Incident of minister’s MPV allegedly tailgating ambulance on NSE – Nga Kor Ming issues statement

Earlier this week, it was reported in the news that a minister’s MPV had been seen attempting to beat a traffic jam by tailgating an ambulance on the North-South Expressway on February 3. Now, local government development minister Nga Kor Ming, whose MPV it was that was involved in the incident, has issued a statement on the matter.

In a post on his Facebook page, Nga said he was aware of the news reports of the incident, which occurred following a fatal accident involving seven vehicles on the highway, leading to a massive traffic congestion.

Nga said at that point, he was on his way to attend an official programme in Ipoh in his vehicle. He said his driver realised that there was a private ambulance following his MPV, heading towards the scene of the accident. He said his driver gave way to the ambulance so as to give priority to the emergency vehicle.

He said the severe congestion along the route led to his driver then trailing the ambulance. “Seeing that traffic was congested, my driver had no choice but to follow the ambulance while looking for space to continue with the journey to Ipoh, after the ambulance went ahead,” he said in his statement.

“I would like to stress it was never my intention to break the law or flout traffic rules and regulations, and priority has always been on rescue efforts as prescribed by the law,” he said, adding that he had already instructed his officer to give full cooperation to authorities and that he was prepared to pay the compound fine for his driver, if he is found to be guilty of any offence. Nga ended his statement by saying that any inconvenience caused was not intentional and was deeply regretted.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Ministry of Sound on Feb 09, 2024 at 4:47 pm

Why letting a rogue ambulance tailgating parliamentary cabinet member’s official vehicle?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 15
    • Alfonso Romeo bin Kelembai on Feb 09, 2024 at 9:22 pm

Calm down ralyat… Bellpire & Alparad also ‘ambulan kayangan’ meh

• Casual reader on Feb 11, 2024 at 12:14 am

The formerly Opposition. When they were on the outside they criticise mentris doing such attitudes, now they are mentris they do the same shit and expect people to continue support them blindly and eat their shit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 3
        • Casual player on Feb 12, 2024 at 2:06 am

Could be a BN MP doing this. Besides, everyone learnt the bad habits and practices from corrupt BN

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 14
          • Dah Menang Semua on Feb 12, 2024 at 9:02 pm

To attend “official programme”
            Then use police escort jer laa
            One less trouble

• Spin Too Much on Feb 13, 2024 at 7:35 pm

Nga is & was never a part of BN. He is and continues to be from DAP which is obviously never been under BN. Stop blaming BN for all of Pakatan’s hubris.

• Yee Kong on Feb 12, 2024 at 7:59 am

That’s why people say power corrupts. The quality and true colour and identity will be revealed upon ascending to higher. We hope no more of such nonsense…even
          though offence not as serious as corruption stealing government funds like own money.

• Just fire that stubborn driver. Balik kampung tanam jagung, candat sotong …

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
      • Nirvana on Feb 11, 2024 at 1:38 pm

Salah tu. Bukan ambulan kayangan tp van jenazah kayangan

• Casual reader on Feb 11, 2024 at 12:11 am

One word: biaDAP

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 5
      • hazri on Feb 13, 2024 at 1:58 pm

word biadap never exist. the only word exist in kamus dbp is biadab. please read more. malas membaca melahirkan mamat jakun dan uncivilized.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 14
  • Johnny on Feb 09, 2024 at 5:01 pm

BS lah, if opposition or other drivers, am sure actions will be taken. Com’on, as if you are only one attending to important events?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 118 Thumb down 5
    • Pakngah dulu Pas on Feb 10, 2024 at 1:07 am

Cuba google P45 Vellfire daging.. huhuhu

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
      • hazri on Feb 13, 2024 at 2:06 pm

vellfire menteri pas potong double line jalan yang memang dah sempit. jalan 2 hala tak ada penghadang. klu lori lalu abisla. nak kejar program bagi orang ayam. sampai juga dia kat majlis tu. vellfire menteri dap potong jalan kat highway, jalan besar, duk belakang ambulans. nak kejar program juga. tapi in the end tak sampai pun program tu sebab masuk balik queue dalam jalan jem setelah menyedari kesalahan dibuat. simple. dua-dua buat salah, tapi yang mengaku dan bertaubat sorang je. teka sape.

• Giving no choice as an excuse to break the law, pathetic. Regular rakyats have no choice but to be stuck in the jam queuing while other jerks cut que, trail ambulances. What happened to all those menteri advises to leave earlier, take public transport etc etc? Only for lowly rakyats without important official meetings?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
      • Dua darjat on Feb 11, 2024 at 1:41 pm

Adakah anda bangsa kayangan? Kalo belum, sila ambik borang keahlian UMNO, PKR atau DAP dari wakil rakyat terdekat. Terima kasih

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
    • Nga Kor Ming on Feb 11, 2024 at 2:29 pm

Understand this. Ipoh ppl are strong supporters of my parti. I cannot reach late & disappoint my sapoters. If I otw to kota bahru then I rather get stuck in the jam

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
      • WeeWee on Feb 14, 2024 at 5:33 pm

He can quit his minister post and focus on his work in ipoh.
        Anywhere, this incident has revealed that he is more of a law breaker than law maker.

• He blame it on his driver…..hmmm why not advice his driver not to tailgate ambulance then…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 93 Thumb down 2
    • Kea Was on Feb 10, 2024 at 6:07 am

Yeah he might as well say this time its much better compared to previous PM that Ambulance need to stop for him but now he gives way and tail gate the Ambulance in return so this time its much better already – win liao.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
    • Nga Kor Ming on Feb 11, 2024 at 2:15 pm

Ahmad, you gotta take one for the team. The rakyat is going crazy on this issue. I promise to triple your pay for all your hardship

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
  • fayhsal on Feb 09, 2024 at 6:35 pm

everyone else also no choice can ah? rubbish minister, one of the worst from dap

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 1
    • Mat jargon on Feb 11, 2024 at 1:39 pm

2nd worst is that one selling no. plates and messing with rotek

• Unknown on Feb 12, 2024 at 8:14 am

No he is 3rd worst. 2nd worst is minister nombor plate. But the worst is DAP exFM mentri undersea tunnel

• Why is Loke bad? Even BN wanted him to join their side during PH 1.0 era.

Special number plate series also happened a lot in 2016 and 2017, the era of Bossku, BN and MCA

• Mr AA on Feb 09, 2024 at 7:01 pm

Bullshit la this minister. Just admit you’re wrong, instead of that, you’re shifting the blame to the driver. Stupidity to the max. Will never vote this kind of ppl

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
    • Rafizi sembang kencang on Feb 10, 2024 at 10:08 pm

But stupid people will keep voting him.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
      • Casual reader on Feb 11, 2024 at 11:18 am

Stupid people will keep voting in a PH govt

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
      • President Xi on Feb 11, 2024 at 2:18 pm

Who else can my subjects vote for? MCA is a write off

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
        • Bossku, corrupt!!! on Feb 13, 2024 at 6:47 pm

Why must you pendatang vote? The country does not even want you! I’m writing this as a pendatang!

• Carnut on Feb 09, 2024 at 7:39 pm

Its not a matter of whether he pays a fine. As a minister and law maker, he should know very well how the law works and be setting a good example for all. Being late for an engagement is certainly no excuse and i certainly hope that it never crossed his mind that he can flout the law just because he is a minister.

• Seeing that traffic was congested, my driver had no choice but to follow the ambulance while looking for space to continue with the journey to Ipoh, after the ambulance went ahead

Everyone also congested what. But then give you credits a bit for not using stupid escorts.

• Always others are salah, he always betul.

• DAP King on Feb 09, 2024 at 8:10 pm

Sending my kids to school every morning is an event by itself. Can I tailgate ambulance too?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
  • Peppa on Feb 09, 2024 at 8:47 pm

Why the heck you need a vellfire to ferry you around? Incompetent bitch like you only need an alza or exora. That suits your fugly face well, nga kor ming.

• Nirvana on Feb 11, 2024 at 1:45 pm

Since he’s alwiz late for events, he chose the vellfire to save him time for the final send off. No need change vehicles. Get it?

• Sohai on Feb 09, 2024 at 10:19 pm

BS. Own up the mistake and say sorry, at least you get a second chance.
    Now it shows that this guy has no integrity.

• The ugliest vehicle on the road…….introducing Toshita HellFart.

• In old times, no such problem as there will be police escort all the way for ministers.

• FudgeMeSideways on Feb 10, 2024 at 12:08 am

Absolute power corrupts absolutely.

• “I would like to stress it was never my intention to break the law or flout traffic rules and regulations, my vehicle suddenly followed the ambulance on its own without me or my driver’s knowledge. I wished that I was not caught on camera but unluckily I did and am prepared to pay the fine for my vehicle’s stupidity”.

• PH sayang Zahid on Feb 10, 2024 at 6:52 am

This guy again. Everyone can give excuse lah. Why not tell all because this is our gov sukahati i lah. At least give some credibility.

• Bossku on Feb 10, 2024 at 10:11 am

Sama sama lah…who cares which R minister? As long as one can get away with crime, anything is legal! Except in this case, he soi..got caught. So, must blame someone, just not himself. Afterall, Nga is busy trying to copy Sinkapore.

• U tailgate means u are not abiding traffic rules! U talk so much excuses means u are indeed snobbish! Bodoh sombong!

• Johannian2 on Feb 10, 2024 at 11:10 am

It’s shameful and opportunistic behaviour.
    Sad for DAP that it’s leaders are behaving this way.

• Sick & Tired on Feb 13, 2024 at 7:50 pm

Par for the course for DAP leaders actually. You haven’t seen the worse yet.

• Samuel Phuah on Feb 10, 2024 at 11:25 am

“Seeing that traffic was congested, my driver had no choice but to follow the ambulance while looking for space to continue with the journey to Ipoh,
    What type of comment is this? No choice? You can always choose to follow the traffic rules. Always think you are more superior? So damn arrogant!

• If this i……d. .i . .o ….t was in the car, authority pls take against him!

• Sohai on Feb 10, 2024 at 7:28 pm

Same BS as previous government ministers. All change when come into power. LP=PL

• Why am I not surprised… It’s always the law does not apply to them ministers..

• Yalah on Feb 11, 2024 at 12:56 pm

He should blame it on his counterpart Mr. loke for a bad job done at the transport ministry because congestion is always happening regardless of festive or not.

• Pejuang nasib puak sembap on Feb 11, 2024 at 1:11 pm

Menteri2 DAP ni semua hanat. Ade je nk buat kacau. Sekor ni cucuk ambulans sekor lg tu kecoh rotek. Kurang ajaq

• Nak menjadi MCA 2.0 on Feb 11, 2024 at 1:26 pm

Statement yg tak berapa bijak ni bulih simpan. Ape pendirian korang pasal diskaun denda & tempoh penjara? Adil sangat mcm parti keadilan tu? Masa kempen bukan main hentam. Sekarang menyepi je?

• Boy Racer on Feb 12, 2024 at 12:29 pm

Typical. So embarrassing to give such an answer from a politician.

• Bossku, corrupt!!! on Feb 12, 2024 at 6:53 pm

Most ministers in Malaysia, regardless of which R, are BTC. Not Bitcoin hor…it’s Boh Tak Chek. So, what do you expect?

• Ben Yap on Feb 14, 2024 at 8:40 am

next time manage your time properly. if you cannot manage your time, how can you manage a country?

• DAP King on Feb 14, 2024 at 7:59 pm

He only aspires to be ketua kampung in Chinese new village

• Ben Yap on Feb 14, 2024 at 10:43 am

even before i read the article, i knew it that the minister will have an excuse to justify his actions. how often will a minister admit their fault?