), it does sound a bit too sweeping, no? Anyway, before you leave your vehicle, make it a habit to check if you’ve took all valuables, including the most precious thing sleeping in the back seat.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Valerie on Nov 21, 2023 at 10:44 am

and then let the child get sun burnt to death!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 8
    • ban idiotic human species on Nov 21, 2023 at 2:10 pm

Nowadays trendy to see cars with bubbles pattern tint at rear windscreen

• Sohai on Nov 21, 2023 at 10:30 pm

Atomi loke tu represent AP king, when AP grey import dark rear window Estima Aplhard, atomi lok will approved dark rear tint. So when AP import YELLOW banana color rear window Estima Alphard, then atomi lok said now Yellow tint is approved.

• YB Kunte Kinta on Nov 21, 2023 at 3:37 pm

PMX,I never like the Jana Wibawa greenies,but u r pushing us to vote for them GE 16,by having the education and this kebajikan clowns.
      Just totally unacceptable and shambolic.

• There’s also a lot of good tint that allow visible light in but reject IR heat. Doesn’t mean it’s dark, it less hot.

• Seelan on Nov 21, 2023 at 10:50 am

I think banning dark tint just because some irresponsible parents is stupid. Why idiot parents first.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 2
    • Emergency Vehicles on Nov 21, 2023 at 3:43 pm

I think it’s rather unfair to blame the unfortunate event on the poor parents who lost their child.

The forgetfulness is not because they are idiots, they are working professional (a Doctor at that) how can you say they’re idiot.

Things happened due to stress, too much to manage and change of routine / pattern during rush hour, which is to be address.

banning tinted windows could be one way to prevent child death but I doubt it will be the sufficient.

Let’s not go blaming straight away and condemn the poor parents. Just because it didn’t happen to you, doesn’t mean it won’t.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 11
      • adasMan on Nov 22, 2023 at 4:12 pm

dont be WOKE dude, an idiotic parent is an idiotic parent. They should be aware there are no “take 2” for these things!

• sp rider on Nov 21, 2023 at 10:55 am

JPJ is not suppose to allow rear windows and rear screen to have light visibility that lower than 30%. Previously, there set the rule that 3rd break light is compulsory for all cars. But with extreme dark rear screen. The 3rd break light become useless.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 9
    • Sohai on Nov 21, 2023 at 10:32 pm

Atomi lok tu no standard, he only follow AP King standard dark window, if AP import Banana Yellow color window, atomi lok will said now yellow tint is allowed. Sohai betui…

• Just put a sensor inside! on Nov 21, 2023 at 10:56 am

Even before they allow dark tinted, there were news on child left in the car! the problem is negligence! But i do against 100% darkness at rear windows, cant even see what happen infront the car! Just make it compulsory for new cars to have sensor inside, my fren previous gen vios hv this, if he locked the car with ppl inside, eventhough the windows is open, it will still sound honk/alarm!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
  • Perhaps the Cantonese proverb: “Chopping off toes to avoid sandworms” can describe this proposal.

• Sohai on Nov 21, 2023 at 10:58 am

What about the recent incident of smash and grab at the traffic light?
    If there is a dark tint, the robber would not know what to target if they cant see whats inside.

If lighter tint is infact can cope forgetfulness, there is always an option for the parents not to install the tint, if they actually agree with the women minister

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
    • Stupid forgetful parents on Nov 21, 2023 at 3:40 pm

Simple..those forgetful parents peel off all the blardy tints…dont kacau our JPJ.

• You can always install security tints without having it to be blardy dark.

• I fully support remove all dark windscreen tint , during driving we can’t see front car traffic consider clearly like follow van or buses , last time DAP Loke make a big mistake.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 18
    • Jimmy on Nov 21, 2023 at 1:25 pm

You can’t see but others got no problem seeing even in the night if one install proper tinted and not those 150rm for the whole car type of tinted.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
    • Anti-Tailgater on Nov 21, 2023 at 4:15 pm

Only stupid people that tailgates closely need to see through the rear windscreen of the car in front. JPJ law clearly tells drivers to maintain 3 car length distance when u attend their class, so you have enough time to react when the vehicle in front brakes

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
    • Stupid on Nov 21, 2023 at 4:24 pm

If u cant see front car traffic then maybe u follow too near, time to learn how to drive

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
    • hafiz on Nov 21, 2023 at 4:50 pm

why you wan to see? just maintain appropriate distance

• Regular citizen on Nov 21, 2023 at 11:02 am

Just check before leaving the car, like your handphone, keys and child !!! it’s that simple. Don’t blame something else for your negligence and rely on others for your child’s safety.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
    • lol blog on Nov 23, 2023 at 11:58 am

Deswai, buy Kia carnival. It will remind you to check your rear seat when u off Ur engine n open Ur door. Then u will never forget.

• Buy proton saga. the radio will remind you to check 3 things including child

• Ban the usage for whole population because some ignorant parents .. Make a rule for parent that put child at the back seat, to put a chain to the child car seat tied to their wrist..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
  • Janji dicapati on Nov 21, 2023 at 11:05 am

Another clever minister

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
  • dong gor on Nov 21, 2023 at 11:13 am

if remember to check through the window then won’t forget lor, got check the statistic those that forget have very dark tints?your idea is like asking yourself not to forget about something that you don’t know you are going to forget.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
  • Dumb F on Nov 21, 2023 at 11:19 am

Just admit it, is the parents negligence, they should check their vehicle before getting down the car. Stop being a dumb F and blame tinted

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
  • Yalah on Nov 21, 2023 at 11:22 am

This woman minister clearly running out of ideas to champion.
    There are more death with ppl using motorcycle. Ban motorcycle?
    Dark tint is not the cause of the baby death. It was freak acident involving some young inexperience parents, and I am being polite here with my words.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
  • Albert Einstein call this INSANITY on Nov 21, 2023 at 11:23 am

Tomorrow,if these forgetful dudes take their kids to the cinema,ban darkness when screening a movie…on all the lights…so that when movie is over,they can ‘see ‘their kids.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • Ben Yap on Nov 21, 2023 at 11:26 am

just make it compulsory for car manufacturers and car owners to install radar-based technology that detects a child at the rear seats. this is already being implemented in other countries.

• Comical Nancy the Sukri on Nov 21, 2023 at 11:30 am

Ahlokekor…your JPJ enforcers will mogok in front of Nancy “s kementerian secara besaran…just because of stupidity n negligence of some dudes ,U turn on tints again. Just donate some Blardy beeping devices to alert the forgetful dudes when they r a certain distance from the kids.

• bengong on Nov 21, 2023 at 12:28 pm

haram kanak-kanak naik kereta tak nak buat ke? #tanyaJe

• Henry Wong on Nov 21, 2023 at 12:29 pm

JPJ/Road Transport Dept (RTD) which is under MoT, should take immediate action to ban all kinds of illegal tinting of vehicles’ windscreen which do not follow existing regulations! Illegal dark tinted windscreens reduce visibility especially at night or during heavy rain and increase risks causing accidents. Side tinted windows reduce driver’s ability to view passing vehicles through the side mirrors. Also dark-tinted vehicles facilitate criminals to conduct their illegal activities inside their vehicles and also endanger policemen manning roadblocks as they cannot view the occupants inside the vehicle. Almost 90 %of vehicles nowadays are tinted and it is increasing bcos no enforcement action is taken,,,!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 19
    • Jimmy on Nov 21, 2023 at 1:31 pm

Go get those above rm2k tinted and you will still see clearly during the night.

• seancorr on Nov 21, 2023 at 12:33 pm

Yea govt have to compensate all the owners who have rear dark tints. No way we gonna pay to remove our tints for the sake of that woman called Nancy

• Ihaveabrain on Nov 21, 2023 at 1:04 pm

Is it so easy to become a minister??
    This “solution” is so braindead that I have to wonder do they even need a brain to become a minister?

• how could one simply forget? on Nov 21, 2023 at 1:06 pm

The main question is how could a parent be so forgetful until he/she could forget & ‘misplace’ his/her child? Is it because such a parent would allow other matters to cloud his/her love & affection for his/her child? But it isn’t surprising when there are those who ride/drive like idiots on the public roads because they must have misplaced their brains.

• Sohai on Nov 22, 2023 at 10:43 pm

You will be surprised. Crying Children get left alone in shopping mall all the time and need the information counter to page the parent.

• Save msia on Nov 21, 2023 at 1:09 pm

Should ban all dark tinted cars (no JPJ approval) and JPJ to have more ops to summon or remove their tint, just too many of them on the road these day and most drive fast & recklessly (not safe & dangerous for driver views, car behind view thru in front etc and why need to hide behind dark tint?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
  • Jimmy on Nov 21, 2023 at 1:20 pm

That is the most stupid idea from a minister. Don’t tell me parents doesn’t know how many kids they made in their marriage that they need to blame because of tinted glass they forgotten their kids in the cars. What a laugh.

• Maintain the dark tint requirement for rear windows. Easier to ban children and babies from sitting in the back seat..simple… Problem solved for the time being. Until other NGO or new transport minister come up with another “smart” idea

• Ask Supermarket not to sell knife, which can kill …….

• stranger on Nov 21, 2023 at 2:57 pm

Ultimately, don’t allow anyone have car.zero accident.no death.

• Datuk Seri Nancy Shukri, do you have the numbers showing the driver really did look at the rear from the outside before walking away from the vehicle? With cars having walk away autolock features and remote alarms, it wont be surprising that people just grab their work stuff from the front passenger side, alight from the vehicle then walk away.

Otherwise forgetting a child is still in the car starts in the exact manner as with forgetting one has left the house keys, wallet or other personal things in the vehicle.

• NEUTRAL on Nov 21, 2023 at 3:31 pm

Tinted black window is dangerously that lead to loss of life 3 baby, second it may lead to raise of crime as people hidden weapon, illegal item inside the car as nobody notice. Banned tinted window benefit are more to prevent crime, protect life and easy for Police or JPJ carried out duty during patrol or road block.

• Stevemartin on Nov 22, 2023 at 10:48 pm

Smash and grab crimes can be prevented with dark tint. Because the robber and thief can’t see any handbag on the seats or valuables

• Datuk NaNCY, Child negligence is parent’s responsiblities. Until now, i cannot comprehend how parents can leave their children unattended in car,and you are proposing to ban car tinting to solve negligence? This is akin to asking Mat Rempits to install side mirrors to their motorbikes

• Careless parents mistake, and public get the punishment.

Just look at the passed, this is not the first case, how many of the cases were because of 100% windows tinited?

Anthony should impose a special punishment to whoever make this.

• Matti on Nov 21, 2023 at 5:06 pm

Ah, they old “protect the children” trick.
    Hitler used it to great effect.

• kckfen on Nov 21, 2023 at 5:49 pm

Dumb idea….this is not how you solve problem.

• Maybe we should look at the root cause instead of looking at what maybe a small contributing factor to the issue.

• Bieight8 on Nov 21, 2023 at 6:11 pm

Should mandate rear seats reminder, reverse camera and 6 airbags as standard

• David on Nov 21, 2023 at 7:39 pm

Anak sendiri tak tahu jaga. Blame tint

• wrongwrongwrong on Nov 21, 2023 at 10:20 pm

The government should ban couples from making children and I can assure you that such tragedy will not happen again in Malaysia. Otherwise, I will run naked.

• headyou on Nov 22, 2023 at 7:03 am

Tiberrrr je nak ban tint gelap. Suruh la car company install rear seat sensor. Aftermarket installation pun boleh. Apa la menteri seorang ni.

Ni jenis marahkan nyamuk seekor bakar 1 rumah.

• OUR OKU MENTERI ONLY KNOWS SIMPLE KNEE JERK policies. on Nov 22, 2023 at 9:07 am

Kami memamg tak ada menteri yang bijak. Semua buat polisi based on social media pressure or glamour. Short term knee jerk polisi je yang tahu. IQ rendah sangat

• Manual Swift Sporter on Nov 22, 2023 at 6:19 pm

PSA to people who are against dark tinted windows : Please remove your house gate and house grill. Make sure all your windows are clear and translucent. Sometimes we don’t know if you are doing illegal activities in your house, or something stupid like leaving your children alone at home and forgetting about them, and so we wish to be able to peek in when we walk by. That way we feel safe, you feel safe, and your children are safe. If you don’t have anything to hide, don’t hide it!

• BangangMinistorKite on Nov 22, 2023 at 6:47 pm

Clear tint will let child to open the door while sleeping is it? Which moron minister propose such idea. Otak bukan kat lutut ni, kat jamban dah… kakaka