P-hailing riders ask gov’t to help address declining payment rates, submits memo to transport ministry

It looks like delivery riders are still unhappy with Grab Malaysia’s restructuring of its delivery fee and bonus framework, and are continuing their efforts to get the platform to reconsider restoring wage rates for goods and food deliveries.

Following the submission of a memorandum to UMNO by the Malaysian p-hailing riders’ association last month, yet another memorandum has been submitted, this time to the transport ministry. In it, the riders have asked the government to intervene and help solve the problem of declining payment rates, Bernama reports.

The memorandum was received by the ministry’s deputy secretary-general (management) Dr Nor Fuad Abdul Hamid from the group’s representative Mohd Adie Ali, who was accompanied by 40 other riders representing riders throughout the country.

Mohd Adie said that riders would like Grab Food Malaysia to reinstate the previous rate of RM5 per delivery compared to the current rate of RM4 and RM4.50. “We are not satisfied with the new system and urge the company to revert to the previous system. There are many who disagree with the system that began in January this year,” he said, adding that riders are also asking for improvements such as the return of cash payments for cancelled payments as the current waiting period was too long.

Meanwhile, Malaysian trades union congress (MTUC) secretary-general Kamarul Baharin Mansor said the government needed to help and take action to preserve the welfare of delivery riders. “They are Malaysian workers and I urge the government to spend some time to help resolve these issues. Do have a discussion with them. If companies wish to implement any changes, do discuss with workers beforehand,” he said.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• While I’m not siding with Grab with this one, but aren’t the riders asking too much help from the gov?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
    • Dah Menang Semua on Feb 20, 2024 at 9:25 am

These riders been forgetting the days of employment. This is normal hiring cycle. When not enough p-hailing quit, employer will increase the fare again one.

• YB Ajibkor on Feb 20, 2024 at 2:17 pm

People r getting retrenched in numbers now…they should be grateful ,can still put food on table.Sikit sikit get Ahlokekor or Anwarkor to step in.They should start observing traffic lights when red…then perhaps Grab will increase a bit..Grab has been receiving tons of aduan on them speeding past red lights.

• Sick & Tired on Feb 20, 2024 at 4:28 pm

Alright you taxi haters!
        https://paultan.org/2024/02/05/30000-taxis-lie-abandoned-across-the-country-report/
        Time to show your support to Grab & their members! Sick of your complaining about this and that.

• farghmee on Feb 20, 2024 at 9:05 pm

Much lesser peragut roaming ard. Since Grab hire food riders ..

• Himpunan selamatkan rempit on Feb 20, 2024 at 12:40 pm

We’re a pampered & entitled bunch. Strawberry generation even. Our trump card is our votes which both side of the politikus are frothing for. Take that away and we’re nobadi

• Bobby on Feb 19, 2024 at 6:32 pm

Those Grab bros, they r using their health and strength to earn a honest income. Full support here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 17
  • Daim-ler on Feb 19, 2024 at 6:39 pm

Voted PN, begged UMNO and PH. And they will vote for Pas PN for next GE

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 4
    • Himpunan selamatkan rempit on Feb 20, 2024 at 12:41 pm

Asalkan tak undi DAP

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 11
    • Rakyat Malaysia on Feb 20, 2024 at 12:56 pm

Thats becoz PH spanar the Gomen from under PN. Of course they seek help from PH lar! If this was PN Gomen as it should be they would have sought help from PN lor. Use brain a bit

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
  • Grab rider no brain on Feb 19, 2024 at 7:46 pm

Low pay then don’t do la. Simple. Use brain a bit.

All they know how to do is run red lights and cause problems. So annoying like pest

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 5
    • Dah Menang Semua on Feb 20, 2024 at 9:28 am

Those riding against traffic on hway
      Those kicking car’s side mirrors
      Everyone was road-users too
      Think they have privilege?

• Grab rider on Feb 20, 2024 at 12:46 pm

You’re right! If we ever had brains

• Hmmm... on Feb 19, 2024 at 8:08 pm

Workers? Aren’t the riders technically contractors/vendors? If you disagree with the price, don’t take the job?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
  • It’s a free market and a gig, not a real job with career advancement. But tongkat budaya kito.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
    • Himpunan selamatkan rempit on Feb 20, 2024 at 12:44 pm

We hope to be talent spotted by motogp. Then we can rempit like VR46 gitu

• Contender on Feb 20, 2024 at 1:08 am

Yes they should be given fixed salary of RM2,500, provide them a free bike, petrol card, on top of that increase fee to RM5 and increase incentive fee, peak hour fee. What else do they want ? Paid yearly holiday too and free Grab shares too ?

• Najib on Feb 20, 2024 at 3:44 am

Taxi will rise!

• Piotry on Feb 20, 2024 at 6:09 am

You can opt to do other jobs and quitting Grab. You know Grabs wife and child support Israel right.
    Grab is a company, and its goal is to maximise profit. You are just like a sewing machine in the eyes of a tailor. If it doesnt perform,time to replace with another newer sewing machine.
    Furthermore you are voluntarily risking your life for nasi goreng like happily beating red traffic like etc.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
  • Ismail Ras on Feb 20, 2024 at 6:50 am

bagi pm 7 hari…settle… ;)

• M40 B40 mindset on Feb 20, 2024 at 8:41 am

Most of the riders think their pay should be high because they entitle it. Flexi hour + High pay, u think life so easy ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
    • Jgn jeles. Anak kita born with silver spoon tapi gomen bagi anak korang dedak berkampit2

• p-hailing is just a stopgap for you to survive until you get a permanent job. Get a real job.

• Himpunan selamatkan rempit on Feb 20, 2024 at 12:35 pm

Don’t want! We wanna continue living on handouts and run to gomen for help whenever other Rs bully us

• macampondan on Feb 20, 2024 at 9:05 am

no good things stay forever.

Change is the only constant.

Being creative, thinking outside the box, and innovating are the only ways to keep on moving forward and stop complaining or blaming as it doesn’t make anything difference or improve the situation.

That’s the difference being T5 vs B40 mentality.

Remember, the key word is “mentality” not financial condition. B40 with a T5 mentality will be able to come up more successfully. God is fair, we are all given a brain to think, and an able body to work.

The only thing stopping us is our mentality and to get ourselves out of it.

• Ben Yap on Feb 20, 2024 at 9:17 am

govt don’t need to interfere. just let the gig workers and Grab settle among themselves. Since these type of people like to boycott here and there, why not just have a massive boycott and find new job? it’s what they do best. it is not Grab’s responsibility to take care of their welfare as they are not protected under Employment Act. The number of years they have been complaining, if they would have further their studies, they would at least get a Masters Degree. If they are not smart and cannot study, then it is their breed is meant to be a born-loser.

• amadabest on Feb 20, 2024 at 10:36 am

government cant do anything.. Grab now in Singapore, and the p-hailing is not Grab workers, they are partners (rakan kongsi)
    just change job, settle.. there’s so many choice other than Grabfood..

• kckfen on Feb 20, 2024 at 12:11 pm

Let face it, this is a free market driven industry. If company cannot make earning, they will trim down the cost. If cannot accept the term and condition then dont continue with this company. Is all about support and demand. This is private sector, not goverment charity office,

• Himpunan selamatkan rempit on Feb 20, 2024 at 1:13 pm

But what other jobs will allow us to do our favorite past time (road rage & law breaking) and continue sharpening our skills (illegal racing) while earning a decent living? Mintak pencerahan sikit

• Kesian korang ek? Boikot je la grab tu. Kasi blackout seminggu dua tengok grab goyang tak. Kita bulih suruh driver kita tolong tapaukan makanan

• Can staff force employer to increase their salary? If yes, I should ask government to talk to my company and increase my pay.
    What I usually do? If I am not happy with the job and think that I should be paid higher, I proof that I am right by looking for better job.
    Grab never force any of the riders to do it! They have no contract to bond them too. Just do not do! As simple as this!