Gov’t must consider imposing a vehicle congestion charge in KL to ensure city’s sustainability – Nik Nazmi

The government needs to consider imposing congestion charges in Kuala Lumpur once the development of the public transport infrastructure has reached a certain stage. According to natural resources and environmental sustainability minister Nik Nazmi Nik Ahmad, this is to ensure that the city would be made more sustainable.

He said while discussions had been held on imposing congestion charges after the completion of the MRT3 Circle Line, the matter should not be put away and forgotten, as FMT reports. “It won’t be my decision, but something we have to consider if we want to talk about a more sustainable city moving forward,” he said.

He added that imposing congestion charges would be a tough but necessary decision that the government would have to make, similar to when it introduced the targeted electricity tariff, which compelled companies to explore solar energy.

“We have to bear in mind that we need to change our habits. Nothing has been decided, but you know, the government has to make difficult decisions. In the past year, for example, we started the journey towards the targeted electricity tariff, and after all the complaints and whatnot, many companies were compelled to start installing solar panels and energy efficiency measures,” Nik Nazmi explained.

In March last year, then transport minister Datuk Seri Wee Ka Siong said congestion charges would be considered after the MRT3’s completion in 2030, with the fee structure for vehicles entering the city to be looked at when the public transport network system was fully completed.

A congestion charge for vehicles entering city centres is not a new concept, having been implemented in cities such as London, Singapore, Stockholm and Milan. Supported with the right public transport infrastructure, the introduction of an environmental fee is viewed as among the best ways to reduce traffic congestion in the Klang Valley, especially in the federal capital. Such a move has of course been proposed before, from as early as 2015.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Monkey see, monkey do.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
    • Jascha on Dec 20, 2023 at 12:39 pm

During PN reign, that goondoo WP minister Anuar Musa did nothing to help the city. Real Useless pas

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
    • Dah Menang Semua on Dec 20, 2023 at 2:02 pm

Proposed since 2015
      Imposing on those vehicle 1-2 people
      Towards KL (Jln Kuching, Tun Razak, Parlimen, Sg Besi, Jln Cheras, Jln Ampang, DUKE Hway, Smart Tunnel, Federal Hway, AKLEH etc.) Wow!!
      Sounds more difficult than Targeted Subsidy

• Tin Kosong Tian Chua on Dec 20, 2023 at 4:29 pm

We have been hearing proposals after proposals for donkey years.
        Nothing transpired.Just a lot of rhetorical political talk.
        Even the fuel subsidy thing has been shifted to 2nd half of 2024.The goalposts keep changing.
        Pakatan Yang tidak boleh diharap.

• stranger on Dec 20, 2023 at 10:52 am

I urge all menteri to use 100% public transport for 1 month for any purposes, official or personal, before any “new” idea is a must

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 2
    • t333son on Dec 21, 2023 at 1:48 pm

it won’t work. these guys will get VVVVVIP lanes, seats, trains will appear magically around their schedule etc

• Peppa on Dec 20, 2023 at 10:56 am

The government actually has the money to vastly improve KL’s public transportation but they are dumb regardless of what party in power of the government. All talk but no go

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 2
    • Janji dicapati on Dec 20, 2023 at 5:34 pm

Talk 1st, lie later mentality.

• Rocket on Dec 21, 2023 at 6:15 am

Yes! Since federal gomen and ministers are so preoccupied with politicking, let the local authorities solve local problems. Bring back local council elections in kl and we’ll make all the difference

• Yeahsure on Dec 20, 2023 at 11:04 am

try..see if u win next election or not….always pathetic suggestions

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 4
  • ThePolygon on Dec 20, 2023 at 11:10 am

In this country, sad you need to subsidize something to get it done. Not the other way around. Imposing vehicle congestion will only give bullet for opposition to politicize.

• Nonsense on Dec 20, 2023 at 8:07 pm

They should do it. Rather see public transport thriving than KV becoming another New York.

• Keyboard Warrior on Dec 20, 2023 at 11:12 am

Malaysian government needs to stop ‘babying’ Perodua and Proton and all automotive-related ap holders. Go invest to manufacture our own train set. We have the resource and experiences.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
  • Sparcov on Dec 20, 2023 at 11:35 am

I think it is one of the solution to reduce traffic congestion in KL City. However, the public transport must be very efficient and well connected.

30 years ago, when the then Government decided to move away Government administration to Putrajaya. That is a good move. However, fast forward with rapid development of sky scrapper concentrated in the area such as KLCC increase the traffic volume while the existing infrastructure remain the same. I does not work anymore. Instead vertical development, the development shall go horizontally spread over Klang Valley.

• Scomi Rail ? on Dec 20, 2023 at 11:45 am

LOOK what happen when company are managed Melayu Malap species, IJM also cannot saved them

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 30
  • I doubt the next GE results

• newme on Dec 20, 2023 at 12:10 pm

Why don’t the gov mandate civil servant including the ministers to start taking public transport in KL? KL being the nation capital sure have lots of civil servant. With that, there won’t be outriders blocking the traffic to open way to minister’s vehicles. It will sure help the traffic.

• SPANCO is celebrating on Dec 20, 2023 at 4:43 pm

Menteri taking MRT? You kidding ?
      Asking them to attend parliament is near to impossible.Lots of excuses and ponteng.
      They r waiting for new batches of EV,while the Alphards r ditched at absurd lelong prices.
      It makes more sense to chop 20% of the deadwood…they stay home or become e hailing riders.
      260,000 out of 1.3 million civil servants stay homealone.Imagine 260,000 cars taken out of the streets at peak office hours.

• t333son on Dec 21, 2023 at 1:51 pm

it won’t work. these guys will get VVVVVIP lanes, seats, trains will appear magically around their schedule etc

• Peppa on Dec 20, 2023 at 12:12 pm

If you can’t cope with Malays then go to Singapore.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
  • Saya Ulam on Dec 20, 2023 at 1:27 pm

I like most about how Fahmi answers whenever someone asks why none of the things promised before was implemented despite twice being in power.

His answer was “it’s not in the election manifesto”

So is the manifesto kitab suci or not kitab suci now?

• Albert Einstein call this INSANITY on Dec 20, 2023 at 8:19 pm

Fahmi n the Rafizi dude talk3 talk4…already joined the Namewee TOKOK club.
      Dont waste your time listening to their press conference.

• I am salad on Dec 21, 2023 at 5:52 am

Manifesto dah jadi fatwa brooo

• WHY JAM? EASY …LOUSY ROAD AND TRAFFIC LIGHT PLANNINGS

• ROTI CANAI on Dec 20, 2023 at 1:48 pm

if minister semua guna public transport then i ok

• Phuddi sung Lee on Dec 20, 2023 at 1:54 pm

A new useless son of Einstein born in melyusia with his useless, brainless suggestions

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
  • The driver on Dec 20, 2023 at 2:34 pm

We need to get tough on ‘large vehicles’ like SUVs, MPVs, pickups, etc. As much as owners will disagree, any one of those vehicles can occupy space for 2 cars or 3 motorcycles. Add in the cost of more petrol consumption, pollution, energy used to make such vehicles. Tax these owners much more. Pickups are for business owners with valid reasons, not for domestic use

• Will Never Progress on Dec 20, 2023 at 2:40 pm

Gov should solve the public transport systems first before following what other countries do. Our gov always tries to skip the “foundation” steps and provide later steps. Remember you can’t build a house without building the foundations first. Solve the first and last-mile connectivity issues first then we talk, not by giving short-term solutions like on-demand transportation service but by providing long-term solutions like expanding the last-mile connectivity issues with more coverage and starting with low frequency and moving forward from there, then tracking the ridership just like Singapore does and adjust accordingly.

Don’t do steps 4,5 & 6, if you didn’t do steps 1,2 & 3.

• more like moving backwards on Dec 20, 2023 at 9:33 pm

Ya… that idiot say we need to change our habit. As if is our habit to get stuck in the jam.
      He is probably ok with traffic congestion if all cars are EV… then is not his ministry problem.
      He is saying it to pass the responsibility to others ministry.. empty talks…
      I hate government or minister that complain. Do t talk. Just do.

• funnymentri on Dec 20, 2023 at 3:05 pm

In the first place why allow anyone living in places like PPR and apartment where no proper car parking are provided, having more than 1 car? Please consider restricting car ownership according to number of car park you have in your domiciles. Then we can talk about congestion charges.

• Minister Lucu on Dec 21, 2023 at 5:59 am

That’s like limiting the number of children you can have according to the number of rooms in your house. The majority demographic boleh ke?

• Gomorrah on Dec 20, 2023 at 4:52 pm

Fix the public transport system first then talk la.

• Sohai on Dec 20, 2023 at 6:36 pm

Everything also charge. Anything else this government can propose other than increase taxes and cut subsidy?
    This idiot has the audacity to compare us with Singapore, London, Stockholm.
    Why don’t you tell all the companies to enforce WFH? MCO time no traffic right?

• Sgt Scoop on Dec 20, 2023 at 8:37 pm

Just more and more government charges. Everything goes up except for salaries. Government take, take, take. Average Joes get squeezed to death.

• Brunei Darussalam on Dec 21, 2023 at 6:06 am

Don’t wanna pay tax? Looking for strong and solid currency like SG? Look no further than Brunei! The country welcomes migrants especially saudara serumpun senusantara

• Autodriver on Dec 21, 2023 at 9:58 am

How to solve Klang Valley congestion issue when mojority people choose to drive? Everytime government encourage peole to take public transport then 90% people will yell the public transports are not convenient, not punctuality and bla bla bla. There were thousand excuses from citizens to rationlize the reason why they need a car. In Japan and Korea most people walk 1-2km to reach to bus station, train or subway stations. It is not doorstep kind of near.

Build walkway with roof to connect to bus or train station
    Toll fare increase
    Public parking fee increase
    Reduce fuel subsidy (Msia is top 10 cheapest fuel in the world now)
    Roadtax price increase
    Congestion charge

This sound harsh but without harsh policy people would not want to change their current behaviour. Car loan is the 2nd largest contributor to bankruptcy.

Government had launched Myrapid RM50 unlimited monthly pass. Using public transport is much cheaper than owning a car.

A Myvi monthly installment RM500 looks cheap, but this isn’t final cost. Petrol RM150, parking and toll fare RM 150, maintenance and insurance RM100 (regular maintenance, yearly insurance, roadtax), at least need RM900 to pay for a Myvi monthly. People thought it is easy to pay for a car install RM500, but the miscellaneous fee can cost another couple of hundreds.

• A.k.a only the rich people can use the road.

• Singh on Dec 22, 2023 at 12:03 pm

Just add more tax and burden the rakyat as usual, consider removing the ridiculous taxes on vehicle purchases(set up to protek malaysian car manufacturer, now heavy foreign ownership), crazy amount of toll plaza(Other country with congestion charges does not have as many tolls as us), also crazy roadtax for bigger cc cars which is absolutely unjustified.