Police looking for British couple who settled on-the-spot traffic summons to help with investigations

The police are trying to locate the British couple whose camper-van was recently stopped for speeding by a traffic policeman, who apparently issued and then offered to settle the traffic summons for the offence. The cops say that this is to determine some facts as it proceeds with an investigation on the matter, The Star reports.

Perak police chief Commissioner Datuk Seri Mohd Yusof Hassan Basri said the matter is being investigated by the Bukit Aman traffic investigation and enforcement department (JSPT).

“The matter has been referred to the Bukit Aman police. Bukit Aman needs to determine where the incident occurred, whether in Kelantan, Pahang, or Perak. They also need to identify the time, date and the policeman involved. If it is in Perak, we will investigate the matter,” he said, adding that the couple are believed to have since travelled on to a neighbouring country.

In a video clip that has since gone viral on social media, Chris and Marianne Fisher – known as the travelling husband-and-wife duo Tread the Globe – were shown being stopped by a traffic policeman for allegedly speeding, with the vehicle being detected travelling at a speed of 80 km/h in a 60 km/h zone.

The officer then told the driver that they had the option to pay a RM300 summons at a police station, or alternatively pay RM100 on the spot. The couple were believed to have been stopped along Jalan Simpang Pulai-Cameron Highlands while heading downhill.

Mohd Yusof said a similar case occurred along the North-South Expressway earlier this month, involving a Japanese citizen, who is a Malaysia My Second Home visa holder. Investigations into that case resulted in a highway patrol unit policeman being arrested.

The incident is said to have occurred on January 9, when the Japanese woman, Kumiko Maeda, was stopped by a policeman for allegedly speeding. Speaking during a press conference held at the Kampar MCA office last week, Maeda said that the policeman had informed her to pay a RM2,000 summons at the Slim River police station or pay RM1,000 on the spot.

He then allegedly told her she could do an online bank transfer or pay via e-wallet. After Maeda had logged in to her banking mobile app, the policeman took the phone and transferred RM800 into his bank account. The case is currently being investigated by the Muallim district police.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Kea Was on Jan 29, 2024 at 2:54 pm

The PoWar of Malaysian authorities a wrong can be made right just by talking.

• Commonwealth dwellers on Jan 30, 2024 at 2:39 pm

Fully agreed. Shares the same culture with british era HK police and present day taiwan police force.

• CB Poor Police Officer English on Jan 31, 2024 at 10:10 pm

So shameful, cant even speak proper English

• Why look for them on Jan 29, 2024 at 3:22 pm

Why ? Police mau pay for their expenses in Malaysia for staying for investigation?

• Japan ambassodor on Jan 29, 2024 at 3:24 pm

Japan and Uk tourist welcome to boleh land

• malaysian police are inherently corrupt on Jan 29, 2024 at 3:28 pm

These incidents are just the tip of the iceberg

thousands of incidents daily of policemen soliciting bribes

just ask any foreigners driving here.

And it is not just traffic policemen

just look at dodgy convenience stores with just mineral waters on the shelf popping up all over the country, or “tapak kaki” massage parlors. All protected by bribes to local policemen.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
    • Not happy ? Go back to UK on Jan 29, 2024 at 9:10 pm

LOL and you think it’s better in other country?

In France, police directly organize drugs deals import from Maroc and South America, police control and collect from prostitution and human trafficking…

Be happy with Boleh Land guys, you Malaysians have no idea how corrupted are other countries, especially those fancy democratic windows (hyper taxed population, destroyed economy through mass immigration, increased violence, insecurity everywhere, dirt and beggars everywhere…)

But the more you ask for democracy, the more you will feel the pain and regrets the good old time of highway RM100 fast clearing tickets lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 11
      • For better Future on Jan 30, 2024 at 10:52 am

If you knew France is corrupted country then why you taking them as a reference. Take better country as an example. That’s how we should improve ourselves. Country consist of ppl. If we ppl show good example, soon enough this country will produce more good ppl

• Double standard on Jan 30, 2024 at 4:35 pm

Well, Malaysia is so far the best country I have to compare with this shit hole called France.

This UK asshole tourist get discount on his speed track, he agreed to BRIBE the policeman to get better price, yet, once past the border, still cannot accept that he has to pay a little RM100 for speed track ticket LOL

Like those tourists who complain to get bitten by monkeys while feeding the monkeys during selfies because they believe that feeding monkeys on Holidays is cool ah ah ah… Idiotic boomers!

Policeman get extra RM100? OMG! It’s sooo horrible :-/

When Pfizer distribute billions of dollars to encourage some “good friends there and there” purchasing their toxic product, it is okey.

Bribery becomes “networking” to save “Humanity”, corrupted elite become “super stars” (…for a while)

Trillions of dollars stollen from taxpayers to buy fake vaccines against fake variants of a ridiculous fake pandemic flu, that’s ok… But ticket discount is unacceptable MEH?!

Did this UK tourist suffered from serious side effect after he bribed that cop?

• I Miss BN 60 Years Rule on Jan 31, 2024 at 9:05 am

That is what been telling people for 60 years to cherish what we have despite our faults, actually others are worse. But no they still want to change and now even Agong cannot tahan our unstable Governments, so it is better to change and return back to when we were rock solid stable under a pure BN Government. Lets do it and stop all these complaints.

• samurai on Jan 29, 2024 at 3:47 pm

Malaysia Police force really sickening. This type of KOPI money seem like a culture and it practices for many many years and it will never ending.

• Fuck UK tourist boomers! on Jan 29, 2024 at 11:15 pm

I don’t mind paying on the spot, faster, cheaper win/win situation. Gov make already enough cash selling FF8 number plate LOL

Rather this than getting aggressed every day by niggers like in Europe because of ZOG open border policies and other Jewish black life matter propaganda… In Europe, cops are against the local population. Radars are everywhere! This is legal racket! Here? We even get discount once a year.

Malaysian are spoiled, yet, still want to complain because of that kind of stuff? Fuckin UK tourist shitting on Malaysia after living the country?

Why those Brit’s didn’t stayed around London or Paris to enjoy camping car holidays? Why should they come to Malaysia if in Europe life is sooo much not CORRUPTED AND SAFE?? Hypocrite old boomers… I hope Thai officers charge them 2x that price…

In Europe, criminality has exploded and the police receive the order from the government to let African immigrates steal, kill and rape local people. Not a single day without someone being rapped, stabbed or racketed.

Just look at all those tourists and vloggers who thought that it’s cool to travel in France and came back without luggages… French police never help honest people against thugs. Thugs work for the police!

20 years in Malaysia, I only had to pay 1 time “on the spot” penalty (I went through red light in a rush) police was cool.

The real problem isn’t that ridiculous little kopi money, but the rotten heads hidden behind “western democracy”…

If some locals are so much not happy here, I invite them to migrate to France or even better, to Israel (support their rubbish idols) so they will taste the true flavor of (((democracy))) one way ticket, with no return.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
      • diberi amanah tapi khianat on Jan 30, 2024 at 11:22 am

Unhappy polis now susah nak mintak duit kopi detected!!!!

• Ollie on Jan 30, 2024 at 2:05 pm

Whoever this is definitely needs a mental sanity evaluation

• Fuck UK tourist boomers on Jan 30, 2024 at 3:10 pm

The truth hurts.

Logically, the one who need mental sanity issue (beside you) is the UK tourist that FIRST accept to bribe the policeman AFTER COMMITTING ROAD OFFENSE (the guy was over the speed limit)

NOT ONLY he paid 3x less than what he normally would have to pay, this morron try to be a social warrior by tarnishing Malaysian image after he left the country! Coward piece of s#it…

Hey, mister psychologue? If this UK guy was such an honest victim? Why he didn’t ask for his ticket or simply go to the police station?

WHO gave that coffee money? Huh?

Hypocrite and tard.

• YB Kunta Kinte on Jan 30, 2024 at 4:34 pm

Don’t infest this car site with your rubbish comments. Go to FB or /k and use your energy to fight the racist DAP/PN macais there instead

• Ask and ye shall receive on Jan 29, 2024 at 3:48 pm

Tanpa segan silu sez the rozzer

• 11.50am is difficult to pronounce on Jan 29, 2024 at 4:26 pm

Camper van couple, please release another video with the rozzer’s face unblurred

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • Why do we sound surprised? Duit Kopi has been around since it was really Duit Kopi.

• kaizen on Jan 29, 2024 at 4:38 pm

cilaka!!. malu…memalukan. take him off the force please. he lost his eligibility to be in the force.

• Side effects on the way on Jan 30, 2024 at 4:40 pm

And you, who accepted to get 3x injected with toxic experimental proteins FOR FREE, should be send to a circus… (or mental hospital)

• Mesia Darul Rasuah on Jan 29, 2024 at 4:47 pm

Produk kebanggaan negara tercinta

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • Muafakat Keris on Jan 29, 2024 at 4:55 pm

Kita dijajah British beratus tahun siap rompak hasil bumi kita so apa salahnya kita ambik balik sikit

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 18
  • Memalukan on Jan 29, 2024 at 5:00 pm

Education minister, please make the English subject a compulsory credit pass in spm before accepting them into gomen service so our rozzers can properly articulate their intent to extort tourists

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
  • Johnny on Jan 29, 2024 at 5:23 pm

Hope police will not divert from the main suspect and instead going to charge the victims for giving a bribe.

Also curious what the police meant when said “If it is in Perak, we will investigate the matter”. If not in Perak, how?

• Walker on Jan 29, 2024 at 5:53 pm

Send to Singapore for investigation LOL

• Malaysia Pava Kathaigal on Jan 30, 2024 at 12:54 am

If not in Perak then it’s not r problem bcause it’s not r jurisdiction

• Phuddi sung Lee on Jan 29, 2024 at 5:42 pm

Guaranteed nothing will happen, pe paa for while, this and that then all will forget, happend, happening and it will happen forever in melyusia

• Is the police trying to find brits or the policemen to take action?

• The fault is also you as the driver. I used to be blackmail by police or JPJ telling me if summons RM300 so you can kowtow RM50 or RM100. You see like areal deal like? No, I insist them to write and give me the summons. If I have to pay RM300 summon to G, it is ok because it will be used to build schools or any other infrastructures instead of that seem to be like a savings but when to a rough officer. So please,insist on real summons. It is what you can control,and don’t blame others. We have the power.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
    • Taking is their birthright on Jan 29, 2024 at 9:14 pm

Fair if it happened to us locals but the Brits didn’t know and that rotten rozzer took advantage. Camper van couple honestly thought the 100 bucks was a legit fine.

• Kind Malaysian on Jan 30, 2024 at 1:22 am

It’s easy to type here, but in reality at the time of the incident most of the police officers came are Malay, they threatened to summon, arrest or even threatening to beat us when they know we chinese or Indian, even clearly not r fault. I like to share here one incident happened 16 years back, a police officer stopped my uncle car and took the car key and ask to come out. When asked why, the police said my uncle used phone. Then my uncle said he don’t bring handphone with him today and how come he said he used phone. Out of nowhere the police officer got angry and argue with my uncle. Then when my uncle said he will go report, the corrupt police officer told, you go report lah, you org pendatang tak boleh buat apa2 dekat sini. I was a small boy that time. I still remember the incident and feel very sad how the police treat us in this country.

• Ethan on Jan 30, 2024 at 11:04 am

Hey bro, we all knew that. Everyone here went through situation like that lah. A guy hit and run our car. After we made report we got to know the involved guy is police officer. What makes more interesting is the investigating officer who supposed to take action said the involved police officer got minister backup so cannot do anything and ask us to close the case/close report..haha that day after returned from police station, I seriously lost hope on this country.

• Texting while driving is so safe :-/ on Jan 30, 2024 at 9:33 pm

So your uncle put other drivers and yourself in danger by using hand phone while driving, and yet, the faulty guy is the policeman who teach you a lesson? Is that a joke Mr. Poor baby victims?

• Package OA on Jan 29, 2024 at 9:16 pm

Foreigner standard package…

• Hantu Raya on Jan 30, 2024 at 10:38 am

Yang nak sorok muka bangsat tu buat apa? Tunjuk la. Aku nk muka pundek tu jadi famous.